Japan Crate

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Subscriber ReviewsReviews

Write a Review

Auto renewal

by Reid H., Mar 22, 2019

Bought the 3 month as a Christmas gift. Was not aware it auto renewed, especially because I paid for all 3 months up front, not monthly. Forced to do 3 more months now...

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Terrible Customer Service

by Emily M., Jan 07, 2019

I have been an on and off subscriber of the Kira Kira crate for a while now and I encourage you to find a different Japanese beauty subscription box. The items were full sized and okay their customer service is just a series of copy paste answers. If you ever have an issue you will receive better response from a brickwall.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Crates Missing

by Brenna F., Jan 05, 2019

I loved the contents of my doki doki crates and I wouldve loved to stay subscribed BUT i recieved my first 2 crates on time and then it took over 2 MONTHS for my next two! I recieved my January crate on time right after I unsubscribed but I still have not recieved my December crate! When I complained they said theyd send a replacement and within 2 days both missing crates had arrived but I doubt it was the one they sent as a replacement. Im really disappointed by the inconsistent arrival times and how I recieve crates from months before before later months (like getting january before december). The contents are not worth the trouble.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.

Crates fun but billing was deceptive

by Eric A., Dec 26, 2018

I can honestly say the crates were what I expected, but I always order a crate for my wife's birthday in October. Due to a tsunami, it was pushed back until the end of November (understandable but unfortunate) so my wife didn't receive her present until late November. It was a bit damaged after the long transit and some of the items were broken. The next week I received November's crate and the week after December's crate. While I thought I the subscription was a 3 month gift subscription, apparently the cancellation didn't go through and was charged an extra $70+. I contacted customer service the morning I was charged and they basically said "too bad" and were not helpful.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

by Wayneek J., Dec 05, 2018

I used to have JapanCrate when they first started out their company and they were great they gave me a tracking number and everything and my package came in the same month! But I stopped for a while and was very eager to start doing JapanCrate again but was very disappointed in the quality of work they’re doing now. I ordered a box a month ago and it still hasnt come and I have to wait till the end of this month just for it to come. There’s also no tracking number to tell me where my package is and when it’ll be here. They take much more time to do more of the shipping and other things but when they first started they were never like this. They need to do a better job and bring back the package tracking.

|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! To clarify, we have chosen to ship our crates without tracking so that we can invest more in the crates (better items). Still, we fully expect our crates to arrive. Did you eventually receive your crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Missing items and Poor service

by Katharine B., Dec 03, 2018

I contacted Japan Crate about a missing item in my December Crate and asked for a replacement. They told me it was in transit with the rest of my crate! They offered zero help in replacing the item or refunding me. Do yourself a favor and choose a different crate.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Did you ever receive the replacement? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

by Lori K., Jun 08, 2018

I started my superscription in December my kids and I really enjoyed it at first and looked forward to receiving it. But the variety is not there and my kids were even commenting on how we keep getting some of the same stuff. Then we never got our April crate, which we were looking forward to getting, because of the things they said we could expect, but it never came. I got my May crate, but never Aprils. I have contacted support many times and they responded the beginning of May saying to be patient that some crates were lost in shipping and they were working on it. Then when my May crate showed up I contacted support and asked what was up. They never responded. So, I contacted them again and with no response, they finally responded back when I sent my last response in all caps demanding either my money back or my April crate, they responded with we already responded to you and nothing more. I have canceled my subscription and still am waiting on either my crate or my money back and an explanation or some kind of helpful response.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Jun 08, 2018
Hey Lori, We’re incredibly sorry that your April Crate never reached you. It seems you were put on our reshipment list so a replacement crate should arrive to you soon. Also I’ve checked our ticketing system and it seems that we’ve responded to every email that you’ve sent us. I’m sorry those responses did not get to you, they may have ended up in your spam folder. Please contact us again if there are issues with receiving your replacement crate and we will assist you promptly.

Could be better.

by Alixblix, Apr 13, 2018

I had ordered this before through Japan Crate themselves and I seem to remember that they gave a tracking number. I understand that customs can hold things up so I'm not that grumpy about it. But the fact that without a tracking number, we don't know what's going on without contacting the company. Can only hope that the company takes things into consideration.

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
May 27, 2018
Hey Alix, We no longer include tracking onto our shipments due to the price increase it would have on our crates. We are currently pilot testing a paid tracking option for $5 with the first month being free. If you are interested please let me know.

Wouldn't let me switch

by T W., Feb 01, 2017

Got the Japan Crate 3 month premium subscription ($30/month) for my daughter for Christmas. She got the first crate and said she didn't want so much candy and would much prefer the Kira Kira box ($29/month). Customer Service said no switching -- that only after we are done with the 3 month Japan Crate subscription they will subscribe us to Kira Kira. This was so not helpful!

Verified Purchase
|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, when you subscribe to of our prepaid plans, you are purchasing a specific crate at a bulk price. While it is unfortunate to hear of your experience with the first crate, because you committed to multiple crates, you would still be shipped the remaining crates.

Disapointing

by Sheila W., Jan 22, 2017

We have received two boxes and still waiting for January's. The first one came right away. Second one they said was delayed by weather. Understandable but in my corospondence with them they had said they would send a shipping number for tracking and never did, along with a canned response of 3-4 days, we did receive it about the 26th of Dec, long delay. Fine, attribute to weather and holiday shipping. Received email for Jan shipment with tracking number this time. I was supposed to receive it by the 11th from the tracking data and nothing. I emailed them through the web site contact, which I don't like, there should be a better way that attaches my account information. Then noodles Umai is ok, we thought it would be fun to have a variety, but the noodles are so so. Feb. will be our last order, as we have been charged for it. I guess you can say we are canceling it as I hate to chase after our order in regards to the shipping thing and the noodles are nothing to write about.

|Report abuse
Japan Crate said...
Mar 31, 2019
Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.
View Details