Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

NOT WORTH IT

Aug 27, 2019
Ingrid C.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These are expensive boxes for what you get. It's fun for the first 2 boxes then you start to see some of the same cheap gums, candies and chocolates that are nothing special and a total waste of money. If you live in a city that has a decent Japanese shop, you're better off buying snacks from there so at least you pay for what you like and not end up with some random cheap stuff that you don't care for.

If you're still considering trying the box, DO NOT GET LONG TERM SUBSCRIPTION. Watch out for the auto-renewal. They don't send you a notification that your anniversary date is coming up and that they will be charging you for another round. The "cancel at any time" that they advertise on their website is NOT TRUE AT ALL. Once they charge you they never refund even thought they haven't sent you anything yet (or even got around to preparing your box) and can technically refund. I totally did not realize that my 12 month subscription (yes, I made the stupid mistake of signing up in the first place) is up for renewal as I haven't received my last box at the time. Canceled the subscription and notified them immediately after the email came through but they refused to refund because all they care about is getting your money and not the consumer experience. Now I'm out a few hundred dollars and stuck with a bunch of boxes that I don't...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 22, 2019

Hi Ingrid! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, all subscribers are informed at sign-up that our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled; all subscribers must agree to the disclaimer at the checkout window before they can subscriber. If you fail to cancel your subscription before the next renewal date, then you will be responsible for the renewal. Note, if you subscribe to a prepaid plan (3, 6, or 12) you are committing to purchasing those crates (at a discounted price). While you are free to cancel your subscription at any time, you will still be responsible for any crates remaining on your prepaid plan.

Better boxes out there

Jul 30, 2019
Desiree J.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The company takes a realllly long time to ship for the small amount of products you receive. The main problem was that I canceled my subscription when I knew I wouldn’t be home to receive that months box but then they just renewed it anyway. I had proof from my internet history I canceled it but they refused to work with me.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Desiree! To clarify, the reason why your subscription renewed was because it was left active. As stated in the disclaimer (which is available at the checkout window), our subscriptions are set to auto-renew until cancelled.

Good and interesting

Sep 12, 2019
Lawrence B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great variety, and good value for the price. First shipment arrived promptly and in great condition. Box comes with a pamphlet describing each product and translating the instructions, along with a recipe suggestion using a couple of the products.

Verified Purchase

A good product for the money

Feb 07, 2020
Ilana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box come fast. It was very cute packeging and very tasty snacks.

Verified Purchase

A Perfect Match

Jan 12, 2020
Vicdan Ö.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My boyfriend and I have a new grown taste for trying out different snacks than we have in our country. We sometimes visit markets with imported brands exclusively for this eventhough they are expensive. We also have a "snack night" when we visit somewhere abroad, we try their local snacks for dinner. Both of these practices are quite pricey and we limited options in terms of what we can try. When I heard about Japan Crate I knew exactly this was what we needed. I bought the january crate as a christmas gift and I've never seen someone be as happy as my boyfriend was once I told him about this service. We love to experiment with different tastes and Japanese snacks are perfect for us. Why I preferred Japan Crate, on the other hand, is because I read positive reviews about your shipment and packages. I looked at the social media accounts of Japan Crate and they looked great giivng me the idea that this is a trustworthy website. The support team has been very helpful about my concerns with shipping to Turkey. We still didn't get to open our crate but from what I've seen on your instagram the selection and variety of snacks seems very promising and exciting, I am sure we will enjoy it very much. Japan Crate is perfect for us!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic products.

Jan 01, 2020
Harold D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Unbelievably good. Very satisfied with the variety of flavors and textures with all the products. Not disappointed at all. Prompt shipping, good correspondence, and reasonably priced in our opinion. Definitely recommend.

Verified Purchase

not shipped

Dec 21, 2019
Nathalie L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did not received anything yet!!! and its for xmas...its december 21th...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

Hi Nathalie! On review, we see that you subscribed on December 4th to our Original crate, which means that the first crate that you would be shipped would be our January crate. Your January Original was shipped on December 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when this crate shipped, we expect for it to arrive no later than January 31st. Note, when the crate actually arrives will depend on how quickly it is handled through both customs and the postal service.

Simply Great

Nov 21, 2019
Sean S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality
Curation

I have no complaints with this box, I got to try out all new foods and candys that hit the spot. Would definitely recommend!

Verified Purchase

I find crates fascinating...

Oct 10, 2019
Shawn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Is it weird that I find crates fascinating? No, I don't mean crates like JapanCrate (though I'll get to that shortly): I'm talking actual wooden crates - barrels too actually. It's an odd interest, I know! What mysteries do they hold?! Why do they make such good movable platforms in video games?!?!

Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way, let's focus on Japan Crate...

Crates are cool, and so is Japan. Put the two together and you have an incredible combination! What more could one need than to binge on delectable treats from a rather unique country? Gone are the days when one must travel to one of those international supermarkets to get your fix (usually at a super high price)! The Japan Crate is delivered direct to your door! And it's great value to boot and did I mention FREE SHIPPING INTERNATIONALLY?! I should add that I live in a small rural town so rarely do I get the chance to visit an international supermarket after I completed my studies. :(

Seriously, I couldn't be more happier with Japan Crate. Sure there's other crates from Japan online, but in my opinion Japan Crate is pretty decent value for money (I.e most crates I see have around 16-18 items but Japan Crate has 18-20 for their premium box) I wouldn't say it's anymore expensive or cheaper than other crates - though Japan Crate offer different sized boxes depending on how much you're willing to spend. On top of that they...

Verified Purchase

cool

Aug 21, 2019
Gunjee B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

cool love it

Verified Purchase

DID NOT GET WHAT ORDERED

Jun 26, 2019
Rachael B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was not informed that a special box could not be delivered to my region, was given a box I didn't want...absolute waste of money. Was given a 3 dollar refund...even though there was an opened candy inside.

Do not buy

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Rachael! Regretfully, because of licensing restrictions, there will be times in which a partnership promotion will not be available to a specific country. If this is the case, we will always put a notice on our website to inform potential subscribers.

Beware

Jun 20, 2019
Sheila A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping

I ordered a monthly subscription box with the intention of receiving the box the following month. Tracking is not available, but only upon contacting the seller was my subscription updated to say it was shipped-weeks after I ordered it. I was told that if I did not receive the box within 2 months of ordering to contact them again. I have no idea where my box is, and there is no way to connect with someone at CrateJoy, so I decided to leave this review to warn others. I honestly believe they forgot to ship it until I contacted the seller weeks after not getting any notification. Very poor customer service all around.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sheila! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have not yet received your crate, then please contact us again so that we may investigate its whereabouts.