A 12 oz Bag of hand roasted Coffee each month and 2 Hardcover Books. We Ship Within 48 Hours!

Plans as low as $31.99 / month

My Coffee and Book Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Please let me Cancel

Sep 08, 2019
Mary C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first shipment and I did not enjoy the books and the coffee was average. I have tried to cancel and Dan Schaefer the Co-founder said he would handle once he got to his computer? It has been days and no further communication from Dan. Now what? I wanted to like this, now I would just like to cancel.

Verified Purchase

Scammed me for months.

Sep 15, 2018
Daniel H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I was a subscriber for 5 months. Received 1 package, paid for 4. Emailed them twice, both times they assured me I would receive the books I paid for. Apparently not. They told me ”they found the problem” and that they resolved it. This was months ago. Never heard from them again.

Scammers? Or just not working?

Verified Purchase
My Coffee and Book Club said...Sep 17, 2018

Hi Daniel,
I’m sorry you had a bad experience with us. I looked up your account and it appears we did ship the boxes. Since you didn’t receive them, I have refunded the entire amount of your subscription.
I’m sorry again for any inconvenience this caused.

Seller

Cheap Feel to it All

Jun 15, 2018
Chelsea O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

The Coffee:

It was nothing to savor, but it is passable. I'm pretty sure that, despite being labeled differently, the coffee is all the same.

The DVDs:

They are the movies you get in the bargain bin at the thrift store.

The Books:

These are also thrift store books. MCBC is also not very good at following the genres you select. A few times the books arrived damaged.

Verified Purchase

Not exactly impressed

Jun 15, 2018
Amber H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I purchased this as a gift for my father-in-law, and we are on shipment #3. The first two shipments went to the wrong address, even after I contacted the seller twice to update. For the third shipment, I received an email on Feb 1 that it had been shipped, but he's still waiting 20 days later and the tracking number shows it hasn't even been given to FedEx for shipping yet. I've contacted the seller again, but it's frustrating that I've had to reach out for every single shipment so far.

Verified Purchase

Still waiting to be "shipped"

Jun 15, 2018
Danielle P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I have been disappointed so far. It has been 10 days since the product was supposed to ship but I have not heard anything so far. I messaged the seller and they explained they shipped by day 7 and I would receive and email.
After reading all these other reviews, it seems like this is a common issue along with many other issues. I may be asking for a full refund if nothing happens in the next few days.

Verified Purchase

Very disappointed

Jun 15, 2018
Kathy C.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall

I bought this as a gift for my son.First there was a shipping problem and when he received it, the box had no coffee at all and the books/movies were not the genre I chose.

Verified Purchase

Not worth the price

Jun 15, 2018
Jennifer W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall

Book can be bought online for $5 and DVD looks like it is from a dollar store. The order took >1 month to get here. The coffee does smell great, but overall, it is a better deal to grab a random book online and coffee from your local roaster. Plus, there was no additional gift, as described on Cratejoy. Disappointed.

Verified Purchase

I'm also still waiting for my shipment

Jun 15, 2018
Meagan A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I literally have the exact same review as Katie. Ordered Dec 28, didn't ship after the 7 days, contacted seller, they say it was damaged, resent package, tracking information doesn't work. I have contacted them waiting for a reply, but I am so disappointed and upset. It feels vaguely like a scam at this point. I really hope this pulls through and someone from Cratejoy or even the seller contacts me, as I feel taken advantage of given my payment has already been fully processed but I have received nothing in return.

Verified Purchase

Still waiting for my first shipment...

Jun 15, 2018
Katie K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

It's been nearly two months since I placed my order as a Christmas gift, and the first shipment has not arrived yet. They had tried to ship it once already and it was returned to them as "damaged or destroyed", but they did not communicate this to me up front - I had to reach out to them to ask where it was. Now, it's been shipped again but the tracking code I was given was incorrect and I can't actually track where it is. It sounds like a great idea, but it should not take two months to receive the first instalment. Really hoping that the actual package is worth it.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it...

Jun 15, 2018
Shanna L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The books were books that you could get for around $3, none of which were really interesting or even seemed remotely intriguing. I got the same exact coffee in all 3 of the boxes (I guess I was expecting something different) and the movies were all $1 finds and really didn't tie together with the books except for the fact that they weren't interesting either.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options