Japan Crate

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Subscriber ReviewsReviews

Write a Review

They like the money

by Mette H., yesterday

I cancelled subscription in February due to finding less and less candy in the boxes. They kept sending boxes, guess why! They refuse to acknowledge my February cancellation until November! They are keeping the money and still mailing the unwanted boxes. And, yes I spoke to customer service more than once. This is their policy. Warning.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
yesterday
Hi! When you subscribe to our prepaid plan, you are committing to purchasing a set amount of crates at a discounted price. While you do have the option to cancel your subscription at any time, cancelling your subscription would not cancel the prepaid plan. Once you subscribe to our prepaid plan, you are locked for the duration of the plan.

Charged twice over 6 weeks and nothing.

by Victoria R., Apr 11, 2019

I signed up on March 02 and still have nothing to show for it. I have been charged twice. I understand that the crates were shipped out March 20 for the cycle I signed up for, but even so over 3 weeks have passed and I still haven't received my first crate. I read that you do not provide tracking to "cut costs to the customer" but right now (and I don't think I'm the first to feel this way) I feel that I am being scammed. There needs to be some indication of when the crate will arrive. When will you be implementing tracking again? I think I speak for most customers when I say that I would be fine paying extra just to know what's going on. There are also other companies like Ipsy that provide sneak peaks online so you can at least see what you're getting before it arrives. Considering how long it takes to get here, that's the least you could do if the reason really is that you don't want to charge more for your product. If I do not receive my crate by next week I will most certainly be cancelling.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
yesterday
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. While it is our intention to delivery our crates as quickly as possible, regretfully, we have limited control of our crates once they leave our warehouse (delays are normally the result of customs, weather, or the postal service). Rest assured, your crates should be arriving soon enough.

THIS IS A SCAM!!

by Amanda M., Mar 27, 2019

This is totally not worth even trying. The company is yet another "subscription" model that exists to trick you into stealing your hard earned money. I wanted to try this box for 3 months before my trip to Japan and was super underwhelmed by the selection they offer. I was shocked when I was auto-billed for another 3 months and immediately contacted them WITHIN 1 HOUR OF BEING BILLED to request an immediate cancellation of my auto-renewal. Some "zendesk" canned email was sent to me siting their auto-renew policy and check out and that I had no option. NO OPTION. As a paying customer who gives you money for goods. You basically give me the middle finger. I run several successful online businesses and would NEVER treat my customers like that. ESPECIALLY as a subscription box company. You have a hard sell, getting people to commit to giving you their money for blocks of time. So, you would think that customer service would be a priority but it is not. I would have been more likely to return as a customer after my return from Japan if they were more attentive to my request. But after the way they have treated me, there is no way they would be lucky enough to get my business again. I have filed a charge back claim with my bank to get my money back since your customer service "zendesk" set-up is a joke. You should be out of business.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

by Sturla M., Jan 22, 2019

Sketchy business schemes

|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

What Happened?!!!

by Chris H., Dec 27, 2018

I ordered mine in November its late December I should have gotten it by now. About a year ago I use to order a lot from japan crate and never ever had a problem but now, Really? I don't know what happened but seriously get your priorities straitened out and get back on the ball please this is bad service and I know they can do better

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Regretfully, once a crate has left our warehouse, we have no control over how quickly it is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service. If your crate has yet to arrive, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Now word at all and haven’t gotten it!

by Katie H., Dec 23, 2018

I ordered the December crate in November so it had plenty of time to get to me on time. But it is now Dec 24 and I have had no word at all about it. No tracking number or email saying it has shipped. I used a promo code “wishlist” to get a bonus item in it.
I see them responding to these saying “yours was in the last shipment so it will be later” I ordered in mind November theres absolutely no excuse to that!!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Regretfully, once a crate has left our warehouse, we have no control over how quickly it is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service. If your crate has yet to arrive, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Probably Lost $330.

by Natalie A., Dec 02, 2018

Last week, I received an email that my “12-month subscription renewed successfully”. Did I recieve an email saying I will be charged soon for the new subscription cycle? No!

Sent an email and cancelled as soon as I found out about this. No reply. Google says I will not be refunded based on Japan crate’s rule.

I simply forgot that my subscription would be renewed automatically! A kind reminder would have helped me not lose $330, and I wouldn’t write such a low review! Now they have my money and I won’t get it back huh? I had just payed off my credit card, and I am in a money-tight situation.

Give me my money back. By not refunding me after something I don’t want. You stole $330. Great food. Terrible conditions. Please send us reminders about our payments.. 💢

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Worse customer service ever

by Kwanjira A., Nov 28, 2018

Okay it was my fault that I pushed my subscription renewal away for 6 months. I completely forgot about JapanCrate and now today they charged me $170 to renew it. They send you NOTHING to remind you about "its almost time we will renew your subscription". I'm no longer able to afford these crates so I contacted them and they said they aren't able to issue a refund. I get a notification everytime my card is charged so I emailed them as soon as that happen, still they told me they can't refund me. They didn't even ship out the crate yet, the transaction is still "pending" status and yet they can't issue me a refund. I will never ever subscript anything from them ever again and if you do, don't forget to cancel your subscription when you're done with them. I've been forgetful with these subscription services and when I asked other providers, they were kind and understanding to issue me a refund.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

THE WORST

by Pari V., Nov 20, 2018

I ordered a crate three months ago and still have not received it. THREE MONTHS AND NO WORD. I need to be refunded but it appears that all their customer service does is restate your order details in a variety of emails.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Did you ever receive the crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Ordred in August, not here in October

by Robin W., Oct 15, 2018

If I hadn't already cancelled my box subscription I would have payed for three months of boxes now without receiving my first one. No tracking number is given like all of the japan crate boxes, which makes it incredibly difficult to know when its supposed to arrive. Previously ordered a normal japan crate and that was received on time, the gatcha crate is not worth the wait.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
View Details