Explore a new US city’s culture through premium, locally made, artisan products, and food.

Plans as low as $39.00 / month

Explore Local Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Skip it

May 13, 2020
Jennifer P.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got the Oregon box and it was just so so for me.
I can tell a lot of thought went into the curation but I didn't find it was enough of a value for what I spent.
One thing that I didn't like at all is that they sent me in a separate regular mail envelope a granola bar that wasn't even in the package. It was just crumbling inside a standard white mail envelope

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...May 27, 2020

We are so disappointed you wrote this review without allowing us the opportunity to fix the problem. You emailed us at 9 pm your package was damaged and we immediately wrote back at 8 am that we were sorry it happened and we could send out a replacement bar asap in better packaging with a little something else to help make up for the inconvenience. You wrote back "no need but thank you."
We do not usually send out individual items, but we had a slight delay in receiving all of the granola bars. The folks at LivBars were just great and nextday shipped them, but given the delays in postal delivery during this COVID challenge, we made the decision to ship...

Too expensive

Apr 15, 2020
Tracy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Meh. It's a great idea but kind of expensive for what you get.

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Apr 15, 2020

We are sorry you found the gift box expensive. We really strive hard to find locally made products from the featured cities that are both of good value and great quality. All items in the boxes are handmade by local artisans or small businesses and their value if purchased individually is more than the cost of the box. Most of the suppliers are very small companies which are run out of homes or at sites with just a few employees. They do not operate with the volume that is needed to get large discounts in purchasing supplies or even shipping. Mass-produced products are definitely cheaper, but they would not be unique to the city and support the local artisans. We at Explore Local Box believe...

Bad customer service and not great gift

Apr 07, 2020
Anamaria P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Terrible I accidentally renewed this instead of box I wanted and they charged me any way even though it’s not a subscription and says cancelled. I order it twice as a subscription for a niece in college but she didn’t think worth it so chose something else. I thought I was rehearing a heart box but saw it was thus. I cancelled and write them 30 seconds after. Today my bank said they processed it beyond the hold!!!

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Apr 08, 2020

We are so sorry you are disappointed. We promptly responded and have tried twice to contact you by email to clarify your request, but have not heard back from you. We strive for excellent customer service and want to make you happy. The request was that you did not want the subscription to renew. This could mean that you would get the first box and then your subscription would not renew OR that you wanted to cancel the order. We are happy to issue you a refund if that is what you want.

Not worth the price

Jun 15, 2018
Amy D.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

It's a good thing I got my first box at a discounted price, I would have been mad if I had paid the full price for what I received. It was 2 small packets of seasonings, 2 cards that I don't have a use for, a lip balm, a kitchen towel, and a small jar of rosemary simple syrup. Not at all worth $35 dollars in my opinion. I am cancelling after this first box.

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Nov 13, 2017

We are very sorry your gift box did not meet your expectations. We want our customers to be happy! The cost of the items in the gift box for New Orleans, if you were to buy them individually, is actually more than the cost of the box. All items are handmade by local artisans in New Orleans and were chosen because they are unique and have a high degree of craftsmanship. Mass produced products are cheaper, but they would not be unique to the city and support the local artisans which is our passion at Explore Local Box. We strive hard to bring our customers locally made products that will give them a good feel for the city.

Buying Options