Date Night In Box

by Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In
The ultimate solution to enjoy a Date Night In with your loved one from the comfort of your home!

Plans as low as

$38.67/ month

Buying Options

Date Night In Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Can I give this zero stars?!

Jan 21, 2017
Jennifer R.
1 Review
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

HORRIBLE! I am so angry. I spent around $42 on this after shipping. As others mentioned below, complete waste of money. This is a joke! We were given envelopes, pens, paper, a tea light candle and 1 and a half ounces of candy to write TWELVE letters to each other. Yes, you read that correctly. This was cheap, not creative and not fun! This company is trying to make a quick buck and take advantage of people. Don't fall for this scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Jennifer,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and the date you received didn’t meet your expectations.

NOT CUSTOMER FRIENDLY

Nov 04, 2019
Rachael S.
1 Review
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If I could give this zero stars I would. I am extremely disappointed in their customer service. I had a poor experience with this company when trying to request a refund for my auto-renew. I asked 6 different times to speak with a supervisor and was denied. I am incredibly disappointed in the fact that they have zero flexibility in their refund policy. I have never dealt with a company who was this unfriendly to their customers. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 04, 2019

We are very sorry about that your experience was less than satisfactory. The automatic renewal feature associated with our subscriptions is clearly noted throughout the shopping experience and post purchase communications. By agreeing to the terms and conditions prior to signing up for your subscription, you were made aware of the cancellation, renewal and refund terms. When reviewing your communications with the Night In Boxes Customer experience team your request was immediately escalated to Night In Boxes Customer Experience team's Assistant Manager. After requesting to talk to the Assistant Manager's supervisor you were provided with a final resolution on your request by the VP - Customer Experience. Please do not mistake our adherence to our policies as unfriendly. We appreciate your feedback and will take...

DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Oct 31, 2019
Dawn F.
1 Review
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEWARE!!
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION OF ITS CUSTOMERS.
Reiterating the last reviewer, I didn't realize my "3-month subscription" would renew automatically. They say they give you lots of warnings as you are checking out, but three months later I wasn't thinking about it, and there is no reminder before they charge your card (like other subscription services I've used).
My only notice came from PayPal. Of course, it came just *hours* after their cancellation deadline. I contacted customer service right away. The boxes don't ship for at least two more weeks, but they still refuse to cancel and refund. Now I'm being charged $120 for three additional months of a service I didn't like in the first place!!
They've offered to change the content of my boxes (make it a kids box) or delay delivery, so clearly there is still time in the process to make changes, but they still refuse to cancel. They also would not escalate my issue to a manager, despite multiple requests.
I told them I don't like their product, so sending them at a later date does not address my issue. They don't care. They would rather keep my money and have an unhappy customer. And it's $120!! It's not like a $15 magazine subscription. Maybe to a rich corporation like Cratejoy, $120 is meaningless. But we are a one-income family of three, and $120 is a lot of money to us. But they don't care.
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. We do our best to give as many warnings as possible during the checkout process as well as giving you the option to remove the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription prior to signing up for your subscription as well in our post purchase communications. We will take your thoughts into consideration for further improvements in our communications with customers in the future.

TERRIBLE! Save your money.

Mar 26, 2020
Rachel M.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wish I could give a zero. This company doesn’t care about its customers and doesn’t “curate” unique dates they throw together junk and then provide links that don’t work. This last one was the last straw, it was about sensing more and LITERALLY came with a vile of massage oil, 5 caramels, a wooden knife and 3 wads of wax (still don’t know what it’s for). Then our date instructions were a narration on a website so we would have had some stranger’s voice on our date night. DO NOT waste your money. When I reached out to the company they gave me a link to the review page and it was the wrong link so I searched this place out.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 26, 2020

Hi Rachel,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and this date wasn't for you.
To summarize the complete date details...
Couples were audio guided through a taste test, massage experience, scent sampling and visual challenge. Our goal was to have you, as a couple, reflect on how your five senses have contributed to your relationship.
The included items were several activities, a snack for two, something to set the mood for the date (3 wax samples to explore scents as a couple, massage cards to learn various massage techniques and massage oil, a tasting guide, tasting mat, knife and McCreas Gourmet Caramels, a puzzle, a custom Spotify playlist, a suggested custom curated dinner menu with...

Terrible Company

Oct 29, 2019
Rachel Y.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They hide in your purchase that it is "auto renew" - with very little warning. After six months, you are charged with little warning for a whopping $250. They refuse to refund your money and their customer service is lacking. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. The warnings regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with subscriptions clearly marked in the checkout screen as well as the ability to remove this feature prior to checkout. We also have included multiple warnings in our post purchase communications regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements in our communications with customers.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Jan 29, 2020
Olivia C.
1 Review
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This company is dishonest! They keep your payment information and will charge you more than you sign up for! Several of the boxes didn’t include all items needed for activities. Some of the boxes were just advertisement items. I am extremely upset I purchased this last year! The creativity is severely lacking. One of the boxes was literally a paper clip, 4inch string, paper streamers, and some chopsticks! Worst purchase I have ever made!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 30, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our product and will take your feedback in to consideration for future improvements in communication.
We provide the option to review previous boxes that have been sent to customers so that new customers get an idea of what is included in our boxes.
When pulling the items together which are included in our Game On box, couples will tap into their competitive spirit, while playing silly games that are intended to fill their evening with laughter while making memories that last a life time.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, checkout process along in all post purchase communications. Each customer has the opportunity to access their account details with their...

Dont do it!

May 27, 2020
Keshav A.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

One of the worst thing I have bought online. The items did not even come in a box. It came in a cheap Amazon-like yellow envelope. It completely ruined our date night.
What worse is that you can not cancel future deliveries. Once you opt-in, they already charge you for four boxes. This is just unfair!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Keshav,
I’m so sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company and were disappointed by the packaging. Your date was sent out when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date being sent in a padded mailer instead of a box, something that was only done for a month.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, during the checkout process, and in all post purchase communications. The customer is required to agree to the terms and conditions of the subscription prior to signing up for the service, along with giving permission for Night In Boxes to continue to charge the payment method associated with the...

Very disappointing - poor quality

Dec 01, 2020
Jeanine S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really wanted to love this box. I subscribed because I thought we needed a bit of fun during pandemic times, but I was sorely disappointed. The products are so cheap and totally not worth even close to the money I paid for the box. Unfortunately, I paid for a 3-month subscription up front. The products were dollar store quality at best. While I do understand and appreciate the time it takes to curate content for a sub box (as a former sub-box owner), the cost of this sub cannot be justified based on the quality of its contents. Very, very disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 20, 2021

Hi Jeanine, thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your box. We focus on providing a complete Date Night at home with unique themes every month.
The value of the experience we provide is not associated with the value of the products you receive, but in the overall experience, connection, and memories made between you and your sweetie in a unique and fun way.

DATE NIGHT IN BOX-HORRIBLE

Apr 28, 2020
Ashely N.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I usually don't write reviews but this was so horrible I had to.
Don't waste your money on this! I wish I could give ZERO stars.
I spent way to much money for what I got. $41+ SUCH a ripoff
1) Shipping took forever
2) Didn't even come in a box
3) NO REFUNDS if not satisfied you can't send back
4) Included- 2 wipes, 2 propel powders to put in water, 2 small nut free mixes, 2 cheap plastic frisbee kinda things (not really sure)and a guide that is dumb and says stuff like bored? Talk a walk outside with your pet... unbelievable.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Ashley, I'm so sorry you had less than a positive experience with our company. As explained in your shipping email, the month this date was sent out was right when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date not being sent out in a box but a padded mailer, something that was only done for a month. Our shipping during this time also did take longer than we had hoped as well. I do see we immediately provided you with a refund and again we apologize if our date didn't meet your expectations.

Buyer Beware.

6 days ago
Jorina E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My experience with Night in Boxes and their customer service was terrible. I bought 3 boxes, which were mediocre at best. The recipes were terrible, and the included items were cheap. When I purchased the box in December, I ensured that I was not signing an automatically-renewing service (that's where these companies get you!!). This was clear on my invoice, and the emails I received. Without any notification, they charged my credit card again and my order was suddenly on "auto-renew". When I contacted customer service and asked them to provide me with any evidence that I had purchased an automatically renewing service (I had an invoice that clearly stated I only bought 3 boxes, with no mention of an auto-renew), they weren't able to, and refused to refund the unauthorized transaction. This company is a total scam and a money grab. Stay away.

Verified Purchase

Don't Buy From This Company

6 days ago
Cheryl J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. They "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. In January of 2021, I signed up for one time, 3 boxes through this service via a web deal they had going on. In late March of 2021, they "renewed my subscription" without notifying me. They billed me again for 3 more months of service before I even received my final box, and they did so without notifying me that they would do so. It seems like this is the business model that they use to make money - enter people unknowingly into a subscription service, and then secretly bill them without notification.

Verified Purchase

Complete waste of your money

Mar 29, 2021
Tom R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality