Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!
364 reviews

Plans as low as

$47.50/ month

Buying Options

Book Club Box (Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review
364

Over All OUATBkClub

May 27, 2020
Margaret O.
1 Review
3 Pictures
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m 64 and my daughter convinced me to join. She gets YA and I get Adult, then we switch the books. We have our own mother/daughter book review and a journal we write it. Because of OUATBkC I have read more, different genres I never would have chosen for myself; that because of you, I found totally inspiring. During this stay at home time; regardless of shipping delays, I’m reading more. Discussing more with my daughter (whose 29) and keeping ahead of her in our reading goal for the year. Thank you for a great program, great gifts...oh if they are not for this old lady they go to my daughter! Lol thank you for something new, something bright and a wonderful adventure each box!!

Verified Purchase

Amazing Once Upon a Book Club

May 27, 2020
Mitzi V.
1 Review
1 Picture
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love Once Upon a Book Club boxes. Each month offers a well-written book with a collection of gifts that bring the words on the pages to life. My collection is growing and I have not disliked one of the books. The stories range in topics so the reader will not get bored month after month. I even had to purchased new book shelves. I love the boxes!

Verified Purchase

The most wonderful gift!

Feb 26, 2019
Michele D.
28 Reviews
40 Pictures
53 Helpful Votes
Overall

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

Such a fun and immersive experience! !

May 19, 2021
Rebecca J.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you love to read and love surprises, this is the best box! In each box, you get several gifts, a book mark, book, guide and quote card. Sometimes there are also other surprises like: autographs, digital gifts or stickers. You are alerted to open a gift with a sticky note on the appropriate corresponding page.
This is such a great idea, especially if you are reading along with a family member (I read most of mine with my son).
You also can choose between adult and young adult boxes.
Pics are from 3 different, random, recent boxes

Brings the Book to Life

May 18, 2021
Monique B.
2 Reviews
4 Pictures
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OUABC is such a fun subscription box because they really bring the stories to life. As you’re reading, you’ll find post it’s in the book referring to a gift to open. The gifts truly bring the story to life and perfectly match what’s happening in the story. For example-the main character might have gotten a bracelet from her best friend in the story. And then you get that bracelet as a gift! It’s so fun because it’s an immersive experience.

Verified Purchase

OUABC -experience the book not just read

May 19, 2021
Megan C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Once upon a book club has been my favorite book box subscription after trying a few of them during covid. It creates an experience when you read the book with quality, usable gifts that relate to the story. I’ve been a subscriber for almost a year now and I’ve gotten both the adult and young adult boxes. I have enjoyed every book that I received, there are many gifts that i continue to use. All books are new releases so you’ll never get a book that you’ve already read. They do a great job of selecting different styles of books every month although they typically are fiction or women’s fiction. I’ve not felt it be repetitive with book ideas or gifts. I have also purchased most of their specialty boxes- the advent box (12 days of stories and bookish gifts around holiday time- soooo fun), Halloween, Valentines and the classic box. Sometimes shipping can be delayed due to book release issues or gift shipping delays but it’s only an occasional occurrence. When you first sign up it might take awhile to get your first box due to order timing and when the box actually ships (later in the month) but be patient- it’s worth the wait!!

Verified Purchase

Gotta Get Yourself One, Both, or More!

May 19, 2021
Toni C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I stumbled on Once Upon a Bookclub not too long ago but didn’t subscribe until the Bridgerton box came out. At that point, I went whole hog and subscribed to both the Adult and Young Adult boxes. The gifts associated with each book are quality, and so much fun to open as you read. It’s quickly become my favorite subscription box I get.
Get yourself one today!

Verified Purchase

Very Enjoyable Book Club

Apr 04, 2021
Molly B.
6 Reviews
8 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I wasn't really sure after reading some reviews if I would like this subscription. However, the book is fabulous, at first i thought I wouldn't like it, but oh my gosh, its wonderful, and the items are not dime store items. I dont want to ruin it for anyone so I havent opened the boxes to show the items, lets just say they fit the story and it helps to draw you in. This is not a book I would typically buy and so im glad its widening my horizons on a different style book! Please give it a try..you will like it!
Cant wait till next months book arrives!

Verified Purchase

Amazing experience

Mar 18, 2021
Kylie C.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is amazing ❤️❤️❤️

Verified Purchase

Reading Enhanced.

May 19, 2021
Darrie D.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Once Upon a Book Club is a reader’s delight. The concept of this book box is so unique, it combines your love of reading with the joy opening presents. Every month OUaBC sends you a brand new novel along with wrapped, numbered gifts that you open when you get to the corresponding page. Gifts can be anything from scarves to bath salts, key chains to concept art, and even other books. What makes these gifts so unique in my opinion is that each gift is directly related to the passage of the book that it goes with which enhances your reading experience. I have given OUaBC as gifts and have turned on several friends and co-workers to this wonderful company. 11 books in and 11 new authors to love.

Verified Purchase

March YA box

May 26, 2020
Samantha R.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I finally splurged on the March YA box and I absolutely loved it. It's such a thrilling experience to open gifts that are relevant to the story!

Subscribe to this Book Box!!!

May 18, 2021
Rachel K.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This my absolute favorite subscription box! It is one I don't ever see myself canceling. The staff are amazing and provide the best customer service there is! Such an great experience each month!

Love it!

May 19, 2021
Astrid P.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the items, I love how they tie in with the reading and it makes it a unique experience for the reader

Unprofessional On Facebook

Jan 23, 2019
Jamie H.
2 Reviews
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I am highly disappointed in how unprofessional they were on the facebook business page. Instead of addressing the concern, they turned off the comments after stating that they only want positive comments on that page. That is sad considering any business should welcome honest feedback and address the issue in a respectful manner. I have unsubscribed and will NEVER go back. Disrespectful and rude-

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jan 24, 2019

Hi Jamie! I am so sorry if you felt that we were disrespectful or rude in our Facebook group. We are always accepting and open to all feedback anyone has regarding our boxes, however, we do ask that negative feedback not be posted on our social media publicly and instead is messaged to us privately either via email or private message on Facebook to our business page so we can best resolve the situation! I sincerely apologize if you felt that we were rude or disrespectful in anyway, and truly do appreciate your feedback regarding our boxes.

Just ok, not worth the price.

Mar 06, 2017
Amy S.
1 Review
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I purchased a 3 month subscription because I was just so excited by the concept of this box. After receiving 3 boxes now, all I can say is it is a huge disappointment. The books themselves are ok, I have read all 3 but none of them were anything that really grabbed me. The included items are often cheap/poorly made or things that I would never use (cheap costume jewelry, an old fashioned nurses apron and a pack of trident gum) . I really wanted to like this box, but it just didn't meet my expectations.

Verified Purchase

Blah

Dec 21, 2016
Cindy C.
1 Review
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

The idea is great. When you reach a certain number of pages, you open a gift that is related to the novel. However, it's poorly executed. The gifts are lame!! In the November box, I received a pack of gum and an instagram photo of the " character" in the novel. The rest of the other gifts were not any better. Will not be renewing unless the gifts got better.

Verified Purchase

First box was a success!

Aug 01, 2020
Gay B.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first month with Once Upon a Book Club was a success. The book was a good choice. Reading till you get to the point where you open a gift was so much fun. I thought the gifts really enhanced the reading of the book. I can't wait to get my next one!

Verified Purchase

Lost apothecary

May 19, 2021
Susan E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve received 5 books from Once Upon a Book Club. I absolutely love each and every one of the books and the surprise that come with the different pages. My daughter and also love the books so after reading each book we make sure we put the surprises back what they came in.
Thank you Once Upon a Book Club,
A very happy customer ,
Susan Elliot
sje104@aol

Verified Purchase

Love It!

May 19, 2021
Beth F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my favorite subscription! The books have always been good, the gifts make it so fun! I did have a broken gift in one box, they quickly answered my email and replaced the gift. This is such a great concept and great company!

Verified Purchase

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

May 19, 2021
Brandi B.
5 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Such a fun subscription box! Each month you get a newly released book with sticky notes placed periodically throughout the pages. Usually 3-4 of them. Each sticky note instructs you to open the gift that correlates with that page. For example, a necklace might be mentioned on page 100 in the story, there will be a sticky note on that page telling you to open the gift, you then open it and it looks exactly like the necklace mentioned in the book! It really brings the story to life and definitely gets one excited about reading!

Verified Purchase

My favorite book box!

May 19, 2021
Elizabeth P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my favorite subscription box! I find the books incredibly engaging and very frequently are books I would have never picked up myself. I love the variety of the books and genres and the gifts are so fun to make the story come to life. This is a must-subscribe for me and I also gift it to my family and friends!

Verified Purchase

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

May 19, 2021
Angela S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have done about 7-8 boxes now and I recommend OUABC to EVERYONE that reads! I love that it exposes me to new authors and genres that I would never have purchased otherwise. The gifts are always a surprise and help bring the stories to life. The only downside is that I have read every book within two days (aside from David Copperfield!) so I have to wait nearly a full month to get my next box!!! The Customer Service is TOP NOTCH and are always quick to respond to emails. The OUABC subscription is one of the best gifts I have ever received.

Verified Purchase

Helping Books Come Alive

May 19, 2021
Meranda T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have had so much fun with this box. I love the clues for the upcoming book for both the Young Adult and Adult novel boxes. I've gotten a few from each and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I feel the items are well thought out and go with the book. I don't necessarily need the items but I love how the book comes alive when I come to a page with a post-it that says "Open your gift". I have fun trying to guess what I'll be getting in the gift and they are always packaged in a fun way. Beautiful bags, boxes, and wrapping paper if needed. So much fun!

Verified Purchase

Fun gift!

May 19, 2021
Alyssa D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Once Upon A Book Club is a great way to get people to enjoy reading! Each box comes with at least one high quality item that enhances the story and a couple more gifts that directly correspond to a phrase in the book. It's super fun. I do think it pushes me to read faster and I don't find as much joy in the books themselves as I do when I'm reading my own picks, but it introduces me to new genres I never would have found on my own. All the books I've gotten so far have been pretty good. Too much swearing and not any chastity, so that bothers me, but most are fine with that. I've had to buy secondhand so I can get the words crossed out. Overall, it's super fun and I love the experience!

Verified Purchase

The Queen Book Box

May 19, 2021
Nicki W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

OUABC treats every customer as if they are VIP. You have a question you can ask them on any social media site they host and they’ll respond quickly. The gifts are paired perfectly with each book. You can see the amount of work and effort they put into making sure their product is top of the line.

Verified Purchase