Box of Matter

Box of Matter

by Stemcell Science Shop
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!

Plans as low as

$36.66/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (137)

I've gotten 2/3 boxes and heres my take

Apr 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Willow P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I got the Matter Box. I agree with some of the reviews, the price does seem a bit high compared to what you get with this box. One of the vials came shattered so be careful opening your box, you may have some broken glass. I ordered 3 months and am only on month one.
------ Month 2 update -------
I decided to come back and update this. They sent only 3 items this month, one being a tube of powdered dye. Some must have spilled in the boxes during shipment (the tube was sealed on arrival). However, there was dye all over everything including our hands and floor. Please don't ever do this again. the other two items (also covered in the dye) were some film from a NASA mission and a rock. Didn't quite feel like this one was really worth it either. I'll be back with my review of the 3rd box when I get it.
Hopefully no glass or dyes. eek.

Verified Purchase

decent

May 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tana E.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Neat box, some items are very cool and you can only get them through this box, such as the more scientific items, but some items fell short and for the price point was not worth it in the end.

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...May 09, 2019

Hi Tana. Sorry we missed the mark with you. Thanks for giving us a shot nonetheless. Stay curious!

Depends on the audience

Jun 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Molly L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I received the June 2020 box.
Pros: Attention to detail, variety, cool concept - would be good for starting collectors
Cons: Not worth the price, at least not for me. I was hoping for unique things that might not be readily accessible to the average Joe. Some of the items in past boxes fit the bill, but not this one.

Verified Purchase

Matter

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Very interesting, but not what I expected.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jul 18, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered a 3-month subscription for my 24 year old son for his birthday. The items are definitely not worth $35 and some are not unique. One item he received was a baculum, which can be purchased online for $3.00. The last box he received was the best out of the three, again not worth $35. We are going to order a 3-month subscription for our 14 year old for his birthday. We'll see how that goes.

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Jul 18, 2019

Hi Karen, I'm sorry if we fell short of your expectations. Yes, some of the items included in the box are inexpensive, but we always balance it out with more valuable items. For example, in the box with the baculum we also included a pure bar of silver, moon dust simulant, 15 million year old stingray fossils, and a chunk of obsidian.
I'm happy to hear you're still planning on subscribing. I think you'll like what we've got planned for the next few boxes!