Immerse yourself in the best science subscription box for adults! All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $39.98 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Science lovers will enjoy this box!

Jun 11, 2019
Tomorrow S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son loves pretty much anything science related, so I got this for his birthday. I had to open it first to take a look & can't wait for him to see it since it's a really awesome mix of items!

Verified Purchase

decent

May 09, 2019
Tana E.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Neat box, some items are very cool and you can only get them through this box, such as the more scientific items, but some items fell short and for the price point was not worth it in the end.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...May 09, 2019

Hi Tana. Sorry we missed the mark with you. Thanks for giving us a shot nonetheless. Stay curious!

Curious? Try it out.

Jul 11, 2020
Susan P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I just received my first box. It contained some unusual items. I had decided to cancel before i even got my first collection because of the cost (monthly). Im sure I paid way more then what the items are actually worth. But now, I'm thinking about resubscribing because I'm really curious to see what comes next. If you are a person who likes to have small, neat things that nobody else has, you will not be disappointed. Try it out for one month, just to see what you get. Its fun!

Verified Purchase

Depends on the audience

Jun 18, 2020
Molly L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received the June 2020 box.
Pros: Attention to detail, variety, cool concept - would be good for starting collectors
Cons: Not worth the price, at least not for me. I was hoping for unique things that might not be readily accessible to the average Joe. Some of the items in past boxes fit the bill, but not this one.

Verified Purchase

Definitely worth it

May 21, 2020
Chamaea L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered this for myself and my girls, ages 6 and 8 and I just received my first box. 4 of the 5 items were awesome. The fifth item wasn't an artifact, but an electrical tool (maybe? I dunno, it went into the toolbox). The warthog tusk is by far the family favorite. We're super excited for next month's box!

Verified Purchase

It was a gift

Dec 15, 2019
Christine O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's a gift. But, not what I was expecting. I expected something bigger.

Verified Purchase

Great gift

Aug 14, 2019
Daniel R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

Got two tubes filled with Carbon Black and Retro reflective beads, a marble the size of the Swarzechild radius of earth, an Atlas Bone, a thermal sticker, and a bit of meteorite. Great for adult nerds tired of getting endless piles of dork merch.

This is theft

Jul 11, 2020
Queena W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been charged twice for a box I have never received and I only purchased a one time gift and am being charged for a subscription that I did not enroll in

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

After working with Queena via email, we found there was a misunderstanding about the Cratejoy ordering process. They were fully refunded and received a complimentary box for the inconvenience.
In order to prevent this from happening again, we have streamlined subscriptions through our primary website and reworked the wording on our CJ listing and website to help reduce any confusion.

Not what I expected at all!

Dec 11, 2019
Ilene K.
6 Reviews
24 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not impressed! This box was not as great as the former boxes appeared. There was definitively not 40 dollars of value in this months box. With all the great gift boxes to choose from I would think no subscription service would send out something as elementary as this - a fossilized clam? A small piece of dinosaur egg? C’mon, the only cool thing is the piece of crystal. Otherwise not cool. Jury is out - I’ll chance one more time and since my budget is very tight due to high medical bills I’ll have to drop this box and look for a superior experience to this one.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Dec 20, 2019

Hi Ilene, thanks for your honest review and I'm sorry we missed the mark with your box.
If I can be honest, if you find a 40 million year old clam fossil and a 75 million year old dinosaur egg shell unimpressive, our subscription box may not be for you. These are the types of items we are most proud of and will continue to include in every box.
Again, I'm very sorry you're disappointed, and we'll continue to try to impress you. But there will be a fossil in the next box and I encourage you to see the historical and scientific importance of it and the other items.
—Terry

Disappointed

Jul 18, 2019
Karen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a 3-month subscription for my 24 year old son for his birthday. The items are definitely not worth $35 and some are not unique. One item he received was a baculum, which can be purchased online for $3.00. The last box he received was the best out of the three, again not worth $35. We are going to order a 3-month subscription for our 14 year old for his birthday. We'll see how that goes.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Jul 18, 2019

Hi Karen, I'm sorry if we fell short of your expectations. Yes, some of the items included in the box are inexpensive, but we always balance it out with more valuable items. For example, in the box with the baculum we also included a pure bar of silver, moon dust simulant, 15 million year old stingray fossils, and a chunk of obsidian.
I'm happy to hear you're still planning on subscribing. I think you'll like what we've got planned for the next few boxes!

Maybe I got a bad one

Jul 12, 2019
Dustin F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I took the time to look at the past boxes and they had some very interesting items. However, the one I just received was mediocre at best. I signed up for 6 months so I hope they improve for the next 5 that I get. There is a lot of potential and I may have just gotten one I didn't like. I will re-review if the next one is better.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Jul 13, 2019

Hi Dustin, Sorry we missed the mark for you, but thanks for your honesty. Your feedback helps us make sure we put out better and better boxes. We'll make sure to impress you next month.

Nice gift

May 09, 2019
Laura M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love it ! Unique and different.

Box #1

Apr 10, 2019
Dana H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Cool stuff...

Amazing Customer Service!

Mar 04, 2020
Amanda S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Amazing customer service!
I ordered this as a gift for my Dad and he LOVED it. Unfortunately the box arrived late, but I was offered free shipping as consolation. Upon arrival, the box was full of super interesting artifacts and stones (I ordered the Holiday Box), however a couple items were damaged. To compensate, the company sent me a brand new box, Free of Charge, which arrived quickly and in perfect condition.
Despite some hiccups along the way, the staff were so helpful (I communicated with Terry Mudge) and the items were so cool! My dad absolutely loves this gift -- it is such a unique idea for the men in your life who are impossible to shop for!

Fun and Unique

Sep 30, 2019
Gabrielle P.
1 Review