MATTER

by MATTER
The best subscription box for serious science enthusiasts of all ages. All science, no fluff.

Plans as low as

$33.25/ month

Buying Options

MATTER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Gwen
1 Review
49 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Allison T.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

The whole family enjoys every box!

Today
M B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

For the scientific or just curious in your family. Each box gets shared with everyone from grandparents to grandchildren and always includes lots of oohs and ahs at weekly family meetings. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Today
Jennifer M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 10 year old son loves getting his box of matter. Interesting and fun items! It’s definitely sparked him to further explore all things science.

Verified Purchase

Box of Matter

Feb 12, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I enjoyed this box. Everything was interesting and I learned things.

Verified Purchase

Sean P, WA

Nov 13, 2020
Sean P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very unique! Cool items. We're using some of this stuff for stocking stuffers for the kids this year (b9 and g11) versus just a bunch of candy. The curation is great and the items truly feel unique.

Verified Purchase

Delivers awesomeness, every time

Mar 15, 2021
Ellie G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I get totally geeked about this box every time. I now own a little piece of NASA, 100 millions year-old fosseis, and several unique minerals. I haven't quite figured out how to best store them all, but I love this crate!

Verified Purchase

Renewed subscription

Feb 21, 2021
Lisa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought a 3 month subscription for one of my sons for Christmas. He likes it so much that I’ve renewed it for another 3.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 20, 2021
Melanie B.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved the items i received, especially the tooth.

Verified Purchase

Geek Glory!!

Feb 15, 2021
Megan L.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awesome stuff, super neat to read the cards with my husband and kids. We're planning on making a display case for all the cool items you get that show the cards behind them. So exciting everytime we get a new box!!

Verified Purchase

Nice first box

Feb 12, 2021
Patricia B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box and was excited by the contents. I was particularly thrilled by the NASA chip. An important piece of history and something I would value. Looking forward to the next box.

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Feb 10, 2021
Crystal M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I thoroughly enjoyed my items and loved the info cards that came with them.

Verified Purchase

Great purchase for any age!!!

Jan 17, 2021
Greer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall