Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | Canadian Subscription Box Of The Year Winner

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Terrible customer service

Feb 16, 2020
Sapana K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We reached out to them with two very specific issues my son was facing regarding the Boombox build. They helped us with the first one, even though their response time was very slow. The second one had them stumped and after I sent multiple emails asking what the next step was and asking if they were going to help us, they finally responded and suggested a video call. I responded with days and times that would work. After two weeks of no response, I got sick of following up with them and asked them to either refund or replace the item. Not surprisingly, I did not hear back from anyone on that email either. Waste of my time and $50.

Verified Purchase

Do not purchase the 2.0 subscription

Feb 09, 2020
Viet V.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased the 2.0 version of the subscription. I have only received 6 out of the 12 boxes and it has been over 6 months since I received a box. Customer service is horrible. They keep telling me to be patient and they are working on the project. It's been over 6 months. How much more patient can i be?

Verified Purchase

Project package not received yet

Feb 04, 2020
Kai C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a project (semi-annual) on Jan.11, but I haven't received the package. Contacted (sent email) the customer support. No one replies so far :-(. Is there a customer hotline number?

Verified Purchase

Wasted our money and time.

Oct 23, 2019
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Sadly we bought a 6 month subscription to this box. We were very excited to work on the projects, however the instructions to download a driver to our Mac Computer did not work. Our computer went black and we had to restore it to factory settings. I reached out to the seller, they did not feel bad and told us to try a different driver to install. We were very reluctant. We did and that one didn't work either. The company is basically asking you to hack your own computer to make this work. We never did get any of the 6 boxes to work. Waste of money for us. 2 of the 6 boxes were over a month late. The seller does not communicate when there is any issue with backups on their end. Beware

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Jennifer, this is David, one of the founders of Creation Crate and responsible for project and curriculum development. First and foremost, I am so sorry about the issues that you have had with your subscription. Please allow me address each of them:
- There is a known issue with Macs that requires a driver to be installed. After one of the Mac OS updates, the driver we provided was not working. Once we were made aware of this I immediately updated the instructions. Also, I have since created a new course called "Getting Started" which includes introductory videos, new, more detailed instructions for installing the Mac driver, and short explainer videos for all of the components. We definitely don't want anyone...

First shipment

Nov 28, 2018
Melissa A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

I have not yet received my first shipment and my second one is already being prepared. When will I receive my first batch?

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Nov 29, 2018

Hi Melissa,

Sorry for the delay. Your first shipment was shipped out a week ago. However, Canada Post employees have been on strike, which is delaying your delivery. The good news is that it looks like they have gone back to work as of Nov 27, so these delays shouldn't be an issue in the future.

You can keep track of the shipment with the tracking number provided on your customer dashboard.

Best,
Team Creation Crate

Can't cancel my subscription

Jun 15, 2018
Carmen P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Currently unable to cancel my subscription. I've contacted twice with no reply. Wish I'd get a response before you guys charge me for another box

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Apr 26, 2018

Hi Carmen, I'm sorry you had trouble cancelling your subscription. I just cancelled it for you. In the future, you can make any changes to your account by logging in at https://creationcrate.com/customer/login. We also have support available at https://creationcrate.com/contact-us. Best, The Creation Crate Team

Not Kid Friendly

Jun 15, 2018
Jeremy U.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I do not think these reviews are real. I am a 3rd grade teacher and can honestly tell you that this was not written for children. The instructions are soooooo small and impossible to read. You also will need a computer to complete these projects, and will have to download 2 different programs if you have a MAC. The instructions are so impossible to follow, and some of the diagrams are as big as my thumb. I get that the seller probably wanted to save money on printing costs, but it is a big fail. It seems like the instructions were written by an engineer and not by an educator. I would not waste my money on this product. I ordered 3 months of creation crate and 3 months of Tinker Crate for my son's christmas present. Tinker Crate was amazing. The instructions were easy to follow, my children could do it with little help from me (which is the whole point right?) and it had many extra activities they could do. I would purchase Tinker Crate instead.

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...May 25, 2018

Hi Jeremy,

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience with the product. Creation Crate is intended for ages 12 and up. I apologize that it wasn't more clear in our marketing materials. We have made a lot of changes based on customer feedback in an effort to continuously improve the courses and the experience.

One major improvement that we have been able to make is the implementation of our Online Classroom. This multi-media experience replaces the outdated (and as you pointed out, small) instruction booklets that we were previously using. I have pre-enrolled you in the courses for the projects you have received to date. I would love to talk with you about any feedback you can provide us.

Best,...

Be VERY careful

Jun 15, 2018
Katherine E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Products arrived as stated. The first, mood lamp, refused to work no matter how dark the room or how many times the wiring diagram was checked. The second stated that the programming was successful, then said that we had to go online to troubleshoot. My son was so disgusted with the whole process at this point that he gave up.

Products should work the first time, every time, without having to jump through hoop after hoop. Nice idea, will never purchase again, regrettably, I purchased my granddaughter a subscription so will have to endure more 'projects' that are a nightmare to get to work.

Verified Purchase

Terrible, inept technical support

Jun 15, 2018
Connor S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

No phone number to contact anyone and speak live so I opened a case via email. It was days before anyone responded, and when they did, they were so unclear I had to go back to them multiple times asking for clarification. Each time I did, I had to wait 4+ days for an answer, which was equally unclear. Finally, when I expressed frustration, they just up and cancelled my subscription because, I guess, they were incapable of solving the programming error.

This should have been so much fun, instead it was miserable and frustrating. Not acceptable level of service for $95.

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Feb 13, 2018

Hi Connor, I'm sorry you had such a terrible experience with our support. Since your review of Creation Crate, we have worked hard to improve this experience. We have taken steps to improve our response rate by adding a dedicated customer service associate, moved all of our courses to the Online Classroom. This new platform includes a discussion board called Disqus that alerts us, as well as our community of users, to questions that folks have and allows anyone to respond and help.

I have enrolled you in the Online Classroom for all of the projects that you received from us as well as the new Getting Started course and a bonus project that we added for the complete beginner. You will also be...

Bad Video and audio quality

Apr 21, 2019
Irene G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

We tried to follow the video but it was very tough to understand. 1st the audio fade in and out and even at the highest setting it was not loud enough. 2nd the filming angle is always from Top down with no zoom in for close up at important intervals. Moreover, the narrator's hand is always blocking what he is demonstrating. My kid got so frustrated and just eventually gave up. I'm now struggling on my own to trouble shoot the creation. A pity as the concept of the crates is good but just lack professional editing, videography skills.

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Apr 29, 2019

Hi Ms. Irene,

This is David Hehman and I am one of the Founders of Creation Crate. It is me that you see in the videos. We are working really hard to create something amazing for our students and really hate it when it appears that is not the case.

I took another look another look at the instructions for the Mood Lamp project. Specifically, I watched the step-by-step video again. I made an update to the viewing window that will allow it to resize based on the student's screen size and enabled a new feature that reduces the margins around the lesson. Both of these things should make the video larger and easier to see.

This is one of the newer...

Buying Options