Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Scam!

Sep 30, 2019
Sarah D.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

No crates & no refund. Scam. Reply to Japan Crate's reply: Ummm yes I have contacted you repeatedly & you have not helped me. This is Sept29 & I STILL do not have the crate I paid for July7! All you ever do is say "Is this your correct address"? And u know it is! You sent the last one there! (After months of emailing you about it of course). RUN FROM THIS CRATE!!!!!!! RUUUUNNN!!!!!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sarah! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you would like us to provide assistance, then please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Seller

NOT WORTH IT

Aug 27, 2019
Ingrid C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These are expensive boxes for what you get. It's fun for the first 2 boxes then you start to see some of the same cheap gums, candies and chocolates that are nothing special and a total waste of money. If you live in a city that has a decent Japanese shop, you're better off buying snacks from there so at least you pay for what you like and not end up with some random cheap stuff that you don't care for.

If you're still considering trying the box, DO NOT GET LONG TERM SUBSCRIPTION. Watch out for the auto-renewal. They don't send you a notification that your anniversary date is coming up and that they will be charging you for another round. The "cancel at any time" that they advertise on their website is NOT TRUE AT ALL. Once they charge you they never refund even thought they haven't sent you anything yet (or even got around to preparing your box) and can technically refund. I totally did not realize that my 12 month subscription (yes, I made the stupid mistake of signing up in the first place) is up for renewal as I haven't received my last box at the time. Canceled the subscription and notified them immediately after the email came through but they refused to refund because all they care about is getting your money and not the consumer experience. Now I'm out a few hundred dollars and stuck with a bunch of boxes that I don't...

Verified Purchase

Better boxes out there

Jul 30, 2019
Desiree J.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The company takes a realllly long time to ship for the small amount of products you receive. The main problem was that I canceled my subscription when I knew I wouldn’t be home to receive that months box but then they just renewed it anyway. I had proof from my internet history I canceled it but they refused to work with me.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Desiree! To clarify, the reason why your subscription renewed was because it was left active. As stated in the disclaimer (which is available at the checkout window), our subscriptions are set to auto-renew until cancelled.

Seller

DID NOT GET WHAT ORDERED

Jun 26, 2019
Rachael B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Was not informed that a special box could not be delivered to my region, was given a box I didn't want...absolute waste of money. Was given a 3 dollar refund...even though there was an opened candy inside.

Do not buy

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Rachael! Regretfully, because of licensing restrictions, there will be times in which a partnership promotion will not be available to a specific country. If this is the case, we will always put a notice on our website to inform potential subscribers.

Seller

Beware

Jun 20, 2019
Sheila A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping

I ordered a monthly subscription box with the intention of receiving the box the following month. Tracking is not available, but only upon contacting the seller was my subscription updated to say it was shipped-weeks after I ordered it. I was told that if I did not receive the box within 2 months of ordering to contact them again. I have no idea where my box is, and there is no way to connect with someone at CrateJoy, so I decided to leave this review to warn others. I honestly believe they forgot to ship it until I contacted the seller weeks after not getting any notification. Very poor customer service all around.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sheila! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have not yet received your crate, then please contact us again so that we may investigate its whereabouts.

Seller

Not customer friendly

Sep 13, 2019
Riana S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

No notifications for subscription renewal. Only notified when renewed. Also does not offer any refunds or returns.

Verified Purchase

Beware

Oct 08, 2019
Bobette C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It has been well over a month and I have still not received my ramen box. My several attempts at inquiring about my box have gone unanswered. I regret signing up for this service and have since canceled my subscription. Beware.

No refunds, no warnings

Oct 01, 2019
Justin H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Was just charged $270 Today without warning and Japan Crate doesn't do refunds. Thanks but no thanks, subscription services need a few things for me to support them. If you're not going to warn me before my 1 year subscription is renewed and then not give me a refund when I've requested it then I can't support your service. Also, there's no phone number to contact Japan Crate through, so I can't get in direct contact with anyone. Amazon doesn't warn you when Prime is renewed but they'll refund, Netflix, HBO, PlayStation Network, Xbox Live, all of them send a warning email before charging you, I can support services that care about the possible financial situations of their customers. Japan Crate is not one of them. It was fun while it lasted. I posted this on their Facebook page originally, but they deleted it, so since they don't want anyone to see this, I'll be posting this to their Twitter and reposting on their Facebook page.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Seller

This company is honestly awful..

Jun 14, 2019
Dissapointedcustomer
1 Review
Overall