Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, aquatic or seeds.

Plans as low as $11.25 / month

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Great quality plants or I thought...

Jan 30, 2020
Jackalyn M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have always loved receiving subscription boxes. I wanted to try a plant one and it was so hard to pick one from Cratejoy. I ended up deciding for this one. I receive the normal house plant box. Each month has been a different beautiful plant. I can feel the quality of the plant by touching it. Definitely worth $12 a month. I can’t wait to receive my December plant.

Update: I received my January plant it was completely dead and brown, I could see a bit of the green it once was. I am extremely upset since I was really looking forward to this months plant. For the month of December I also received a almost dead plant but was able to bring it back to life so I did not mind it as much, but this months is just really bad I could not let it continue happening. I emailed customer service right away. An automatic email told me they would respond in 48 hours. 72 hours went by and I had to contact them again because I did not hear back from them. They responded asking for a picture. I emailed the picture right away on Jan 27, 2020 and to this date have not heard back. They definitely do not have 24/7 customer service like it says above.

Verified Purchase

broken sad plant.

Feb 08, 2020
Ashley S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was impressed that it was packaged so well, and confused when it was packaged so well, how my plant could arrive so beat up. Now I have to nurse it back to health? I think I will buy my plants in person from now on. A cool idea, but very underwhelming.

Verified Purchase

They never responded to me issue.

May 11, 2020
Benjamin B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I recieved this box for 4 months. Every month my box arrived my plant was slightly damaged, nothing too bad just maybe from shipping. I have a few plants from them that are thriving and doing great. The most recent box I recieved was a string of dolphins. It was completely shaked up and tossed around. It arrived with all the dolphins off the vines and only 2 stalks alive in the whole 4 inch pot, and those stalks were bare sticks. I tried messaging them to resolve the issue but over 2 weeks later and I havent recieved a response to either message I have sent. I would have recommended them before this, but the customer service is basically non existent. Very unfortunate.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 01, 2020
Julia S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

My 2nd shipment arrived completely destroyed! The poor plant will never recover!

Verified Purchase

First box

Dec 29, 2019
Andrea H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very small plant for introduction to box. Hope the next month is better quality.

Verified Purchase

I want to be impressed....

Nov 18, 2019
Jackie M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The plants look a little beat up. Also there is nothing saying what plant it is. The care guide is helpful after googling pictures to find the plant type.

Verified Purchase

Why always succulents?

Oct 15, 2019
Sherry S.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my 2nd month. I signed up for the house plant box, yet have received succulents both months. This month, I received an Aloe vera...exactly like the hundreds of Aloe veras popping up all over my yard. Last month, the pickle plants were more like barely rooted cuttings. I didn't want succulents. That's why I didn't sign up for the succulent box. I'll give it one more month, but I really don't want a succulent, especially one that I can go dig up out of my yard for free. 🤷‍♀️

Verified Purchase

Expected more

Apr 03, 2019
Kimberly C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

I really wish the plants were more exotic because I paid $12.00 for a plant I could have purchased at another store for half the price. I think it is a great idea to have the subscription, but I'm going to purchase my plants somewhere else. The quality of my plant was fantastic so I have no complaints there.

Verified Purchase

Same plant

Jan 13, 2019
Julia M.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The plant arrived in fine condition, but it was the same plant I received last month.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 14, 2019

Hi! I'm so sorry to hear this. It looks like we made a mistake. Can you please send us an email at info@houseplantshop.com so we can send you the correct plant?

Ok... for a fern

Sep 05, 2019
Kat
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box was damaged but plant was intact. Was bummed to get an American fern but it seems healthy and a decent size. It came with a bonus sign but unfortunately it was broken in the box.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Sep 05, 2019

Hello,

I'm very sorry about this! I can have our team send you another plant sign.

Bad shipping but great products

May 25, 2019
Allison D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They’re pretty bad with them the shipping. The first month I got an email apologizing and saying it was a slow growing month, but every month after that I’ve waited until the end of the month then emailed the company asking if they were shipping any time soon. They always respond apologizing and a day or two later I get an email confirming shipment. They say the 2nd or 3rd week it ships, but the last few months I’ve had to reach out in the 4th week in order to get my box, and this month I haven’t heard anything from the company besides the monthly billing to my account a few weeks ago. Kind of scared I won’t even receive one unless I bug them about it.

However, despite pretty awful shipping situation the plants always come beautiful and abundant and very healthy and I’m extremely happy with the quality of the shipment box.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...May 27, 2019

Hello,

We're very sorry about your subscription boxes later than expected arrival. We try to get our orders out as soon as we can, but sometimes we are unable to ship our plants if they are not grown enough to withstand their journey to you. Please feel free to email us at info@houseplantshop.com for any questions or concerns you may have.

Thanks!

May 06, 2019
Joy L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

my plant arrived squished and super dry, it took almost a week just to make it look alive and perky again. Not sure that the fun of the surprise type of plant was worth the cost/wait/sickly arrival... I could have gone to any home improvement store and picked out a plant instantly for the same cost that was happier

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...May 07, 2019

Hello,

I'm very sorry your plant did not arrive in proper condition! In the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@houseplantshop.com. We would be more than happy to make it right!

Thanks!

Mail box problem

Feb 17, 2019
Linda P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My Jan plants were recived frozen and died due to weather. They are not shipped in away that they are marked to be dilvered to the door instead of my mailbox. Very disappointed and unable to reach the seller at this point

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Feb 19, 2019

‘Hello,

I’m very sorry your plants arrived frozen! Could you please email us at info@houseplantshop.com <mailto:info@houseplantshop.com>? We would be more than happy to make this right.

Not great...☹️

Dec 06, 2018