House Plant Box

by House Plant Box
Monthly box of healthy and unique houseplants, succulents, air plants, plant cuttings or seeds.
345 reviews

Plans as low as

$15.00/ month

Buying Options

House Plant Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
345

Waiting for new box

May 25, 2021
Audra L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Had a hard time getting in touch but was finally able to get an issue resolved. Waiting for a new box to arrive.

Verified Purchase

Terrible

Apr 29, 2021
Megan G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered this box just to see what it was like and I’ve had people tell me it is good. My experience of the one box I got was horrible. The plant was pretty much half dead. The soil was still a little moist when I got it but was barely even in the planter pot it came in. I stopped my box after that first box and don’t know if I’ll be going back to it. The plant was wrapped up and rubber handed so it didn’t break but it didn’t help the almost being dead plant.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Mar 02, 2021
Sarah L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was a happy customer for almost a year, until my most recent shipment. My February plant arrived dead in the box, after only being shipped 4 days prior. It has been 1.5 weeks since the shipment arrived and I have yet to receive a response to my multiple emails sent to customer service. Such a shame - I really enjoyed this shipment!

Verified Purchase

Dead and crushed

Mar 12, 2021
Kay M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The first 3 months were great! The last two months our plants shipped mid month and didnt actually arrive til the next month and both were dead already and squished and dirt everywhere.

Verified Purchase

I lasted 2 months

Mar 12, 2021
Mesha I.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The plants come really small... for the price I thought they’d be bigger.

Verified Purchase

Shipping and customer service terrible

Mar 01, 2021
Cheri D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased the plant box subscription for my daughter 30th birthday.Well your service started off good with the first shipment then the second is a week late so far did not receive. I contact Cratejoy and plant box and the response is it is on the way . By the time the plant arrives I am sure it will be dead . My daughter birthday past and the plant did not arrive . I canceled my subscription I will never order anything from either of you again !

Verified Purchase

Great concept but poor shipping

Mar 01, 2021
Amalia V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great concept but to ship these items is very difficult - sadly 2/3 were pretty damaged during shipping.

Verified Purchase

Air plants

Mar 01, 2021
Jordan L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Air plants

Verified Purchase

A little battered

Feb 28, 2021
Sarah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Plant arrived a little battered. Attempting to revive it. It is a succulent that was pretty much toast when I got it. Also it was frigid outside and it sat overnight in 30 degree temps.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

Feb 08, 2021
Charles O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Plant was small small and almost dead when got it.

Verified Purchase

Skeptical Shipping Securement

Feb 08, 2021
Corey L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I would say right now it's just eh.... My biggest gripe, which if addressed and fixed would be the securement of the shipping. Opened this box as instructed and dirt was everywhere and the plant was out of the dirt. Was very dissapointed.

Verified Purchase

Probably won’t do this again

Feb 12, 2021
Lena G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It showed up later than the given website timeframe and when it finally did arrive it was a mess.

Verified Purchase

My first box

Feb 02, 2021
Brandie G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This isn’t ideally what I thought I would be getting but hopefully I can save it and it grow but for now it looks like something took a a big bite out of it

Verified Purchase

Great quality plants or I thought...

Dec 16, 2019
Jackalyn M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have always loved receiving subscription boxes. I wanted to try a plant one and it was so hard to pick one from Cratejoy. I ended up deciding for this one. I receive the normal house plant box. Each month has been a different beautiful plant. I can feel the quality of the plant by touching it. Definitely worth $12 a month. I can’t wait to receive my December plant.
Update: I received my January plant it was completely dead and brown, I could see a bit of the green it once was. I am extremely upset since I was really looking forward to this months plant. For the month of December I also received a almost dead plant but was able to bring it back to life so I did not mind it as much, but this months is just really bad I could not let it continue happening. I emailed customer service right away. An automatic email told me they would respond in 48 hours. 72 hours went by and I had to contact them again because I did not hear back from them. They responded asking for a picture. I emailed the picture right away on Jan 27, 2020 and to this date have not heard back. They definitely do not have 24/7 customer service like it says above.

Verified Purchase

broken sad plant.

Feb 08, 2020
Ashley S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was impressed that it was packaged so well, and confused when it was packaged so well, how my plant could arrive so beat up. Now I have to nurse it back to health? I think I will buy my plants in person from now on. A cool idea, but very underwhelming.

Verified Purchase

First box

Dec 29, 2019
Andrea H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very small plant for introduction to box. Hope the next month is better quality.

Verified Purchase

I want to be impressed....

Nov 18, 2019
Jackie M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The plants look a little beat up. Also there is nothing saying what plant it is. The care guide is helpful after googling pictures to find the plant type.

Verified Purchase

Why always succulents?

Oct 15, 2019
Sherry S.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my 2nd month. I signed up for the house plant box, yet have received succulents both months. This month, I received an Aloe vera...exactly like the hundreds of Aloe veras popping up all over my yard. Last month, the pickle plants were more like barely rooted cuttings. I didn't want succulents. That's why I didn't sign up for the succulent box. I'll give it one more month, but I really don't want a succulent, especially one that I can go dig up out of my yard for free. 🤷‍♀️

Verified Purchase

They never responded to me issue.

May 11, 2020
Benjamin B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I recieved this box for 4 months. Every month my box arrived my plant was slightly damaged, nothing too bad just maybe from shipping. I have a few plants from them that are thriving and doing great. The most recent box I recieved was a string of dolphins. It was completely shaked up and tossed around. It arrived with all the dolphins off the vines and only 2 stalks alive in the whole 4 inch pot, and those stalks were bare sticks. I tried messaging them to resolve the issue but over 2 weeks later and I havent recieved a response to either message I have sent. I would have recommended them before this, but the customer service is basically non existent. Very unfortunate.

Verified Purchase

Expected more

Apr 03, 2019
Kimberly C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall

I really wish the plants were more exotic because I paid $12.00 for a plant I could have purchased at another store for half the price. I think it is a great idea to have the subscription, but I'm going to purchase my plants somewhere else. The quality of my plant was fantastic so I have no complaints there.

Verified Purchase

Same plant

Jan 13, 2019
Julia M.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The plant arrived in fine condition, but it was the same plant I received last month.

Verified Purchase
House Plant Box said...Jan 14, 2019

Hi! I'm so sorry to hear this. It looks like we made a mistake. Can you please send us an email at info@houseplantshop.com so we can send you the correct plant?

Good for those who can’t access a store

Dec 17, 2020
Catlin D.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Probably best for those who can’t really access any plant store. The hardware store one street down from me has this plant for 7.99 (I paid the 15.99 subscription). It came in good shape even though it was shipped for a while due to holidays. Maybe would be worth it if it came with even just a plastic base and pot versus just the planting one.

Verified Purchase

Horrible shipping time!

Nov 17, 2020
Leisean F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been very happy with my subscription until last month (October)
I didn’t receive my box until November and was very disappointed with the selection. The plant I received was only one leaf. It didn’t have any buds growing on it and most of the soil had spilled out. I was going to cancel my subscription but realized my account had already been charged for November. Very unhappy with the shipping time!!

Verified Purchase

Almost nailed it

Sep 29, 2020
Tara B.
12 Reviews
2 Pictures
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent except that you need to go out and buy a pot, doesn't come with everything you need

Verified Purchase

Subscription fail

Sep 23, 2020
Lisa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I started out loving this box, but the quality has gone down. Plants sent as clippings with hardly any developed roots and falling out of the soil in transit. The plants they send are typically $7.99 - $9.99 on their website, and the ones I've purchased individually have been in much better condition. The surprise can be fun, but not when they aren't worth the money. Do yourself a favor and purchase a plant or two of your choosing each month, and you'll be much happier.

Verified Purchase