Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $10.83 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

not shipped

Dec 21, 2019
Nathalie L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I did not received anything yet!!! and its for xmas...its december 21th...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

Hi Nathalie! On review, we see that you subscribed on December 4th to our Original crate, which means that the first crate that you would be shipped would be our January crate. Your January Original was shipped on December 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when this crate shipped, we expect for it to arrive no later than January 31st. Note, when the crate actually arrives will depend on how quickly it is handled through both customs and the postal service.

Buyers Beware: Renews after Cancellation

3 days ago
Hayli W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I booked a year long subscription of the Premium Crate. Some of it is good, but a lot of it is just not my taste. Like sweet potato or green tea candy. After about 6 months I decided to switch to the Umai Crate. Again, some of it was really good, but there's a lot of shrimp or seaweed flavored items which are not my thing.

I cancelled the subscription but here's the thing- You don't get a confirmation email saying it's cancelled. So you have nothing but your word that it was cancelled. And then boom, your stuck with a $330 charge on your credit card, and an additional $60 shipping charge due to corona. And support will just tell you that you didn't cancel and there are no refunds. So I would either stay away or remove your credit card information after you subscribe.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT TRUST

Apr 21, 2020
Monica P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never received box. Contacted seller with no response. No tracking. DO NOT TRUST!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Being charged but not receiving anything

Apr 07, 2020
Iisa J.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I only have gotten one box which was recieved March 4th with payment in February. It is now April 7th, and have been charged for March and April for $80. Yet have recieved nothing, I understand that shipping is delayed but there has been no communication on their end.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Apr 11, 2020

Hi Lisa! On review, we see that your second crate, the April Premium crate, was shipped on March 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when the crate shipped, it should be arriving sometime before May 1st. As for the third crate, the May crate, is scheduled to ship on April 20th. once this crate has shipped, you will be sent a shipping confirmation email.

no tracking number

Mar 03, 2020
Princess O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

forcing products on me i don’t want 19 days before it’s even scheduled to be shipped

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 14, 2020

Hi Princess! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, you subscribed to our Premium crate on February 1st. As stated in the checkout dissimilar (that all subscribes agree to before they can subscribe), our subscriptions are set to automatically renew unless cancelled. Unfortunately, because your subscription was left active, it automatically renewed on March 1st. Since the subscription was not cancelled before the renewal date, you will be responsible for the April crate.

Save your money

Feb 29, 2020
Keven P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First of all, I ordered 1 premium crate on January 29th. It charged me for three crates. I got my money for the two back but that shouldn’t happen. Second the ship time is 2-4 weeks, today is Saturday 2/29/2020. My crate shipped 2/3/2020. 5 days after it was ordered (1/29/2020). Tomorrow is a Sunday so my crate will not come tomorrow and Monday is the 4 week mark since it shipped. And you’d think for a Valentine’s Day crate I’d get it in February considering it was ordered in January. All I have to say is I will never EVER be ordering from Japan crate again. I don’t give a f*ck if it’s the best snacks I’ve ever had. And if my crate is not here on Monday the 4 week mark I better get a full refund for false advertisement of the shipping time.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 14, 2020

Hi Keven! We sincerely apologize for the experience. On review, we can confirm that your February Premium crate was shipped on schedule and should be arriving soon (if it has not yet already arrived). If the February Premium crate does not arrive by March 16th, then please contact our support team so that we may provide further assistance.

No refunds

Feb 16, 2020
Sara L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Curation

I previously enjoyed getting this product each month until this month. I had cancelled my subscription because I was going to on vacation. I double checked to ensure it was cancelled before I left. I get back from my vacation to find a invoice from PayPal saying I was charged for a Japan Crate subscription. I contacted support only to get a rude reply basically saying it is my fault and that I agreed to automatic renewals when I signed up unless I cancelled. So no refund, no apology, just it's your fault so enjoy the crate you didn't want. I won't be purchasing any further crates from you.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 27, 2020

Hi Sara! Your Premium subscription renewed because it was left active. As it is stated in the checkout disclaimer, our subscriptions are set to automatically renew if the subscription is left active. Unfortunately, if the subscription renews, then you will be responsible for the renewal charge (this is stated in our Terms of Use). We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Box that didnt ship yet

Feb 07, 2020
Cristiana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Curation

I didnt get my box yet! Why is taking so long?

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 27, 2020

Hi Cristiana! Since you subscribed on January 26th, your first crate was shipped in our third wave (which was on February 3rd). Once a crate has shipped, we expect for it to arrive within 2-4 weeks, but it can take up to 6 weeks. When the crate arrives depends on how quickly it is handled through customs and postal service, both of which we have no control over. Rest assured, your crate was shipped on schedule and should be arriving soon.

Didn’t receive the box

Jan 10, 2020
Christina L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality
Curation

I ordered the 9th december 2019, it’s now the 10 january 2020, is this normal or? ( it’s my first crate ).. I need answer please..

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

Hi Christina! On review, we see that you subscribed on December 9th to our Premium crate, which means that the first crate that you would be shipped would be our January crate. Your January Premium was shipped on December 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when this crate shipped, we expect for it to arrive no later than January 31st. Note, when the crate actually arrives will depend on how quickly it is handled through both customs and the postal service.

Scam!

Sep 30, 2019
Sarah D.
2 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

No crates & no refund. Scam. Reply to Japan Crate's reply: Ummm yes I have contacted you repeatedly & you have not helped me. This is Sept29 & I STILL do not have the crate I paid for July7! All you ever do is say "Is this your correct address"? And u know it is! You sent the last one there! (After months of emailing you about it of course). RUN FROM THIS CRATE!!!!!!! RUUUUNNN!!!!!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Sarah! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you would like us to provide assistance, then please contact us at your earliest convenience.

NOT WORTH IT

Aug 27, 2019
Ingrid C.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These are expensive boxes for what you get. It's fun for the first 2 boxes then you start to see some of the same cheap gums, candies and chocolates that are nothing special and a total waste of money. If you live in a city that has a decent Japanese shop, you're better off buying snacks from there so at least you pay for what you like and not end up with some random cheap stuff that you don't care for.

If you're still considering trying the box, DO NOT GET LONG TERM SUBSCRIPTION. Watch out for the auto-renewal. They don't send you a notification that your anniversary date is coming up and that they will be charging you for another round. The "cancel at any time" that they advertise on their website is NOT TRUE AT ALL. Once they charge you they never refund even thought they haven't sent you anything yet (or even got around to preparing your box) and can technically refund. I totally did not realize that my 12 month subscription (yes, I made the stupid mistake of signing up in the first place) is up for renewal as I haven't received my last box at the time. Canceled the subscription and notified them immediately after the email came through but they refused to refund because all they care about is getting your money and not the consumer experience. Now I'm out a few hundred dollars and stuck with a bunch of boxes that I don't...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 22, 2019

Hi Ingrid! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, all subscribers are informed at sign-up that our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled; all subscribers must agree to the disclaimer at the checkout window before they can subscriber. If you fail to cancel your subscription before the next renewal date, then you will be responsible for the renewal. Note, if you subscribe to a prepaid plan (3, 6, or 12) you are committing to purchasing those crates (at a discounted price). While you are free to cancel your subscription at any time, you will still be responsible for any crates remaining on your prepaid plan.

Better boxes out there

Jul 30, 2019
Desiree J.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The company takes a realllly long time to ship for the small amount of products you receive. The main problem was that I canceled my subscription when I knew I wouldn’t be home to receive that months box but then they just renewed it anyway. I had proof from my internet history I canceled it but they refused to work with me.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Desiree! To clarify, the reason why your subscription renewed was because it was left active. As stated in the disclaimer (which is available at the checkout window), our subscriptions are set to auto-renew until cancelled.