Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Buyers Beware: Renews after Cancellation

May 22, 2020
Hayli W.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I booked a year long subscription of the Premium Crate. Some of it is good, but a lot of it is just not my taste. Like sweet potato or green tea candy. After about 6 months I decided to switch to the Umai Crate. Again, some of it was really good, but there's a lot of shrimp or seaweed flavored items which are not my thing.

I cancelled the subscription but here's the thing- You don't get a confirmation email saying it's cancelled. So you have nothing but your word that it was cancelled. And then boom, your stuck with a $330 charge on your credit card, and an additional $60 shipping charge due to corona. And support will just tell you that you didn't cancel and there are no refunds. So I would either stay away or remove your credit card information after you subscribe.

Verified Purchase

Late really really late

Jul 29, 2020
Olga Y.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is terrible. I ordered my first box on April 20th it was shipped April 28th. Its now July 28th it has not arrived. I also was charged for May crate as well. I got a notification that it shipped on May 13th. Still didn’t get that one either. It has been 12 weeks since ordered my April crate and 10 weeks since the may one was supposedly shipped! These people are ridiculous I tried to get in touch with them they said it should be on its way. Please be careful people.

Verified Purchase

DO NOT TRUST

Apr 21, 2020
Monica P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never received box. Contacted seller with no response. No tracking. DO NOT TRUST!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Hidden fees

Jul 12, 2020
Becky G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Over charge for shipping. They increase their shipping without telling you about it on renewal and refuse to refund your money when you ask to cancel because of the ridiculous postal fees.

Verified Purchase

Worst experience possible - DO NOT BUY!

Jul 11, 2020
Jeffrey C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! THESE JERKS ARE LYING AND SAYING THEY SHIPPED STUFF, I GOT A BRITISH CRATE I ORDERED 3 MONTHS AFTER THIS ONE AND STILL NOTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE. HAD I NOT CANCELLED ID STILL BE PAYING AND NO CRATES!

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO ABILITY TO TRACK, THESE PEOPLE ARE RIPPING PEOPLE OFF

BUYER BEWARE!

Verified Purchase

$200+ for 1 box of boring noodles

Jul 08, 2020
Catherine G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My main dispute with Japan Crate is that I signed up for 3 months cycles, received only one box and they renewed for another 3 months leaving me with one box but charging me for six. Also, they charged $111 for the next 3 months upping the shipping charge without my approval. I can't see how they can renew when I haven't received the first 3-box cycle yet. So far, I have paid over $222 for one box of noodles. I have tried to dispute the charges directly with Japan Crate for the renewal and they said no, read the contract. Yet they have failed to fulfill their part of the contract. I was going to cancel after I received the second box. They cited Covid for shipping delays but my other Crate Joy boxes (The Russia Box) have arrived on time and are lovely. In addition, they included none of the interesting noodles - they were boring, simple, if you live near an Hmart, there are many more interesting varieties to be found there or on Amazon. They claim to be shipping from Japan which is crazy. If they are shipping from Japan, why not choose hard to find ramen noodle flavors (box contained veg, poultry, seafood, the usual suspects, nothing I can't find at HMart.) Also, rotten customer service for not canceling the renewal when they've only sent one box. Since I have 2 more coming from the first cycle it upsets none of their shipping plans. It...

Verified Purchase

Invisible crate

Jul 08, 2020
Patrick A.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I got billed for 2 crates. Didn't get any. And they've only refunded one crate and have told me my other crate was cancelled.
Japan crate ripped me off and aren't trying very hard to fix it.
Let me be clear, cratejoy is awesome. The other subscriptions have been good to great.
Japan crate is the thief and failure.

Verified Purchase

Extremely Disappointing

Jun 20, 2020
Anezka E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping

Never received the order. Regret ordering from this company. They were great at responding to emails in the beginning assuring me that it will make it in April, which is why I ordered it. But it has been way too long. I was told to contact them again if I have not received it by June 16, but it's past the date and I still have not received it. They stopped replying to me after complaining about my order and asking for refund. I am extremely disappointed. It is unacceptable. I want a refund for a product Ni never received, which I believe is fair. Will never order from this company again.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

We sincerely apologize for the experience. Rest assured, we have forwarded your concern to our Customer Service team who will assist you further.

We appreciate your feedback.

BUYER BEWARE! SCAMS!!!

Jun 12, 2020
Sydney H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WOW!
I was so excited when I originally saw this company. As a lover of Japanese snacks I was excited to see a box of exclusively Japanese goodies.

Too bad that is the end of my good experience with the company. If I could go back in time and stop myself from making this mistake I would.

First off, I ordered my very first crate in March, I signed up for the monthly box (aka comes 1x a month, $35 for the box and $5 to ship) $40/a month. I was charged for Aprils, Mays, and June’s.

IT IS JUNE AND I JUST RECEIVED MY MARCH BOX!!!!!! Which shipped on 4/3/2020 Absolutely out of control!!!!

As someone who actually sends a lot of packages big and small back and forth between Japan, China and the Philippines I KNOW that shipping (even though customs) DOES NOT TAKE 3 months!!!! I have spent $120 with this company and only received 1/3 of my order.

Don’t bother emailing the company, I’ve lost count of all the emails I’ve sent. They just tell you how it’s not their fault and to just keep waiting. not your fault???? I ordered a MONTHLY box that means it comes MONTHLY?! Yet I’m still waiting and it will probably be September by the time I get my May box and maybe by December I’ll get my June box.

If you’ve ever heard of the company “loot crate” they and japan crate are one in the same....

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As part of our continued efforts to better serve our customers, please be assured that your feedback has been escalated to the management.

We sincerely apologize for the experience.

Paid but no boxes arrived

Jun 11, 2020
Christen S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I haven’t received March, April, or May box. I have contacted the seller, no luck. Will be unsubscribing.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

We are sorry to hear this. Rest assured, this has been passed on to our customer service team to further assist you.

We appreciate your feedback.

Still waiting for my first box

Jun 08, 2020
Elizabeth R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a 3-month subscription to this box in March. It's now June and I still haven't received my first box. I was also charged an additional $5 per month for shipping?? I have reached out to customer service but this issue has not yet been resolved. BE CAREFUL!!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 24, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please be assured that your concern has been reviewed. To further asses your concern, please send email to our customer support. We sincerely apologize for the experience.

11 weeks later and still nothing....

Jun 08, 2020
Nicole M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered this box on March 23, It’s now June 8th and I still haven’t received anything but have been charged. Huge disappointment!!! Especially when I was charged a extra $5 for shipping... I’m so happy I decided to cancel this box! I wish they would have refunded my order but they won’t. DONT WATE YOUR MONEY!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 25, 2020

Hi, we feel sorry for the inconvenience of the delayed crates. This is due to Covid-19 that's why all our April and succeeding crates are delayed in shipping. Rest assured, we are trying our best to ship all pending crates. If you're waiting for your crates, we are pretty sure that its already in transit. To further assist with your concern, kindly send email to our customer support. We appreciate your feedback!

Package hasnt arrived

Jun 06, 2020
Shanon M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall