Home > Food & Drink > Candy > Japan Crate > Japan Crate reviews

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Auto renewal

Mar 22, 2019
Reid H.
1 Review
Overall

Bought the 3 month as a Christmas gift. Was not aware it auto renewed, especially because I paid for all 3 months up front, not monthly. Forced to do 3 more months now...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019

Terrible Customer Service

Jan 07, 2019
Emily M.
1 Review
Overall

I have been an on and off subscriber of the Kira Kira crate for a while now and I encourage you to find a different Japanese beauty subscription box. The items were full sized and okay their customer service is just a series of copy paste answers. If you ever have an issue you will receive better response from a brickwall.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Crates Missing

Jan 05, 2019
Brenna F.
1 Review
Overall

I loved the contents of my doki doki crates and I wouldve loved to stay subscribed BUT i recieved my first 2 crates on time and then it took over 2 MONTHS for my next two! I recieved my January crate on time right after I unsubscribed but I still have not recieved my December crate! When I complained they said theyd send a replacement and within 2 days both missing crates had arrived but I doubt it was the one they sent as a replacement. Im really disappointed by the inconsistent arrival times and how I recieve crates from months before before later months (like getting january before december). The contents are not worth the trouble.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.

Mar 31, 2019

Crates fun but billing was deceptive

Dec 26, 2018
Eric A.
1 Review
Overall

I can honestly say the crates were what I expected, but I always order a crate for my wife's birthday in October. Due to a tsunami, it was pushed back until the end of November (understandable but unfortunate) so my wife didn't receive her present until late November. It was a bit damaged after the long transit and some of the items were broken. The next week I received November's crate and the week after December's crate. While I thought I the subscription was a 3 month gift subscription, apparently the cancellation didn't go through and was charged an extra $70+. I contacted customer service the morning I was charged and they basically said "too bad" and were not helpful.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019

Dec 06, 2018
Wayneek J.
1 Review
Overall

I used to have JapanCrate when they first started out their company and they were great they gave me a tracking number and everything and my package came in the same month! But I stopped for a while and was very eager to start doing JapanCrate again but was very disappointed in the quality of work they’re doing now. I ordered a box a month ago and it still hasnt come and I have to wait till the end of this month just for it to come. There’s also no tracking number to tell me where my package is and when it’ll be here. They take much more time to do more of the shipping and other things but when they first started they were never like this. They need to do a better job and bring back the package tracking.

Japan Crate said...

Hi! To clarify, we have chosen to ship our crates without tracking so that we can invest more in the crates (better items). Still, we fully expect our crates to arrive. Did you eventually receive your crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Missing items and Poor service

Dec 03, 2018
Katharine B.
6 Reviews
Overall

I contacted Japan Crate about a missing item in my December Crate and asked for a replacement. They told me it was in transit with the rest of my crate! They offered zero help in replacing the item or refunding me. Do yourself a favor and choose a different crate.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Did you ever receive the replacement? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Go with Bocandy instead

Jun 15, 2018
Jess B.
4 Reviews
Overall

I read so many reviews about how great the snacks from Japan crate were that I couldn't wait to try it. I finally found a great coupon and subscribed. I was excited to get my box. It arrived fairly quickly but tracking was impossible, even after contacting the company. Once it arrived, I tore open our mega box and was instantly disappointed. Nothing even looked appetizing. My 4 year old LOVES snacks of all types and each he tried, he gave back saying they were disgusting or gross. I tasted each one and agreed with him. Only one bag of snacks, a very small package of chocolate filled cookies were very good. All unopened items are still just sitting in the box. What a waste. I recommend bocandy, a similar subscription of snacks from around the world. That box we devoured and couldn't wait for another.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Japan is known to offer uniquely flavored items, some of which may require an acquired taste.

Mar 31, 2019

Disapointing

Jun 15, 2018
Sheila W.
1 Review
Overall

We have received two boxes and still waiting for January's. The first one came right away. Second one they said was delayed by weather. Understandable but in my corospondence with them they had said they would send a shipping number for tracking and never did, along with a canned response of 3-4 days, we did receive it about the 26th of Dec, long delay. Fine, attribute to weather and holiday shipping. Received email for Jan shipment with tracking number this time. I was supposed to receive it by the 11th from the tracking data and nothing. I emailed them through the web site contact, which I don't like, there should be a better way that attaches my account information. Then noodles Umai is ok, we thought it would be fun to have a variety, but the noodles are so so. Feb. will be our last order, as we have been charged for it. I guess you can say we are canceling it as I hate to chase after our order in regards to the shipping thing and the noodles are nothing to write about.

Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.

Mar 31, 2019

Wouldn't let me switch

Jun 15, 2018
T W.
1 Review
Overall

Got the Japan Crate 3 month premium subscription ($30/month) for my daughter for Christmas. She got the first crate and said she didn't want so much candy and would much prefer the Kira Kira box ($29/month). Customer Service said no switching -- that only after we are done with the 3 month Japan Crate subscription they will subscribe us to Kira Kira. This was so not helpful!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, when you subscribe to of our prepaid plans, you are purchasing a specific crate at a bulk price. While it is unfortunate to hear of your experience with the first crate, because you committed to multiple crates, you would still be shipped the remaining crates.

Mar 31, 2019

Could be better.

Jun 15, 2018
Alixblix
1 Review
Overall

I had ordered this before through Japan Crate themselves and I seem to remember that they gave a tracking number. I understand that customs can hold things up so I'm not that grumpy about it. But the fact that without a tracking number, we don't know what's going on without contacting the company. Can only hope that the company takes things into consideration.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hey Alix,

We no longer include tracking onto our shipments due to the price increase it would have on our crates. We are currently pilot testing a paid tracking option for $5 with the first month being free. If you are interested please let me know.

May 27, 2018
Buying Options