Home > Food & Drink > Candy > Japan Crate > Japan Crate reviews

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

They will ignore you.

May 23, 2019
Susan T.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So I bought one single box to be sent to my son for Christmas. I have cancelled and contacted them several times. First they didn't cancel and charged me. Now they are just randomly sending my kid boxes we didn't want. At least I'm not being charged? I never get a response back when I send emails. There are better snack crates out there on Cratejoy and on Amazon.

Verified Purchase

Crates are mediocre at best.

May 01, 2019
Benjamin G.
1 Review
Overall

Crates are mediocre at best. I purchased a 6 month prepaid plan and was given NO indication WHATSOEVER that it was a recurring subscription. Six months go by, and I am charged another $214.50 US dollars. I contacted support, told them I literally cannot afford this because I have been unemployed over 6 months. They proceeded to give me the same answer everyone here gets. It's in the fine print. No refunds.

Website is a scam site. Stay away.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date

May 06, 2019

They like the money

Apr 18, 2019
Mette H.
1 Review
Overall

I cancelled subscription in February due to finding less and less candy in the boxes. They kept sending boxes, guess why! They refuse to acknowledge my February cancellation until November! They are keeping the money and still mailing the unwanted boxes. And, yes I spoke to customer service more than once. This is their policy. Warning.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! When you subscribe to our prepaid plan, you are committing to purchasing a set amount of crates at a discounted price. While you do have the option to cancel your subscription at any time, cancelling your subscription would not cancel the prepaid plan. Once you subscribe to our prepaid plan, you are locked for the duration of the plan.

Apr 18, 2019

THIS IS A SCAM!!

Mar 27, 2019
Amanda M.
1 Review
Overall

This is totally not worth even trying. The company is yet another "subscription" model that exists to trick you into stealing your hard earned money. I wanted to try this box for 3 months before my trip to Japan and was super underwhelmed by the selection they offer. I was shocked when I was auto-billed for another 3 months and immediately contacted them WITHIN 1 HOUR OF BEING BILLED to request an immediate cancellation of my auto-renewal. Some "zendesk" canned email was sent to me siting their auto-renew policy and check out and that I had no option. NO OPTION. As a paying customer who gives you money for goods. You basically give me the middle finger. I run several successful online businesses and would NEVER treat my customers like that. ESPECIALLY as a subscription box company. You have a hard sell, getting people to commit to giving you their money for blocks of time. So, you would think that customer service would be a priority but it is not. I would have been more likely to return as a customer after my return from Japan if they were more attentive to my request. But after the way they have treated me, there is no way they would be lucky enough to get my business again. I have filed a charge back claim with my bank to get my money back since your customer service "zendesk" set-up is a joke. You should be out of business.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019

Jan 22, 2019
Sturla M.
1 Review
Overall

Sketchy business schemes

Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

What Happened?!!!

Dec 27, 2018
Chris H.
2 Reviews
Overall

I ordered mine in November its late December I should have gotten it by now. About a year ago I use to order a lot from japan crate and never ever had a problem but now, Really? I don't know what happened but seriously get your priorities straitened out and get back on the ball please this is bad service and I know they can do better

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Regretfully, once a crate has left our warehouse, we have no control over how quickly it is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service. If your crate has yet to arrive, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Now word at all and haven’t gotten it!

Dec 23, 2018
Katie H.
1 Review
Overall

I ordered the December crate in November so it had plenty of time to get to me on time. But it is now Dec 24 and I have had no word at all about it. No tracking number or email saying it has shipped. I used a promo code “wishlist” to get a bonus item in it.
I see them responding to these saying “yours was in the last shipment so it will be later” I ordered in mind November theres absolutely no excuse to that!!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Regretfully, once a crate has left our warehouse, we have no control over how quickly it is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service. If your crate has yet to arrive, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Probably Lost $330.

Dec 02, 2018
Natalie A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Last week, I received an email that my “12-month subscription renewed successfully”. Did I recieve an email saying I will be charged soon for the new subscription cycle? No!

Sent an email and cancelled as soon as I found out about this. No reply. Google says I will not be refunded based on Japan crate’s rule.

I simply forgot that my subscription would be renewed automatically! A kind reminder would have helped me not lose $330, and I wouldn’t write such a low review! Now they have my money and I won’t get it back huh? I had just payed off my credit card, and I am in a money-tight situation.

Give me my money back. By not refunding me after something I don’t want. You stole $330. Great food. Terrible conditions. Please send us reminders about our payments.. 💢

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019

Horrible price and shipping

Aug 15, 2018
Josh S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I decided to get a subscription for japan crate premium. After noticing that i paid almost 50 dollars for a crate, i thought i would get a lot of great food products to try. Once i received my crate, i knew i didnt get my moneys worth. A bag of chips, a small box of cookies, a couple chocolate bars, some candies, and a small can of drink. At most worth 10-15 dollars. The shipping time is also hateful. I got a email saying my July crate shipped within the first couple days of July. Its now August 15th and i still dont have my crate. I tried to email japan crate, but i got no response

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hey Josh,

We apologize for the issue with your crate. It seems you’ve written to our support team and they will be able to assist you further. We had replied to your previous email but we never got a response back. Please check your spam folder as our support teams response may have ended up there. We hope to get your issues sorted out soon!

Aug 15, 2018

Disappointed

Jun 15, 2018
Leah R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

The customer service is unwilling to help their customers and the contents of the box are honestly disappointing. I decided fairly early on that I would not want to continue getting further boxes but it slipped my mind to unsubscribe until the day after the payment renewed. I immediately contacted the customer support to explain that I am extremely low on funds and was unable to resubscribe for another month. I was even willing to ship the box back to them in exchange for a refund. But no, unlike any other company I have ever dealt with they were completely unwilling to work with me and I was refused a refund of my 25 dollars. Don't go with this company. Bad service and honestly the contents aren't worth the money.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019
Buying Options