The premium horror, mystery and thriller subscription box. We ship your box in less than 48 hours!

Plans as low as $16.00 / month

My Thrill Club! reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Hopefully will improve.

Oct 11, 2020
Jim P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this subscription for my wife. The first two books came in very quickly; but even though we chose Horror it came with one horror boo and one phantasy book. Which she won't read.

Wikipedia defines horror as "Horror is a genre of speculative fiction which is intended to frighten, scare, or disgust."

Fantasy has been long considered to be a derivative of Science Fiction, Not horror.

Hopefully this was a mix-up. Because the crate is too expensive if they are not going to give you two books from the genre you chose. In fact, why even ask what genre you want if they are going to give you other genres that you didn't choose.

Verified Purchase

Canceled. Thank you and goodbye.

Jul 18, 2020
M G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This used to be a fantastic value! When I first subscribed about 2 years ago you received 2 books and a DVD movie with an awesome inclusion with a few words about the selections and even who curated the box! A nice little touch! Then it switched to 2 books and some e-books! OK wasn't really too happy about that but I liked the box so I stuck with it. Still with the cool little "monthly letter". The e-books at first were kind of an issue to retrieve but they seemed to iron that out. Then the emails stopped coming. No more e-books. No more "Curated by" page. Add to that these are not new books. These are books that can be ordered from Amazon in Used - Good or Used - Acceptable condition, which is what they appear to be, for 5 or 6 dollars. One of the books I just received definitely looks "slightly loved". So what am I really paying for now?!

Verified Purchase

Decent Books But Not What I Expected

Jul 21, 2019
Danielle T.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Product included were overstocked, marled books and from the thriller and horror genre. The books were in nice condition, but I felt both should have been horror since this was my selection. Also the subscription information led me to beleive an eBook was also included. This was not. Overall, decent but not what expected.

Verified Purchase

Just meh

Jan 28, 2020
Taylor P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

One out of two books is more of a suspense novel that I am not particularly interested in. When you want horror, you want HORROR.

Verified Purchase

Nice Quality -- Not horror

Jan 03, 2020
Virginia S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not really sure they qualify as horror novels. The novels are in great shape, new hard covers. So far, I am still reading since my aim is to expand what I read though again neither book sent are horror. I think someone saw 'Dickensian characters' and thought that qualified. The other is listed as steampunk/science fiction. o_O since neither book are my genre I do not feel it is appropriate for me to asses the stories though the first one I am about a hundred pages and intrigued to know what the point is.

Verified Purchase

Shipping issues

Oct 17, 2019
Amanda N.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I had some shipping issues that they later resolved

Verified Purchase

same two books sent AGAIN

Oct 31, 2018
Nicole A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I have liked many selections sent to me but after taking a break from the subscription and restarting it I was sent the same books that I had already gotten. Canceled the subscription and did not see a way of contacting for help without subscribing all over again and risking getting the books for a third time.

Verified Purchase
My Thrill Club! said...Nov 01, 2018

Hi Nicole,
I think you’ll love crime and mystery but please give our horror category another try at some point, our curator is a pretty sick puppy, I promise he will scare you…I work next to him, he scares me daily with his creepy looks.
Please reach out if we can do anything to be of service.

Oct 18, 2018
Kimberly Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

The first shipment was great and in my selected genre (horror); the second selection were not horror books--more thriller/fantasy. Also, it advertises 2 hardcovers and an e-copy, and I never received any e-copies. I'm due one more crate, so we'll see if they get the genre right.

Verified Purchase

Just ok

Jun 05, 2018
Jasmine M.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall

I ordered the "surprise" box and the books that were included were short stories from back in the early 1900's. Not what I would have picked out myself but it's a surprise, so it's ok. I have a hard time reading older stories with how they are worded... The code for the digital book, however, didn't work. I have emailed them and hopefully it will get sorted out.

Verified Purchase
My Thrill Club! said...Jun 06, 2018

Hi Jasmine,

I’m sorry your experience with us wasn’t 100% successful. Each month Jittery Joe tries to research and offer a variety of styles and topics and they aren’t always to everyone’s taste. Please keep in mind Joe is hundreds of years old and can’t go out into the sun so his entire existence centers around finding cool mystery, thriller and horror books, we hope next month will be right up your alley!
- Creepy Dan and Jittery Joe

May 16, 2017
Mary R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I decided to try out My Thrill Club. I used a coupon so got the box for $9.99. It was an Easter present for my fiancé and we just received it yesterday (I placed my order on April 10th and it was shipped May 8th). The shipping was on the slow side and the tracking was disappointing (was stuck in the same city for 3 days).

I was hoping for a blu-ray as I have seen reviews receive one but we got a DVD copy of Basic Instinct (the price tag of $4 was left on so that's a con because most people don't really want a price tag on a gift). We received two books I hadn't heard of before but I'm excited to check them out.

I like the idea of receiving two random books and a movie from your chosen genre (I selected Surprise Me) and am happy I didn't own any of the ones I received but the shipping was on the slower side (I got charged immediately for the box, despite it not being shipped for close to a month), the tracking wasn't great, and we received a DVD instead of a blu-ray with the price sticker still on.

I am happy I got to try it out for $9.99 and maybe in the future I will consider subscribing again.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options