Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Super Late Shipping

Oct 08, 2020
Kristian A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered the October Crate off of them and thought everything would go smooth, however, things did not go as expected. On their website they advertise the fact that the crates would be shipped via DHL Worldwide delivery which takes 3-5 days to arrive once shipped (note: I am in Australia), then, when I received my shipping confirmation email I was thrilled, until I was told that despite me paying the standard DHL extra shipping fee for my location, my crate had been shipped via Surface Mail instead (basically via boat). So from 3-5 days guaranteed delivery, I was given 3+ month delivery.. now what really frustrates me is the fact that they advertised the 3-5 day DHL shipping before even making sure with DHL themselves that it would be possible, and instead did everything last minute on the actual day of shipping. Another thing they could've done instead is given me a heads-up email asking me how I wanted to proceed instead of just straight away sending it off on a boat without any consultation, I mean they could've atleast sent it via Air Mail instead and not Surface Mail.. especially since on their website it is unheard of for the shipping to take a few months, the longest it mentions on their shipping schedule is 6 weeks. The whole situation frustrates me but now the only thing I can really do is just wait until December or even longer to receive my October crate. Overall, I am not satisfied.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Oct 14, 2020

Hi Kristian!

I want to deeply apologize about any confusion you experienced. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.

On our website, it states that our crates can now deliver 2-5 days after shipping to the -U.S.-.
However, most crates also ship to Australia via DHL Worldwide express shipping! Which is really fantastic!

Unfortunately, as stated on our website:
"*DHL may not be available to some remote locations. If your address is deemed a remote location, then it will be shipped using the best alternative shipping service.”

You just happen to be one of the unlucky ones that was deemed as remote by DHL.

It's extremely frustrating for all of us and we absolutely understand how you feel. You have every right to be angry that you didn’t receive...

Expensive Shipping & Cheap Quality

Aug 27, 2020
Skylar C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got the Doki Doki crates, and while being cute, the items they pick feel cheap and unsatisfying. Especially for the price that you have to pay for them. On top of that, they no longer offer free shipping so you have to pay a ridiculous amount for your box. As well, the boxes are frequently delayed and never on time. I had to wait 8 weeks for my July crate instead of 3-4 weeks.

Today, my subscription plan renewed for 6 months, and I tried to refund the subscription because of the absurd shipping costs. Of course the Japan Crate team did not give me a refund, and I am very disappointed and frustrated in the lack of empathy of the Japan Crate support team. I will never buy from them again.

If you are considering trying them however, first look at other cute kawaii crate options out there. There are MANY cheaper options that come with free shipping to any country! This business is such a rip-off.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 31, 2020

Hi Skylar, we're deeply sorry for the inconvenience and overall experience. We've check your subscription and seems that you are correct. Your Doki subscription renewed on August 27th. As we have communicated before, on sign-up, we require subscribers to acknowledge that the subscription being subscribed to is recurring and, if left active, will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. While we cannot refund the subscription plan, we can actually change your remaining un-shipped crates. How about we change it to Japan crate Premium snacks? or if you fancy noodles, we can change it to Japan crate Umai crate? If you like to do so, please do let us know. We’re available anytime through email. Reach out and we’re more than happy to...

good snacks, horrible shipping

Aug 13, 2020
Senga T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to Japan Crate in late March due to a promotion where you could get a sakura-themed Starbucks cup with your premium crate, and remained subscribed until late May, when my June crate was ordered. However, of all three crates I've ordered, the only one to arrive was my May crate. I have yet to receive my April crate, and I was only told that they had to use standard mail for my crate, extending the wait time (as of June 28th) to 6-8 weeks for shipping, after I submitted a support ticket asking where my crates were. I got a partial refund at the very least, but this was something that should've been communicated with me, and leaves me worried for my June crate. I understand COVID is screwing everything up, and that international shipping is expensive, but I don't think shipping to Florida should be this much of a nightmare.

The items inside the box itself were good, at least! There's a bit of everything, and it's an interesting mix of snacks. It's a perfect box to split with family and friends, though a lot of the smaller candies can be hit-or-miss, like the chalky ramune candies these boxes all seem to have. My personal favorite of the May crate was the Cinnamoroll Cafe Latte Mochi, which is a little surprising for me considering the fact I normally don't like mochi!

Overall, my recommendation would to be to look at other boxes. While the snacks are delicious and interesting,...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 30, 2020

Hi Senga! Thanks for giving Japan Crate a try, we’ll definitely take this into account when putting together future crates. We'd like to make it up to you, here's a code JCCARES that offer a discount off on your next crate. Feel free to use the code whenever it suits you. We appreciate the support! Have a great day!

Nice items, poor customer service

Nov 21, 2019
Jesse H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was super excited to receive this based on a friend’s recommendation. When it arrived, poor luck or whatever, it was missing 7 of the 19 items...so basically 1/3 didn’t show up. This was a $35 premium crate. They advertise a drink as the centerpiece of the premium, and that was part of the missing items. I contacted customer service and asked for the missing items. They said nope, we will just give you $7. I asked several times for the missing items, or at least a fair refund, and was told to go away. Hopefully you will have better luck, but based on my experience with the poor customer service I would tell you to use a different company...I know I will.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 22, 2019

Hi Jesse! We sincerely apologize for the experience. We have reviewed the situation and found the resolution to be appropriate for the issue reported. Note, while the issue stems from how the shipment was handled with postal service, we made an effort to provide assistance.

Money first, customer service last

Apr 12, 2020
Felix B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Pretty disappointed in their customer service. I have been charged extra shipping fees without being informed and when I contested it, they used the excuse of automatic renewal. Let's say that it is ok to automatically renew even if you registered for a 3 months service, it is not ok to charge extra fees without noticing the customer. Even the Japanese Consumer Protection Fundamental Act says that: "Under the Act, a consumer can cancel his or her will to conclude a contract under certain conditions. For example, a cancellation is possible if the consumer decided to conclude the contract because the seller had intentionally lied on an important matter or had failed to represent important disadvantageous facts to the consumer. Here, the "important matter" includes information on the goods such as quality and use, and conditions of the contract such as price and terms of payments." Those fees were hidden so I should be allowed to contest and cancel my subscription. Plus the automatic renewal is pretty much is pretty sneaky. Even if you agree, there should be a notification to remind you 3, 6 or 12 months later. This is a tactic to make people pay without being really willing to renew. It is a nice idea, the products are ok, for a few months, but the way the customer service is managed is pretty poorly. They reply to a generic answer without giving any care to your request. When you face that kind of service, it is proof...

Verified Purchase

Auto renewal=scam

Mar 11, 2020
Rebecca P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Be aware of auto renewal!

I didn't remember reading it when I ordered 3-month subscription in Dec. It gives no reminder or warning to cancel and just charges the credit card of the day of anniversary and they don't give refunds.

The boxes I got were good but I will NEVER do this again

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 14, 2020

Hi Rebecca! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, when subscribing to our crates, it is clearly stated that our subscriptions are set to automatically renew unless cancelled; in-fact, disclaimer must be acknowledged at the checkout window before one can subscribe. Unfortunately, because your subscription was not cancelled before the next renewal, your subscription renewed and you will be responsible for the renewal. It is imperative that if your desire is to no longer receive crates, that you cancel the subscription before the next renewal date.

Yeaaaa... no

Nov 21, 2019
Crystal H.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping

Takes over a month just to receive. They essentially want to charge you for multiple boxes before you even get the first one. Thankfully I cancelled before my renew date since i still haven’t gotten my box. If its going to take this long it should be a quarterly subscription.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 22, 2019

Hi Crystal! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, when your crate delivers largely depends on how quickly it is handled through customs and the postal service (both of which we have no control over). Normally, our crates deliver within 2-4 weeks from when they ship.

Auto renewal

Mar 22, 2019
Reid H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Bought the 3 month as a Christmas gift. Was not aware it auto renewed, especially because I paid for all 3 months up front, not monthly. Forced to do 3 more months now...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Terrible Customer Service

Jan 07, 2019
Emily M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I have been an on and off subscriber of the Kira Kira crate for a while now and I encourage you to find a different Japanese beauty subscription box. The items were full sized and okay their customer service is just a series of copy paste answers. If you ever have an issue you will receive better response from a brickwall.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Crates Missing

Jan 05, 2019
Brenna F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I loved the contents of my doki doki crates and I wouldve loved to stay subscribed BUT i recieved my first 2 crates on time and then it took over 2 MONTHS for my next two! I recieved my January crate on time right after I unsubscribed but I still have not recieved my December crate! When I complained they said theyd send a replacement and within 2 days both missing crates had arrived but I doubt it was the one they sent as a replacement. Im really disappointed by the inconsistent arrival times and how I recieve crates from months before before later months (like getting january before december). The contents are not worth the trouble.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.

Crates fun but billing was deceptive

Dec 26, 2018
Eric A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I can honestly say the crates were what I expected, but I always order a crate for my wife's birthday in October. Due to a tsunami, it was pushed back until the end of November (understandable but unfortunate) so my wife didn't receive her present until late November. It was a bit damaged after the long transit and some of the items were broken. The next week I received November's crate and the week after December's crate. While I thought I the subscription was a 3 month gift subscription, apparently the cancellation didn't go through and was charged an extra $70+. I contacted customer service the morning I was charged and they basically said "too bad" and were not helpful.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Missing items and Poor service

Dec 03, 2018
Katharine B.
7 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I contacted Japan Crate about a missing item in my December Crate and asked for a replacement. They told me it was in transit with the rest of my crate! They offered zero help in replacing the item or refunding me. Do yourself a favor and choose a different crate.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Did you ever receive the replacement? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Jun 08, 2018
Lori K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

I started my superscription in December my kids and I really enjoyed it at first and looked forward to receiving it. But the variety is not there and my kids were even commenting on how we keep getting some of the same stuff. Then we never got our April crate, which we were looking forward to getting, because of the things they said we could expect, but it never came. I got my May crate, but never Aprils. I have contacted support many times and they responded the beginning of May saying to be patient that some crates were lost in shipping and they were working on it. Then when my May crate showed up I contacted support and asked what was up. They never responded. So, I contacted them again and with no response, they finally responded back when I sent my last response in all caps demanding either my money back or my April crate, they responded with we already responded to you and nothing more. I have canceled my subscription and still am waiting on either my crate or my money back and an explanation or some kind of helpful response.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jun 08, 2018

Hey Lori,

We’re incredibly sorry that your April Crate never reached you. It seems you were put on our reshipment list so a replacement crate should arrive to you soon. Also I’ve checked our ticketing system and it seems that we’ve responded to every email that you’ve sent us. I’m sorry those responses did not get to you, they may have ended up in your spam folder. Please contact us again if there are issues with receiving your replacement crate and we will assist you promptly.

Go with Bocandy instead

Dec 31, 2016
Jess B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

I read so many reviews about how great the snacks from Japan crate were that I couldn't wait to try it. I finally found a great coupon and subscribed. I was excited to get my box. It arrived fairly quickly but tracking was impossible, even after contacting the company. Once it arrived, I tore open our mega box and was instantly disappointed. Nothing even looked appetizing. My 4 year old LOVES snacks of all types and each he tried, he gave back saying they were disgusting or gross. I tasted each one and agreed with him. Only one bag of snacks, a very small package of chocolate filled cookies were very good. All unopened items are still just sitting in the box. What a waste. I recommend bocandy, a similar subscription of snacks from around the world. That box we devoured and couldn't wait for another.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Japan is known to offer uniquely flavored items, some of which may require an acquired taste.

Wouldn't let me switch

Feb 01, 2017
T W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Got the Japan Crate 3 month premium subscription ($30/month) for my daughter for Christmas. She got the first crate and said she didn't want so much candy and would much prefer the Kira Kira box ($29/month). Customer Service said no switching -- that only after we are done with the 3 month Japan Crate subscription they will subscribe us to Kira Kira. This was so not helpful!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, when you subscribe to of our prepaid plans, you are purchasing a specific crate at a bulk price. While it is unfortunate to hear of your experience with the first crate, because you committed to multiple crates, you would still be shipped the remaining crates.

Could be better.

Apr 13, 2018
Alixblix
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I had ordered this before through Japan Crate themselves and I seem to remember that they gave a tracking number. I understand that customs can hold things up so I'm not that grumpy about it. But the fact that without a tracking number, we don't know what's going on without contacting the company. Can only hope that the company takes things into consideration.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...May 27, 2018

Hey Alix,

We no longer include tracking onto our shipments due to the price increase it would have on our crates. We are currently pilot testing a paid tracking option for $5 with the first month being free. If you are interested please let me know.

Dec 05, 2018
Wayneek J.
1 Review
Overall

I used to have JapanCrate when they first started out their company and they were great they gave me a tracking number and everything and my package came in the same month! But I stopped for a while and was very eager to start doing JapanCrate again but was very disappointed in the quality of work they’re doing now. I ordered a box a month ago and it still hasnt come and I have to wait till the end of this month just for it to come. There’s also no tracking number to tell me where my package is and when it’ll be here. They take much more time to do more of the shipping and other things but when they first started they were never like this. They need to do a better job and bring back the package tracking.

Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! To clarify, we have chosen to ship our crates without tracking so that we can invest more in the crates (better items). Still, we fully expect our crates to arrive. Did you eventually receive your crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Disapointing

Jan 22, 2017
Sheila W.
1 Review
Overall

We have received two boxes and still waiting for January's. The first one came right away. Second one they said was delayed by weather. Understandable but in my corospondence with them they had said they would send a shipping number for tracking and never did, along with a canned response of 3-4 days, we did receive it about the 26th of Dec, long delay. Fine, attribute to weather and holiday shipping. Received email for Jan shipment with tracking number this time. I was supposed to receive it by the 11th from the tracking data and nothing. I emailed them through the web site contact, which I don't like, there should be a better way that attaches my account information. Then noodles Umai is ok, we thought it would be fun to have a variety, but the noodles are so so. Feb. will be our last order, as we have been charged for it. I guess you can say we are canceling it as I hate to chase after our order in regards to the shipping thing and the noodles are nothing to write about.

Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, the reason for the inconsistent delivery time between crates has to do with factors which we have no control over (customs, weather, and the postal service). Regretfully, we have no influence over how quickly a crate is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service.

Buying Options