Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Buyers Beware: Renews after Cancellation

May 22, 2020
Hayli W.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I booked a year long subscription of the Premium Crate. Some of it is good, but a lot of it is just not my taste. Like sweet potato or green tea candy. After about 6 months I decided to switch to the Umai Crate. Again, some of it was really good, but there's a lot of shrimp or seaweed flavored items which are not my thing.

I cancelled the subscription but here's the thing- You don't get a confirmation email saying it's cancelled. So you have nothing but your word that it was cancelled. And then boom, your stuck with a $330 charge on your credit card, and an additional $60 shipping charge due to corona. And support will just tell you that you didn't cancel and there are no refunds. So I would either stay away or remove your credit card information after you subscribe.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Hayli! Our deepest apologies for the overall experience. Thanks for reaching out! Although you didn't enjoy the experience with us, we do appreciate you. Thank you for leaving a feedback. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

Late really really late

Jul 29, 2020
Olga Y.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is terrible. I ordered my first box on April 20th it was shipped April 28th. Its now July 28th it has not arrived. I also was charged for May crate as well. I got a notification that it shipped on May 13th. Still didn’t get that one either. It has been 12 weeks since ordered my April crate and 10 weeks since the may one was supposedly shipped! These people are ridiculous I tried to get in touch with them they said it should be on its way. Please be careful people.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 28, 2020

Hi Olga! Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We're deeply sorry about your experience and for the delayed crates. We've checked and we see that we've replied in your inquiry about your missing crate last August 22nd and still awaiting for your response. Please do reached out and reply back to our support so that we can resolve the issue about your missing crate. Will wait for your response.

Never buy these boxes

Oct 16, 2020
Francito H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never got a box big waste of time and money I contacted the seller so many times never got a response not once just scamming people

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Oct 18, 2020

Hi Francito!

Thank you so much for alerting us to your situation. I sincerely apologize for any confusion that we may have caused you.

I see that you had contacted us twice and were replied to within 2 - 3 days. Please check your Cratejoy email inbox, just in case our replies may have gotten stuck somewhere. :)

You have subscribed to our Japan Crate Premium box of goodies on Oct. 4th, this puts you in our 1st of 3 shipping waves (this isn't a race, but if it was, you'd be in first place!). This means that your Premium crate will be processed and ready to be handed off on the 20th of Oct.

I have looked up your crate and I see that it has been...

Auto Renew Scam

Oct 14, 2020
Anthony J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They never give out refunds under any circumstances. During this whole Covid thing, the added in a shipping charge. "Only while needed" But when my yearly renewal came up for 12 months I got a charge for 131 dollars for shipping. I saw this and immediately went to them to say i didn't' want this and want to cancel. They said sorry we don't do refunds ever. They said that the shipping will be charged each month as needed. But yet they charged me a whole years worth up front and with their refund policy even if they revert the changes i'll never see that money. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM EVER!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Oct 14, 2020

Hi Anthony! We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had with us. It looks like our team has reached back out to you to follow up on your case again, have you been contacted yet? We are eager to hear back about how we can make your experience a much better one. Thanks very much Anthony!

Hidden fees

Jul 12, 2020
Becky G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Over charge for shipping. They increase their shipping without telling you about it on renewal and refuse to refund your money when you ask to cancel because of the ridiculous postal fees.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Becky! We're deeply sorry about your experience. Just to clarify, the shipping charges was announced ahead of time last April through our Social Media and to our website. We also believed that we sent the notifications to our subscribers worldwide. With regards to the renewal, based during sign-up, we require subscribers to acknowledge that the subscription being subscribed to is recurring and, if left active, will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. If your subscription renewed, we cannot cancel the crate but we can cancel the subscription. If you feel like subscribing back, feel free to use JCCARES code. This offers a discount to your next crate. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach...

Worst experience possible - DO NOT BUY!

Jul 11, 2020
Jeffrey C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! THESE JERKS ARE LYING AND SAYING THEY SHIPPED STUFF, I GOT A BRITISH CRATE I ORDERED 3 MONTHS AFTER THIS ONE AND STILL NOTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE. HAD I NOT CANCELLED ID STILL BE PAYING AND NO CRATES!

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO ABILITY TO TRACK, THESE PEOPLE ARE RIPPING PEOPLE OFF

BUYER BEWARE!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Jeffrey! Thanks for the feedback and we're deeply sorry for the inconvenience. We have reviewed your subscription and we can see that both of your May and June crate was delivered on July. We just wish you'd have reached out before so we could offer a resolution to the issue. Hoping that we can make it out you and might as well update your review to 5 Stars! Here's a code JCCARES that will offer a discount on your future crate. You can use the code whenever you feel like subscribing back. Looking forward to that day! :)

Invisible crate

Jul 08, 2020
Patrick A.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I got billed for 2 crates. Didn't get any. And they've only refunded one crate and have told me my other crate was cancelled.
Japan crate ripped me off and aren't trying very hard to fix it.
Let me be clear, cratejoy is awesome. The other subscriptions have been good to great.
Japan crate is the thief and failure.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Patick! Thanks for the feedback. Based on your account, we can see that the refund for your May crate (ordered in April) was successfully sent back to your Paypal account. With regards to your June crate which was ordered in May, we tried reaching out to you through email on June but haven't heard back from you since then. We tried sending a replacement crate but we can't confirm if we will send to the address we have on file unless you confirm in our email. Due to this, we hold and keep your crate in safe keeping until you can confirm with us to where we can send the crate. We ask if you can please check your emails and reply back to...

Do not purchase

Aug 26, 2020
Sara A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never recieved my july crate. I have been emailing them and contacting them on instagram, they didnt really do much. They say its all because of covid and transit stuff but those things they say are lies. They didnt even hand my crate over to DHL :) they are ripping people off. They cant even locate the whereabouts of my crate. This has been honestly the worst online experience I ever had. They blame covid19 when it has nothing to do with it. You guys didnt even hand my crate over to be shipped in the first place!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 31, 2020

Hi Sara! Thanks for reaching out and we’re so sad to hear that you’re not getting your July crate. As we have communicated before, our team are trying out the very best to comply with all the pending and delayed crates and we're deeply sorry about that. Rest assured, we have followed-up with our support team and they will try to find out what had happen to your crate. We really do apologize, and hope to talk soon!

$200+ for 1 box of boring noodles

Jul 08, 2020
Catherine G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My main dispute with Japan Crate is that I signed up for 3 months cycles, received only one box and they renewed for another 3 months leaving me with one box but charging me for six. Also, they charged $111 for the next 3 months upping the shipping charge without my approval. I can't see how they can renew when I haven't received the first 3-box cycle yet. So far, I have paid over $222 for one box of noodles. I have tried to dispute the charges directly with Japan Crate for the renewal and they said no, read the contract. Yet they have failed to fulfill their part of the contract. I was going to cancel after I received the second box. They cited Covid for shipping delays but my other Crate Joy boxes (The Russia Box) have arrived on time and are lovely. In addition, they included none of the interesting noodles - they were boring, simple, if you live near an Hmart, there are many more interesting varieties to be found there or on Amazon. They claim to be shipping from Japan which is crazy. If they are shipping from Japan, why not choose hard to find ramen noodle flavors (box contained veg, poultry, seafood, the usual suspects, nothing I can't find at HMart.) Also, rotten customer service for not canceling the renewal when they've only sent one box. Since I have 2 more coming from the first cycle it upsets none of their shipping plans. It...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Cathering! We're deeply sorry for the confusion you’ve experienced. We're sad to hear about your experience with us! Based on the renewal policy, it was mentioned during sign-up that renewal will be recurring. If left active, the subscription will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. Since your subscription was a 3 month plan. The renewal date was set to renew after 3 months on the same day from the original payment date. Since there's no attempt to cancel the subscription before the renewal, that is why your subscription renewed for another 3 months crate. As for the pending crates, we've check your subscriptions and we can see that all your pending crates from May, June, July and August was already delivered....

Extremely Disappointing

Jun 20, 2020
Anezka E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping

Never received the order. Regret ordering from this company. They were great at responding to emails in the beginning assuring me that it will make it in April, which is why I ordered it. But it has been way too long. I was told to contact them again if I have not received it by June 16, but it's past the date and I still have not received it. They stopped replying to me after complaining about my order and asking for refund. I am extremely disappointed. It is unacceptable. I want a refund for a product Ni never received, which I believe is fair. Will never order from this company again.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

Hi Anezka! Thanks for giving Japan Crate a try, we’ll definitely take this into account when putting together future crates. We just wish you'd have reached out before so we could offer a resolution to this issue. We've checked your account and we can see that you have May Umai crate which was ordered on April. Did you received the crate? If still not please visit our website and send us an email to our support, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

BUYER BEWARE! SCAMS!!!

Jun 12, 2020
Sydney H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WOW!
I was so excited when I originally saw this company. As a lover of Japanese snacks I was excited to see a box of exclusively Japanese goodies.

Too bad that is the end of my good experience with the company. If I could go back in time and stop myself from making this mistake I would.

First off, I ordered my very first crate in March, I signed up for the monthly box (aka comes 1x a month, $35 for the box and $5 to ship) $40/a month. I was charged for Aprils, Mays, and June’s.

IT IS JUNE AND I JUST RECEIVED MY MARCH BOX!!!!!! Which shipped on 4/3/2020 Absolutely out of control!!!!

As someone who actually sends a lot of packages big and small back and forth between Japan, China and the Philippines I KNOW that shipping (even though customs) DOES NOT TAKE 3 months!!!! I have spent $120 with this company and only received 1/3 of my order.

Don’t bother emailing the company, I’ve lost count of all the emails I’ve sent. They just tell you how it’s not their fault and to just keep waiting. not your fault???? I ordered a MONTHLY box that means it comes MONTHLY?! Yet I’m still waiting and it will probably be September by the time I get my May box and maybe by December I’ll get my June box.

If you’ve ever heard of the company “loot crate” they and japan crate are one in the same....

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As part of our continued efforts to better serve our customers, please be assured that your feedback has been escalated to the management.

We sincerely apologize for the experience.

Paid but no boxes arrived

Jun 11, 2020
Christen S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality