My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!
322 reviews

Plans as low as

$16.99/ month

Buying Options

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review
322

Waiting for February’s books!!

Feb 18, 2021
Laura C.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I would think twice if your thinking of ordering this for your loved one.............. I am beyond frustrated with this book box club. I pre payed for 6 months of books for my 4 year old grandson and have yet to receive his February books., which would be his first official box other than the 2 free books in the beginning. I have reached out to the seller via email 4 separate times and have yet to get any response. I’m at a total loss and I’m heartbroken that my grandson just keeps checking the mail in hopes his new books will be there. This is terrible!

Verified Purchase

Do not use this subscription!!!

May 27, 2021
Nicole L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They sent me a shipping notification about a month ago and I haven’t received the box for my child. I tried reaching out twice and haven’t heard back from them. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS SUBSCRIPTION.

Verified Purchase

Books

May 03, 2021
Joanne M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I want a refund for this subscription. Made in error. Emailed several times with NO satisfaction. Terrible company!

Verified Purchase

Hard to rate

May 01, 2021
Brooke K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Can't really review when my first shipment from last month still has not arrived. Tried to teach out to someone at the start of April, still have not heard from anyone. Money wasted.

Verified Purchase

Not impressed

Apr 15, 2021
Bri H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m not impressed with the contents of this box. There are so many amazing children’s books out there, and it really seems like they scrape the bottom of the barrel for the ones in this box. They are not current books or relevant to what is going on that month (black history, etc). Also they didn’t seem very age appropriate. I have a 3 year old girl, and a lot of the books were clearly for a much older child.

Verified Purchase

very dissapointed

Apr 12, 2021
Elizabeth S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

we continue to receive "baby" books for a 9 year old girl. i have contacted the seller and this is still not resolved. very disappointing for this child and i am not happy that i have spent this much money on what is a useless gift for this child

Verified Purchase

about dancing when you need to “wee”.

Apr 12, 2021
Beverly R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The age of my grandson is 7 y/o this month. The first book we read was about needing to urinate. He has been bladder trained since he was 3. Book is too young for him & most 6-8 y/o in my opinion. Very disappointed. Last years books were more age appropriate. How do I fix this problem. Is he in the wrong age group? Can we return the book? I did not read any of the other books. Not even age appropriate for his younger brother who is 3 1/2 & has been bladder trained for over a year. I want to continue his 6 mo subscription but I need for you to contact me regard age appropriate books. Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Shipping and customer care sub par.

Apr 10, 2021
Carol H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Shipping and company contact are subpar. I will file a complaint with my credit card if this company renews my 6th month subscription. Tracking number was not accurate, said we are getting our third box, we have only received one thus far. Many emails back and fourth, cancelling seems like a charge will be attached.
I am waiting until the six boxes have been sent and will never use this service again.

Verified Purchase

Scammers

Apr 01, 2021
Sydney P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am SO disappointed and highly recommend you look elsewhere for your little one for a book subscription. I purchased this for my daughter who is 10 months but has loved to be read to since she was in the NICU. Since were rereading a lot of books, I wanted some new ones to add to our collection. I purchased in 2/25/21. Received an email on 3/2/21 that it had shipped and received a tracking number thru USPS. After about two weeks, I still had received anything in the mail and went back to check the tracking which still had stated “label created but not yet in our system”. I sent an email asking what was going on and when it would actually be shipped. In return, I got an automated email that I should hear something within 48 hours, if not, it would automatically be escalated and someone would be in contact. It’s now 4/1/21, the tracking still states the same thing, I’ve sent another email, and still have not heard from anyone in regard to where my package is. I have received another email saying my second package is supposedly on the way, but now the tracking is thru another company. Unfortunately, I purchased the 6 month subscription, which I did for my niece with another company, Bookroo, which was AMAZING!, so I figured it would be fine to do with Cratejoy as well. VERY much regretting it. I understand there’s a ton of internet scams but to...

Verified Purchase

Not worth subscribing

Mar 24, 2021
Olga K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Horrible!!! The customer service is ridiculous. I prepaid for a 3 month subscription and only got 1 month so far. Very disappointing to say the least.

Verified Purchase

Need clarification on how they do boxes

Mar 19, 2021
Gee F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We must have received a starter box, but since we did not choose to get one I hope that does not count as our first month. Not really impressed with the box, or lack of response to my inquiry.

Verified Purchase

Poor customer service

Mar 13, 2021
Theodora H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered 3 months in November. I only received 2 shipments not 3. Seller won’t respond to repeated emails. Hoping this gets their attention to either send the shipment of refund me.

Verified Purchase

Beware! Books are Not Being Shipped

Feb 22, 2021
Kim R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I paid for a gift subscription for my granddaughter. The first month’s books did not ship until I contacted My First Reading Club via Cratejoy, 2 weeks after their ad said they would ship. The next month’s shipment was never shipped, and my granddaughter was so disappointed. I have contacted My First Reading Club three times via Crate Joy, and never received a response. .

Verified Purchase

Unhappy customer

Mar 08, 2021
Pam B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What a joke....you can't get hold of anyone, sending a message gets you nowhere! Sent my 4 yr old a book about an alligator eating children! Does anyone work here???

Verified Purchase

Description is a lie

Feb 27, 2021
Danah O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The description says the box will ship the first 2 business days. That is a lie. My box has not shipped yet. Wish I would have read the reviews first before placing my order

Verified Purchase

Terrible service

Feb 26, 2021
Stella L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered a 12 month subscription. Took over two weeks to get my first box and never received the second. I sent a message to the sender and they never replied.

Verified Purchase

Did not receive

Feb 14, 2021
Alex M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The quality and amount of the books is great. However, I ordered a 3 month subscription, and I only received 2 boxes. I’ve contacted the seller multiple times with no response. Very disappointed with it.

Verified Purchase

Pick a different subscription!

Feb 12, 2021
Robyn M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We subscribed three months ago and have only received 1 box. I would be very wary purchasing from this company! I've reached out to the company multiple times and had 1 response but it did not solve the problem- I was basically told to keep waiting. Hoping the books come eventually...my daughter is so sad!

Verified Purchase

Think twice before signing up

Feb 09, 2021
Tara B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping

Poor communication.

Verified Purchase

Review

Feb 04, 2021
Cindy D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The birthday card inside the box had happy birthday Tiffany her name is Tevani the box was addressed correctly. Please correct for further notes in the gift box.

Verified Purchase

Awful customer service

Dec 31, 2020
Melinda G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My daughter loved opening the box and reading all the new books! My order renewed in January and i never received it. After contacting support twice they finally got back to me and said it would ship out February 1st. So again i asked if that ment i wasn’t getting a box for January and the responded with the same thing they sent me before. Awful customer service! Im still confused

Verified Purchase

Books

Jan 19, 2021
Carolee M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The wrong age group was sent as a gift. I have attempted to contact the seller several times, but have not received a response. Now my 8 year old niece is stuck with 6 month supply of books for a 3 month old.
UPDATE: The seller contacted me privately via email. They apologized and asked to correct the issue. I informed them, again, of the box that was supposed to be sent and asking if they need additional information. They have, again, not responded and nothing is changed on my subscription information. I have no idea what books will be sent to my nieces. I will let you all know. Until then, I wish I could leave zero stars.

Verified Purchase

Do not use this company!

Jan 21, 2021
Terri B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If I could rate this as zero, I would do so! Product was to have shipped within 2 days, it didn't. Cratejoy sent an email, in response to my shipment inquiry, indicating they would contact seller - they didn't. I sent a 2nd inquiry to seller, no response from anyone. Was sent a tracking number but when I checked, the site indicated label made but shipment has not been arranged. This site is the WORST!!

Verified Purchase

No customer service! Don’t subscribe

Jan 16, 2021
Gwen B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Books are all right but I’ve been trying to get my subscription level moved up to a different age bracket. Crate joy sends you a auto message saying if you do not hear from your seller they will automatic escalate your concern. I’ve sent two inquires so far and have heard nothing back! Very disappointed in no customer service either through crate joy and or my first reading club company!

Verified Purchase

Unknown

Jan 15, 2021
Mark G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Seller sent the wrong package the first month, and although they advised the second shipment was shipped more than a week ago, nothing has been received.....YOU need to fix this. I purchased this through YOU. gouldkid@comcast.net.

Verified Purchase