My First Reading Club

My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$16.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (346)

It's a scam. Don't purchase.

May 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terri R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

PLEASE DO NOT order from this company. I paid for a 12 month subscription and can't get my box shipped and can't get a response from this seller and Cratejoy has not been helpful either. I filed a complaint with BBB and they have a rating of an "F". I wish I had done my research before going through all the aggravation plus the hundreds of dollars I lost.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Seller

Oct 11, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Chelsey G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

At first this box was great. I am signed up for the 0-2 years box. I have gotten boxes full of age appropriate board books. However, my last box had nothing but preschool style text books that were not appropriate for my 1 year old. I tried reaching out to the seller for a refund and they have been completely unresponsive. Do not sign up for this box. If you have any issues the seller won’t care enough to respond.

Verified Purchase

No delivery; no response

Jan 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pooja M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I gave this as a gift (3 month subscription) and still waiting for the second delivery apparently sent out on Dec 16. I have emailed the seller twice but no response so far.

Verified Purchase

They do what they want

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Morgan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I did not give authorization to bill card on file (that is expired). I have canceled this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Would not recommend.

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Vaibhavi C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Stay away! I reached out multiple times to have this cancelled since the books were not that great. Never heard from anyone including Cratejoy. I would never get any subscription from cratejoy or this seller ever again.

Verified Purchase

Not a happy customer

Dec 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

I wasn’t happy that it took so long for me to get my package when I ordered it on November 12 and I just got it today on December 11. Also when I messaged the seller and the seller never messaged me back. I probably will never use this again.

Verified Purchase

Waiting for February’s books!!

Feb 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura C.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I would think twice if your thinking of ordering this for your loved one.............. I am beyond frustrated with this book box club. I pre payed for 6 months of books for my 4 year old grandson and have yet to receive his February books., which would be his first official box other than the 2 free books in the beginning. I have reached out to the seller via email 4 separate times and have yet to get any response. I’m at a total loss and I’m heartbroken that my grandson just keeps checking the mail in hopes his new books will be there. This is terrible!

Verified Purchase

6 months, suddenly stopped sending boxes

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Destoni B.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

*UPDATE* - never received our July box. I have attempted to reach the seller through Cratejoy and through MFRC direct site (which they’ve responded to before).
I don’t know how or why they would skip one of our boxes 6 months in on a 12 month pre-paid plan. But I’m pretty upset, especially since they can’t even return an email.
Currently on month 9. Still never got a return email to my 4 emails regarding my missing box, and the problem was never resolved, we never got our box. This month, we received the 2 and under box when we subscribe to the 3-5 year old box. I won’t be renewing my box at this point. So disappointed, and really wish I hadn’t gone for the 12 month subscription.
Overall we are really happy with this box. There has been a couple books that have been a little over my kid’s head (2 1/2 and 4 years old). If you are getting it for the “gift” I wouldn’t bother.
The quality of books and the activity is worth the price though. We have got sticker books a couple times and my kids LOVE them!
Note if you order mid month you will receive the next months box and then no box the next month. For example I ordered mid January and received February’s box so we didn’t receive our next box till March. This is not outlined very well and took multiple attempts to reach someone concerning this. We thought we were jipped a...

Verified Purchase

....

Jul 16, 2018
Overall
Marybelle M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I bought this subscription for my daughter and the first box that we got back in May was awesome! Was very well packaged and had an extremely nice note. Since then, the boxes have been very sub par. The books were not great at all, could have gotten the same books from a flea market or dollar store.

Verified Purchase

Dont do IT!

Jan 17, 2018
Overall
Kristi G.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

This was terrible and a huge waste of money. The books were complete junk and books that I would never spend money on. Next time I will just go to the store and pick out my own books. Save your money!

Verified Purchase

Disorganized

Aug 10, 2017
Overall
Stephanie S.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I ordered the My First Reading Club subscription for my niece's birthday. A month after ordering I still had not heard anything about shipment. When I contacted the company I was told they had "forgotten" my order. I verified the shipping because I wanted the first month sent to my own house so I could surprise my niece. After 4 emails confirming the correct address and being told this was something the company does "all the time" I received a confirmation email that the package was being shipped to the wrong address. I contacted the company for the now 5th time and the owner guaranteed he would fix it. He told me the shipment was canceled and I did receive the books to my address correctly after 5 emails and a phone call. However, my niece ALSO received a set of books before her birthday. Needless to say, the surprise is ruined and she will get two of the exact same birthday gift. The books are cute but nothing great. Definitely not worth the hassle that this has been when there are several other companies offering the same thing.

Verified Purchase

The world may never know...

Jan 23, 2018
Overall
Elisabeth A.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered 3 subscriptions for my 2 nieces and nephew. Not a single one ever showed up. I contacted the sellers and received no response. Their customer service is clearly lacking and I shocked to see other people loved their subscriptions. I would never recommend this subscription to anyone because I still have no idea what their product is! What a waste of money.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing

May 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Lanee K.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

They are very disorganized. I made 5 orders and they only shipped one of them. Then they had the names mixed up on them. I complained and finally two weeks later they shipped 3 more of my orders and have no idea about the last one. I told them just to cancel that one since I had sent gifts to sisters and one got her gitft two weeks ago and the other never got her gift. What a disappointment.

Verified Purchase

Great Books - Terrible shipping!

Sep 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Misty C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Paid in full for a year's subsciption as gift for my great neice. With the exception of the first delivery - every other order has bben delayed and rerouted. I reached out to the seller and crate joy and have had little to no response from the seller. Cratejoy has had a similar experience with them.
It is unfortunate becasue the books are great - very age appropaite - and something that her parents looked forward to being able to share with her monthly. Very disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Sep 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bradley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Contacted the seller twice about Sept order. No response, no Sept delivery.

Verified Purchase

Won't answer emails re: shipping address

Sep 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Sharon K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This has been a nightmare. I signed up for this for my niece who is 2... I had been with Bookroo but some of the books were too old for her so decided to try this company. I have had nothing but trouble. They sent the first order to me instead of her. When I went in to my account to change it I just got a circle with a slash through it. Her address is there but it won't switch over to it.. I contacted them and right away was told to donate the ones I got and they would send another to her.. I repeated her shipping address and then heard nothing from them. Nor did she get a box. I've sent numerous emails (10? 12?) to them and the few that they answered I used the "reply" and then didn't hear anything more. Last month neither of us got a box. This month I, again, got the shipment. I canceled and it asked me why and I reiterated my problems begging them to CALL me as the emails are just not working. I've given them my phone number numerous times. I cannot find a telephone number for this company anywhere. Their customer service is awful. After receiving this latest box I tried to reinstate my order and then I was able to change the "ship to" name to hers but it looks like I'm supposed to repay. I tried to refute...

Verified Purchase

Poor customer service

Aug 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shelby G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Poor customer service.

Verified Purchase

No timely service

Jul 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa S.
17 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days

I placed an order for my 9-year-old nephew, who is at a more advanced reading level. I placed an order on June 28. Ten days after the order, nothing, not even a shipping update beyond a label being created.

Verified Purchase

No books

Dec 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Stacy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

My granddaughter still has not received her first box and you guys want me to rate it?!?! When is the box going to arrive?!?!

Verified Purchase

No customer service! Don’t subscribe

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gwen B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Books are all right but I’ve been trying to get my subscription level moved up to a different age bracket. Crate joy sends you a auto message saying if you do not hear from your seller they will automatic escalate your concern. I’ve sent two inquires so far and have heard nothing back! Very disappointed in no customer service either through crate joy and or my first reading club company!

Verified Purchase

No coloring or activity book

Feb 12, 2019
Overall
Kir H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Ordered the 3-5 year age range and they never sent the coloring or activity book just got 4 basic books. Not happy if advertising is different so I’m canceling

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi Kir,
I’m sorry we left the coloring and activity book out of your box. When you brought it to our attention, we immediately sent you a new one along with the tracking so you could follow it to your doorstep. If I can be of further service to you in anyway please don’t hesitate to reach out. - Dan

very dissapointed

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

we continue to receive "baby" books for a 9 year old girl. i have contacted the seller and this is still not resolved. very disappointing for this child and i am not happy that i have spent this much money on what is a useless gift for this child

Verified Purchase

FRUSTRATED!!!

Dec 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shana K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Still looking for my first box! I ordered on 11/26!

Verified Purchase

Not worth subscribing

Mar 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Olga K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Horrible!!! The customer service is ridiculous. I prepaid for a 3 month subscription and only got 1 month so far. Very disappointing to say the least.

Verified Purchase

??????!????

Dec 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Ken H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Still waiting for my delivery!

Verified Purchase