Japan Crate

by Japan Crate

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

907 reviews

Plans as low as

$33.45/ month

Buying Options

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review
907

BEWARE OF REFUND POLICY

May 03, 2021
Jodi H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 days
Overall

I accidentally ordered this box. Shipping to Hawaii was just too expensive. Within minutes, I cancelled the order. I immediately wrote to the seller to make sure it was cancelled, but they sent a reply saying it was too late to cancel. The only thing I could cancel was my 3 months subscription....after the three months are over.
UPDATE: After posting the above 1 star review, the company immediately reconsidered their original response to NOT refund my purchase and refunded me in full. Although I'm very happy that they did, I feel they should've done this in the first place, especially after writing them an email and explaining the situation.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...May 04, 2021

Hi Jodi! We've look into your account and we can see that our Customer Support tried resolving the issue. We offer our sincere apologies for the confusion you’ve experienced.
We totally understand that you were upset about the situation. We’re happy to share that we’ve already gone ahead and full refund your 3 months subscription. In addition to the full refund, we offered a discount code in our reply. Feel free to apply it on your future subscription whenever you feel like to subscribe back. Although you didn’t enjoy the experience, we do appreciate you. Thank you for leaving your feedback. Keep safe and have a great day! (o_ _)ノ彡☆

Sub par

Mar 29, 2021
Breanna W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got mostly mint and gum which is disappointing...

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2021

Hi Breanna! We're very sorry to hear you weren't happy with the service provided. Be informed that Japan Crate snack box have 3 different sizes which includes the Mini, Original and Premium where Premium have the most items in the box which consist of 18-20 items in it and also includes a special drink handpick from Japan. Each month is different and we can see that your subscription is still active, if you wish you continue your subscription we promise that you will be getting a better selection on your next crate. :)
If you don't wish to auto-renew your subscription. Please reach out to our Customer Support to assist you with the cancellation else you can cancel anytime by logging in to our website....

Beware of unwanted auto renewal!

Mar 01, 2021
Tina B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First, my son loves this and I've been getting it for him for Christmas. However, it never gets here for Christmas, it's always 2 months late and always costs more for shipping than advertised. Also, this year I got charged for a renewal I didn't ask for and they won't refund the $144. They say I signed up for auto renewal. No way I would have done that!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 02, 2021

Hi Tina! Thanks for the feedback, however, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date. We sincerely apologize for the experience.

Leider eine Enttäuschung

Feb 02, 2021
Sophie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Qualität und Kurator sind nur so schlecht bewertet weil ich von der Box nie etwas gesehen habe. Ich habe im Januar eine Box bestellt und dir kam nicht an. Jetzt wurde die nächste schon abgebucht obwohl ich das nicht wollte. Ich kann keine Stornierung erfordern da die Box wohl schon unterwegs sei aber wo ist dann die Japan Box. Mein Wirtschaftslehrer hat mich drauf hingewiesen das ich das der Verbraucherzentrale melde. Ich werde hier Updates geben wie und ob ich mit den Boxen erfolg habe oder ob ich wie mein Lehrer sagt Verarscht wurde.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 03, 2021

Hi Sophie! We’re deeply sorry for the delay and we're so sad to hear that you still not getting your crate. We've checked your subscription and saw that you had reached out. Unfortunately, due to the combination of the previous holiday rush and difficulties around COVID-19 staffing precautions, our fulfillment team has fallen behind on January shipments. We know how much you look forward to your crates each month, and we sincerely apologize for this additional wait.
Our team will continue working around the clock to get every delayed January and February crate in the mail and should have them shipped within the next few days. You’ll receive an automated tracking email once your crate arrives in your country.
Please know we’re exploring options for how we...

Good contents but shipping issues.

Feb 01, 2021
Shari M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Although my son really enjoyed what was in his box, the shipping times are far too long. I ordered a box in early December that did not arrive until the second week of January. I received a notification that my Feb box has shipped and to expect it in 6-8 weeks!!! I canceled my subscription. If they could manage the shipping I would gladly buy again.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 01, 2021

Hi Shari! We offer our sincere apologies for the confusion you’ve experienced. We understand where you're coming from. Thanks for giving Japan Crate a try, we’ll definitely take this into account while we fix our shipping transition to another provider. Although you didn't enjoy the experience with us, we do appreciate you. Thank you for leaving a feedback.

Great and bad

Jan 31, 2021
Nick G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I started with Japan Crate around October 2020, first three months were great! The items were wonderful and it was great to get so many different delicious and curious goodies.
However my January crate has been giving me trouble. It is the 31st of January and my crate hasn’t arrived. I contacted the support team on the 16th and got a response saying things were delayed due to a change in shipping companies. I sent a new email on the 26th but have yet to get a reply.
Overall the experience has been enjoyable but I am very dissatisfied with my most recent crate (which I have not received), and the lack of communication.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Feb 01, 2021

Hi Nick! Thank you for reaching out! We're terribly sorry about the delay, we've been a bit backed up on our tickets and we're still working through them. We've checked your subscription and saw that you had reached out. Unfortunately, as we have mentioned in our previous emails that due to unforeseen circumstances during our transition to our new shipping provider, we've experienced major delays while we finalized some loose ends. Rest assured, our warehouse informed us earlier that during the weekends, all the delayed crates (including yours) were already pickup and already in transit. So everything should be going much smoother from here on out. However, we're really sorry that it has caused some delays with your crate. Thank you for being so patient...

Good but not great.

Sep 01, 2020
Shawn F.
4 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I liked the idea of this box and there were some neat items in it. The issue was that once the value of the items was taken into account the overall value of the box wasn't there like it was for other boxes I have ordered. Not a bad box but better value exists.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 28, 2020

Hi Shawn! Thanks for giving Japan Crate a try, we’ll definitely take this into account when putting together future crates. We would like to make it up to you, whenever you feel like subscribing back, here's a code that will offer a discount off on your future crate (JCCARES). We appreciate the support! Have a great day!

Where's the box?

Dec 16, 2019
John E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping

Cratejoy is asking me to constantly review this product however I have not once received a box yet. The site shows that I should be receiving box 2 of 3 (ordered the 3 month subscription option. However have not received box one yet.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Jan 23, 2020

Hi John! On review, we see that you subscribed on December 4th to our Premium crate, which means that the first crate that you would be shipped would be our January crate. Your January Premium was shipped on December 20th and is currently in transit. Based on when this crate shipped, we expect for it to arrive no later than January 31st. Note, when the crate actually arrives will depend on how quickly it is handled through both customs and the postal service.

Wheres my confirmation of Orders?

Nov 28, 2019
Lorilynn G.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping

My review is not my travel review because I'm still waiting to get all of my stuff I'm still waiting for e-mails after I paid that was a while ago still haven't gotten an email still waiting for somebody to contact me and nobody has I'd like to know what's going on and if someone contacts me and I know what's going on I will change my review but until then I'm sad. I ordered doki doki and Japan crate there's nothing on the site to show that I purchased doki doki there's nothing showing I purchased Japan crate and I bought these through crate joy so I don't know what's going gone I know nothing and I don't like that.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Nov 30, 2019

Hi Lori! We sincerely apologize for the experience. On review, we can confirm that your December Doki crate was shipped on November 28th and is currently in transit. Once the crate shipped on November 28th, you were sent a shipping confirmation email. Be advised, these emails can sometimes be filtered into the spam folder, so it is good practice to check both your inbox/spam folders for the email.

Alright I guess

Jul 06, 2019
Meara H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wasn't very much, but it was interesting. Doesn't really feel like it's worth $30+

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Aug 12, 2019

Hi Meara! We appreciate the feedback!

Same crate 2 months in a row

Dec 29, 2018
Joshua L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I received the December crate twice. Not a gigantic deal because I did like that crate but a bit disappointing. I don't seem to have the same issue of waiting forever for crates as some do. Perhaps the reason could be that I'm three hours from a major port. Some months I get it shortly before two weeks and others I wait 4. It's a craps shoot every month. I still enjoy the crate, aside from eel jerky strips a couple of months ago that the dog at least loved.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We appreciate the insightful feedback. If you have any questions or concerns in the future, feel free to contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Unresposive

Feb 25, 2018
Erin P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

Terrible customer service. I still haven’t recieved my January 2018 crate. I waited the full 6 weeks before emailing info@japancrate.com and when I did I got an automatic response saying they’d get back to me in 3-4 business days. As of Monday it will be 8 business days and I still haven't gotten a response. I feel like I’ve been cheated; there’s no other way to contact them so I’m stuck just waiting (you aren’t supposed to open more than one ticket). It’s extremely frustrating. I was warned by a friend not to subscribe to doki doki crate; she said ever since they switched their shipping back to Japan the schedule and service has been awful. I didn’t believe her and I really should have. I have yet to receive a crate in the month it was intended for. This wouldn’t be a big deal, but a lot of the items tend to be season-specific. It’s hard to find a use for a Christmas tree key chain/ornament in January. The items are cute but definitely not worth the stress of wondering where your box is and if it’s actually going to show up. Some tracking information would be really helpful.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Did you ever receive the crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Okay

Mar 31, 2018
Nicole R.
7 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

They do take awhile to receive as they are shipped from Japan,but once they arrive they're good,have a nice variety of sweets/snacks but if you get them for 4+ months things start to repeat themselves which I didn't like...you can only eat so many rice crackers

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...May 27, 2018

Hey Nicole,

We’d love to hear more of your feedback regarding our items. Please send an email to info@japancrate.com and they’ll make sure to pass your feedback along to our purchasing team.

Nov 12, 2017
Muspika A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I tried the September box and was extremely disappointed. The snacks either weren’t tasty at all or had a bad after taste.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Mar 31, 2019

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Japan is known to offer uniquely flavored items, some of which may require an acquired taste.