My First Reading Club

My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$17.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (351)

Good product; Bad customer service

6 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shalama J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Grata product but horrible customer service. I have been trying to reach someone about a shipping issue for three months and haven't heard from anyone.

Verified Purchase

Unhappy

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Thomas T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

Our niece loves the books and that's the only reason I renewed. The renewal was advertised at the price I bought the original subscription for but then it charged my card almost $30 more. Cratejoy is impossible to contact and my issue didn't fit their automated systems cookie cutter headings. I would cancel if she didn't love getting the books... which are not consistent at all of when they arrive

Verified Purchase

Frustrating Websie

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Laurel W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

The website is difficult to navigate. I have been unable to locate the order to change a shipping address. Help was not very effective. It is extremely frustrating to the point I probably will never use Cratejoy again!

Verified Purchase

No one responds to my pleas for help!

Jun 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carol G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

This is a wonderful book club. However, I tried to contact them several times to change the subscription. Not only did I not get a response, they sent the last 6 months of my subscription to the wrong address. I still have not received a single response. DO NOT buy this subscription if you anticipate any problems. They will not contact you or answer any inquiries!!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Slow Shipping!

May 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dennis U.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

They ship when they want too, no type of schedule for shipping your packages. I will NOT renew my subscription; I will find a company that will respond questions and my concerns.

Verified Purchase

It's a scam. Don't purchase.

May 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terri R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

PLEASE DO NOT order from this company. I paid for a 12 month subscription and can't get my box shipped and can't get a response from this seller and Cratejoy has not been helpful either. I filed a complaint with BBB and they have a rating of an "F". I wish I had done my research before going through all the aggravation plus the hundreds of dollars I lost.

Verified Purchase

Missing boxes

Apr 08, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Minoka B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I'm still upset that I paid for 3 different subscriptions and received only 1 box. I've attempted to contact support 3 different times and have been completely ignored. The only reason I have kept the subscription is for my daughter but next time it happens I will challenge the payment and cancel it for good.

Verified Purchase

A great reminder from Grandma

Dec 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

Great fir my grandkids. A few books were too old for the age range of my grandkids age 7 and 5 but for the most part they loved the books. I love reading and books and have since I was a child and I like to instill that in my grandchildren.

Verified Purchase

Great books, but messy shipping!

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

The book selection is amazing and the quality is great! Shipping took 14 days which was longer than usual and tracking showed that they were at my local post office for half that time. It’s also holiday season, so I can understand the delay. Also, I received a small tube of lotion, which I thought was a great little gift, but it spilled in the box. Thankfully we got all board books, so the mess was easy to clean up.

Verified Purchase

figure out your shipping issue...

Jan 26, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Robin G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

the shipping takes WEEKS with no updates or tracking (the number you send tells you it goes to an outside carrier and to view updates... but there is NEVER updates... we end up buying new ones before we get the old ones.... i cancelled and will go with a company that cares if the products ever get there at all let alone even in the same BILLING CYCLE! HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jan 25, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Janine M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I was very disappointed with this selection. My grandson liked only one book and there was a Walmart Sale sticker on one of the books. I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

No delivery; no response

Jan 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pooja M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I gave this as a gift (3 month subscription) and still waiting for the second delivery apparently sent out on Dec 16. I have emailed the seller twice but no response so far.

Verified Purchase

Don't make the same mistake I did

Jan 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Traci S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

This is a scam. I've made several requests to have them cancel my account which have all been ignored. Don't do it.

Verified Purchase

Awesome monthly treat

Oct 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cynthia M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

My 2yr Old daughter and 18 month nephew loved getting their boxes every month. I was really impressed with the quality of the books and the age appropriate duration of them. We received a sing-along nursery rhyme book with CD which they love to hear every car ride. Not to mention How much I needed the little mommy R&R gifts.

Verified Purchase

They do what they want

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Morgan M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I did not give authorization to bill card on file (that is expired). I have canceled this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Would not recommend.

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Vaibhavi C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Stay away! I reached out multiple times to have this cancelled since the books were not that great. Never heard from anyone including Cratejoy. I would never get any subscription from cratejoy or this seller ever again.

Verified Purchase

Not a happy customer

Dec 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

I wasn’t happy that it took so long for me to get my package when I ordered it on November 12 and I just got it today on December 11. Also when I messaged the seller and the seller never messaged me back. I probably will never use this again.

Verified Purchase

Animals, rules, teddy,scooby doo

Sep 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elaine L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

I saw a video of my granddaughters opening their first box. They seemed very happy and excited.

Verified Purchase

Try Before You Buy

Nov 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christal K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I chose the box by age group. My daughter is 6, and unfortunately she won't be able to make any use of at least 2 of the books for at least the next 2-3 years. They are chapter books meant for 3rd grade and up. Shipping time was ok since there was no rush, but still not received as soon as the description says. I only purchased 1 month since I wanted to make sure it was a good choice for my child, but I won't be renewing.

Verified Purchase

It’s okay for where we are now

Oct 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Yelaine W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

The books are a but advanced for my son. He’s not on chapter books yet. Would be great if you could state child’s age instead of a range.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Seller

Oct 11, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Chelsey G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

At first this box was great. I am signed up for the 0-2 years box. I have gotten boxes full of age appropriate board books. However, my last box had nothing but preschool style text books that were not appropriate for my 1 year old. I tried reaching out to the seller for a refund and they have been completely unresponsive. Do not sign up for this box. If you have any issues the seller won’t care enough to respond.

Verified Purchase

Two of the books are the same

Oct 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Merrie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days

I got two of the exact same books.

Verified Purchase

Yay! The new books are here...

Mar 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pat K.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 10 months

My daughter reports that my grandson Felix LOVES when his box of books arrives! He loves checking out the new titles...

Verified Purchase

Great Books - Terrible shipping!

Sep 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Misty C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Paid in full for a year's subsciption as gift for my great neice. With the exception of the first delivery - every other order has bben delayed and rerouted. I reached out to the seller and crate joy and have had little to no response from the seller. Cratejoy has had a similar experience with them.
It is unfortunate becasue the books are great - very age appropaite - and something that her parents looked forward to being able to share with her monthly. Very disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Sep 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bradley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Contacted the seller twice about Sept order. No response, no Sept delivery.

Verified Purchase