We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Still waiting on next gift box

Oct 05, 2019
Ellie S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We enjoyed the first box we received as part of a six month gift subscription for our one year old and have been looking forward to our next box however its been over a month and we have not received any indication that our second box will ship. Very confused by this process and disappointed that it does not seem to be straightforward.

In terms of books, Bunnies! has been a big hit but not interested in books with religious overtones (Vegitales). Some seemed a bit older for a one year old but we've put them aside for now.

My First Reading Club said...Oct 05, 2019

Hi, I'm glad you are enjoying MFRC overall, maybe this explanation on shipping will help. We ship every new subscriber’s first box early (within 48 hours after they sign up). Then every subsequent box goes out with our regular monthly shipment the first few days of each month (your new box went out Friday but Fedex hasn't updated the tracking yet). This sometimes creates more than 30 days between your first and second box depending on when you signed up but after that they come every 30 days like clockwork.
When you signed up, the box for that month already shipped so we shipped you the next month's box. If we shipped another box to you that month it would be a duplicate of what...

Seller

Feb 11, 2019
Abigail S.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I ordered the youngest box for my 18 month old. We read a lot of boxes so I wish I had ordered up an age. To develop a love of reading, this would provide such a wide range and good quantity of books while young readers are still honing what quality of books they love.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 12, 2019

Hi Abigail,
Thank you for your kind words. We can adjust the reading level anytime you want and in fact we are happy to do it for you. If you will email me here dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com<mailto:dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com> I’ll make sure it is set to your preference.
If myself or anyone else at MFRC can be of service to you, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Seller

Oct 13, 2018
Amanda P.
13 Reviews
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

I was getting this box for a bunch of months for my boys. One day my card wasn’t charged and that was still 17.99 then because the price went up. Now I see it’s 26.99 with free shipping so it’s drastically gone up from the price I started which at the time was 14.99. I know the demand for higher but that’s a huge jump. I cancelled it because it was getting higher

Verified Purchase

Overall we enjoyed it.

Mar 09, 2019
Katy K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We jut got our 12th and final box. We really enjoyed the subscription but it was a bit of a letdown that our final box contained two books that were in our 10th box. And the “fun” books was a dud and a bit juvenile for the age group. Other than this issue, I think it has been worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Yes!

Aug 17, 2018
Tailor
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

We have been receiving the the age group 3 year olds, and I can honestly say every time he sees the box he gets so happy and can’t wait to read every single book. As a mother I love seeing the excitement. The books are wonderful. And truly age appropriate. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

Wrong gender but over all great!

Jun 15, 2018
Shannon H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

Books were in great condition! Age appropriate. We even received a set of 4 so 6 books in total! My only disappointment is that the set of books is for a girl and I have a son. Other then that this is a great book club!

Verified Purchase

Great Book Box

Jun 15, 2018
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I am very happy with the boxes I have been receiving for the past few months for my 2 year old son. The books are always good quality books. It's a great box for the price.

Verified Purchase

Confused

Jun 15, 2018
Linda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Just received my first months box today. Was happy with the books just thought I was supposed to receive and extra activity or coloring book? Am I not understanding some thing?

Verified Purchase

very impressed!

Jun 15, 2018
Ashley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

Wanted to give 5 stars but there is text over 5th star so won't let me click. Got her first box and was very impressed! She loves all three books and has painted so much in the watercolor book that her paint is almost gone. And I also enjoy the moisturizer and lip balm they sent 😊, this is well worth the money!

Verified Purchase

Great books and quick shipping!

Jun 15, 2018
Emily H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

My first reading club came within two weeks of ordering and was filled with great books! They were however all “character” books from different popular kid tv shows. My best friends 3 almost 4 year old loved them all! I hope in the future that the boxes are a mix of these character and some original stories.

Verified Purchase

First Delivery

Jun 15, 2018
Melissa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We received our first "my first reading" club box today. Kids love 2 of the 3 books so far. They included a classic Robin Hood, too long for my kids and pretty much available anywhere. The others were new to us and excited to read them. Love the little extra like lip balm and lotion!!

Verified Purchase

Great books, info needs more accuracy.

Jun 15, 2018
Lexie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

My first reading club is a great subscription that I chose for my son. Just wish they would fully inform you of the pricing for it and let you know that its not actually 9.99 a month. I didn't know until it was charging my card for a different amount. Other than that the selection is great quality.

Verified Purchase

Great Deal, Not Best Book Choices

Jun 15, 2018
Caitlin H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

This month we got 4 books! 2 hardcover books that truly keep my son's attention, 1 paperback (that we happened to already have) and 1 how-to-draw Adventure Time book that really wasn't age-appropriate for my son. We are subscribed to the 2-3 year-old pre-readers (even though my son just turned 4.) He's not drawing characters yet! So that book didn't make sense for us. The quality of the books are super nice. The mom gift was really nice, too!

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Stephanie W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Ordered for my nephew.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options