Craftsman Crate

by Craftsman Crate
The subscription box that builds your skills. Real Tools. Real Skills. Complete Kits.
76 reviews

Plans as low as

$30.77/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (76)

Hoping for better

Apr 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Courtney D.
1 Review
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

A little disappointed with our first crate. Was a bit on the cheap side. Hoping for a better box next month. Waaaay bellow the $30 paid.

Verified Purchase

Good but could be better

Mar 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Seth F.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The box is interesting, crafty, and well put-together: a wood burner, some simple sample patterns, carbon paper to transfer, and some pieces of wood to practice on. Even the box itself is a nice unfinished wood that can be used as a surface. That being said, it felt a little light for the price.

Verified Purchase

Not what I expected, good quality

Jun 18, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joseph B.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I got this for my husband for Father’s Day, to give him a little inspiration. The box was a drawing box, which my husband wasn’t interested in at all. The content was good, and very good quality , if one was interested in drawing. I have to blame myself a bit, perhaps I didn’t read the description well enough, but when it said that the inspiration was teenage boys, it’s called craftsman crate and it has tools on the box, I kind of figured it would be a little more along the lines of something that a male would like. Not that males don’t draw , that’s not what I was looking for though. I’m hoping the next one will be more appropriate for him

Verified Purchase

Ehhhh

Apr 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica O.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Was kind of disappointed, as a crafter, to get stuff I keep on hand all the time like the decoupage kit I just got. I was hoping to get a more “out of the box” kit like the wood burning or leather working kits. Things I wouldn’t normally do, but want to try. Hoping for a better kit the next time around, but planning on canceling if I’m let down again.

Verified Purchase

For the very young novice

May 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

This box is good for the young beginner with no knowledge about the different types of crafts and without any desire to get more familiar with a specific genre of crafts. To be honest, some of the projects are great, some, like globe making, should have stayed in the 3rd grade classroom. Paper mache, for example, I loved their unique spin on it, it had several interesting applications, however, in the end, it was still a perfect progect for a 10year old female. They say this box teaches you many different crafts, but they don’t mean wood working or any practical craft, they send things like making a globe- straight out of your elementary school project to show all the planets, and paper mache, the same stuff my daughter has done since kindergarten.

Verified Purchase

First craft

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Ellen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The first box was delivered in a timely manner, My 11yr old Grandson opened it on Christmas, began to read the instructions. He is an extremely smart boy. The kit had several WARNINGS in the instructions regarding some of the items contained in there and he became fearful of the project. I’m not sure if he has attempted to proceed yet. I hope the next crate has a safer, friendlier project . The second crate has arrived but I haven’t given it to him yet. I will let you know how it goes.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Jan 16, 2021

I am so sorry your grandson was intimidated by the warnings! We try to put any cautions up front and in bold because, well, frankly, we've found people may not read too carefully and we want them to be successful! Our own preteen REALLY enjoys these crates with a little parental guidance and supervision. I do hope your grandson jumps in, gives it a try, and enjoys it a lot! Come back and let us know!

Needs better quality assurance

Feb 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Jenna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I’ve since had two boxes arrive for my son. He enjoys the projects. However, both boxes were missing materials. Customer service reached out to us to fix the mistake. However, the second box again came with missing pieces. Things that we needed to complete the project. I did send an email about the problem but have not heard back from customer service yet.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Feb 12, 2021

Jenna, I am so sorry! We are working hard to set up strong quality assurance failsafes to cope with our rapid growth in the past few months!
I am even more concerned that you haven't received an answer to your email. Could you please forward it to me directly at info (at) greatwaterspress (dot) com? We've had some issues with emails sent through the CrateJoy system (not sure if that's how you contacted us). I searched on your name and your email address in our email box and nothing came up. I will make this right immediately as soon as I know what the issue is!
Deeply apologetically,
Melanie
Melanie Young, Vice-President

Poorly curated and very slow delivery

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer P.
3 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months

I bought this for my husband and he was pretty disappointed with it. His first box was a basket weaving kit. He did it but he said it's not really a guy craft. Our January box didn't even arrive until February. I reached out to customer service numerous times with little to no response as to why my box didn't arrive in January. This box was definitely more his speed. It's a leather craft box. However the products they gave to craft are things he would never use. Like a visor? a usb drive holder? We waited all month for this box and yet again there isn't anything he wants to make in it.

Verified Purchase