Craftsman Crate

by Craftsman Crate
The subscription box that builds your skills. Real Tools. Real Skills. Complete Kits.
76 reviews

Plans as low as

$30.77/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (76)

Not very impressed

Mar 27, 2019
Overall
April
1 Review
15 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I got my first box and I'm not even sure what the point of it is or what it even makes. It's a bunch of tiny circles to link together.. I'm not seeing much interest in working on it.

Verified Purchase

Needs some refinement!

Jun 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joe R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I love the idea of this box and the possibilities of this product but I felt that it was a bit juvenile. The drawings or outlines provided to use as guidelines to design your project looked like child drawings at best. I felt that a Design or two should have been provided to create a full frame for the plaque And some example pictures of projects that have been submitted. It would give me some inspiration to complete my project.
I looked through this crate and set it aside, it still is sitting in my closet on the shelf. I will eventually get back to it when I have nothing else to do. That’s why I gave it a low score. It didn’t excite my creative side because it didn’t lead me to and end result with any motivation. This could be the best crate ever with some small changes!

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Jun 10, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, Joe - those are some good ideas! We do try to upgrade and improve our kits based on customer response so that's important to us. I'll share those ideas with our designers and see what they suggest. Meanwhile, I hope you'll try some of our other kits, since we are continually creating new projects and introducing new skills month by month!
- Hal at Craftsman Crate

Not who I choose to support

Apr 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leah G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Check out the seller before making your purchase. If they align with your values, great. The box isn’t quite what is advertised (more arts and crafts than useful skills), but I’m sure some people will appreciate what they have to offer.
Personally, if I knew more about them I would never have subscribed. Strict gender roles, toxic masculinity, and right-wing conspiracy theories are what drove me away.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Apr 06, 2021

Wow. This is really odd. I am the co-owner of our company and a woman. We have never promoted any kind of conspiracy theory, right-wing or not. We have six sons and have published a book about raising boys, but we actively teach against toxic masculinity, encouraging young men to treat women with respect. We are, however, an unapologetically Christian-owned company, so perhaps that's what prompted this. And the skills taught in recent months? Plaster working, leather working, glass etching, basketry, soapstone carving, furniture building, and more.
Melanie Young

Not what I expected

Sep 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

This box was all origami. While the paper and products were nice, I thought the boxes were supposed to be building something. The last one was a clock and that was interesting, but that too was pretty sub par. My expectations were for my son to have things to create, build, and use tools. So far it has been minimal hands on figuring and more of a craft.

Verified Purchase

Lack of Response to Emails.

Sep 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Annmarie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days

I was disappointed with the lack of communication with the company. I understand the post office is experiencing issues but when I emailed about two weeks after the item supposedly shipped I received no response. As this was a gift for my nephew and once the box was finally received it was origami. My nephew had no interest in doing origami. I emailed again asking about the return policy and if there was one. If there was not I would accept that but again I received no response. This was a waste of money for my nephew's birthday gift.

Verified Purchase

Way too easy

Sep 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Yvonne S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The origami project box seemed cool, but was so easy. Not really worth the price paid.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Oct 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deana R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days

I was thinking it was going to have a rotary tool and or a wood burner and it didn't have either

Verified Purchase