Japan Crate

Japan Crate

by Japan Crate
Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as

$45.79/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1230)

Scam!

Jul 29, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Sarah D.
2 Reviews
17 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

No crates & no refund. Scam. Reply to Japan Crate's reply: Ummm yes I have contacted you repeatedly & you have not helped me. This is Sept29 & I STILL do not have the crate I paid for July7! All you ever do is say "Is this your correct address"? And u know it is! You sent the last one there! (After months of emailing you about it of course). RUN FROM THIS CRATE!!!!!!! RUUUUNNN!!!!!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sarah! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you would like us to provide assistance, then please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Buyers Beware: Renews after Cancellation

May 22, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Hayli W.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I booked a year long subscription of the Premium Crate. Some of it is good, but a lot of it is just not my taste. Like sweet potato or green tea candy. After about 6 months I decided to switch to the Umai Crate. Again, some of it was really good, but there's a lot of shrimp or seaweed flavored items which are not my thing.
I cancelled the subscription but here's the thing- You don't get a confirmation email saying it's cancelled. So you have nothing but your word that it was cancelled. And then boom, your stuck with a $330 charge on your credit card, and an additional $60 shipping charge due to corona. And support will just tell you that you didn't cancel and there are no refunds. So I would either stay away or remove your credit card information after you subscribe.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Hayli! Our deepest apologies for the overall experience. Thanks for reaching out! Although you didn't enjoy the experience with us, we do appreciate you. Thank you for leaving a feedback. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

NOT WORTH IT

Aug 27, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Ingrid C.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

These are expensive boxes for what you get. It's fun for the first 2 boxes then you start to see some of the same cheap gums, candies and chocolates that are nothing special and a total waste of money. If you live in a city that has a decent Japanese shop, you're better off buying snacks from there so at least you pay for what you like and not end up with some random cheap stuff that you don't care for.
If you're still considering trying the box, DO NOT GET LONG TERM SUBSCRIPTION. Watch out for the auto-renewal. They don't send you a notification that your anniversary date is coming up and that they will be charging you for another round. The "cancel at any time" that they advertise on their website is NOT TRUE AT ALL. Once they charge you they never refund even thought they haven't sent you anything yet (or even got around to preparing your box) and can technically refund. I totally did not realize that my 12 month subscription (yes, I made the stupid mistake of signing up in the first place) is up for renewal as I haven't received my last box at the time. Canceled the subscription and notified them immediately after the email came through but they refused to refund because all they care about is getting your money and not the consumer experience. Now I'm out a few hundred dollars and stuck with a bunch of boxes that I don't...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 22, 2019

Hi Ingrid! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, all subscribers are informed at sign-up that our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled; all subscribers must agree to the disclaimer at the checkout window before they can subscriber. If you fail to cancel your subscription before the next renewal date, then you will be responsible for the renewal. Note, if you subscribe to a prepaid plan (3, 6, or 12) you are committing to purchasing those crates (at a discounted price). While you are free to cancel your subscription at any time, you will still be responsible for any crates remaining on your prepaid plan.

Late really really late

Jul 29, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Olga Y.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This box is terrible. I ordered my first box on April 20th it was shipped April 28th. Its now July 28th it has not arrived. I also was charged for May crate as well. I got a notification that it shipped on May 13th. Still didn’t get that one either. It has been 12 weeks since ordered my April crate and 10 weeks since the may one was supposedly shipped! These people are ridiculous I tried to get in touch with them they said it should be on its way. Please be careful people.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 28, 2020

Hi Olga! Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We're deeply sorry about your experience and for the delayed crates. We've checked and we see that we've replied in your inquiry about your missing crate last August 22nd and still awaiting for your response. Please do reached out and reply back to our support so that we can resolve the issue about your missing crate. Will wait for your response.

Better boxes out there

Jul 30, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Desiree J.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The company takes a realllly long time to ship for the small amount of products you receive. The main problem was that I canceled my subscription when I knew I wouldn’t be home to receive that months box but then they just renewed it anyway. I had proof from my internet history I canceled it but they refused to work with me.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Desiree! To clarify, the reason why your subscription renewed was because it was left active. As stated in the disclaimer (which is available at the checkout window), our subscriptions are set to auto-renew until cancelled.

Subscribe if you enjoy losing money

Jan 28, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
Brandon A.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Ordered a box early December with a note that it would arrive before Christmas. Was charged to my credit card but never received a box. Received a Valentine's themed box (clearly not the Christmas/ December box or even the January box) in late January after having my credit card charged a second time.
Customer service would not refund/ help regarding the box that never arrived. They simply stopped replying. I should have listened to other reviews about boxes not arriving. Avoid Avoid Avoid.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 29, 2021

Hi Brandon! First of all, we're deeply sorry for the delay and for the overall experience. We saw that you had reached out and your ticket was accidentally closed, so we're not able to response back. It seems that we misunderstood your recent response and we didn't provide information about your delayed January crate. And we're really sorry about that.
Anyways, based on the email, your January crate was shipped and still in transit that is why we wont be able to refund it. When we handed to our new shipping provider during the shipment process last December, we thought it will be fast as promised but unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances during the transition we've experienced more major delays because of the move that we...

Worst Service Ever!!

Dec 19, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Patrick R.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!
I ordered the December crate on the 17th of November and received an email on the 28th November saying that my crate was shipped and is on it's way. However upon checking the tracking on DHL's website there was no update regarding DHL even receiving the crate so I contacted DHL and they said that they have not received the crate at all. Then after 5 business days I still had not received my crate, keep in mind that it cost $20 for shipping alone and it was stated that shipping would take 3-5 business days. I then emailed Japan Crate asking what the issue was and they said please allow 5-10 business days from the order date which made no sense as it had already been 3 weeks since I ordered. Another 5 business days passed and still nothing so I emailed Japan Crate again and they did not respond to me at all so I had to email them for a 3rd time and finally they responded but they didn't help me at all. I was very unhappy with the service and I emailed again stating that I wanted a refund as the service was horrible and I was no longer willing to wait. Then after that email I suddenly get an email from them saying that my crate was damaged and was sent back to them by DHL which was a lie as I contacted DHL and they said they didn't receive the package at all....

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 21, 2020

Patrick,
Thank you so much for your review. We are terribly sorry about your experience.
The automated email that went out on the 28th of November was very unfortunate, as
a small number of crates in that mass shipment were not actually shipped out on time.
Our crates are fulfilled within 5-10 business days, handed over to the shipping courier, and delivered shortly thereafter, depending on the shipping courier and the subscriber's location. (In your case, South Africa)
We fully anticipated that everything was on time and ready to be handed over to the shipping
courier, which is why the automated email went out.
However, your crate was in a particular batch of Premium Holiday crates that were damaged between our warehouses, before being handed over to DHL (meaning DHL...

Would not recommend

Mar 03, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Michele T.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I would give it no stars if I could. I placed my order at the end of December and I did a 3 month and it just said my 3rd one shipped and I still don’t have my 1st or second box. Have asked and have been told to please wait. Very unprofessional

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 04, 2022

Hi Michelle! Thanks for reaching out! We've checked your account and unfortunately, the ongoing supply chain issues has delayed the arrival of many of our crates. This includes also the combination of difficulties around COVID-19 staffing precautions and not to mention the limited flights from Japan, our fulfillment team has fallen behind for all our shipments. We know how much you look forward to your crates each month, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
On review, we can see that your initial order was made on January 10th and not on December. And we sincerely apologize for the confusions. Please know we’re exploring options for how we can make this up to you, and will update you as soon as possible. One of our...

I'm sure its great but..

Dec 19, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
Mel N.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I never received my 1st box ): I've contacted them and they assured me around christmas time it'd arrive but its January 10th now. i was already charged for a second box a while ago so hopefully this one actually shows

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 20, 2021

Hi Mel! We offer our sincere apologies for the confusion you’ve experienced. We just wish you'd have reached out to our customer support before so we could offer a solution to your issue.
To clarify, like all other subscriptions, our subscriptions will auto-renew, regardless of the whereabouts of the previous shipment. Your December Original crate is still in transit. You can expect an email from us very shortly with your tracking details. We appreciate your patience. Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Not impressed. Will not buy again or sub

Mar 01, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Clare M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

Not worth the wait or the money. Very boring contents and plush toy was tiny and not great quality

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 02, 2022

Hi Clare! Thanks for giving Japan Crate a try. Although you didn’t enjoy the experience, we do appreciate you. We understand not everybody will approve, and thank you for leaving your feedback. Each month is different, and if you ever choose to try Japan Crate again in the future, please reach out so we can provide a nice coupon code. Thanks again! Stay safe and healthy!

not shipped

Dec 21, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Nathalie L.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

I did not received anything yet!!! and its for xmas...its december 21th...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

Hi Nathalie! On review, we see that you subscribed on December 4th to our Original crate, which means that the first crate that you would be shipped would be our January crate. Your January Original was shipped on December 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when this crate shipped, we expect for it to arrive no later than January 31st. Note, when the crate actually arrives will depend on how quickly it is handled through both customs and the postal service.

Invisible crate

Jul 08, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
Patrick A.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I got billed for 2 crates. Didn't get any. And they've only refunded one crate and have told me my other crate was cancelled.
Japan crate ripped me off and aren't trying very hard to fix it.
Let me be clear, cratejoy is awesome. The other subscriptions have been good to great.
Japan crate is the thief and failure.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Patick! Thanks for the feedback. Based on your account, we can see that the refund for your May crate (ordered in April) was successfully sent back to your Paypal account. With regards to your June crate which was ordered in May, we tried reaching out to you through email on June but haven't heard back from you since then. We tried sending a replacement crate but we can't confirm if we will send to the address we have on file unless you confirm in our email. Due to this, we hold and keep your crate in safe keeping until you can confirm with us to where we can send the crate. We ask if you can please check your emails and reply back to...

Hidden fees

Jul 12, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
Becky G.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

Over charge for shipping. They increase their shipping without telling you about it on renewal and refuse to refund your money when you ask to cancel because of the ridiculous postal fees.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Becky! We're deeply sorry about your experience. Just to clarify, the shipping charges was announced ahead of time last April through our Social Media and to our website. We also believed that we sent the notifications to our subscribers worldwide. With regards to the renewal, based during sign-up, we require subscribers to acknowledge that the subscription being subscribed to is recurring and, if left active, will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. If your subscription renewed, we cannot cancel the crate but we can cancel the subscription. If you feel like subscribing back, feel free to use JCCARES code. This offers a discount to your next crate. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach...

DID NOT GET WHAT ORDERED

Jun 26, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Rachael B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Was not informed that a special box could not be delivered to my region, was given a box I didn't want...absolute waste of money. Was given a 3 dollar refund...even though there was an opened candy inside.
Do not buy

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Rachael! Regretfully, because of licensing restrictions, there will be times in which a partnership promotion will not be available to a specific country. If this is the case, we will always put a notice on our website to inform potential subscribers.

Worst experience possible - DO NOT BUY!

Jul 11, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Jeffrey C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! THESE JERKS ARE LYING AND SAYING THEY SHIPPED STUFF, I GOT A BRITISH CRATE I ORDERED 3 MONTHS AFTER THIS ONE AND STILL NOTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE. HAD I NOT CANCELLED ID STILL BE PAYING AND NO CRATES!
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO ABILITY TO TRACK, THESE PEOPLE ARE RIPPING PEOPLE OFF
BUYER BEWARE!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Jeffrey! Thanks for the feedback and we're deeply sorry for the inconvenience. We have reviewed your subscription and we can see that both of your May and June crate was delivered on July. We just wish you'd have reached out before so we could offer a resolution to the issue. Hoping that we can make it out you and might as well update your review to 5 Stars! Here's a code JCCARES that will offer a discount on your future crate. You can use the code whenever you feel like subscribing back. Looking forward to that day! :)

Beware

Jun 20, 2019
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
Sheila A.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

I ordered a monthly subscription box with the intention of receiving the box the following month. Tracking is not available, but only upon contacting the seller was my subscription updated to say it was shipped-weeks after I ordered it. I was told that if I did not receive the box within 2 months of ordering to contact them again. I have no idea where my box is, and there is no way to connect with someone at CrateJoy, so I decided to leave this review to warn others. I honestly believe they forgot to ship it until I contacted the seller weeks after not getting any notification. Very poor customer service all around.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sheila! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have not yet received your crate, then please contact us again so that we may investigate its whereabouts.

Do yourself a favor and AVOID THIS SCAM!

Mar 01, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Tiffiny C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Paid for 3 month subscription and never received ANY crates. Contacted customer service at Japan Crate and Crate Joy. Neither responded or contacted me. I had to cancel with my credit card. Do yourself a favor and AVOID THIS SCAM!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 04, 2022

Hi Tiffiny! Thanks for reaching out! We've checked your account and unfortunately, the ongoing supply chain issues has delayed the arrival of many of our crates. This includes also the combination of difficulties around COVID-19 staffing precautions and not to mention the limited flights from Japan, our fulfillment team has fallen behind for all our shipments. We know how much you look forward to your crates each month, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
Our team were working around the clock to get every delayed crates in the mail and should have them shipped really soon. Rest assured, we will update you as soon as possible once your crate was shipped.
Please know we’re exploring options for how we can make this up to...

Auto-renewal Will Screw You

Apr 06, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Kimberly A.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Went through with canceling my order so it would not renew. Turns out I did not finish I guess because surely enough it auto-renewed and I'm down another $150. Auto renewal with no refund policy is awful

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Apr 06, 2021

Hi Kimberly! We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had with us. To clarify, all of our subscriptions are set to auto-renew, based on the acknowledgment that is agreed upon at signup. We simply ask that you cancel your subscription date at any time before your renewal date, if you don’t wish to auto-renew. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Please reach out to our Customer Support team, who can take a further look into your experience and better help you!

Where’s my December crate?

Feb 09, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
AudrΓ©anne V.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I wrote to the Japan Crate Support team on the 7th January and they didn’t even talk about my December crate at all, only about my inku crate which I had no issues with and haven’t talked about. On the 23rd January I wrote to them again about my December crate. It’s been more than two weeks and I still haven’t been answered. It’s now February and I still have NO news about my December crate. I get that there was a lot of orders for Christmas and all but It’s February nom and I still have nothing. I asked if I could at least get a refund or a tracking link but nothing.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 09, 2021

Hi AudrΓ©anne! Thank you for reaching out! We're so sorry about the delay, we've been a bit backed up on our tickets and we're still working though them. We saw that you had reached out, so we've looked into your subscription. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances during our transition to our new shipping provider, we've been experiencing some delays while we finalized some loose ends. Rest assured, we finally finished contract agreements, so everything should be going much smoother from here on out. However, we're really sorry that it has caused some delays with your crate. We'll be sending email shortly and do please respond. Thank you for being so patient and reaching out to us!

Terrible customer service!

Dec 22, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Roxanne L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Stay away! Terrible customer service! I ordered a box November 17 and still have not box... Plus they charged for the second box a day early and will not refund my Credit Card! I sent them and email December 17 (renewal date is Dec 18) but it took the 4 day to respond and do nothing:(. Oh except not refund my credit card. Shady Grinch Company:(

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 23, 2020

Hi Roxanne! We offer our deepest and sincere apologies for the experience you've had with us. We've reviewed the issue and seems that you're already in contact with our customer support. Due to the busy holiday season, we've received a high volume of support emails recently and we’re still working through them that's why our responses are getting delayed. We really sorry for for the inconvenience. :(
As for the recent renewal, to clarify a bit further, you're initial subscription was November 18th and was set to auto-renew on 18th of the succeeding months if not cancelled. All of our subscriptions are set to auto-renew, based on the acknowledgment that is agreed upon at signup. We simply ask that you cancel your subscription date at any...

No Box No Help. 😞😭

Feb 28, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Ardis M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

I never recieved my box nor did I ever hear back from the seller about what happened. Despite many attempts for contact I got nothing. I'm really disappointed because I was looking forward to it. 😞😞

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 01, 2021

Hi Ardis! Thanks for reaching out! We've checked your subscription and we can see that we did replied into your email inquiries. Seeing that one of our customer support respond on January 18th and February 9th, unfortunately, your crate was delayed and we deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Upon checking your tracking information link, your January crate is still in transit and its already with USPS. Please follow the delivery transit via the link that we have provided in your email and you can actually follow-up with USPS as well. Hope that you received your crate soon. If you still have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

Extremely disappointed

Dec 21, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Sarah R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

It's been in transit for 16 business days and I still don't have my package. NOTHING has been updated on the shipping information. I've messaged them multiple times for help and nobody has answered me. Very unprofessional on their part. Will never order from them again

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 21, 2020

Sarah,
Thank you so much for your review!
We see that you had ordered on December 2nd. On our website and in the Order Confirmation, we kindly ask that you give us 5-10 business days to fulfil your order and 5-7 business days to deliver, once your crate is handed over to the shipping courier. :)
We are just as excited as you are to receive your crate, so we really appreciate your patience while your crate is lovingly put together and handed over for shipment.
If you don't see any updates to your tracking link soon, please contact our Customer Support team so that we can look into your order further.
Thank you so much Sarah!

Never buy these boxes

Oct 16, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Francito H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

Never got a box big waste of time and money I contacted the seller so many times never got a response not once just scamming people

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Oct 18, 2020

Hi Francito!
Thank you so much for alerting us to your situation. I sincerely apologize for any confusion that we may have caused you.
I see that you had contacted us twice and were replied to within 2 - 3 days. Please check your Cratejoy email inbox, just in case our replies may have gotten stuck somewhere. :)
You have subscribed to our Japan Crate Premium box of goodies on Oct. 4th, this puts you in our 1st of 3 shipping waves (this isn't a race, but if it was, you'd be in first place!). This means that your Premium crate will be processed and ready to be handed off on the 20th of Oct.
I have looked up your crate and I see that it has been...

Products are not delivered

Dec 21, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Neal R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I placed an order for the December crate on November 17th for the December crate. An additional charge was applied to the crate in order to ship via an international currier and the website indicated that currier would be DHL. The website also indicated that the delivery time with DHL would be 3-5 business days. On November 28th I received an email stating that the crate had shipped. However, this email did not provide any DHL tracking information. Instead, it contained a link to a Japan Post tracking number and when I went to the link, the website stated that the package did not exist. It has now been 23 days since the package was β€œshipped” and nothing has been received. I reached out to the company via email for the DHL tracking information and have received no response. I have received no information explaining why there would be such a delay. This seems pretty clear that the company received payment for the product and never shipped. Do not use this service.
Update: This explanation is completely false. I do not live in a remote area. I live in a major city on the West Coast of North America. I have DHL packages shipped to this address regularly.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 22, 2020

Hi Neal! We're deeply sorry for the confusion.
On review, your December Doki crate (which was ordered in November) was in transit. As per the shipping information, we intend to ship your crate via DHL, however, DHL informed us that because of your remote location, it would be too expensive to ship your crate. In response, we shipped your crate via Japan Post Air Mail. All December crates that were shipped with an e-Packet tracking link may show no movement or an error message. On the bright side, Japan Post Air Mail should still deliver your crate in the same amount of time as e-Packet. Just for additional clarification, in our website we indicated a note that if your address is in a remote area,...

$200+ for 1 box of boring noodles

Jul 08, 2020
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Catherine G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

My main dispute with Japan Crate is that I signed up for 3 months cycles, received only one box and they renewed for another 3 months leaving me with one box but charging me for six. Also, they charged $111 for the next 3 months upping the shipping charge without my approval. I can't see how they can renew when I haven't received the first 3-box cycle yet. So far, I have paid over $222 for one box of noodles. I have tried to dispute the charges directly with Japan Crate for the renewal and they said no, read the contract. Yet they have failed to fulfill their part of the contract. I was going to cancel after I received the second box. They cited Covid for shipping delays but my other Crate Joy boxes (The Russia Box) have arrived on time and are lovely. In addition, they included none of the interesting noodles - they were boring, simple, if you live near an Hmart, there are many more interesting varieties to be found there or on Amazon. They claim to be shipping from Japan which is crazy. If they are shipping from Japan, why not choose hard to find ramen noodle flavors (box contained veg, poultry, seafood, the usual suspects, nothing I can't find at HMart.) Also, rotten customer service for not canceling the renewal when they've only sent one box. Since I have 2 more coming from the first cycle it upsets none of their shipping plans. It...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Cathering! We're deeply sorry for the confusion you’ve experienced. We're sad to hear about your experience with us! Based on the renewal policy, it was mentioned during sign-up that renewal will be recurring. If left active, the subscription will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. Since your subscription was a 3 month plan. The renewal date was set to renew after 3 months on the same day from the original payment date. Since there's no attempt to cancel the subscription before the renewal, that is why your subscription renewed for another 3 months crate. As for the pending crates, we've check your subscriptions and we can see that all your pending crates from May, June, July and August was already delivered....