The best science subscription box. All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as $25.00 / month

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
1 Review
26 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Tomko
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

This was such a fun and interesting box!

Nov 06, 2019
Unboxyboxes
9 Reviews
24 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really loved this box! What an amazing assortment of items that are interesting and fun to learn about, I do think the price is a little high, and would be much more likely to keep getting this if were a little bit lower, but it’s a fun box to get every now and then. If you have children or grandchildren, I can’t think of a much better box to get to be educational and fun.

Verified Purchase

#1 gift request in our house

Oct 23, 2019
Jennifer V.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We LOVE matter boxes! We did a 6 month subscription for our teen son last Christmas and it's #1 on his list for this year. The seller ships out just as stated, emails are sent with tracking numbers (ships fast!), and if you EVER have a question about an item in the box or wish to purchase an additional box, the seller has AMAZING communication. Because of the communication alone, we've purchased additional special past boxes, as well as ones past our original subscription. The seller makes it very easy. The items are of great quality and there is always a card explaining each item. We've recieved things from Nasa, fossils, and items we've never heard of before, but are very interesting to learn about. If you love Science, you will look forward to this every month.

Verified Purchase

Loved by a 12 yr old Science fan

Aug 15, 2019
Tyra G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this box for my nephew, who’s 12. He loved his first box and was so excited when it came. He showed all of us what was in it, and read the cards so we could appreciate his “finds”. He is planning on doing a painting using some 2 of the items. I am getting him a scrapbook like note book to store the cards and items he got in the box. And he hopes to take it to school to show his science teacher. It’s a big hit w him

Verified Purchase

Did Not Disappoint

Aug 10, 2019
Sharyl R.
3 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is so cool.

Verified Purchase

Awesome science box

Aug 05, 2019
Kristen L.
8 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was one of the coolest boxes I have ever ordered. Everything inside was so cool to view and hold. I wish it wasn't so expensive or else I would keep subscribing. I'll come back in the future when finances allow. Some good stuff happening with MATTER.

Verified Purchase