Immerse yourself in the best science subscription box for adults! All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $39.98 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
1 Review
48 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Allison T.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

Matter matters!

Oct 11, 2020
Ann N.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 4th graders went crazy!! They love science. These boxes are helping them appreciate and experience Matter more! I teach science and social studies and I'm always looking for more interesting things to enjoy with my kids. We give this a unanimous 5-star rating!

Verified Purchase

Great purchase for any age!!!

Today
Greer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My grandson is 9 years old. He loves receiving his Matter box each month. The items are interesting and professionally presented. I have recommended this box to a lot of people.

Verified Purchase

Perfect for aspiring geologists

Today
Christina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 13 year old son is an avid rock and fossil collector. I thought I had run out of gifts for his birthday after 10+ years of buying him science related kits and books. Then I discovered this product. The items in each kit have been interesting, exciting and age appropriate.

Verified Purchase

Our Family’s Favorite Box

Today
Jayne K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is our whole family’s favorite box. We get so excited when it comes. We all open it together and spend hours with all the goodies. Then one of my daughters sets up the bookshelf display with all the past box items. Great conversation pieces! Truly special box!

Verified Purchase

A cabinet of curiosities

3 days ago
Deborah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this subscription for my 8 year old son, which is a tricky age but it is a perfect fit. He loved every item (the mosasaur tooth, especially) and he's treating the included fact cards with a reverence normally reserved for Pokemon cards.
I love that these have the perfect feel of treasure that little boys love. If we lived near one, I'm sure his pockets would have baobob seeds in them, but seeing them in our box is a pretty good second.
The box is quite educational, and I think every item will grow with him and add to his collection of curiosities. Really glad I made the purchase.

Verified Purchase

Sean P, WA

Nov 13, 2020
Sean P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very unique! Cool items. We're using some of this stuff for stocking stuffers for the kids this year (b9 and g11) versus just a bunch of candy. The curation is great and the items truly feel unique.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!!

Dec 14, 2020
Tonya V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My teenage son LOVES this box and looks forward to it every month!

Verified Purchase

Excellent subscription box

Dec 12, 2020
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

Bought for 13 year old niece- enjoyed by entire family! Nothing in there that didn’t hold their interest. They loved reading the cards about each item- it inspired them to do further research.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Stuff

Dec 11, 2020
Taylen G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My Wife and I Love This Box, She ordered it for me because I’m into History and Fossils and I enjoy getting excited to see what cool pieces of history I’m gonna get each month. 100% Worth it.

Verified Purchase

Best science box out there

Nov 29, 2020
Troy W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Release your inner nerd. This box is awesome and totally worth the price. Every month I look forward to it. Definitely recommend.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic.

Oct 18, 2020
James S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box has been an absolute delight. I’m a teacher and there are so many cool things that I share with my class. Each item is well explained and widely varied. Also, this has arrived regularly despite the pandemic, which is more than I can say for lots of other things I order online. Love it.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Oct 17, 2020
Kristin W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping