Box of Matter

Box of Matter

by Stemcell Science Shop
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!

Plans as low as

$36.66/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (135)

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Overall
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
15 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 days

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Nov 12, 2021

This very NASA computer chip had actual telemetry data from voyager, Skylab, and some space shuttle missions pass through it!

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison T.
7 Reviews
5 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Overall
Gwen
1 Review
52 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Best item yet?

May 17, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Best item yet? Ferrofluid. (Or Marian meteorite)

Verified Purchase

We love this box

Apr 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

This box is amazing. We got it for our son thinking it might be fun for a few months. He asked to renew it because it is so great. Opening it is a family event now. The box has contained some truly astounding and unique objects such as a piece of a Mars meteorite, NASA film, antique medical supplies, fossils, gems and pearls, historically interesting pieces....it is a joy to have a subscription box that is so inspirational.

Verified Purchase

General review

Feb 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristine F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I enjoyed getting fossils and rocks. Other stuff was neat as well though.

Verified Purchase

Neat items, great quality!

Jan 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We have loved our two boxes so far! The items included are unique and super cool! It has become a family affair opening our box!

Verified Purchase

Matter

Jan 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jenn A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days

Awesome Box of goodies

Verified Purchase

Loved this box

Dec 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

If you are into science, and you want something purely unique, this is the box for you. Every item feels like an Easter egg. From space exploration to ancient poop (one of my favorite objects…) this is truly an amazing box.

Verified Purchase

Terrific

Dec 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jodee F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Love the Matter box. I actually used the hand warmers while back packing.

Verified Purchase

I've gotten 2/3 boxes and heres my take

Apr 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Willow P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I got the Matter Box. I agree with some of the reviews, the price does seem a bit high compared to what you get with this box. One of the vials came shattered so be careful opening your box, you may have some broken glass. I ordered 3 months and am only on month one.
------ Month 2 update -------
I decided to come back and update this. They sent only 3 items this month, one being a tube of powdered dye. Some must have spilled in the boxes during shipment (the tube was sealed on arrival). However, there was dye all over everything including our hands and floor. Please don't ever do this again. the other two items (also covered in the dye) were some film from a NASA mission and a rock. Didn't quite feel like this one was really worth it either. I'll be back with my review of the 3rd box when I get it.
Hopefully no glass or dyes. eek.

Verified Purchase

Description Missing

Mar 08, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Matthew F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The first box was great fun, and we enjoyed the array of cool artifacts and objects to learn about. However, the second box arrived without any of the explanation cards, so we have no idea what some of the items are, rendering them effectively worthless. I have sent two messages to the seller with no response.

Verified Purchase

Post office won’t deliver / postage due

Feb 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Steven W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

If you get it it’s great. The last box won’t be delivered because of $6.28 postage due. Please beware!

Verified Purchase

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Overall
Tesala B.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Yellowstone Tee is great

Dec 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Jim S.
3 Reviews

The puzzles drive me crazy--I love it.

Scam dont buy this

Nov 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Darrell T.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Ordered this box for my daughter who loves science. It has been two months and still havent recived a box yet. Also my account says i am on my second box but the first one hasn't even been shipped to me. It is not worth paying 100+ dollars for something you will never recive.

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Dec 20, 2019

Hi Darrell,
I'm sorry you're not getting your boxes. As I mentioned in our email conversation, the tracking info on your boxes show they have been successfully delivered. We even re-attempted the most recent month by sending a replacement box, but we cannot keep sending replacements if they, too, are not reaching you.
As I said, I recommend double checking your shipping address. If you find it was an error in the address, we'd be happy to replace the months you've missed. But until then, we'll keep shipping your boxes to the address on your account since you've prepaid for them.
Also, as thousands of other subscribers can attest, our service is certainly NOT a scam.
Sorry again for this inconvenience,
-Terry

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Overall
Rebecca R.
6 Reviews
19 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ceci R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Loved the gift even said and I quote “best gift i’ve Had in a long time” then proceeded to examine his things... raccoon penis bone had me laughing. Great box!!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Overall
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Overall
Hannah V.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tomko
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Gave as gift -recipient loved it

Jan 15, 2019
Overall
Allan R.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Gave this to my father. He loves oddities and sciencey things. He was very skeptical, I think, but when he received the 1st box he absolutely loved it. Already considering renewing for his birthday

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

May 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea H.
29 Reviews
29 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

So cool. There I said it hands down the coolest box ever. For anyone who likes to learn and be fascinated. Beautifully curated well done guys!

Verified Purchase

Great box!!

Jan 14, 2019
Overall
Andrea S.
4 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

My 6 year old loves this box!! She collects rocks, crystals and fossils. So this is right up her alley. One of her favorites is the bird call in last month's box. I subscribed for 3 months. We have 1 box left and she asked today if we can keep getting it so I'll resubscribe after our next box arrives. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Fossils

Aug 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dan B.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Originally got this box as a fun activity for my son and I. Very disappointed to not get a fossil since all of the advertised boxes have some sort of fossil. My son and I are mesozoic era buffs, but we're also big fans of the cenozoic and hadean eras as well....but to not get anything was a big let down. Aside from the meteorite sample the rest of the items were 'meh'.
I understand that the box is meant to always be a surprise and could literally be anything (with a box called 'matter'), but was still expecting a fossil of some sort.
On a 3 month plan, so I'll change my review if the next boxes are better.
Ok the next boxes contained some awesome fossils that still catch my sons' and I's attention to this day. Renewing the 3 month plan for the COVID summer months!

Verified Purchase
Stemcell Science Shop said...Aug 28, 2019

Hi Dan, Sorry if we didn't live up to your expectations this time. We try to include a fossil in most months, but due the rare nature of fossils it isn't always possible. Good news though, our September box will include a fossil!