Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, aquatic or seeds.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

I really wanted to love it...

Apr 11, 2020
Emily C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the idea of this box. I can grow my collection by having someone choose for me. I hate making choices.
My first plant was amazing! Very healthy. Much bigger than I expected. And so with that, My subscription renewed, I went bought my future plant a new pot and waited.

I finally received my absolutely beautiful plant on the day my subscription was set to renew.

The shipping recently changed from 2nd-3rd week maybe 4th to possibly going into the next month, which i don’t believe it said when I signed up. I don’t want to wait a month to receive something I paid for. When I emailed, they said I would receive it soon. “Soon” Turns out to be a little longer than I care to wait. Especially when I asked.

So with that, I canceled about a week before my subscription renewed when I hadn’t received an updated tracking.

I really loved the idea, and I may sign back up later when I’m not anxiously awaiting growing my collection. But for now, I think I’ll just treat myself to a cool new plant once a month.

Verified Purchase

Dying

Mar 22, 2020
Ashley Y.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Arrived with one dead leaf and the rest are slowly dying.

Verified Purchase

Ok but not great

Jun 29, 2020
Sara J.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Small Plant is not packaged too well, poor thing was damaged with leaf broken off and smooshed, I suppose it’s just hard to ship these things without damage. So far I’m not too impressed which bums me out because I wanted a nice little collection of succulents. For the price I’ll just get a plant every month from Home Depot.

Verified Purchase

Frozen and Dead.

Jan 22, 2020
Haley T.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super disappointed in my first shipment. Not only is the plant very small and just OK, but it was frozen solid and dead by the time it arrived. I understand it is winter, but I would hope there would be a better way to ship to the colder states. I had hoped the first box would really wow me. I am going to give it another month, because I'd like to think it was just an off month mixed with cold weather. Stay tuned. I will absolutely update my review if things look better!

Save your money!!!

Dec 21, 2019
Maegan L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have received 3 plants total. The first being amazing and I loved it. The seance subpar and nothing too great. I decided to try one last plant was dead wilted and over all a huge disappointment. I'd say save your money go to a nursery and get your own. Also, the plants dent come in pot which is added on to expenses having to buy a pot each month. SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Verified Purchase

It's just Mehhh

Oct 22, 2019
Gunner D.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box and i was super excited when it finally came but was pretty disappointed when I opened my box. I received Aloe Vera and a Ficus which are both very common and pretty mangled from shipping. It also said we would get a surprise in every box and i got a little sample of lotion for my face... why would i get something for my face when this is a plant subscription?!? I'd order from Ipsy if I wanted skin care. I am debating on cancelling my subscription or waiting one more month to see if it gets better. I would not recommend this subscription based off the box I received.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Oct 22, 2019

Hi! We're very sorry you were not satisfied with your first shipment with us. We would be more than happy to make this right. Please contact us at your earliest convenience! We look forward to hearing from you!

monthly plant pet safe

Oct 18, 2019
Susan M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

plant arrived dry and broken.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Oct 18, 2019

Hi! I'm very sorry to hear your plant did not arrive to you in healthy condition! Please don't hesitate to contact us. We would be more than happy to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you!

Premium Box No Longer Premium

Mar 22, 2019
Angela H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I love my plants from HPB—they’re wonderful little greens that have filled our home with life. Unfortunately, the premium boxes just aren’t premium anymore. I’ve received no extras as they description states, and the past three months have consisted of only 2 plants—meaning I’m paying $15/plant while others without the premium box are paying less money for their plant. I’d be better off ordering two separate boxes at the base level instead. For now, I will cancel until hopefully you’re able to make the premium boxes premium again.

Verified Purchase

Duped

May 02, 2019
Elizabeth C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall

A spider plant? For this money? And you consider that unique or ok? And now I'm having lots of trouble cancelling so that's fun

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...May 02, 2019

Hello,

I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with our box! We try to vary each plant from last month. As for your subscription, I've gone ahead and cancelled it. You should see it shortly.

Apr 03, 2019
Dianne A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I gave a 2 star because my first two plants were healthy ok. My third came yesterday and it was just baby spider plants potted up. Spider babies are a dime dozen. I’ve canceled my subscription. I think this could be super fun if they did plants that were not easily found. ☹️

Verified Purchase

Some mixed feelings about this box

Mar 07, 2019
Angie M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Let me start first by saying this is my second month getting this box and I feel like for the money they could be doing a bit more. At the very least a bit more on the information provided about the plants sent. The first box I received 4 small plants and a card with very limited information about them and their care. The second box I received two sightly larger plants and a card with limited information on their care. I plan on getting one more month of this box and if it's not any better than the first two I will be ending my subscription. I had a lot of high hopes for this box but I feel like so far for the money it really isn't worth it.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Mar 08, 2019

Hello,

I’m very sorry you were not completely satisfied with our subscription box! We would be more than happy to help you with anything you may need regarding information on our subscription box plants. Please feel free to email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>!

Confused ...

Jan 08, 2019
Ashli R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I got some clippings, but there were no instructions or labels to tell me even what kind of plants I had received. I’m pretty sure they’re all air plants, but I am a beginner to having live greenery in my house and since I don’t know what they are, I don’t know how to take care of them. I guess it’s just a case of Google to the rescue.

Verified Purchase

Shipping

Sep 07, 2019
Sten B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I know it was just shipping but my plant has been barely hanging on. I'm not sure its going to survive

Verified Purchase

Hard Pass

Jul 02, 2019
Amanda M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I LOVE plants! So I was really excited when I saw this service. Nope! I have received a beat up spider plant, 2 mediocre creeping Charlies, and a dying lavender. 3 of 4 pots were broken and cracked upon arrival. My third month was due to arrive last week and honestly, I barely even care.
Do yourself a favor and skip it. You can get better quality, better variety and better prices at any nursery.

Verified Purchase

Meh

May 02, 2019
Elissa P.