Box of Matter

by MATTER

A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!

123 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (123)

Excellent box for weirdos

Jun 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months

This is my absolute favorite box! My fiance and I look forward to opening our Matter Box every month. The collections are extremely well curated, with pieces in each that range from fun and silly to truly unique and bizarre. Each box has at least one item that makes us go "Whoa!" Each piece also comes with a card that describes the item, and we've learned a ton!
We're about to get our 8th box this month, and it's been a joy to watch the curation and design grow and improve as time goes. We're delighted with this team and all they've done in producing this subscription box, and we both look forward to each new box!
10/10, would highly recommend this box to anyone who has an interest in the strange and unusual.

Verified Purchase

Delayed shipping but nice product

Jun 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tory J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Product is very nice, but never received a shipping notice and package came much later than expected. Would have had no problem if there was any communication from the company, or realistic expectations for shipping time. Reached out to the company when package hadn't arrived when expected and never heard back.

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Feb 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Crystal M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I thoroughly enjoyed my items and loved the info cards that came with them.

Verified Purchase

Nice first box

Feb 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patricia B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I received my first box and was excited by the contents. I was particularly thrilled by the NASA chip. An important piece of history and something I would value. Looking forward to the next box.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melanie B.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I loved the items i received, especially the tooth.

Verified Purchase

Renewed subscription

Feb 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Bought a 3 month subscription for one of my sons for Christmas. He likes it so much that I’ve renewed it for another 3.

Verified Purchase

A win

Aug 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Bought this sub for my science nerd husband, and he really likes it. There’s always at least one “favorite” item that captures his attention for a while.
I only give it slightly under 5 stars because there’s not much more you can do with the stuff after you examine them.
Either way he asked me to renew the sub, so I’ll call it a win. :)

Verified Purchase

Disappointed.

Jan 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lekha R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

1st one was a bunch of rocks in a box. Highlight of the 2nd one was a packet of 1$ thermoplastic balls.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Lekha, I'm sorry you're unhappy with your boxes. Every month's box includes interesting fossils, tools, artifacts, and materials in addition to a mineral specimen. We've never had a month of just a bunch of rocks, so if this did happen, please reach out to us with pictures so we can figure out what went wrong!
And we're happy you enjoyed the thermoplastic. Isn't it a surprisingly affordable and useful material!

Good but disappointed :(

Feb 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Eric H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

It's now a week past my delivery date and have not received my box. So far I'm not happy with any of it... I ordered almost 2 months ago now and haven't gotten anything yet. Will update as needed.
Would give zero stars if I could
Update: 4 emails with no response
UPDATE: Box finally showed up today. And after 4 unanswered emails I finally got a response on the day it finally shows up. Horrible customer service. Bo attempt to fix anything or make it right. Just " thanks for being patient". Which I was not. In my last email I was basically just begging for a response. However I did really enjoy the box. The contents were good and worth the value. But after waiting so long and not getting any help or anything. It just wasn't as exciting as it should have been. There was a dark cloud of anger and disappointment that killed the excitement. If I had gotten the box in a reasonable time or if the matter team had given a attempt to make it right or maybe even help or respond then I would definitely continue to get boxes for a long time. But I cant bring myself to support a business that ignores customers and doesn't care about customers. I would have been a long term customer had it worked out. I know the time it took was not their fault but the customer service aspect is 100 %...

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Eric, I'm so sorry for your experience. We recently transferred to a new cust service email system and there were some hiccups in setting it up. It looks like you got the short end of that and we'd like to sincerely apologize. We typically pride ourselves on our relationship with our subscribers, so we've decided to refund your order.
Now that everything is up and running smoothly on our end, we've taken extra steps to ensure errors like this won't happen again. Thank you for letting us know about this issue so we can improve our service.

Depends on the audience

Jun 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Molly L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I received the June 2020 box.
Pros: Attention to detail, variety, cool concept - would be good for starting collectors
Cons: Not worth the price, at least not for me. I was hoping for unique things that might not be readily accessible to the average Joe. Some of the items in past boxes fit the bill, but not this one.

Verified Purchase

Curious? Try it out.

Jul 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susan P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I just received my first box. It contained some unusual items. I had decided to cancel before i even got my first collection because of the cost (monthly). Im sure I paid way more then what the items are actually worth. But now, I'm thinking about resubscribing because I'm really curious to see what comes next. If you are a person who likes to have small, neat things that nobody else has, you will not be disappointed. Try it out for one month, just to see what you get. Its fun!

Verified Purchase

Can't Reach Them Any Other Way?

Aug 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

It looks like this is the only way to reach them, as I've tried sending them messages via CrateJoy and their own site.
My first box has been lost in the Postal system for 12 days now, and I can't get this vendor to respond to my calls for help. Caveat Emptor!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

Hello,
I apologize for the delay. Due to the current situation with the USPS, our 3-person team has been inundated with a deluge messages just like yours.
We have received your email and we are responding to them all in the order received. We are sending out replacements for boxes that have been delayed as long as yours. But there is nothing we can do to speed up the boxes that have already left our facility, and unfortunately we cannot guarantee the replacements will arrive any sooner than the first boxes.
We appreciate your patience while we diligently work to make sure all of our customers receive what they paid for. We appreciate you supporting our small business that relies directly upon a functioning postal service.
Terry, Founder @...

It was a gift

Dec 15, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christine O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

It's a gift. But, not what I was expecting. I expected something bigger.

Verified Purchase

Great gift

Aug 14, 2019
Overall
Daniel R.
1 Review
2 Helpful

Got two tubes filled with Carbon Black and Retro reflective beads, a marble the size of the Swarzechild radius of earth, an Atlas Bone, a thermal sticker, and a bit of meteorite. Great for adult nerds tired of getting endless piles of dork merch.

Definitely worth it

May 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chamaea L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered this for myself and my girls, ages 6 and 8 and I just received my first box. 4 of the 5 items were awesome. The fifth item wasn't an artifact, but an electrical tool (maybe? I dunno, it went into the toolbox). The warthog tusk is by far the family favorite. We're super excited for next month's box!

Verified Purchase

Box #1

Apr 10, 2019
Overall
Dana H.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Cool stuff...

Nice gift

May 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Love it ! Unique and different.

Not what I expected at all!

Dec 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ilene K.
5 Reviews
25 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Not impressed! This box was not as great as the former boxes appeared. There was definitively not 40 dollars of value in this months box. With all the great gift boxes to choose from I would think no subscription service would send out something as elementary as this - a fossilized clam? A small piece of dinosaur egg? C’mon, the only cool thing is the piece of crystal. Otherwise not cool. Jury is out - I’ll chance one more time and since my budget is very tight due to high medical bills I’ll have to drop this box and look for a superior experience to this one.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Dec 20, 2019

Hi Ilene, thanks for your honest review and I'm sorry we missed the mark with your box.
If I can be honest, if you find a 40 million year old clam fossil and a 75 million year old dinosaur egg shell unimpressive, our subscription box may not be for you. These are the types of items we are most proud of and will continue to include in every box.
Again, I'm very sorry you're disappointed, and we'll continue to try to impress you. But there will be a fossil in the next box and I encourage you to see the historical and scientific importance of it and the other items.
—Terry

Maybe I got a bad one

Jul 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dustin F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I took the time to look at the past boxes and they had some very interesting items. However, the one I just received was mediocre at best. I signed up for 6 months so I hope they improve for the next 5 that I get. There is a lot of potential and I may have just gotten one I didn't like. I will re-review if the next one is better.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Jul 13, 2019

Hi Dustin, Sorry we missed the mark for you, but thanks for your honesty. Your feedback helps us make sure we put out better and better boxes. We'll make sure to impress you next month.

This is theft

Jul 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Queena W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I have been charged twice for a box I have never received and I only purchased a one time gift and am being charged for a subscription that I did not enroll in

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

After working with Queena via email, we found there was a misunderstanding about the Cratejoy ordering process. They were fully refunded and received a complimentary box for the inconvenience.
In order to prevent this from happening again, we have streamlined subscriptions through our primary website and reworked the wording on our CJ listing and website to help reduce any confusion.

Not a Wow

Nov 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Not a wow. The box with the glass suction device was a fail. My kids tried to use it all over the house and damaged some surfaces. Not happy with that.

Verified Purchase

Matter Box

Jan 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Debbie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

My grandson opened his first box and was excited looking at the contents and card descriptions of each item. He showed his family the items, one by one and we all talked about how amazing it was to actually possess them.
This was great, but short lived. I had expected more. The box lacked any ideas on how to further explore any item. Once they are viewed and read about, they are put away or shelved. We were not looking for monthly boxes with such limited experiential value.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Debbie, Thanks for your feedback. We build the box with collectors in mind, but we usually try to include something useful or engaging as well. If you've got any ideas about how to improve the experience, we'd love to hear them: ideas@boxofmatter dot com

Disappointed

Jul 18, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered a 3-month subscription for my 24 year old son for his birthday. The items are definitely not worth $35 and some are not unique. One item he received was a baculum, which can be purchased online for $3.00. The last box he received was the best out of the three, again not worth $35. We are going to order a 3-month subscription for our 14 year old for his birthday. We'll see how that goes.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Jul 18, 2019

Hi Karen, I'm sorry if we fell short of your expectations. Yes, some of the items included in the box are inexpensive, but we always balance it out with more valuable items. For example, in the box with the baculum we also included a pure bar of silver, moon dust simulant, 15 million year old stingray fossils, and a chunk of obsidian.
I'm happy to hear you're still planning on subscribing. I think you'll like what we've got planned for the next few boxes!

Matter

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Very interesting, but not what I expected.

Verified Purchase

Never received box

Oct 31, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lynn G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered a box for the month of September as a gift for my mother. The box was never delivered, and no-one has responded to my inquiry regarding a replacement or refund.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Lynn, sometimes packages do get lost in transit and I'm sorry this happened to your box. I see we fully refunded this order upon request. Thank you for trying Matter.