Box of Matter

Box of Matter

by Stemcell Science Shop
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!

Plans as low as

$38.16/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (137)

Fun and Educational

Jun 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Great box - I look forward to it every month. There's no other box like this - fun and educational. I can't wait to show my collection to my great-nieces and nephews when they're older.

Verified Purchase

We love this box

Apr 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

This box is amazing. We got it for our son thinking it might be fun for a few months. He asked to renew it because it is so great. Opening it is a family event now. The box has contained some truly astounding and unique objects such as a piece of a Mars meteorite, NASA film, antique medical supplies, fossils, gems and pearls, historically interesting pieces....it is a joy to have a subscription box that is so inspirational.

Verified Purchase

Just ok.

Jun 29, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lainie O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I was really excited about this but our first box was a snooze fest. We have two more and, unless they get more interesting, I will not renew.

Verified Purchase

Best item yet?

May 17, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Best item yet? Ferrofluid. (Or Marian meteorite)

Verified Purchase

I've gotten 2/3 boxes and heres my take

Apr 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Willow P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I got the Matter Box. I agree with some of the reviews, the price does seem a bit high compared to what you get with this box. One of the vials came shattered so be careful opening your box, you may have some broken glass. I ordered 3 months and am only on month one.
------ Month 2 update -------
I decided to come back and update this. They sent only 3 items this month, one being a tube of powdered dye. Some must have spilled in the boxes during shipment (the tube was sealed on arrival). However, there was dye all over everything including our hands and floor. Please don't ever do this again. the other two items (also covered in the dye) were some film from a NASA mission and a rock. Didn't quite feel like this one was really worth it either. I'll be back with my review of the 3rd box when I get it.
Hopefully no glass or dyes. eek.

Verified Purchase

Neat items, great quality!

Jan 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We have loved our two boxes so far! The items included are unique and super cool! It has become a family affair opening our box!

Verified Purchase

Description Missing

Mar 08, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Matthew F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The first box was great fun, and we enjoyed the array of cool artifacts and objects to learn about. However, the second box arrived without any of the explanation cards, so we have no idea what some of the items are, rendering them effectively worthless. I have sent two messages to the seller with no response.

Verified Purchase

General review

Feb 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristine F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I enjoyed getting fossils and rocks. Other stuff was neat as well though.

Verified Purchase

Loved this box

Dec 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

If you are into science, and you want something purely unique, this is the box for you. Every item feels like an Easter egg. From space exploration to ancient poop (one of my favorite objects…) this is truly an amazing box.

Verified Purchase

Matter

Jan 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jenn A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days

Awesome Box of goodies

Verified Purchase

Post office won’t deliver / postage due

Feb 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Steven W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

If you get it it’s great. The last box won’t be delivered because of $6.28 postage due. Please beware!

Verified Purchase

This was a gift for my husband

Nov 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Blair D.
8 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

My husband LOVES this crate. Everything comes with fact cards about the items you get and all the items are interesting. Thanks!

Verified Purchase

Terrific

Dec 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jodee F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Love the Matter box. I actually used the hand warmers while back packing.

Verified Purchase

Yellowstone Tee is great

Dec 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Jim S.
3 Reviews

The puzzles drive me crazy--I love it.

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison T.
7 Reviews
5 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

I'm surprised this doesn't cost more

Aug 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jerry G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I got a huge trilobite fossil in my box. My favorite science museum's trilobites are half the size of mine. I can't believe this doesn't cost more.

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Nov 12, 2021

The trilobites are one of the oldest fossils that we have featured - at about 500 million years old! And thank you for the feedback. We strive to include the highest quality items in the box of Matter - so glad you loved the fossil you received!

We subscribed on Sept 9, it's now the 27

Sep 27, 2021
Overall
Margaret B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 17 days

We subscribed on Sept 9, it's now the 27th, and we're wondering when the subscription will start. We sent two messages to Box of Matter through our account email, but have yet received no response. Please advise. Thank you

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Oct 26, 2021

Hi Margaret! All boxes ship in the first week of each month. Please see our shipping schedule for details. I know the wait can feel excruciating!

Great stuff

Aug 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Aimee C.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

Loved everything in the box! The info cards were èxspecially great

Verified Purchase

VERY Impressed. Love the NFT

Jun 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dave P.
1 Review

I especiialy like the research cards explaining all the items. My favorite thing has been the NFT. I wasn't sure what an NFT was when I heard about them, but thanks to MATTER, I know what they are and I also own one! They taught me how to start a digital wallet, and sent me an NFT for free. Great service!

Stemcell Science Shop said...Nov 12, 2021

It was a learning process for us too, and the NFT world has already evolved a great deal since then so we may have to do another!

nerd heaven

Jun 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bobby F.
1 Review

Im impressed with the quality and attention to details each month. The products are actually decent quality and their online shop has even more. Im in nerd heaven.

Worth Every Penny

Jun 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amber P.
1 Review

As an adult who is into science, let me just say FINALLY. Thank you for not dumbing this down. Adults like learning new things too! Worth every penny!

Delayed shipping but nice product

Jun 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tory J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Product is very nice, but never received a shipping notice and package came much later than expected. Would have had no problem if there was any communication from the company, or realistic expectations for shipping time. Reached out to the company when package hadn't arrived when expected and never heard back.

Verified Purchase

better than I thought

Jun 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James H.
1 Review

I just got my first box and like this is way cooler than I thought it would be. The older pics in the reviews don't do it justice. y'all put a lot of effort into this thanks

Excellent box for weirdos

Jun 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months

This is my absolute favorite box! My fiance and I look forward to opening our Matter Box every month. The collections are extremely well curated, with pieces in each that range from fun and silly to truly unique and bizarre. Each box has at least one item that makes us go "Whoa!" Each piece also comes with a card that describes the item, and we've learned a ton!
We're about to get our 8th box this month, and it's been a joy to watch the curation and design grow and improve as time goes. We're delighted with this team and all they've done in producing this subscription box, and we both look forward to each new box!
10/10, would highly recommend this box to anyone who has an interest in the strange and unusual.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Curation!

May 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Natalie V.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I gave my 17 year old science loving niece this box as a gift, she absolutely loved everything in it ! The curating was great!

Verified Purchase