Craftsman Crate

by Craftsman Crate
The subscription box that builds your skills. Real Tools. Real Skills. Complete Kits.
74 reviews

Plans as low as

$30.77/ month

Buying Options

Craftsman Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review
74

Craft Box have not received it.

Aug 18, 2019
Karin O.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I received notification Aug 9th and have NOT received my grandsons birthday gift in Flagstaff az PLEASE contact me! 1 608 792 5755.

Verified Purchase

recieved a broken item

Feb 13, 2020
Amy G.
19 Reviews
2 Pictures
23 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

the hinges on the box were broken. :( i was so excited when i saw it and then i pulled it out and it fell apart. i was really bummed.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Feb 13, 2020

Oh no, Amy! We've never had that happen! We will get you a new box out right away by Priority Mail, along with a little gift to help make up for your disappointment. ~ Melanie, Vice-President, Craftsman Crate

Not for adults

Aug 16, 2020
Stephanie G.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was so disappointed in the first box. I got a 3 month subscription for my husband and the first project was an arts and crafts project that my 11yo daughter may enjoy.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Aug 21, 2020

Hi Stephanie,
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in the August 2020 Craftsman Crate! As you may imagine, it is very hard to select projects that crafters of all ages can learn and enjoy equally. We do hope that the next several crates in your subscription are of greater interest to your husband.
I will say that I have been watching the incoming shipments of components and I think your husband will really enjoy next month's crate!
Sincerely,
The Craftsman Crate Team

Never received my box!

Apr 13, 2021
Linda M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping

Never received my box or an answer from customer service! Trying to charge my card for a second box!

Verified Purchase

Nonononono

Feb 17, 2020
Liam M.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not worth price good idea not worth the products thank you

Verified Purchase

Promises made, not kept.

Jan 17, 2021
Deborah D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The basket weaving box is terrible and does not keep the promises made by your company as there are materials needed that are not contained in the bix.
This was a 3 month subscription gift and I am completely disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Feb 13, 2021
Dee W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I expected tools in the kit and what I received was a glass etching kit. If I wanted to do arts and crafts, I would have signed up for that kind of box. This was very disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the money

May 18, 2021
Kristina A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did not find the contents of this box to be anywhere near the value of $30. A few pieces of color copies, some cardboard forms and a pen knife. Nothing like what was advertised in the sample photos. A complete waste of money.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...May 18, 2021

Hi Kristina,
I am sorry that you are disappointed in what you received, which my records show as our brand new and already incredibly popular Globe Making Craftsman Crate. The cardboard forms are carefully chosen bases to allow each subscriber to craft four globes in two different sizes, using the accompanying professionally printed maps that are crafted into the intricate shapes necessary to place a two-dimensional map in place on a three-dimensional sphere.
We know that not every kit will be a hit for all subscribers, but we find that people willing to try new handicrafts often find that they deeply enjoy hobbies that they would not have chosen for themselves. We are happy to refund your purchase price, just repack the Crate in good condition...

Dissatisfied

May 24, 2021
Anna C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I was very disappointed in the type of products that I received. I was expecting something more geared to what men would actually enjoy doing. Typically men do not do globe making, paper-mache or plaster of Paris as a hobby.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...May 24, 2021

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed, Anna! We go through a variety of hobbies, though we have definitely been impacted by the supply-chain difficulties of the past few months. I would have preferred to alternate those three crates with other ones, but we've been experiences extreme delays from our suppliers and had to go with what we were able to get in stock.
I hope you will hang with us, though, because we've got some great kits coming up, including Punched Tin, Shibori Dyeing, and Woodburning, now that we've been able to get inventory in again!
Melanie Young, Vice-President

Misleading Box Name

May 25, 2021
Rebekah F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wish I could return the first 2 of my 3 boxes my wife bought for me as an anniversary gift. I haven’t got the third so no telling if it will be just as far from expected as the first two. The “Craftsman” box has been a huge disappointment. Instead of cool tools, like the outside packaging image shows it was a paper machete box then a globe making box. You need to rename box to “Artisan” box. Pretty much a waste of money for what my wife thought she would be getting me.

Verified Purchase

Not for me.

Aug 16, 2020
Judy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not very much to it. Not something I'm interested in. Didn't seem to be worth what was paid for it.

Verified Purchase

Charged on the same day as delivery?

Aug 16, 2020
James W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

To be honest, I'm not happy with the fact that I've already been charged for next month's box when the current box wasn't even supposed to arrive until the SAME DAY. How can I decide if I want to continue?
Also, my current box has not arrived yet. I am aware that you can't control the stress that the USPS is under, but you could adjust your policies to account for it. I would suggest moving your billing date out a week until this gets sorted.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Aug 21, 2020

Hi James,
We are very sorry for the shipping delay. Up until this shipment we had not had any issues with the USPS Priority Mail shipping process, and it was only in tracking the August 2020 shipment that we started seeing boxes taking 5-6 days instead of the official Priority Mail 3-day guarantee.
We are currently working on moving our shipping deadline several days earlier in the month and will be shifting the renewal date slightly later in the upcoming months as well in an effort to counter any further delays or issues with the postal service.
Sincerely,
The Craftsman Crate Team

The Clock Crate

Aug 20, 2020
Twyla S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

When first opening the box everything looked pretty straightforward. Once I got into the project I became disappointed. Instructions were pretty thorough but when putting it all together it was revealed just how flimsy this project was. It would not tighten to hold firm onto the stand even when I attempted to remedy this with a soft washer to fill the gap. It was loose and wobbly on the included clock stand no matter what I tried. The paint brushes that were included in the kit were not of good quality so they left horrible streaks while trying to paint my design onto the clock face. I ended up purchasing some better ones so the clock face wouldn't look like one of my grandchildren had painted it. I really wanted to like this project and was really looking forward to starting it after it arrived but it ended up being a big disappointment and frustration for me.

Verified Purchase

Excellent Customer Service

Jan 08, 2021
Emily K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Quality
Curation

This product is overpriced, and my order was incomplete. I contacted the seller and didn't get a response.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Jan 09, 2021

Emily, I am so sorry the lids were missing for your French square bottles. We will get those on the way to you asap. I can't think how they were left out, but we will definitely make it right.
Deeply apologetically,
Melanie Young, Vice-President

Missing crates

Feb 11, 2021
Shirin P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We did not receive any crates and want replacements sent immediately!

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Feb 11, 2021

Hello Shirin,
Well, that's timely - the Postal Service just returned your latest shipment to us today, marked "No Such Number / Unable to Forward / Return to Sender." Would you please check the mailing address on your account and make any changes necessary? We'll be glad to re-ship it once we have the correct address. Thanks!