Luxe organization, planner stationery, and stylish pens for sophisticated paper and planner lovers!

Plans as low as $16.33 / month

CLOTH & PAPER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Less than dollar store quality.

Jun 01, 2020
Alexa E.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly I had been counting the days till I got my box. I was so excited and looking forward to it. When it fiiiiiinally arrived (it took forever)....I was so let down and disappointed. I cannot believe I paid what I did for what I received. I'm really sad. I wanted to love it so badly but I feel like I got the cheapest pens on earth in colors that nobody else on earth wanted in a plastic envelope that are 10 in a pack at the dollar store and it almost brought me to tears. Bummer. And I thought it was supposed to be the special birthday month edition too!? And all the other unboxings for past months that i watched seemed great... idk i feel like i got ripped off and I'm unhappy. :( im almost embarrassed I paid for this for even one month. Itr sounded like a nice idea but yeah... super unhappy with what I received. unsubscribed immediately.

Verified Purchase

Just not enough.

Jul 25, 2020
Dana G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I love writing supplies more than most, so this is almost always an uplifting mailbox arrival. However, I am not overly attached to my phone, nor my computer. A small, printed description of the box contents mailed within the box (art snacks anyone?) would make this irritating box a five star product. As is, I find it difficult to appreciate. I look forward to receiving and opening the box and then....am disappointed at best.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Aug 04, 2020

Hi Dana,

Thank you for the feedback, we are sorry to hear of your frustration. Often we are unable to include that level of detail on a printed card because we operate the pen box on a "just in time” system of shipping. With that being said, we work to include as much detail as possible on our unboxing blog which is posted to our website under the "Monthly Subscription” Tab.

Hopefully this is along the lines of what you were looking for and now you know where to find it for future months. Just let us know if you have any additional questions or concerns. We are always here to help.

Response

Sep 01, 2018
Carolyn R.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Yes, that's only the first response from Cloth and Paper and the afternoon revealed even more communication as they would only issue a refund IF I removed my review. Isn't that a right? Freedom of speech? I'm just not willing to wait months while throwing money down the drain for a decent box from this company.

Verified Purchase

Waste of money

Feb 26, 2019
Taylor S.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Worst subscription box I have ever tried. DO NOT PURCHASE. you’re better off running to your local OfficeMax and picking up 7 pens there.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Feb 27, 2019

Hi Taylor,

Thank you for trying our box, although we are sad to hear that you didn't care for it. We would love to know more specifically what you didn't like about the pens as well as what your expectations were as the box is delivered as described each month. Also, can you fill us in on which month's box are you referring to specifically, as this review was left 60 days after your last delivery?

Please understand this feedback is always helpful for us to ensure we are delivering the best service possible, which the vast majority of our customers would agree is the case, but we would need a little more detail to implement a meaningful change based on your review. We are looking forward...

Adequate

Oct 04, 2018
Jose G.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

Purchased a one month gift option for the wife as a surprise and was disappointed with the product.
For $38 you would expect more. The planner felt cheap and very basic. Definitely did not feel luxe or warrants the cost and the wait that can’t be solved with a quick trip to staples or target...for a lot less.

Verified Purchase

So disappointed and ripped off

Dec 20, 2018
Stacey E.
7 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

My box included 5 pens. A total joke and the pens are nothing special. Pens they took out of packs from Walmart. What a total rip off. I’ve never left a bad review but this should not happen. Pens cost at most less than $5. Waste of my time and trip to post office

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Dec 24, 2018

Hi Stacy,

Thanks for reaching out. I would love to assist you with your concerns.

It sounds like we may have missed a pen in your box because there were supposed to be 6 pens in the box. Here is a link to the unboxing blog post: https://clothandpaper.com/blogs/unboxing-blog-posts/december-2018-cloth-paper-penspiration-box

Can you please tell me which pen you are missing so we can be sure to get it out to you? Please understand that here is a human element to every thing we do here and it is possible that we made a mistake. However, it is also important that we replace any missing or damaged items immediately.

On another note, can you tell me what your expectations were for the quantity of pens that you would be receiving. In all...

I’m with Merle

Nov 26, 2019
Susan H.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I can’t believe how substandard this is. I just read Merekes review, and I just want to say “Ditto” I got a bunch of 6 hole inserts I can’t use. Two postcards instead of 4, one package of stickers. The pens? MEH. The Staedtler highlighter is good quality. I know, because I use them. I’ve just never seen them in beige.... I have a set of the Monami plus pens. I gave them away because they’re not so great. The white plastic highlighter? Broken. I also got some cool thing. All the packaging is in Japanese, so I have no idea what it is, and it’s not on the blog. The Tombow pwn works well, but beige..I’m keeping the pens that work, the 2 postcards, and the tiny beige (!) journals. I’m sending the rest back to you all. Feel free to send it along to some other beige loving sucker with $$$ to toss around

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Nov 26, 2019

Hi Susan, sorry to hear that you did not love your box as the vast majority of our other subscribers did. It seems as though the only value I can add is pointing out that you were designated to received Personal Wide inserts which it sounds like that is what we sent you. Selecting your paper size is done when you signed up and there is a separate option to choose items that do not require a ringed or disc bound planner. We certainly could have assisted you with this during sign up or after receiving your box given the opportunity.

We aren't sure how familiar you are with our box or brand before hand but we always work to embody...

DISAPOINTED

Aug 28, 2019
Nycole L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping

MY BOX HASN'T ARRIVED YET!

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Aug 29, 2019

Hi Nycole,

We just received your review through our Cratejoy platform. We are always here to help and can certainly assist you.

As listed in the description, our subscription boxes always ship between the 19th and 23rd of each month. Your box actually shipped on the 19th, however traveling internationally it will always take a few extra days. USPS International First Class Packages are estimated at 6-10 business days which we are still within that timeframe. At the same time, once a package leaves our office we have zero control over the day it is delivered. You would need to contact USPS, the Brazilian partner to USPS, and/ or your local customs office to understand what is causing a delay if you feel there...

Save your money.

May 05, 2019
Trish O.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The pens I’ve received so far are fine point gel pens (which I hate) from China. Not well made and definitely not worth the price of the box.

Verified Purchase

Mar 04, 2018
Francesca B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Totally a letdown.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options