The subscription box that builds your skills. Real Tools. Real Skills. Complete Kits.

Plans as low as $30.77 / month

Craftsman Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Love it

Oct 17, 2020
Eun C.
3 Reviews
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I think this product deserves a higher rating. There is nothing quite like it. I loved the origami crate, which came with lots of high quality paper and tools that kept me busy for days. It was very soothing and mentally stimulating. I'm also impressed by the soapstone carving crate; pretty amazing that one of the stones is already roughed out to give you a head start while the other one is intact so that you can create one from scratch. It includes a complete set of tools you'll need, including a pencil and polishing cloth. Also, this seems to be the only craft subscription on this site that is gender neutral and therefore is great for those of us who love crafting but aren't into "traditionally feminine" designs. There are lots of DIY crates, but this one is truly unique, and I hope they stay in business forever.

Verified Purchase

Bundle of fun

Dec 26, 2020
Elise R.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We got the basketry box! I really appreciate the packaging and that literally everything you needed was included. Can't wait to start weaving! There were some USPS issues the Seller emailed us ahead of time to let us know there was a delay.

Verified Purchase

Something New

Feb 13, 2021
Shelly U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would have never bought myself a leather craft kit but, I loved it! It was fun trying something new

Verified Purchase

Loved it!

Feb 12, 2021
Annie N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box for my 11 year old grandson. He loved it!

Verified Purchase

AWESOMENESS

Feb 11, 2021
Danielle B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Will definitely order again! SHipping took a long time but I assume that is due to covid.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you, Danielle! You're right, the Postal Service was really struggling over the holidays. They seem to be recovering now, and shipments since the start of the year are moving much faster.

Craftsman February box

Feb 09, 2021
Beth M.
18 Reviews
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Always wanted to use leather and tools! Cannot wait to make the items! Thanks so much! Beth

Verified Purchase

Lovely and Thorough!

Feb 08, 2021
Liz S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

You really do get everything you need to start on a new craft! I've gotten a couple boxes now, and they're always such delights to open. They give you plenty of information and materials to practice new skills a couple times! It's a lovely gift to myself each month!

Verified Purchase

Basket Box

Dec 20, 2020
Michael M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I made baskets when I was in college which was 45 years ago. I'm afraid it may take me a little longer than I had anticipated to put this basket together. All of the parts look to be top quality and I'm sure once I get it together it will be great. I'll send a picture. Mike. ;~}

Verified Purchase

Build skills each month

Nov 15, 2020
Sally C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The skills are not easy to master, but I enjoy the challenge.

Verified Purchase

Super satisfying and enjoyable!

Sep 17, 2020
Harli M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was initially skeptical about the origami box (I was hoping for wood burning or mosaics or something a little more construction through destruction) but I actually really enjoyed it. Very mentally stimulating and relaxing! Everything I needed to use was included in the kit, and I enjoyed the information about the history that was included.

Verified Purchase

Great subscription

Feb 16, 2021
Kristina B.
8 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a really cool box and worth the money. I like that the tools are reusable and therefore you can learn a new craft and use the tools again and again. The only reason I don’t give it 5 stars is that some of the products (e.g., a leather visor or necklace) I personally wouldn’t use. I also wish you could be notified of the craft ahead of time in case it’s not something your interested in. That being said, I’ve loved the boxes and they’re very cool! Am excited to make some furniture and leather items!

Verified Purchase

substandard shipping - resolved

Feb 03, 2021
Brady W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The first box I received has broken glass and broken tools, so I am a bit displeased with my subscription, though I really would have liked to use it to make something fun (glass etching). Glass should always be wrapped with foam or bubble wrap, especially flat glass.
UPDATE: I was given a replacement and couldn't be more pleased.

Verified Purchase
Craftsman Crate said...Feb 03, 2021

Brady, I am very distressed to hear that your crate arrived damaged! All the glass we shipped was supposed to be carefully wrapped in bubble wrap! We'll get you a replacement crate out right away.
Please let us know when that has been received and that it's in good condition. I am so sorry. I can't imagine what happened for this to slip through like that!
Deeply apologetically,
Melanie Young, Vice-President

Fun!

Jan 15, 2021
Allison B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping