The ultimate solution to enjoy a Date Night In with your loved one from the comfort of your home!

Plans as low as $38.67 / month

Date Night In Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Can I give this zero stars?!

Jan 21, 2017
Jennifer R.
1 Review
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

HORRIBLE! I am so angry. I spent around $42 on this after shipping. As others mentioned below, complete waste of money. This is a joke! We were given envelopes, pens, paper, a tea light candle and 1 and a half ounces of candy to write TWELVE letters to each other. Yes, you read that correctly. This was cheap, not creative and not fun! This company is trying to make a quick buck and take advantage of people. Don't fall for this scam!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Jennifer,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and the date you received didn’t meet your expectations.

NOT CUSTOMER FRIENDLY

Nov 04, 2019
Rachael S.
1 Review
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If I could give this zero stars I would. I am extremely disappointed in their customer service. I had a poor experience with this company when trying to request a refund for my auto-renew. I asked 6 different times to speak with a supervisor and was denied. I am incredibly disappointed in the fact that they have zero flexibility in their refund policy. I have never dealt with a company who was this unfriendly to their customers. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 04, 2019

We are very sorry about that your experience was less than satisfactory. The automatic renewal feature associated with our subscriptions is clearly noted throughout the shopping experience and post purchase communications. By agreeing to the terms and conditions prior to signing up for your subscription, you were made aware of the cancellation, renewal and refund terms. When reviewing your communications with the Night In Boxes Customer experience team your request was immediately escalated to Night In Boxes Customer Experience team's Assistant Manager. After requesting to talk to the Assistant Manager's supervisor you were provided with a final resolution on your request by the VP - Customer Experience. Please do not mistake our adherence to our policies as unfriendly. We appreciate your feedback and will take...

DOESN'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION

Oct 31, 2019
Dawn F.
1 Review
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEWARE!!
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION OF ITS CUSTOMERS.
Reiterating the last reviewer, I didn't realize my "3-month subscription" would renew automatically. They say they give you lots of warnings as you are checking out, but three months later I wasn't thinking about it, and there is no reminder before they charge your card (like other subscription services I've used).
My only notice came from PayPal. Of course, it came just *hours* after their cancellation deadline. I contacted customer service right away. The boxes don't ship for at least two more weeks, but they still refuse to cancel and refund. Now I'm being charged $120 for three additional months of a service I didn't like in the first place!!
They've offered to change the content of my boxes (make it a kids box) or delay delivery, so clearly there is still time in the process to make changes, but they still refuse to cancel. They also would not escalate my issue to a manager, despite multiple requests.
I told them I don't like their product, so sending them at a later date does not address my issue. They don't care. They would rather keep my money and have an unhappy customer. And it's $120!! It's not like a $15 magazine subscription. Maybe to a rich corporation like Cratejoy, $120 is meaningless. But we are a one-income family of three, and $120 is a lot of money to us. But they don't care.
THIS COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE SATISFACTION...

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. We do our best to give as many warnings as possible during the checkout process as well as giving you the option to remove the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription prior to signing up for your subscription as well in our post purchase communications. We will take your thoughts into consideration for further improvements in our communications with customers in the future.

TERRIBLE! Save your money.

Mar 26, 2020
Rachel M.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wish I could give a zero. This company doesn’t care about its customers and doesn’t “curate” unique dates they throw together junk and then provide links that don’t work. This last one was the last straw, it was about sensing more and LITERALLY came with a vile of massage oil, 5 caramels, a wooden knife and 3 wads of wax (still don’t know what it’s for). Then our date instructions were a narration on a website so we would have had some stranger’s voice on our date night. DO NOT waste your money. When I reached out to the company they gave me a link to the review page and it was the wrong link so I searched this place out.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Mar 26, 2020

Hi Rachel,
I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with us and this date wasn't for you.
To summarize the complete date details...
Couples were audio guided through a taste test, massage experience, scent sampling and visual challenge. Our goal was to have you, as a couple, reflect on how your five senses have contributed to your relationship.
The included items were several activities, a snack for two, something to set the mood for the date (3 wax samples to explore scents as a couple, massage cards to learn various massage techniques and massage oil, a tasting guide, tasting mat, knife and McCreas Gourmet Caramels, a puzzle, a custom Spotify playlist, a suggested custom curated dinner menu with...

Terrible Company

Oct 29, 2019
Rachel Y.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They hide in your purchase that it is "auto renew" - with very little warning. After six months, you are charged with little warning for a whopping $250. They refuse to refund your money and their customer service is lacking. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 01, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Night In Boxes has been less than satisfactory. The warnings regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with subscriptions clearly marked in the checkout screen as well as the ability to remove this feature prior to checkout. We also have included multiple warnings in our post purchase communications regarding the automatic renewal feature associated with your subscription. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements in our communications with customers.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Jan 29, 2020
Olivia C.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This company is dishonest! They keep your payment information and will charge you more than you sign up for! Several of the boxes didn’t include all items needed for activities. Some of the boxes were just advertisement items. I am extremely upset I purchased this last year! The creativity is severely lacking. One of the boxes was literally a paper clip, 4inch string, paper streamers, and some chopsticks! Worst purchase I have ever made!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Jan 30, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our product and will take your feedback in to consideration for future improvements in communication.
We provide the option to review previous boxes that have been sent to customers so that new customers get an idea of what is included in our boxes.
When pulling the items together which are included in our Game On box, couples will tap into their competitive spirit, while playing silly games that are intended to fill their evening with laughter while making memories that last a life time.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, checkout process along in all post purchase communications. Each customer has the opportunity to access their account details with their...

Dont do it!

May 27, 2020
Keshav A.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

One of the worst thing I have bought online. The items did not even come in a box. It came in a cheap Amazon-like yellow envelope. It completely ruined our date night.
What worse is that you can not cancel future deliveries. Once you opt-in, they already charge you for four boxes. This is just unfair!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Keshav,
I’m so sorry you didn’t have a positive experience with our company and were disappointed by the packaging. Your date was sent out when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date being sent in a padded mailer instead of a box, something that was only done for a month.
The automatic renewal feature is clearly stated throughout the website, during the checkout process, and in all post purchase communications. The customer is required to agree to the terms and conditions of the subscription prior to signing up for the service, along with giving permission for Night In Boxes to continue to charge the payment method associated with the...

Wrong address.

Dec 31, 2020
Holly W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never received the package because it was sent to the wrong address!!

Verified Purchase

Very disappointing - poor quality

Dec 01, 2020
Jeanine S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really wanted to love this box. I subscribed because I thought we needed a bit of fun during pandemic times, but I was sorely disappointed. The products are so cheap and totally not worth even close to the money I paid for the box. Unfortunately, I paid for a 3-month subscription up front. The products were dollar store quality at best. While I do understand and appreciate the time it takes to curate content for a sub box (as a former sub-box owner), the cost of this sub cannot be justified based on the quality of its contents. Very, very disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Such a let-down!

Jan 24, 2017
Colleen P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

For those who want to cancel, you can do so on their website: https://date-night-in.cratejoy.com
I was so excited for our date box, and when it arrived, and I opened it, my husband and I thought it must have been a joke! Sure, the thought of writing love notes is sweet, but at least provide pretty pens and paper. Maybe put in some decent sweets. I completely regret making this purchase. I have cancelled my subscription, and I will use my $35 to purchase some high-quality date night things and plan my own!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Colleen,
I’m sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your date. We take time to carefully curate each date, and provide several activities and a delicious treat. We apologize if our date didn't meet your expectations.

Horrible

Jan 22, 2017
Hollie W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

The pictures online are nothing like what you get. My husband thought it was a joke!! $40 on paper and pens. I didn't even get the candle. I'm trying to cancel but can't figure out how to!! I want a refund and I'll send this junk back!!!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Hollie,
I am sorry that your Date Night In Box didn't meet your expectations. We carefully curate each box, and include several activities and tasty treats. I apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

DATE NIGHT IN BOX-HORRIBLE

Apr 28, 2020
Ashely N.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I usually don't write reviews but this was so horrible I had to.
Don't waste your money on this! I wish I could give ZERO stars.
I spent way to much money for what I got. $41+ SUCH a ripoff
1) Shipping took forever
2) Didn't even come in a box
3) NO REFUNDS if not satisfied you can't send back
4) Included- 2 wipes, 2 propel powders to put in water, 2 small nut free mixes, 2 cheap plastic frisbee kinda things (not really sure)and a guide that is dumb and says stuff like bored? Talk a walk outside with your pet... unbelievable.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Ashley, I'm so sorry you had less than a positive experience with our company. As explained in your shipping email, the month this date was sent out was right when COVID hit and rather than shut down, we pushed to send out an at home entertainment solution. This resulted in your date not being sent out in a box but a padded mailer, something that was only done for a month. Our shipping during this time also did take longer than we had hoped as well. I do see we immediately provided you with a refund and again we apologize if our date didn't meet your expectations.

Not Happy

Oct 24, 2020
Kimberly L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The company has taken the money and I have still not gotten a box it has been two months and still waiting.......

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Kimberly,
I'm so sorry you haven't received your date yet! If you are still waiting, please reach out to us via the support link at the bottom of our website so our Customer Experience team can look into it for you.

Not worth the money

Apr 17, 2018
Allissa T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We have received two of their boxes and were disappointed both times. Though their ideas are cute, the box only contains cheap and poor quality items that are not worth $42 a month. We cancelled our subscription. I can plan creative date nights at home on my own without spending that much.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Allissa, I'm sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your dates. We take time to carefully curate the date, and provide several activities and a delicious treat. We wish you would have had a better experience with us!

Date night

Jan 16, 2018
Caitlin H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I’m disappointed with the date night box. I gave it to my dad as a gift and I thought he and his wife would like the fun crafts and activities. Unfortunately the last two boxes have not had crafts like it shows in the photos but had recipes, shopping lists and an invite they had to print themselves. They don’t like to cook and they don’t have a printer at home. For what the box costs I expected a lot more. I hope their third box is a little different and more like the photos advertised above.

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 09, 2020

Hi Caitlin, I'm sorry our boxes didn't meet your dad's expectations. We provide the digital version of our shopping list because this element of the date is sent BEFORE we ship the date so our customers can get ready. The meal portion of our date is an "extra" feature and is not a requirement of the date. There were many other components to the date that we hope they were able to enjoy.

Disappointed only begins to explain..

Jan 22, 2017
Tressa A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I'm very disappointed- I can't figure out how to cancel the 3rd box I ordered. I don't even want to waste my time looking forward to this. Literally paid $40 for paper and envelopes? And some nasty carmels. Cheap attempt. I'm sure they're making money hand over fist!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Tressa,
I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with your Date Night In Box. We take time to carefully curate each box and provide several activities and a tasty treat to contribute to the overall experience.

Waste of Money

Jan 21, 2017
Meghann M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Don't waste your money! We just received our 1st box. I think that is where most of my money went to is the box. It's cute and that is where cute stops. A small pack of caramels, some envelopes and paper. I paid $35 for that??!! Cancelled for sure!

Verified Purchase
Night In Boxes: Date Night In & Kids Night In said...Nov 10, 2020

Hi Meghann,
Thank you for taking the time to take a review and we are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience. We take time to carefully curate each date and are sad to hear our boxes didn't meet your needs.

Jan 21, 2017
Elise V.
1 Review