MATTER

by MATTER
The popular monthly box for serious science enthusiasts of all ages. All science, no fluff.
120 reviews

Plans as low as

$33.25/ month

Buying Options

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review
120

Good but disappointed :(

Feb 12, 2021
Eric H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's now a week past my delivery date and have not received my box. So far I'm not happy with any of it... I ordered almost 2 months ago now and haven't gotten anything yet. Will update as needed.
Would give zero stars if I could
Update: 4 emails with no response
UPDATE: Box finally showed up today. And after 4 unanswered emails I finally got a response on the day it finally shows up. Horrible customer service. Bo attempt to fix anything or make it right. Just " thanks for being patient". Which I was not. In my last email I was basically just begging for a response. However I did really enjoy the box. The contents were good and worth the value. But after waiting so long and not getting any help or anything. It just wasn't as exciting as it should have been. There was a dark cloud of anger and disappointment that killed the excitement. If I had gotten the box in a reasonable time or if the matter team had given a attempt to make it right or maybe even help or respond then I would definitely continue to get boxes for a long time. But I cant bring myself to support a business that ignores customers and doesn't care about customers. I would have been a long term customer had it worked out. I know the time it took was not their fault but the customer service aspect is 100 %...

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Eric, I'm so sorry for your experience. We recently transferred to a new cust service email system and there were some hiccups in setting it up. It looks like you got the short end of that and we'd like to sincerely apologize. We typically pride ourselves on our relationship with our subscribers, so we've decided to refund your order.
Now that everything is up and running smoothly on our end, we've taken extra steps to ensure errors like this won't happen again. Thank you for letting us know about this issue so we can improve our service.

Disappointed.

Jan 15, 2021
Lekha R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

1st one was a bunch of rocks in a box. Highlight of the 2nd one was a packet of 1$ thermoplastic balls.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Lekha, I'm sorry you're unhappy with your boxes. Every month's box includes interesting fossils, tools, artifacts, and materials in addition to a mineral specimen. We've never had a month of just a bunch of rocks, so if this did happen, please reach out to us with pictures so we can figure out what went wrong!
And we're happy you enjoyed the thermoplastic. Isn't it a surprisingly affordable and useful material!

Scam dont buy this

Nov 19, 2019
Darrell T.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered this box for my daughter who loves science. It has been two months and still havent recived a box yet. Also my account says i am on my second box but the first one hasn't even been shipped to me. It is not worth paying 100+ dollars for something you will never recive.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Dec 20, 2019

Hi Darrell,
I'm sorry you're not getting your boxes. As I mentioned in our email conversation, the tracking info on your boxes show they have been successfully delivered. We even re-attempted the most recent month by sending a replacement box, but we cannot keep sending replacements if they, too, are not reaching you.
As I said, I recommend double checking your shipping address. If you find it was an error in the address, we'd be happy to replace the months you've missed. But until then, we'll keep shipping your boxes to the address on your account since you've prepaid for them.
Also, as thousands of other subscribers can attest, our service is certainly NOT a scam.
Sorry again for this inconvenience,
-Terry

Never received box

Oct 31, 2020
Lynn G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a box for the month of September as a gift for my mother. The box was never delivered, and no-one has responded to my inquiry regarding a replacement or refund.

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Mar 10, 2021

Hi Lynn, sometimes packages do get lost in transit and I'm sorry this happened to your box. I see we fully refunded this order upon request. Thank you for trying Matter.

Can't Reach Them Any Other Way?

Aug 24, 2020
James W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It looks like this is the only way to reach them, as I've tried sending them messages via CrateJoy and their own site.
My first box has been lost in the Postal system for 12 days now, and I can't get this vendor to respond to my calls for help. Caveat Emptor!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

Hello,
I apologize for the delay. Due to the current situation with the USPS, our 3-person team has been inundated with a deluge messages just like yours.
We have received your email and we are responding to them all in the order received. We are sending out replacements for boxes that have been delayed as long as yours. But there is nothing we can do to speed up the boxes that have already left our facility, and unfortunately we cannot guarantee the replacements will arrive any sooner than the first boxes.
We appreciate your patience while we diligently work to make sure all of our customers receive what they paid for. We appreciate you supporting our small business that relies directly upon a functioning postal service.
Terry, Founder @...

This is theft

Jul 11, 2020
Queena W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been charged twice for a box I have never received and I only purchased a one time gift and am being charged for a subscription that I did not enroll in

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 25, 2020

After working with Queena via email, we found there was a misunderstanding about the Cratejoy ordering process. They were fully refunded and received a complimentary box for the inconvenience.
In order to prevent this from happening again, we have streamlined subscriptions through our primary website and reworked the wording on our CJ listing and website to help reduce any confusion.

Jan 17, 2019
Meagan T.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

Package never arrived. No way to contact seller. Not impressed.

MATTER said...Feb 20, 2019

Hi Meagan,
I’m sorry for the inconvenience! Unfortunately, orders outside of the US can take 2-3 weeks to reach their destination and it looks like this package was delivered 2 days after this review was posted. We’ve since added a note regarding shipping times to our website.
If you have any more concerns, you can always reach us at terry@boxofmatter.com