Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as $32.50 / month

Once Upon a Book Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Great reading experience

Oct 06, 2020
Crystal
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Quality
Curation

I'd rate more at a 4.5 five if I could. I won't touch on shipping, because I ordered during Covid and well, it's a crazy time for shipping. Though I will say that it was nice that they kept everyone up to date on shipping fiascos as well as included a cute little freebie to say sorry for the wait. I will say that the other experiences were quite good. The book was a good book, one that I never happened across before or probably would have thought to pick up on my own but I was glad to read it. I also learned that nothing is more motivating to read a book than knowing 50 more pages leads to a present to unwrap! The gifts did fit the place they were in the book well, it did lend to some connection to the place, and one gift lead to this desire to recreate the moment. I will say that the items themselves are okay but I felt there was a bit of room for improvement for that. For instance one of my items arrived with tiny pieces loose in the box. I was able to glue them back on, but it's not something I'd feel I'd be using without knowing that it would be slowly falling apart. I think my favorite part of this book box, wasn't the gifts necessarily, but seeing really how much thought and care was placed into the experience itself. In the one I tried...

Verified Purchase

awesome book club

Sep 15, 2020
Becky C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

we love this subscription. somehow we got knocked off but signed up again.

Verified Purchase

Unique reading experience

May 27, 2020
Lisa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box for over a year and have discovered some amazing books along the way. I love that hints are given each month which allowed me to decide if I wanted to order or skip the box because I had a monthly subscription. I also ordered a Mother's Day box last year and it hadn't moved in shipping for over a month. I contacted the company and within 2 days another box was shipped out.

I have loved sharing the experience with friends and family and have recommended this box to many avid readers in my life. It is a unique way to immerse yourself in a book.

Verified Purchase

Good books, exciting experience

Nov 28, 2019
Kaiti T.
3 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Been subscribing to this for a few months now, and am always excited when the box comes. I'm an avid reader (subscribe to 4 book clubs, and read ~ 6 per month). The books are generally decent - I like that it exposes me to good books and writers I would not generally pick out myself. I like that most of them come with a signed bookplate, but would love it if the books themselves were signed, as other subscriptions do.

The quality of the items are hit and miss. I love the mugs (with quotes from the books) that have been included and adore the quote cards, when they're included. Much of the items are lower quality than i would purchase for myself, but that's to be expected to keep the subscription costs manageable. I have gotten good use from some of the smaller items (cooling cloths, pens, spoons, charging cables, etc). The jewelry items and journal have been a miss - generally cheap to mid quality, and not to personal taste (though generally consistent with the book). I would love to see more things like mugs/glass cups, candles, etc incorporated in when applicable to the story.

The customer service is great! There was an occasion where my box seemed to be missing an item. I emailed them what was included, and they confirmed an item was missing and sent the item.

Overall, I love the interactive experience and well thought out items this subscription provides,...

Verified Purchase

First box

Sep 17, 2018
Lorraine B.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Was a great experience but due to shipping cost being in UK would not think that worth it

Verified Purchase

December Box

Dec 30, 2016
Paige W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I absolutely love the idea and the experience behind all of this. The December book was amazing, I read the entire thing in one night because it was so up my alley and I was so excited to unwrap the gifts! That said, I would caution the curator on including artistic renderings such as the ones in this box. It's tricky because, as readers, we may imagine certain things one way, and thus be let down by the artist's own imaginings (particularly with the painting of the Red Haired Wanton-- not at all what I imagined and it actually kind of dampened my own vision and love for that part of the story). I enjoyed the leather bound carrier and the locket with the inscription on the back (though the pictures were on the wrong sides and didn't match the story's description of poses and placement) so I hope to see more and better gifts for the boxes to come. Truly though this is a wonderful experience and I am only being critical to try to be honest and helpful. I've subscribed to the next few boxes already and am excited!

Verified Purchase

Highlight of my month!

Sep 03, 2019
Shelbi A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box/subscription. I think for the price the items included are great. I have had some issues with items breaking or general overall quality, but I will add that the staff is always more than willing to replace items or so whatever they can in a timely matter to keep subscribers happy. I almost wish there was a "delux" subscription with higher quality gifts. All that being said, there's no way I would give up my monthly boxes. I look forward to it and enjoy every minute.

Verified Purchase

Different and fun

Mar 05, 2019
Yvonne B.
3 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I only tried this box twice, one was a monthly box and the other was a winter box. I really like that this company has done things differently, where you get a great book and at certain pages in the book you open a gift that corresponds to what's going on in the story. The items are QUALITY. It is really fun to open the gifts while reading and it brings a while new level to connecting to the story.
The winter box I received was spectacular. I think the price is a bit high for me personally to get the box very often, but the value of the box is well worth it.

Verified Purchase

Fun reading experience

Feb 01, 2019
Jennifer C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This is such a fun reading experience! The gifts are carefully chosen and always pair well with the story. It’s a bit too expensive for me to subscribe monthly so I appreciate the month-to-month option.

Verified Purchase

Sep 28, 2018
Skylar W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Once Upon A Book Club is one of the best book clubs that I have ever joined! Their attention to detail in pairing the books with the perfect gifts far surpasses any other book club experience I have ever had! I would recommend this club to anyone who loves to cuddle up with a book that they just cant put down. I look forward to recieving my monthly book box EVERY month!

Verified Purchase

Once Upon a Book Club

Sep 28, 2018
Rachel C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I have subscribed to Once Upon a Book Club on and off for 2 years. I have enjoyed the book selection and the accompanying gifts. Some of the gifts received have no use outside the reading experience. That would be my only criticism and area of improvement.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Reading Experience!

Sep 28, 2018
Jessica P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This was one of the first book boxes that I found last year and their boxes get better each time. I love that the items in the box are taken right from the books and matched as closely as possible in description. They even have items made specifically for their boxes to match the item in the book! If you want a fully immersive experience, this is definitely the box for you!

Verified Purchase

Books!

May 29, 2018
Kelly W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I am so happy with this box! I have enjoyed each book and that they try to pull me through the book with well placed gifts based on the story. Have I loved every gift? No. But lots of them! For me the books have made it worth it!

Verified Purchase

Great Idea

Sep 10, 2017
Jackie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

I received my first box and was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed all the book they selected and was intrigued when opening each gift. Although i finished the book in in watching the live facebook read along was still enjoyable. Im enjoying this subscription and look foward to my next bix.

Verified Purchase

Sep 10, 2017
Michellearcher
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

Love. I just love getting this box each month, I get the adult box and I got the young adult as a gift. I can't wait to get them to see the the new books they have in them, with the gift that go along with the books makes it so much fun to read. I love guessing what the gifts will be as I read long.

Verified Purchase

Mar 04, 2017
Joie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got a three-month subscription of this as a christmas present for my mom and BOY was she excited!! She just received the final box and she really enjoyed them all. Though she said that the gifts weren't quite her taste and also a bit cheap, she said that she absolutely loves feeling part of the story. The books were fun for her to read and she called me every time the box came to thank me and then again when she finished to let me know how much fun it was. This is a fantastic box to gift to a book-lover and totally worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Jun 29, 2017
Shauna C.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

What I love about this box: it provides incentives to keep reading the book, because you want to know what is in the little "presents", but you can't find out until you reach the corresponding page. I really like that motivation. However, the books are often not ones that I would choose. That can be useful, since one should try to expand their exposure. But it also can make it difficult to want to persevere to the end. Also, although I love the reinforcement of the corresponding trinkets and the immersive experience they create, when the book is finished, I am left with things for which I need often need to find space and a use or that will just go into the closet. Still, for the fact that there is an immersive incentive to both finish the book and reach milestones within it, I do recommend trying this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Cool

Mar 12, 2017
Shauna C.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I haven't gotten into the meat of this box because I haven't had a chance to start reading my first book. But I really like the idea of this box. I don't know that the stuff will be tremendously useful to me, but I am hoping it will encourage me to do the reading with these incentives spread throughout the book. The box did arrive damaged.

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun

May 28, 2018
Gabrielle M.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This is a really great idea, and I loved receiving the crate for a few months, as I was treating myself, I chose to discontinue my crate but I may very well try it again in the future. Some of the gifts seemed kinda chintzy and others seem to be of very good quality. I loved the books that were included and the process of opening gifts along the way was really fun. I love the cards and bookie quotes that are added to the box.

Verified Purchase

Sep 10, 2017
Heather B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Great read and loved the gifts. It wasn't a book I would normally read but I enjoyed it and had fun opening gifts and guessing what they were before doing so. Shipping is kind of high bit don't think much can be done about that.

Verified Purchase

Great Idea

Feb 21, 2017
Caitlyn C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really liked the idea for this box. I tried it and was very impressed by the thought and time that goes into these. I did end up canceling after 2 months, but that was only because the books aren't the genre I like to read. I'm hoping in the future they'll have options for the type of book. I would definitely resubscribe!

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription box

Jan 27, 2019
Chaima B.
1 Review
Overall

I always watch unboxings of it on YouTube but I've never actually got one because I live in Africa and the shipping costs a fortune !! But nonetheless I love this box and the reading ambiance it creates with all the great books it represents to the reader and the little gifts that make reading 100 times more enjoyable !!

Simply amazing

Sep 28, 2018