Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, herbs, or aquatic plants.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Dying

Mar 22, 2020
Ashley Y.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Arrived with one dead leaf and the rest are slowly dying.

Verified Purchase

Save your money!!!

Dec 21, 2019
Maegan L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have received 3 plants total. The first being amazing and I loved it. The seance subpar and nothing too great. I decided to try one last plant was dead wilted and over all a huge disappointment. I'd say save your money go to a nursery and get your own. Also, the plants dent come in pot which is added on to expenses having to buy a pot each month. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Verified Purchase

It's just Mehhh

Oct 22, 2019
Gunner D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box and i was super excited when it finally came but was pretty disappointed when I opened my box. I received Aloe Vera and a Ficus which are both very common and pretty mangled from shipping. It also said we would get a surprise in every box and i got a little sample of lotion for my face... why would i get something for my face when this is a plant subscription?!? I'd order from Ipsy if I wanted skin care. I am debating on cancelling my subscription or waiting one more month to see if it gets better. I would not recommend this subscription based off the box I received.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Oct 22, 2019

Hi! We're very sorry you were not satisfied with your first shipment with us. We would be more than happy to make this right. Please contact us at your earliest convenience! We look forward to hearing from you!

Seller

monthly plant pet safe

Oct 18, 2019
Susan M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

plant arrived dry and broken.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Oct 18, 2019

Hi! I'm very sorry to hear your plant did not arrive to you in healthy condition! Please don't hesitate to contact us. We would be more than happy to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you!

Seller

Frozen and Dead.

Jan 22, 2020
Haley T.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super disappointed in my first shipment. Not only is the plant very small and just OK, but it was frozen solid and dead by the time it arrived. I understand it is winter, but I would hope there would be a better way to ship to the colder states. I had hoped the first box would really wow me. I am going to give it another month, because I'd like to think it was just an off month mixed with cold weather. Stay tuned. I will absolutely update my review if things look better!

Premium Box No Longer Premium

Mar 22, 2019
Angela H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I love my plants from HPB—they’re wonderful little greens that have filled our home with life. Unfortunately, the premium boxes just aren’t premium anymore. I’ve received no extras as they description states, and the past three months have consisted of only 2 plants—meaning I’m paying $15/plant while others without the premium box are paying less money for their plant. I’d be better off ordering two separate boxes at the base level instead. For now, I will cancel until hopefully you’re able to make the premium boxes premium again.

Verified Purchase

Apr 03, 2019
Dianne A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I gave a 2 star because my first two plants were healthy ok. My third came yesterday and it was just baby spider plants potted up. Spider babies are a dime dozen. I’ve canceled my subscription. I think this could be super fun if they did plants that were not easily found. ☹️

Verified Purchase

Some mixed feelings about this box

Mar 07, 2019
Angie M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Let me start first by saying this is my second month getting this box and I feel like for the money they could be doing a bit more. At the very least a bit more on the information provided about the plants sent. The first box I received 4 small plants and a card with very limited information about them and their care. The second box I received two sightly larger plants and a card with limited information on their care. I plan on getting one more month of this box and if it's not any better than the first two I will be ending my subscription. I had a lot of high hopes for this box but I feel like so far for the money it really isn't worth it.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 08, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not completely satisfied with our subscription box! We would be more than happy to help you with anything you may need regarding information on our subscription box plants. Please feel free to email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>!

Seller

Confused ...

Jan 08, 2019
Ashli R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I got some clippings, but there were no instructions or labels to tell me even what kind of plants I had received. I’m pretty sure they’re all air plants, but I am a beginner to having live greenery in my house and since I don’t know what they are, I don’t know how to take care of them. I guess it’s just a case of Google to the rescue.

Verified Purchase

Shipping

Sep 07, 2019
Sten B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I know it was just shipping but my plant has been barely hanging on. I'm not sure its going to survive

Verified Purchase

Hard Pass

Jul 02, 2019
Amanda M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I LOVE plants! So I was really excited when I saw this service. Nope! I have received a beat up spider plant, 2 mediocre creeping Charlies, and a dying lavender. 3 of 4 pots were broken and cracked upon arrival. My third month was due to arrive last week and honestly, I barely even care.
Do yourself a favor and skip it. You can get better quality, better variety and better prices at any nursery.

Verified Purchase

Duped

May 02, 2019
Elizabeth C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

A spider plant? For this money? And you consider that unique or ok? And now I'm having lots of trouble cancelling so that's fun

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...May 02, 2019

Hello,

I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with our box! We try to vary each plant from last month. As for your subscription, I've gone ahead and cancelled it. You should see it shortly.

Seller

Meh

May 02, 2019
Elissa P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

It was an ivy in a 4inch pot. Shears from china. Would be 3.99 at a big box store. Not worth 12. Not even close.

Verified Purchase

Multiple Issues

Feb 14, 2019
Jenna R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I received the airplant subscription instead of the houseplants. My order was held for comd weather , which I totally understand but then it took another 10 days before they were shipped.....

Verified Purchase

Unhappy x2

Jan 23, 2019
Adrienne
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

I was very excited to have found this subscription and was looking forward to receiving my first box. There was a little delay in the shipping which I understood and was grateful for the great customer service regarding the issue. Finally received my box, the plant was dead and most of it was not even attached to the main plant anymore. Contacted them and they were super nice and understanding and told me they would send me a replacement, which once again, I was grateful for. I received my box today and it came in almost worse condition than the first. Soil was everywhere, plant was almost dead, again. I was super excited to have found you guys and I tried my honest to god best to give you the benefit of the doubt because I know the post office can be kind of rough with packages (have gotten more than one broken item before) but I am thoroughly disappointed. The only reason I am giving any stars is because of how kind you guys were and how great the customer service was. Otherwise, I would be giving no stars.

Verified Purchase

Didnt Ask For SUCCULENT!?

Dec 07, 2018
Muriel P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I signed up for a monthly houseplant box and got a succulent in the mail. Some of these are toxic to pets and I have three pets at home. Even though the plant is beautiful, I didn’t get for what I asked for. Not happy with this purchase 😪

Verified Purchase

Oct 09, 2018
Courey S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

At first, I was very impressed with the size and overall health of the plants that I had received. It wasn't until I went to repot them that I realized that neither was a whole mature plant, rather a few cutting stuck together in a pot. What bothers me most is that the cuttings weren't even properly rooted. Slowly both plants have died from not being able to properly absorb nutrients. I have tried to get into my account to cancel the subscription, but it says page not found whenever I try to click into it. Very disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Meh, not worth the money

Oct 01, 2018
Zoey P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

My plant arrived alive, but all of the leaves were broken in half.....Plus, I could've gotten the same thing from Lowes for $4. I was expecting a little bit more.

Verified Purchase