Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | 'Best in STEM 2021' by Newsweek


Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Easy and Effective

Nov 14, 2020
Willie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So far my experience with Creation Crate has been fun and effective for learning how to code on the Arduino. The trick is to type the code and not just copy and paste it. That way you can read and learn the process of each line of code.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate is amazing!

Nov 12, 2020
Icky P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

création crate is amazing i learned to program an do electronics 👍 and got a lot of arduinos 😉

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
James H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.

When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.

In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.

P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase

Great starting point for Arduino!

Aug 23, 2018
Nicholas M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

The kit provides step by step instructions and is very clear in not only how to build the project, but how to program it as well. Great for beginners who want to get into making and programming, but do not know where to start. This provides a solid foundation for them to build on, and will encourage them to build bigger and better things in the future. Brilliant product!

Verified Purchase

Aug 11, 2018
Bryan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Creation Crate did a great job of explaining how the mood lamp worked. I'm excited to see what comes next!

Verified Purchase

AWESOME

Jun 11, 2018
Jade C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I just finished my first project and I really loved this product. It was full of challenges and it taught me lots of cool new things. I think this is a great option for kids who are interested in tech. I can't wait for my project!

-Jade, 11 yrs old

Verified Purchase

Cratejoy

Feb 12, 2018
Aida S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

It was cool. But the package is super small for the price. But it has awesome things. Too bad I got to create a mood lamp, a small mood lamp. But my husband liked it. I think I would pay like $25 for the subscription because is small.

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!

Mar 08, 2018
Dominique G.
3 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I heard about this subscription last year on YouTube and decided to subscribe I am a women and absolutely love how clear the instructions are so anyone can learn about technology and programming at any age and the finished product makes me happy it shows what I have learned and accomplished!

Verified Purchase

Mood lamp

Dec 30, 2017
Daniel D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Very interesting first month project. It was nice to start off with something complex and interesting yet the instructions guided us right through the whole project. This was a great father son project.

Verified Purchase

My Husband Loves His Crate

Jan 03, 2018
Jessica M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

My husband has been wanting to get into electronics as a side hobby for some time and this has been a great way to ease him into a field that he is completely unfamiliar with. The projects can even be passed down to the kids as he moves on to new crates, what a deal! Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Intelligent and well-done

Jan 19, 2018
Tina C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I am happy to have finally found a STEM kit for kids that doesn’t simplify the project for kids. Creation Crate gives clear directions that leave a little bit of room for the user to “figure it out” just enough. The programming isn’t pre typed or block based and you learn first-hand how to troubleshoot and problem solve. The review questions at the end are great for figuring out why the code works and how to change it.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate!

Jan 25, 2018
Anne D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

My first Creation Crate came earlier this month, the directions and application of the project were very clear and straightforward. I am also so happy about the custom service of Creation Crate, as they provided a lot of clarity about payments when I first subscribed.
I have always wanted to learn coding and building electronics. It is a great way to dive into that!!

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Review

Feb 15, 2018
Angel T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I got this as a Valentine’s Day gift for my boyfriend who’s a software engineer, and he loved it! He started putting it together immediately. Also, it shipped super fast after I ordered! Will definitely order again 🙂

Verified Purchase

Mood Lamp

Jun 09, 2018
Alan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

Got our Mood Lamp Kit to start our subscription. It was really fun working on this with my eight-year-old. I helped with some of the cutting of the box, and he pretty much wired it up himself. I had to fiddle with some connections and bend the LEDs just right to make them fit under the lampshade, but that's normal when you're building stuff. I let him type in the important parts of the code, and then I went back and added the comments and indenting to make it more readable and fix some of the typos/errors. Worked right away, which wasn't great, since it wasn't dark, but that's why you tweak the code. Upped the ambient light value, and it turned on and off as expected. I may fiddle with the code a little more to see if I can get a more gradual and noticeable fade effect. Can not wait for next month!

Verified Purchase

Fun, well designed, thoughtful product!

Mar 30, 2016
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We heard of this from a friend and subscribed as a gift for our elementary aged son who loves electronics and DIY projects. He was very excited to receive a surprise electronics project in a box and equally enthused after opening it! He was able to set up/troubleshoot on his own (outside of software download) and has enjoyed experimenting with it. There are variables to play with and exercises provided if one would like to play with modifying the program and hardware.

This product is well designed, communicated, and a good value with helpful customer support. We're looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

I'm Addicted!

Oct 06, 2017
Allen P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've been wanting to learn about electronics and coding and I couldn't be happier with my first project with Creation Crate! I'm 48 years old and this is an absolute joy but in all seriousness it's also the future. Talk about having fun!

Verified Purchase

It’s pretty awesome

Oct 15, 2017
Erica M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I got it for my younger sister, who’s an engineering major at her university. She thought it was pretty awesome and had a lot of fun putting it together. I would recondmend it no matter the age.

Verified Purchase

Even great for adults

Nov 30, 2017
Kristen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've tried for years to teach myself about electronics and coding, but without an end project to work on, it was difficult to retain what I learned or see the bigger picture behind what I was learning. The activities that creation crate provides gave me the perfect opportunity to tie everything I had learned together to create something that was functional, while also allowing me to see the process by which software directly influences hardware. Even though this product seems to be marketed primarily towards children and young adults, I think it's also a fun, valuable educational tool for curious adults who want to learn more about electronics and coding.

On a separate note - for those of you who are hesitant to sign up for a monthly subscription (like I was), just know that you can cancel at any time. And, due to a small mix-up in parts that arrived in my first Creation Crate box, I know firsthand that their customer service is really helpful and quick to respond to any problems or concerns you may have.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options