Japan Crate

by Japan Crate
Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as

$33.45/ month

Buying Options

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Worst Service Ever!!

Dec 19, 2020
Patrick R.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!
I ordered the December crate on the 17th of November and received an email on the 28th November saying that my crate was shipped and is on it's way. However upon checking the tracking on DHL's website there was no update regarding DHL even receiving the crate so I contacted DHL and they said that they have not received the crate at all. Then after 5 business days I still had not received my crate, keep in mind that it cost $20 for shipping alone and it was stated that shipping would take 3-5 business days. I then emailed Japan Crate asking what the issue was and they said please allow 5-10 business days from the order date which made no sense as it had already been 3 weeks since I ordered. Another 5 business days passed and still nothing so I emailed Japan Crate again and they did not respond to me at all so I had to email them for a 3rd time and finally they responded but they didn't help me at all. I was very unhappy with the service and I emailed again stating that I wanted a refund as the service was horrible and I was no longer willing to wait. Then after that email I suddenly get an email from them saying that my crate was damaged and was sent back to them by DHL which was a lie as I contacted DHL and they said they didn't receive the package at all....

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 21, 2020

Patrick,
Thank you so much for your review. We are terribly sorry about your experience.
The automated email that went out on the 28th of November was very unfortunate, as
a small number of crates in that mass shipment were not actually shipped out on time.
Our crates are fulfilled within 5-10 business days, handed over to the shipping courier, and delivered shortly thereafter, depending on the shipping courier and the subscriber's location. (In your case, South Africa)
We fully anticipated that everything was on time and ready to be handed over to the shipping
courier, which is why the automated email went out.
However, your crate was in a particular batch of Premium Holiday crates that were damaged between our warehouses, before being handed over to DHL (meaning DHL...

Auto-renewal Will Screw You

5 days ago
Kimberly A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Went through with canceling my order so it would not renew. Turns out I did not finish I guess because surely enough it auto-renewed and I'm down another $150. Auto renewal with no refund policy is awful

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...5 days ago

Hi Kimberly! We sincerely apologize for the experience you've had with us. To clarify, all of our subscriptions are set to auto-renew, based on the acknowledgment that is agreed upon at signup. We simply ask that you cancel your subscription date at any time before your renewal date, if you don’t wish to auto-renew. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Please reach out to our Customer Support team, who can take a further look into your experience and better help you!

Shameful, Auto Renew w/ no Forewarning.

Mar 16, 2021
Zach B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Automatically renewed with no warning, I canceled the subscription within 6 hours of being notified(at 2am), they denied the refund and cancelation because I agreed to that in the fine print 3 months ago, they refused to refund me.
Shameful business practice, if you wanted your clients to truly have the opportunity to evaluate the purchase and cancel you wouldn't send a confirmation only after it's already been renewed.
You've had weeks and weeks of delays on shipments - I can't imagine that a cancelation just a few hours after the renewal couldn't be processed, you're choosing not to in an effort to capture revenue - shameful.
I noticed when I logged into your website I was automatically added to your email marketing list, sending mass automated emails doesn't seem to be a challenge - shameful.
You also had plenty of resources to make the cancelation page as confusing as possible to trick folks into thinking they've canceled when they haven't - shameful.
All that, but you were unable to send an email forewarning the renewal was upcoming and cannot be cancelled, no that was a choice -shameful.
I've disputed the charge as fraudulent. I've also left a deserving review.
Your business practices are despicable.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 17, 2021

Hi Zach! We've look into your account and we can see that our Customer Support tried resolving the issue. We offer our sincere apologies for the experience you've had with us. We can see that your recent renewal was already refunded on March 17th and funds should be back within 3-5 business days.
Just to clarify further, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. If you need more help feel free to email our support team directly.

Extremely Disappointed

Mar 13, 2021
Brittney W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First time buying and never again going through this company. I was one of those people that ordered the January crate that was very delayed. But I was willing to wait because I get shipping was crazy, and they sent out an automated email that they’re doing everything they can to make it up(which didn’t happen). It took 3 months of waiting just to tell me in March they lost my package in the end. And all they did was refunded me, just because they didn’t want to not deal with the fact of owning up to it or sending another box or even a discount code (they only offered me a $3 discount code that anyone could get...) for another box after how long I waited and them saying they would make it up to those who ordered the January crate. I was very upset and disappointed after that.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 15, 2021

Hi Brittney! We've look into your account and we can see that our Customer Support tried resolving the issue. We offer our sincere apologies for the confusion you’ve experienced and also for the delay and losing your crate. Sometimes error happens for which we really apologize for the mistake.
We understand where you're coming from with the overall situation but we did what we could to resolve the issue. As explained in the email, we no longer have January crate in stock that is why we offered a full refund instead. With that said, we can see that we already refund your January crate and offered a promo code which you can use if you ever choose to try Japan Crate again in the future....

Subscribe if you enjoy losing money

Jan 28, 2021
Brandon A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

Ordered a box early December with a note that it would arrive before Christmas. Was charged to my credit card but never received a box. Received a Valentine's themed box (clearly not the Christmas/ December box or even the January box) in late January after having my credit card charged a second time.
Customer service would not refund/ help regarding the box that never arrived. They simply stopped replying. I should have listened to other reviews about boxes not arriving. Avoid Avoid Avoid.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 29, 2021

Hi Brandon! First of all, we're deeply sorry for the delay and for the overall experience. We saw that you had reached out and your ticket was accidentally closed, so we're not able to response back. It seems that we misunderstood your recent response and we didn't provide information about your delayed January crate. And we're really sorry about that.
Anyways, based on the email, your January crate was shipped and still in transit that is why we wont be able to refund it. When we handed to our new shipping provider during the shipment process last December, we thought it will be fast as promised but unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances during the transition we've experienced more major delays because of the move that we...

Extremely disappointed

Dec 21, 2020
Sarah R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's been in transit for 16 business days and I still don't have my package. NOTHING has been updated on the shipping information. I've messaged them multiple times for help and nobody has answered me. Very unprofessional on their part. Will never order from them again

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 21, 2020

Sarah,
Thank you so much for your review!
We see that you had ordered on December 2nd. On our website and in the Order Confirmation, we kindly ask that you give us 5-10 business days to fulfil your order and 5-7 business days to deliver, once your crate is handed over to the shipping courier. :)
We are just as excited as you are to receive your crate, so we really appreciate your patience while your crate is lovingly put together and handed over for shipment.
If you don't see any updates to your tracking link soon, please contact our Customer Support team so that we can look into your order further.
Thank you so much Sarah!

Oof..

Dec 25, 2020
Richard V.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Shipping taking longer than they said, package still not here...
Edited: you guys never explained the second amount of shipping days for this item, you only explained that I would need to only wait 5-10 business days. I would know this because if I knew I was being misled I would have not subscribed to you guys at all!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 26, 2020

Hi Richard,
Thank you so much for writing in about this! I see that you ordered on December 10th.
I am terribly sorry if you were expecting your crate to be delivered sooner.
On our website, at checkout, and on your order confirmation, we ask that you wait for 5-10 business days for your crate to be lovingly processed and put together.
Once it's been fulfilled, we ask that you wait for another 5-7 business days for it to be delivered.
We also state that there are, unfortunately, slight holiday delays with some of our shipping couriers.
However, I see that your crate has been all set and ready to be picked up! We're just waiting for your shipping courier to swing by and pick it up....

Terrible customer service!

Dec 22, 2020
Roxanne L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Stay away! Terrible customer service! I ordered a box November 17 and still have not box... Plus they charged for the second box a day early and will not refund my Credit Card! I sent them and email December 17 (renewal date is Dec 18) but it took the 4 day to respond and do nothing:(. Oh except not refund my credit card. Shady Grinch Company:(

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 23, 2020

Hi Roxanne! We offer our deepest and sincere apologies for the experience you've had with us. We've reviewed the issue and seems that you're already in contact with our customer support. Due to the busy holiday season, we've received a high volume of support emails recently and we’re still working through them that's why our responses are getting delayed. We really sorry for for the inconvenience. :(
As for the recent renewal, to clarify a bit further, you're initial subscription was November 18th and was set to auto-renew on 18th of the succeeding months if not cancelled. All of our subscriptions are set to auto-renew, based on the acknowledgment that is agreed upon at signup. We simply ask that you cancel your subscription date at any...

Products are not delivered

Dec 21, 2020
Neal R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I placed an order for the December crate on November 17th for the December crate. An additional charge was applied to the crate in order to ship via an international currier and the website indicated that currier would be DHL. The website also indicated that the delivery time with DHL would be 3-5 business days. On November 28th I received an email stating that the crate had shipped. However, this email did not provide any DHL tracking information. Instead, it contained a link to a Japan Post tracking number and when I went to the link, the website stated that the package did not exist. It has now been 23 days since the package was “shipped” and nothing has been received. I reached out to the company via email for the DHL tracking information and have received no response. I have received no information explaining why there would be such a delay. This seems pretty clear that the company received payment for the product and never shipped. Do not use this service.
Update: This explanation is completely false. I do not live in a remote area. I live in a major city on the West Coast of North America. I have DHL packages shipped to this address regularly.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Dec 22, 2020

Hi Neal! We're deeply sorry for the confusion.
On review, your December Doki crate (which was ordered in November) was in transit. As per the shipping information, we intend to ship your crate via DHL, however, DHL informed us that because of your remote location, it would be too expensive to ship your crate. In response, we shipped your crate via Japan Post Air Mail. All December crates that were shipped with an e-Packet tracking link may show no movement or an error message. On the bright side, Japan Post Air Mail should still deliver your crate in the same amount of time as e-Packet. Just for additional clarification, in our website we indicated a note that if your address is in a remote area,...

Never buy these boxes

Oct 16, 2020
Francito H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never got a box big waste of time and money I contacted the seller so many times never got a response not once just scamming people

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Oct 18, 2020

Hi Francito!
Thank you so much for alerting us to your situation. I sincerely apologize for any confusion that we may have caused you.
I see that you had contacted us twice and were replied to within 2 - 3 days. Please check your Cratejoy email inbox, just in case our replies may have gotten stuck somewhere. :)
You have subscribed to our Japan Crate Premium box of goodies on Oct. 4th, this puts you in our 1st of 3 shipping waves (this isn't a race, but if it was, you'd be in first place!). This means that your Premium crate will be processed and ready to be handed off on the 20th of Oct.
I have looked up your crate and I see that it has been...

Auto Renew Scam

Oct 14, 2020
Anthony J.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality