We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Disorganized

Jun 15, 2018
Stephanie S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

I ordered the My First Reading Club subscription for my niece's birthday. A month after ordering I still had not heard anything about shipment. When I contacted the company I was told they had "forgotten" my order. I verified the shipping because I wanted the first month sent to my own house so I could surprise my niece. After 4 emails confirming the correct address and being told this was something the company does "all the time" I received a confirmation email that the package was being shipped to the wrong address. I contacted the company for the now 5th time and the owner guaranteed he would fix it. He told me the shipment was canceled and I did receive the books to my address correctly after 5 emails and a phone call. However, my niece ALSO received a set of books before her birthday. Needless to say, the surprise is ruined and she will get two of the exact same birthday gift. The books are cute but nothing great. Definitely not worth the hassle that this has been when there are several other companies offering the same thing.

Verified Purchase

....

Jul 16, 2018
Marybelle M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I bought this subscription for my daughter and the first box that we got back in May was awesome! Was very well packaged and had an extremely nice note. Since then, the boxes have been very sub par. The books were not great at all, could have gotten the same books from a flea market or dollar store.

Verified Purchase

Dont do IT!

Jun 15, 2018
Kristi G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

This was terrible and a huge waste of money. The books were complete junk and books that I would never spend money on. Next time I will just go to the store and pick out my own books. Save your money!

Verified Purchase

The world may never know...

Jun 15, 2018
Elisabeth A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I ordered 3 subscriptions for my 2 nieces and nephew. Not a single one ever showed up. I contacted the sellers and received no response. Their customer service is clearly lacking and I shocked to see other people loved their subscriptions. I would never recommend this subscription to anyone because I still have no idea what their product is! What a waste of money.

Verified Purchase

Beware, price goes up without notice!!

Feb 19, 2019
Anamartin
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Very disappointed, the product is good but since we first started the price has gone up twice without notice. I contacted customer service and they said they owe me a refund but then stopped responding my emails and never completed the refund.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 21, 2019

Ana,
Apologies! I dropped the ball on this no excuses but as soon as you brought it to my attention again I went in and refunded your account immediately. I’ve also taken the liberty of adding a free month to your account. If I can do anything to be of service to you in the future please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally. -Dan

Seller

No coloring or activity book

Feb 12, 2019
Kir H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

Ordered the 3-5 year age range and they never sent the coloring or activity book just got 4 basic books. Not happy if advertising is different so I’m canceling

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi Kir,
I’m sorry we left the coloring and activity book out of your box. When you brought it to our attention, we immediately sent you a new one along with the tracking so you could follow it to your doorstep. If I can be of further service to you in anyway please don’t hesitate to reach out. - Dan

Seller

Disappointed

Jul 19, 2018
Nicole G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

The first few boxes were great, but then the quality of the books became horrible. The worst part is that the price went up from 9.99 plus shipping a month to 24.99 plus shipping. Canceled my membership, for almost 30.00 a month I can let my kids pick out his own book.

Verified Purchase

Don't do it

Jul 06, 2018
Rachelle B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Saves your info never let's you quit even if you ask and click the buttons. Still charging me for months after I've canceled. No way out.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Raelynn O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Got charged for 4 and received 2 so even though he loved it I had to cancel it.

Verified Purchase

Rarely received the packages.

Jun 15, 2018
Cameron G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Not worth the money.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Jun 01, 2018

Hi,

I’m really sorry we let you down. Our shipping company showed delivery on each box and it sounds like there must have been some confusion. In any case I have refunded your full amount. If you aren’t satisfied we aren’t satisfied.

Seller

Dissatisfied, ready to cancel!!!

Jun 15, 2018
Cheryl F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Got this subscription for my 6 year old granddaughter who loves to read and so far not happy. The first month I had to write to find out where the books were. Was told there was an cross over and the problem was fixed and won't happen again. Then the next month came on time and enjoyed the selection. The 3rd month was a duplicate of the 2nd month. Contacted the company again and they said "Oh it was glitch in the system another box will be sent out" got them late but good books but the same activity/coloring book. So now we are here today and opened the box and it is the same as the first box I got last month. I have written the company again, to fix this problem but have not heard back from them as of yet. So now I have 3 copies each of sprout street neighbors, here's hank, the adventures of jo schmo and nickelodeon jumbo activity/coloring book. Currently looking for a new book club I will not recommend them to anyone. I would love to give them half of a star for that month they kind of got it right, but it made me do the minimum which is a full star.

Verified Purchase

Did not receive

Jun 15, 2018
Kim K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Did not receive second shipment.

Verified Purchase

Same books

Jun 15, 2018
Traci L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I ordered a 6month subscription for my son and the 2nd time it was delivered, it was all the same books or items. I was not impressed that I paid for the same books twice, hopefully its not the same each month.

Verified Purchase

Is this for real?

Jun 15, 2018
Damone J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I assumed My First Reading Club would have your typical early child reading books. "The Cat in the Hat", "Goodnight Moon", etc. Boy was I wrong. All the books are marketing items for Disney, Nickelodeon, and probably, who knows maybe McDonald's, if I didn't cancel my shipment. Unless you love the idea of corporate marketers pedaling products to your children, go elsewhere.

Verified Purchase

Ripped Off!!

Jun 15, 2018
Miranda P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

Very unhappy with this subscription. First, they did not honor their 7 day shipping policy, and 8 days later my box still didn't ship. I e-mailed them, and was assured it would be mailed and said they have been busy..guess my order was meaningless. They sent me a confirmation e-mail that my box had shipped with a bogus tracking number, still showing today; 10 DAYS after when they said they shipped it, from the fedex website that it does not exist. They didn't even mail what I paid for. I would like a refund for the product that seemingly wasn't even sent.

Verified Purchase

Auto renew

Jun 15, 2018
Dana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this as a gift for someone. I thought I was buying a one time thing and didn't realize the small text saying it would auto renew. We had not yet decided if we were going to sign up for more or not, but this auto renew has made me decide that I will not be making any purchases from this site.

Verified Purchase

Bad shipping

Jun 15, 2018
Andrea D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

First box hasnt arrived and I was already charged for the second monthly box without a warning.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 19, 2018

Hi Andrea, I am so sorry we let you down. Our shipments to Puerto Rico take much longer to arrive and I’m sure that alone can be frustrating. Combine that with a subscription that renewed before your product arrives and I can see why you left this review. Why don’t I refund your money, let you receive the first box that’s on it’s way and if you like it we can work something out that accommodates the extra time it takes to ship to Puerto Rico? Thank you for calling this to my attention. -Dan

Seller
Buying Options