My Thrill Club

by My Thrill Club!

The premium horror, mystery and thriller subscription box. We ship your box in less than 48 hours!

213 reviews

Plans as low as

$16.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (213)

Decent Books But Not What I Expected

Jul 21, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Danielle T.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Product included were overstocked, marled books and from the thriller and horror genre. The books were in nice condition, but I felt both should have been horror since this was my selection. Also the subscription information led me to beleive an eBook was also included. This was not. Overall, decent but not what expected.

Verified Purchase

Canceled. Thank you and goodbye.

Jul 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
M G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

This used to be a fantastic value! When I first subscribed about 2 years ago you received 2 books and a DVD movie with an awesome inclusion with a few words about the selections and even who curated the box! A nice little touch! Then it switched to 2 books and some e-books! OK wasn't really too happy about that but I liked the box so I stuck with it. Still with the cool little "monthly letter". The e-books at first were kind of an issue to retrieve but they seemed to iron that out. Then the emails stopped coming. No more e-books. No more "Curated by" page. Add to that these are not new books. These are books that can be ordered from Amazon in Used - Good or Used - Acceptable condition, which is what they appear to be, for 5 or 6 dollars. One of the books I just received definitely looks "slightly loved". So what am I really paying for now?!

Verified Purchase

Shipping issues

Oct 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Amanda N.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I had some shipping issues that they later resolved

Verified Purchase

Just meh

Jan 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Taylor P.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

One out of two books is more of a suspense novel that I am not particularly interested in. When you want horror, you want HORROR.

Verified Purchase

Nice Quality -- Not horror

Jan 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Virginia S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Not really sure they qualify as horror novels. The novels are in great shape, new hard covers. So far, I am still reading since my aim is to expand what I read though again neither book sent are horror. I think someone saw 'Dickensian characters' and thought that qualified. The other is listed as steampunk/science fiction. o_O since neither book are my genre I do not feel it is appropriate for me to asses the stories though the first one I am about a hundred pages and intrigued to know what the point is.

Verified Purchase

Daniel

May 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Daniel H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I guess I should’ve selected my choice to be more thriller scary

Verified Purchase

Need to make a cjhange

Dec 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cori S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Need to switch genre. Not what I was looking for

Verified Purchase

My thrill club experience, so far...

Apr 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Samantha M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I was amazed at how fast the package shipped. I just started my first book which is titled growing things and other stories by Paul Tremblay. Its a collection of stories which I was excited about...but so far not liking it at all. Im hoping it gets better. And the 2nd book is titled The Snakes by Sadie Jones

Verified Purchase

Not as enjoyable as I hoped

Dec 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Courtney M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I liked my first box, the second box included a book that was second in a series so that was highly disappointing. I’ll be cancelling but I hope my third box is better.

Verified Purchase
My Thrill Club! said...Dec 05, 2020

Hi Courtney, when our curator picks a series book it means it is a great stand alone story that doesn't need the other books in the series to "stand as a great read." Please email our service address if you'd like to discuss it further. Above all we want you happy with us. - The Thrill Club Creeps

Unknown

Mar 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelly C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Purchased as a gift. Expected horror and suspense not corny vampire books. I read reviews and hoped they had controlled poor selection after poor reviews, but...
Oh well, now I know.

Verified Purchase

Bound for Gold

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Petra N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

not quite sure if these are thrillers or just mysteries. we will see. the cover jacket of one sounds like historical fiction about the gold rush?

Verified Purchase

December’s Box?

Jan 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Maxie F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I’ve had this box a few months now, this box I just received I think was Decembers box? It just showed up on January 6th. And it contained 2 sequels. Book 2 in a series and book 4 in another series. I’m fairly sure all other books I received were stand alones, but I cannot read this months books without purchasing or getting a hold of four other books first, and that’s not why I subscribed to this box. Not only was communication poor for whatever happened to Decembers box, I don’t know what to do with these books I already paid for but can’t read. My friend also purchased a subscription for December and has not heard anything yet.

Verified Purchase

May 16, 2017
Overall
Mary R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I decided to try out My Thrill Club. I used a coupon so got the box for $9.99. It was an Easter present for my fiancé and we just received it yesterday (I placed my order on April 10th and it was shipped May 8th). The shipping was on the slow side and the tracking was disappointing (was stuck in the same city for 3 days).
I was hoping for a blu-ray as I have seen reviews receive one but we got a DVD copy of Basic Instinct (the price tag of $4 was left on so that's a con because most people don't really want a price tag on a gift). We received two books I hadn't heard of before but I'm excited to check them out.
I like the idea of receiving two random books and a movie from your chosen genre (I selected Surprise Me) and am happy I didn't own any of the ones I received but the shipping was on the slower side (I got charged immediately for the box, despite it not being shipped for close to a month), the tracking wasn't great, and we received a DVD instead of a blu-ray with the price sticker still on.
I am happy I got to try it out for $9.99 and maybe in the future I will consider subscribing again.

Verified Purchase

Hopefully will improve.

Oct 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jim P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I got this subscription for my wife. The first two books came in very quickly; but even though we chose Horror it came with one horror boo and one phantasy book. Which she won't read.
Wikipedia defines horror as "Horror is a genre of speculative fiction which is intended to frighten, scare, or disgust."
Fantasy has been long considered to be a derivative of Science Fiction, Not horror.
Hopefully this was a mix-up. Because the crate is too expensive if they are not going to give you two books from the genre you chose. In fact, why even ask what genre you want if they are going to give you other genres that you didn't choose.

Verified Purchase

Great gift, but could be better

Oct 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Unique Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

The boxes were nicely packaged, the books came all hard cover with I absolutely love. I want a little more creative packaging or even a book mark or a note from the author for a special little umph. If I cant choose my books, I want atleast be surprised by the creativity that went into it; especially since its a horror subscription box. Other than that its good.

Verified Purchase

Lots of sequels

Jan 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joshua S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I love the idea, but I wish I didn’t get so many sequels (at least half of the books I’ve gotten are the second in a series or further). I know some sequels function as their own coherent stories, but I was definitely hoping for more standalone books.

Verified Purchase

Just Me

Mar 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jillian S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

I loved the books I received in the first box. However the email I received saying my account couldn’t be renewed made me nervous since I hadn’t received the first box yet. So I went in and double checked and it was all accurate. I deleted and updated payment information and was billed that day, for two more boxes. I have received two of three boxes and since they were for the same month (I think) I have a double copy of one book. I ultimately did cancel my subscription because of being charged 3 times in one month. Probably just a glitch but I’d rather be safe than sorry. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Verified Purchase

Just ok

Jun 05, 2018
Overall
Jasmine M.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 23 days

I ordered the "surprise" box and the books that were included were short stories from back in the early 1900's. Not what I would have picked out myself but it's a surprise, so it's ok. I have a hard time reading older stories with how they are worded... The code for the digital book, however, didn't work. I have emailed them and hopefully it will get sorted out.

Verified Purchase
My Thrill Club! said...Jun 06, 2018

Hi Jasmine,

I’m sorry your experience with us wasn’t 100% successful. Each month Jittery Joe tries to research and offer a variety of styles and topics and they aren’t always to everyone’s taste. Please keep in mind Joe is hundreds of years old and can’t go out into the sun so his entire existence centers around finding cool mystery, thriller and horror books, we hope next month will be right up your alley!
- Creepy Dan and Jittery Joe

Oct 18, 2018
Overall
Kimberly Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The first shipment was great and in my selected genre (horror); the second selection were not horror books--more thriller/fantasy. Also, it advertises 2 hardcovers and an e-copy, and I never received any e-copies. I'm due one more crate, so we'll see if they get the genre right.

Verified Purchase

same two books sent AGAIN

Oct 31, 2018
Overall
Nicole A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

I have liked many selections sent to me but after taking a break from the subscription and restarting it I was sent the same books that I had already gotten. Canceled the subscription and did not see a way of contacting for help without subscribing all over again and risking getting the books for a third time.

Verified Purchase
My Thrill Club! said...Nov 01, 2018

Hi Nicole,
I think you’ll love crime and mystery but please give our horror category another try at some point, our curator is a pretty sick puppy, I promise he will scare you…I work next to him, he scares me daily with his creepy looks.
Please reach out if we can do anything to be of service.

Missing one shipment

Jan 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
George T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I purchased for my mother who reads constantly. We did not receive th December shipment.

Verified Purchase

Nice bookmarks, not so good CS

Feb 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Loriann L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

My link for tracking never worked, I sent several emails to the box company... never once got a response.

Verified Purchase