My BBQ Box

My BBQ Box

by My BBQ Box
Monthly BBQ box includes a custom rub, detailed prep and cooking directions, and a BBQ accessory.

Plans as low as

$20.50/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (25)

The recipes are outstanding!

Nov 29, 2021
Overall
Ralph D.
1 Review
1 Helpful

The recipes and instructions are outstanding. I have never been able to barbecue this well and my first two boxes were exceptional. The only suggestion I would have is to include a barbecue accessory that is related to the recipe. For example today's recipe called for a spritz of apple juice and it would have been useful to have included a spritz spray bottle with that recipe instead of the barbecue claws.

Pretty awesome product!

Jan 18, 2022
Overall
Trista O.
1 Review

Containers for seasoning every time. Other than that, this is a pretty awesome product.

First box, happy!

Nov 25, 2021
Overall
Dorothy H.
1 Review

This was only the first box we received but I'm quite happy and impressed. We haven't had a chance to use anything but the taste of the rub is amazing. And I LOVE the instructions. My boyfriend just started using a smoker this past year and it really helps esp if you don't know what your doing. I can't wait to try this first box

Excited!

Dec 22, 2021
Overall
Jay C.
1 Review

Excited about the recipe and love the nice an heavy weight gloves.

It was an ok box.

Jan 18, 2022
Overall
Charles S.
1 Review

It was an ok box. Loved getting a smoke tube so now I have 2 of them.

Loved my first box!

Nov 02, 2021
Overall
Whitney T.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Loved my first box! It would be nice to know what brand of pellets and a have a sauce to go with it.

I like this subscription!

Nov 19, 2021
Overall
John H.
1 Review

I like this subscription and enjoy the new recipes. I’d like it if you included more bbq accessories. I got a shaker for rub or spices but for what I pay I’d expect a bit more value. I enjoy the adventure but think it’s a bit overpriced. Maybe some accessory that compliments the recipe. Like something cool from Alabama for the Alabama chicken.

BEST GIFT EVER

Sep 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teressa S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

I got my husband this box as a Christmas gift last year. He loves it. The quality of the spice rubs, the recipes, and the extra gift each month has been amazing. He is so excited to get this box every month. He and I would recommend this for every level of smoking/BBQ level.

Verified Purchase

I expected more.

Nov 18, 2021
Overall
Brittoni H.
1 Review

I expected more for what I paid for. Chips and coozie were nice, maybe a meat thermometer to add in.

Box is overpriced

Nov 11, 2021
Overall
Jennie W.
2 Reviews

I just think that the box is overpriced for not having any recipes, suggestions, or more items to try. Even if they were one use items, the box would provide more value.

Great gift!

May 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I bought two different subscriptions to this box - one for my brother and one for my best friend. My brother loves cooking and he really enjoyed this gift box I sent him. He was really impressed with the detailed instructions and said the recipes were awesome. My best friend was obsessed with the rub. She said there was a good amount of leftovers and she put it in everything: pita chips, hummus, dip. Would definitely purchase again!

Verified Purchase

Best Son-In-Law!

Apr 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joel B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

The bought this as a gift for my father-in-law. Absolutely loved this as a gift. The boxes were delivered very timely and were nice surprises each month. The variety of runs and wood chips made the boxes interesting and wanting more. I believe I’ll be buying another subscription for myself. Highly recommend at least a 6 month subscription to really get a good selection of products.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

Mar 17, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Melanie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I was highly disappointed with the three boxes sent as a gift. The “special gift” included in the boxes is cheap (One was a meat thermometer I found on Amazon for $7) and the presentation is severely lacking. Some of the rubs were tasty, however the overall quality of the box as a whole left much to be desired. I was excited for the recipient to receive his first box, but was so embarrassed to have spent money on these products after seeing what arrived. I had hoped this would be a great alternative to a regular one time gift, but I would have been better off just giving cash.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Mar 18, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our box did not meet the expectations we set. The biggest value of our boxes lies in the detailed cooking directions for the unique BBQ recipes and the custom rub crafted to match that recipe. Our accessories are intended to be complementary for that particular recipe or be items not many folks will have, not necessarily be premium BBQ accessories. The grill top thermometer you noted was an important part of the Memphis Pork Rib recipe since it is a hot and fast cook. For experienced BBQ-ers who already know these recipes or those who are not as interested in the recipes it may be a disappointment. ...

Bbq Box

Jan 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tamara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Not worth the money. Will not renew this box.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Jan 14, 2021

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that our boxes did not meet your expectations. I will reach out to you directly to get a little more feedback. We appreciate all feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our boxes.

Disappointment

Dec 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Warren C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

This was a gift that shipped to my house instead of the gift recipient. VERY disappointed.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Dec 18, 2020

Hello! We are sorry that you were unhappy with this shipment. We shipped to the only address we had for this subscription. I have reached out directly to your email to see if we can get this corrected! Thank you!

Converted BBQ novice

Jan 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie B.
1 Review

I love My BBQ box! The rubs were so good I even put them on baked chicken and it turned out spectacular! Then later when I had time I followed the detailed instructions to be a real bbq-er and that was even better.

2019 Mar& Apr BBQ Box Review

Apr 05, 2019
Overall
Michele W.
6 Reviews
11 Pictures
42 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

First box: Georgia Pork Butt. The rub and recipe were great! Although, more messy and time consuming than I thought it was going to be. It came out delicious! I never imagined being able to smoke a pork butt on my gas grill. I really appreciated receiving the basting mop, as I did not have one, and it also came with a can coozie. I do wish there were a month to month plan rather than making someone choose a term plan. The cost could be lower or include shipping.
Second box: Austin Beef Rib. Just received my box today! I can't wait to make these and they sound a lot less messier than the butt. It came with a digital meat thermometer, recipe and a package of the rub. <3

Verified Purchase

Good customer service

Sep 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kimberly W.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I purchased this box for my husband for Father's Day. I thought it would be a great gift since he is really into grilling and smoking meat. On the plus side, you receive a lot of spices with each box and the directions are clear. We were both disappointed with the accessories that came with each box though. Also, beware if you purchase either the 3 month or 12 month option as it will automatically auto renew.
Update: BBQ Box reached out to me and provided great customer service. I appreciate them contacting me, refunding the next set of boxes, and asking for feedback to improve future boxes.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Sep 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the poor experience with your renewal and I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our boxes. We have refunded the renewal price. I have also sent you an email with this information and a few questions regarding the boxes so that we can gain additional feedback. We appreciate any insights from our customers as they allow us to improve on our products or service and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Regarding the renewal settings on all subscriptions there is the option to set it to auto-renew or not at the time of purchase and there should also be a renewal reminder email sent a couple days before the scheduled renewal date...

Amazing Georgia Pork Butt

Apr 30, 2019
Overall
Ken S.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I received a monthly subscription as a Christmas present, so I have been getting these for 4 months now. Well, I live in Georgia where the weather has been unusually, let’s just say not good. So finally, last weekend I had the opportunity to do one of these up. I chose the Georgia Pork Rub (go figure). Now, included in this box was a large bag of rub, a very nice cotton basting mop (which is awesome cause I didn’t have one), and some very good directions. So, I am a novice at bbq, I can grill and cook but never really got into bbq and smoking. This recipe has definitely changed my mind. If I had no other bbq to eat ever again, I would be satisfied. The directions were simple and not too complicated and the final product was better than I could ever have expected. Being new in this realm, I had a couple of hiccups along the way. I found out that the thermometer on my smoker was off about ¾ of the way through so it was taking longer than expected. I ended up stopping short because of time and ended up with sliced rather than pulled, but I would do it the same way again without flinching. Because of my timidity, I stuck with a milder apple wood than the recommended hickory (next time I’ll try the hickory). I also underused...

July 2017 BBQ Box Review

Jul 22, 2017
Overall
Curtis C.
1 Review

My kids got me a subscription to My BBQ Box for father's day this year and I received the first box in time to cook brisket for the 4th of July.
I have a Traeger Elite grill and have done brisket a few times, but was never really satisfied with the results even though I was very careful to follow the prescribed techniques. Don't get me wrong, they were great, but not as good as I expected based on the results I had with other meats and methods.
The July box came with the following:
- A generous portion of Texas brisket rub; no sugars added, just salt, various peppers and herbs ( I like the no sugar approach )
- An application shaker for the rub
- A beer koozie ( at least that's what it is in Texas :-) )
- A bunch of american flags ( very patriotic, thank you )
- Grilling instructions; these were well written and easy to follow
I followed the provided instructions, which I adapted a little for use on my Traeger, and BBQd a 17lb+ brisket. 17 hours later the results were better than I expected and arguably the best brisket I have ever managed to produce. My family really enjoyed it and so did some of my co-workers that I provided lunch for the following week.
I had written brisket off my BBQing list, but its back on now.
Thanks for the July BBQ Box and I'm looking forward to what August will bring. BTW,...

Disappointing

Jul 03, 2017
Overall
Marissa S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

Got a rub (all ingredients I already have at home), a cheaply made spice shaker, a koozie, and some American flag toothpicks. Didn't seem worth $18. I was hoping for a bottle of marinade or sauce along with what came along in the box. All and all, not very exciting.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Nov 09, 2018

Hello! I am sorry that you were not happy with the contents of that month’s box. I have recently taken ownership of My BBQ Box and I will strive to ensure that each month we ship out a quality custom crafted rub, along with clear step-by-step cooking instructions that can be used on a variety of cooking step ups, and a special gift that will add value and help you along with your barbecuing experience. I am happy to hear all feedback, good or bad, so that we can promptly address issues, learn, and make changes where needed. Thank you.

Jay Vinson

Rubs were good, but not worth the $$

Jun 12, 2017
Overall
M L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

I purchased a three month subscription for my husband because he loves grilling and smoking. From the description, this sounded like the perfect box for him. But we were very underwhelmed by what we received. Our first box (which we did receive a refund on) was covered in ants. The rub was a recipe we already use, but it's a good one and the plastic shaker was pretty cool.
Skip forward to the second month, we received a rib rub (also very good) and four paper/cardboard containers. I get that it's BBQ and you're trying to give the feel of that, but seriously? A bag of rub and PAPER containers??
I would not recommend this box and it's only getting two stars because the rubs are good, though not worth the cost of the box.

Verified Purchase
My BBQ Box said...Nov 09, 2018

Hello! I am sorry that you were not happy with the contents of your box but happy to see you enjoyed the rubs. I have recently taken ownership of My BBQ Box and I will strive to ensure that each month we not only ship out a quality custom crafted rubs and step-by-step cooking instructions, but also a special gift that will add value and help you along with your barbecuing experience. I am happy to hear all feedback, good or bad, so that we can promptly address issues, learn, and make changes where needed. Thank you.
Jay Vinson

Great Gift for Dad

Jun 01, 2016
Overall
Tina
1 Review

I purchased this for my Dad for xmas this past year. He loves it. Without fail I always get a call shortly after his box arrives to tell me what he got. He said it really "upped his game".

Unbelievable rub!

Apr 14, 2016
Overall
Jim K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I have been BBQing for years and but I have always used store bought rubs and they never tasted right. My meat came out good but not great. My BBQ Box took my BBQing skills the next level. The rub is nothing short of incredible and the recipes are on point and precise. Basically, this has given new energy to my BBQing hobby and inspired me to explore new areas. Love it and I would like an opportunity to buy the rub separately after I run out.

Verified Purchase

I did not like any of the received items

May 23, 2016
Overall
Jessica
1 Review

I received this as a gift from my aunt but when it arrived I found the presentation underwhelming and the actual products to be not tasty.

My BBQ Box said...Nov 09, 2018

Hello! I am sorry that you were not happy with your subscription. I have recently taken ownership of My BBQ Box and I am happy to hear all feedback, good or bad, so that we can promptly address issues, learn, and make changes where needed. Thank you.
Jay Vinson


Customers who bought this also bought...