Date Night In Box

by Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In

The ultimate solution to enjoy a Date Night In with your loved one from the comfort of your home!

86 reviews

Plans as low as

$38.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (86)

Can I give this zero stars?!

Jan 21, 2017
Overall
Jennifer R.
1 Review
21 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

HORRIBLE! I am so angry. I spent around $42 on this after shipping. As others mentioned below, complete waste of money. This is a joke! We were given envelopes, pens, paper, a tea light candle and 1 and a half ounces of candy to write TWELVE letters to each other. Yes, you read that correctly. This was cheap, not creative and not fun! This company is trying to make a quick buck and take advantage of people. Don't fall for this scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Jennifer,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and the date you received didn’t meet your expectations.

NOT CUSTOMER FRIENDLY

Nov 04, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachael S.
1 Review
16 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

If I could give this zero stars I would. I am extremely disappointed in their customer service. I had a poor experience with this company when trying to request a refund for my auto-renew. I asked 6 different times to speak with a supervisor and was denied. I am incredibly disappointed in the fact that they have zero flexibility in their refund policy. I have never dealt with a company who was this unfriendly to their customers. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 04, 2019

We are very sorry about that your experience was less than satisfactory. The automatic renewal feature associated with our subscriptions is clearly noted throughout the shopping experience and post purchase communications. By agreeing to the terms and conditions prior to signing up for your subscription, you were made aware of the cancellation, renewal and refund terms. When reviewing your communications with the Night In Boxes Customer experience team your request was immediately escalated to Night In Boxes Customer Experience team's Assistant Manager. After requesting to talk to the Assistant Manager's supervisor you were provided with a final resolution on your request by the VP - Customer Experience. Please do not mistake our adherence to our policies as unfriendly. We appreciate your feedback and will take...

DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Oct 31, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dawn F.
1 Review
13 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

BEWARE!!
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION OF ITS CUSTOMERS.
Reiterating the last reviewer, I didn't realize my "3-month subscription" would renew automatically. They say they give you lots of warnings as you are checking out, but three months later I wasn't thinking about it, and there is no reminder before they charge your card (like other subscription services I've used).
My only notice came from PayPal. Of course, it came just *hours* after their cancellation deadline. I contacted customer service right away. The boxes don't ship for at least two more weeks, but they still refuse to cancel and refund. Now I'm being charged $120 for three additional months of a service I didn't like in the first place!!
They've offered to change the content of my boxes (make it a kids box) or delay delivery, so clearly there is still time in the process to make changes, but they still refuse to cancel. They also would not escalate my issue to a manager, despite multiple requests.
I told them I don't like their product, so sending them at a later date does not address my issue. They don't care. They would rather keep my money and have an unhappy customer. And it's $120!! It's not like a $15 magazine subscription. Maybe to a rich corporation like Cratejoy, $120 is meaningless. But we are a one-income family of three, and $120 is a lot of money to us. But they don't care.
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. We do our best to give as many warnings as possible during the checkout process as well as giving you the option to remove the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription prior to signing up for your subscription as well in our post purchase communications. We will take your thoughts into consideration for further improvements in our communications with customers in the future.

Not worth the money.

Mar 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johanna F.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Honestly, I’m super disappointed.... for almost 40$ a month, March 2021 is a box of things from the dollar store and called a Magicians Night??? Im super super disappointed that I wasted my money on this box. And EVEN worse?? I bought it as a present for my boss, and I’m embarrassed. .

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 04, 2021

Hi Johanna, I am so sorry to hear you are disappointed with your box! The main activity for our Something Magical box is actually an interactive magic show that will be held via Zoom just for our customers in March. We have three different shows in March and truly hope your gift recipient can join one of them so they can enjoy their Date Night In experience! All of the items in the box will be used during the magic show. You can find more information on showtimes and links to the show on our Something Magical web page.

Lies about product “on its way”

Jun 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

The package has been “on its way to a shipping facility” for two weeks. Attempted to contact seller and I got an automated email back. Pretty much out my money and nothing to show for it. Very annoyed to say the least

Verified Purchase

TERRIBLE! Save your money.

Mar 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel M.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I wish I could give a zero. This company doesn’t care about its customers and doesn’t “curate” unique dates they throw together junk and then provide links that don’t work. This last one was the last straw, it was about sensing more and LITERALLY came with a vile of massage oil, 5 caramels, a wooden knife and 3 wads of wax (still don’t know what it’s for). Then our date instructions were a narration on a website so we would have had some stranger’s voice on our date night. DO NOT waste your money. When I reached out to the company they gave me a link to the review page and it was the wrong link so I searched this place out.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 26, 2020

Hi Rachel,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and this date wasn't for you.
To summarize the complete date details...
Couples were audio guided through a taste test, massage experience, scent sampling and visual challenge. Our goal was to have you, as a couple, reflect on how your five senses have contributed to your relationship.
The included items were several activities, a snack for two, something to set the mood for the date (3 wax samples to explore scents as a couple, massage cards to learn various massage techniques and massage oil, a tasting guide, tasting mat, knife and McCreas Gourmet Caramels, a puzzle, a custom Spotify playlist, a suggested custom curated dinner menu with...

Terrible Company

Oct 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel Y.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

They hide in your purchase that it is "auto renew" - with very little warning. After six months, you are charged with little warning for a whopping $250. They refuse to refund your money and their customer service is lacking. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. The warnings regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with subscriptions clearly marked in the checkout screen as well as the ability to remove this feature prior to checkout. We also have included multiple warnings in our post purchase communications regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements in our communications with customers.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Jan 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Olivia C.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

This company is dishonest! They keep your payment information and will charge you more than you sign up for! Several of the boxes didn’t include all items needed for activities. Some of the boxes were just advertisement items. I am extremely upset I purchased this last year! The creativity is severely lacking. One of the boxes was literally a paper clip, 4inch string, paper streamers, and some chopsticks! Worst purchase I have ever made!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 30, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our product and will take your feedback in to consideration for future improvements in communication.
We provide the option to review previous boxes that have been sent to customers so that new customers get an idea of what is included in our boxes.
When pulling the items together which are included in our Game On box, couples will tap into their competitive spirit, while playing silly games that are intended to fill their evening with laughter while making memories that last a life time.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, checkout process along in all post purchase communications. Each customer has the opportunity to access their account details with their...

Dont do it!

May 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Keshav A.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

One of the worst thing I have bought online. The items did not even come in a box. It came in a cheap Amazon-like yellow envelope. It completely ruined our date night.
What worse is that you can not cancel future deliveries. Once you opt-in, they already charge you for four boxes. This is just unfair!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Keshav,
I’m so sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company and were disappointed by the packaging. Your date was sent out when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date being sent in a padded mailer instead of a box, something that was only done for a month.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, during the checkout process, and in all post purchase communications. The customer is required to agree to the terms and conditions of the subscription prior to signing up for the service, along with giving permission for Night In Boxes to continue to charge the payment method associated with the...

Buyer Beware.

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jorina E.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

My experience with Night in Boxes and their customer service was terrible. I bought 3 boxes, which were mediocre at best. The recipes were terrible, and the included items were cheap. When I purchased the box in December, I ensured that I was not signing an automatically-renewing service (that's where these companies get you!!). This was clear on my invoice, and the emails I received. Without any notification, they charged my credit card again and my order was suddenly on "auto-renew". When I contacted customer service and asked them to provide me with any evidence that I had purchased an automatically renewing service (I had an invoice that clearly stated I only bought 3 boxes, with no mention of an auto-renew), they weren't able to, and refused to refund the unauthorized transaction. This company is a total scam and a money grab. Stay away.

Verified Purchase

Don't Buy From This Company

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cheryl J.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. They "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. In January of 2021, I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. In late March of 2021, they "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. They billed me again for 3 more months of service before I even received my final box, and they did so without notifying me that they would do so. It seems like this is the business model that they use to make money - enter people unknowingly into a subscription service, and then secretly bill them without notification.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointing - poor quality

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeanine S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I really wanted to love this box. I subscribed because I thought we needed a bit of fun during pandemic times, but I was sorely disappointed. The products are so cheap and totally not worth even close to the money I paid for the box. Unfortunately, I paid for a 3-month subscription up front. The products were dollar store quality at best. While I do understand and appreciate the time it takes to curate content for a sub box (as a former sub-box owner), the cost of this sub cannot be justified based on the quality of its contents. Very, very disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Jeanine, thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your box. We focus on providing a complete Date Night at home with unique themes every month.
The value of the experience we provide is not associated with the value of the products you receive, but in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a unique and fun way.

DATE NIGHT IN BOX-HORRIBLE

Apr 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashely N.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I usually don't write reviews but this was so horrible I had to.
Don't waste your money on this! I wish I could give ZERO stars.
I spent way to much money for what I got. $41+ SUCH a ripoff
1) Shipping took forever
2) Didn't even come in a box
3) NO REFUNDS if not satisfied you can't send back
4) Included- 2 wipes, 2 propel powders to put in water, 2 small nut free mixes, 2 cheap plastic frisbee kinda things (not really sure)and a guide that is dumb and says stuff like bored? Talk a walk outside with your pet... unbelievable.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Ashley, I'm so sorry you had less than a positive experience with our company. As explained in your shipping email, the month this date was sent out was right when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date not being sent out in a box but a padded mailer, something that was only done for a month. Our shipping during this time also did take longer than we had hoped as well. I do see we immediately provided you with a refund and again we apologize if our date didn't meet your expectations.

Complete waste of your money

Mar 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tom R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

If I could give zero stars, I absolutely would. This company provides cheap and uncreative products, is extremely sneaky about its automatic renewal policy, and is clearly just out to take every dime they possibly can from you. You are much better off spending $10 at Walmart to buy the items your spending $40 on to get shipped late. Please be aware that you are going to have to search for the automatic renewal option to disable it as it is automatically checked and hidden as well as possible in order to continue to leech from your bank account, and when to your surprise your bank account is drained of $100, the company's response is essentially "LOL Gotcha!". Personally, I would not recommend that anyone do business with these people.

Verified Purchase

Worst box, DO NOT BUY!

Mar 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shawna K.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Worst subscription box ever. I got less than 5.00 worth of things. Ridiculous things. Not worth it at all! DO NOT BUY!!!!!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Kelly, I apologize you were unsatisfied with your Date Night In Box. I see you received our Something Magical box and all of the items in the box were items that were used in the live, interactive magic show that was the main activity for this month's box. If you haven't had a chance to attend either of the shows, we strongly encourage you to attend the last live show or watch the recording to really partake in the whole experience!

Great hopes, but disappointed

Mar 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffany N.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Materials were cheap in the first box. We were so disappointed that we didn’t even do the date :(
We’re giving the second box a try to be fair, but if it isn’t a huge improvement, we’ll be asking for our money back

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Tiffany, thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you did not find value in your first Date Night In Box! All of the materials in each box combine to make up the Date Night In experience and we do hope you give your second box a try.
The value of the experience we provide is not associated with the value of the products you receive but more importantly in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a unique and fun way.
Our team pours their hearts and souls into creating each Date Night In Box experience with the utmost care, a bunch of creativity and a whole lot of fun. The intention of each experience...

magic

Mar 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maisie C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

Items were not worth the money. Magic should not be a theme.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Maisie, I am sorry you did not enjoy your box and were disappointed in the magic theme. All of the items in the box were used during the live, interactive magic shows offered as part of your box experience. The feedback we have received from this box and the magic show is overwhelmingly positive and we strongly encourage you to attend the last live show or watch the recording so that you can really experience the whole Something Magical box!

Poor Value

Feb 07, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Erin H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This box was given as a Christmas gift. Imagine the disappointment when they received about 8 pieces of paper...8 1/2 x 11... just printed out with a recipe and various websites to go to for a date... The entire expense was for 2 truffles and a vial of lavender essential oil along with some letter size sheets folded in half. In my opinion this "Night in Paris" date was a total waste. I would not recommend and will not purchase again.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Erin, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Date Night In Box. While we do our best to provide a unique and fun opportunity for you and your special someone to connect, we understand that our dates will not always be loved by everyone.
We focus on providing our customers with a complete Date Night In experience and the value of the experience we provide is not only associated with the value of the products you receive but more importantly in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a unique and fun way. That said, I do apologize that you were unsatisfied with your box and appreciate your feedback.

Don’t waste your money!

Feb 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Suzana G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

The quality of products for the amount of money spent is honestly insulting. For $40 I would expect more than dollar store items in a near empty box. I don’t care how well thought out the dates are, I would have rather paid a lot less for a digital subscription than get these cheap boxes that belong in the trash. Seriously, save your money and play a board game - spend the $40 on good takeout instead.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Feb 04, 2021

Hi Suzana, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Date Night In Box. While we do our best to provide a unique and fun opportunity for you and your special someone to connect, we understand that our dates will not always be loved by everyone.
With that said, we do our best to be transparent with our Date Night In Box seekers. We make all our previous dates available to browse on our website, so customers know what to expect in their box.
In the end, the value of the experience we provide is not only associated with the value of the products you receive but more importantly in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a...

Not Worth the Money

Feb 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amber A.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This was a rip off!!! I bought this as a gift and the products included did not equal the value of what was paid.
It was the Paris box that was sent. Inside was 2 SMALL cakes, maybe 2 bites worth. There was also a bottle of lavender essential oil that does not appear to be a good quality oil. The recipe cards were basic recipes that were not impressive or really "French".
The people this gift was bought for were disappointed by the quality and items received. I would not recommend this box to anyone and have no plans on ordering another one.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Feb 01, 2021

Hi Amber, I am so sorry to hear your gift recipients did not enjoy their Date Night In Box! I do appreciate your feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve. While we do our best to provide a unique and fun opportunity for you and your special someone to connect, we understand that our dates will not always be loved by everyone.
Our team pours their hearts and souls into creating each Date Night In Box experience with the utmost care, a bunch of creativity, and a whole lot of fun. The intention of each experience is to truly assist couples with reconnecting and investing in their relationships. We know the value of quality time together, dreaming, and talking about your relationship together...

Ordered but never got

Jan 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Janell H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Ordered over a month ago and still have not received it.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 29, 2021

Hi Janell, I am so sorry you haven't received your box yet! I just checked your tracking and it is on its way and should get to you in the next few days. We had a few pallets of boxes get lost in transit this month, and they were just recovered and it looks like your box was unfortunately on one of these pallets. I apologize again for the delay and please reach out to our Customer Experience team if you need any further assistance.

Box Never Arrived; No Response from CS

Jan 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa L.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 21 days

I'd leave zero stars if I could. Never got my package. Sent a message asking for an update (I understand, maybe it got lost in the mail or the shipment was coming next month for some reason). Waiting a reasonable amount of time (three days). No response.
Super sad, was really looking forward to the shipment, I'm sure I won't get my money back, either.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 27, 2021

Hi Melissa, I am so sorry you haven't received your package yet! We had an issue with our shipment this month where 2 of our pallets of packages went missing and we have been working with our shipping partner to locate the missing packages. All packages are now on their way and you should be receiving your box soon. I apologize again for the disappointment and delay!

BUYER BEWARE! Package Never Shipped

Jan 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shantelle P.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

The expense is not worth it if you don't receive your package.....BUYER BEWARE!!!
I am so disappointed! I purchased my first box mid December. It is now January 26 and I still have not received my box that I was REALLY looking forward to. My shipping/tracking information shows that my box has been in pre shipment since January 18 - the label was created but the package has not been given to USPS. My renew date is tomorrow and unfortunately I had to cancel my subscription. It doesn't make sense to pay for a second box when I haven't received the first. I messaged the seller twice prior to this with no response. Buyer Beware...this might be a scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 26, 2021

Hi Shantelle,
I am so sorry you have not received your box yet! We unfortunately ran into some shipping delays this month due to COVID that were beyond our control, but your box has left the warehouse and is on its way! Please reach out to our Customer Experience team if you have any more issues, but you will be receiving your box soon and we hope you enjoy it!

Wrong address.

Dec 31, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Holly W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

I never received the package because it was sent to the wrong address!!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Holly, I apologize for the inconvenience! We ship all boxes to the address you enter on your account. If you moved or accidentally typed in the address incorrectly, we are always happy to send a replacement if you reach out to our Customer Experience team.

Date night

Jan 16, 2018
Overall
Caitlin H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I’m disappointed with the date night box. I gave it to my dad as a gift and I thought he and his wife would like the fun crafts and activities. Unfortunately the last two boxes have not had crafts like it shows in the photos but had recipes, shopping lists and an invite they had to print themselves. They don’t like to cook and they don’t have a printer at home. For what the box costs I expected a lot more. I hope their third box is a little different and more like the photos advertised above.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Caitlin, I'm sorry our boxes didn't meet your dad's expectations. We provide the digital version of our shopping list because this element of the date is sent BEFORE we ship the date so our customers can get ready. The meal portion of our date is an "extra" feature and is not a requirement of the date. There were many other components to the date that we hope they were able to enjoy.