Peruse - Mystery/Suspense Club

by Peruse Book Club
26
Relax, escape, and immerse yourself into the best new releases every month!

Plans as low as

$43.75/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (48)

  1. Reviews for this product (26)
  2. Reviews for this seller (22)

Bought as gift, and she’s gonna lovee it

Dec 10, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
June S.
1 Review
2 Pictures
5 Helpful

Seller is very responsive and was able to accommodate my request to get a gift to my sister in time! The packaging was so pretty and I know she’s going to love the items that came with the box. I’m going to order one for myself too so we can discuss together over cocktails 🍸 🍹

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 23, 2020

Yay! So glad we could offer you a way to connect with your sister! Cheers :)

Top notch subscription, great for a gift

Sep 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michele D.
36 Reviews
50 Pictures
59 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This is a great book subscription that I am thoroughly enjoying. I've had the pleasure of receiving 6 of their boxes so far. And, am also reading the books featured in the other boxes I did not get each month. Their book selection is top notch in all categories, but I think the mystery genre has been my favorite overall. They always choose creative and meaningful gifts to coordinate with the story. They also have good customer service. I highly recommend this box.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We always try to include books that our customers can be excited about each month. We are so glad that you are a fan!

High-Quality Box!

Nov 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terry W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture

I'm so excited about this box! All of the items that I received in my first Literary Fiction box were so much fun! I got a good quality manicure set, a really cool bluetooth speaker, and the cutest little set of chocolates! Really cool that the book is signed by the author too :) Very happy with my purchase so far, I hope my next boxes are this cool too!

Fun book club

Oct 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Head, S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 17 days

Wonderful and fun. I love the mystery book and treats. Will definitely be excited each month for new box

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying your subscription at Peruse!

Perfect box

Oct 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emma S.
1 Review

I keep buying this as gifts for everyone! Such a cool company, every item I’ve gotten has been high quality and the titles they include are great!
I like their direct site bc you can order single boxes and holiday ones too, but like the gift option here!

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy that you are a fan of our subscription box! We're happy to announce this holiday season we are offering gift wrapping for all of your gifting needs :)

Perfect Curation

Sep 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nancy K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

Every month I'm so thrilled to receive my Peruse box!
Each book has been so much fun, and they always announce the title prior to shipping so the one time I wanted to skip there was no issue doing that.
The items seem to be supplied by small businesses and you can tell that care went into the selection.
I also love their single purchase boxes at their site. Hope that they stick around.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy you look forward to Peruse each month! We always strive to include titles and curated goods that customers are excited about!

Great Quality!

Oct 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tatiana M.
2 Reviews

Just got the Halloween Horror box in the mail! I'm a huge fan of The Shining, and this box is so cool! I loved the themed items, the bath bomb smelled amazing and loved that it had a crystal inside!! and the chocolates were cute and delicious. My favorite part was the super cool copy of the book, I have been searching for a hardcover and can never find one. Great box in terms of quality!

Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you for your review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Halloween box :)

Peruse Books

Jul 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah W.
2 Reviews

I found Peruse through insta a few months ago, and I have been so happy with my subscription. They always pick the best books and started including signed book plates from some big authors lately too!!
I think they must be new because they recently got new packaging that's really cute. The items they include have been really fun and relevant. Definitely not the dollar store junk I've received in other boxes. Although I'm not a big dark chocolate person, and I've received that twice. Chocolates were gorgeous though.
I'm in the Mystery club for reference, but have switched one shipment to receive the fiction club too.

Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so glad that you're a fan of Peruse! We always strive to include titles and curated items that customers will be excited about.
We have made an effort to include more variety of chocolate - our recent shipments contained some beautiful milk chocolates that we hope you enjoyed!

Curation is 100

Feb 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mara W.
1 Review
5 Helpful

I received the Mystery/Suspense Club as a gift from my bff and loved it so much I just signed up for the Fiction Club too! The stuff in my first Mystery Box was so cute! I loved the necklace, which felt like a good quality and I'll actually wear. And the evidence notebook was freaking adorable, plus lined with cute paper. The chess set is too cute, I love tiny things!! It'll be perfect for our upcoming overseas flight in summer, god willing.
I can't wait to see what's in store with the Fiction Club box! Customer service was also great! She was so sweet when I reached out to ask a few questions to figure out which club to subscribe to.

Verified Purchase

Love My Box!

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hannah S.
1 Review
8 Helpful

Everything in my box was very high quality. The candle smelled AMAZING and the drinks were so fun to make. Another friend of mine got the box as well and it’s been a good way to connect during this time of isolation! Would also make the perfect Christmas gift!

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 10, 2020

Hi Hannah,
We're so glad that you are both enjoying your book club subscriptions!
- Peruse

Love it!

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily B.
1 Review
8 Helpful

I just received my Peruse box and it's so much fun! I'm loving the book so far, and all the items themed off of the book are so cute, and are things I'll actually use, which I love. The drink recipes were really fun, and a cute way to connect with the book.
Can't wait for my next box!

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 03, 2020

Hi Emily,
Thanks so much for joining the club! We're so glad you love your Mystery/Suspense Club box!
-Peruse

Great box

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pamela B.
42 Reviews
1 Picture
30 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Really happy with my first box, I ordered one after seeing the book and spoilers. I would continue to subscribe but I’m seeing all books I’ve read already! I prefer new releases.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Jan 19, 2021

Hi Pamela!
We're so glad that you enjoyed your first box! Please feel free to reach out if you're curious about upcoming picks, or follow us on Instagram!
We hope to see you back again soon :)
- Peruse

Ruth is the next Agatha

Jan 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cynthia D.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I bought this as a gift. The person loved the box ( its called a hamper in other countries). The shipping was a little pricey, but Ruth Ware is a favorite of mine. I should have sent a gift note in the box as the recipient wasn't sure who sent it to her.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Jan 13, 2021

Hi Cynthia,
We're so glad that they loved their "hamper"!
For gift subscriptions - if you include their email address, recipients will receive an email with your gift message, what they received, and who it is from.
Thank you!
- Peruse

Good Gift Idea

Dec 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
E S.
1 Review
4 Helpful

I subscribed to the mystery club and got gift memberships for my mom and aunt for Christmas. It’s such a cute way to connect since we all love reading. I like the added discussion questions and recipes to add a fun touch. Can’t wait for our mini book club ❤️

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Dec 23, 2020

We're so glad you are loving the book club! Happy reading :)

Finlay Donovan Box

Apr 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hannah C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days

I ordered a copy of the Finlay Donovan Mystery box for my friend for her birthday and she was so excited! She sent me pictures of all of the fun stuff that was included, and I was a little jealous!! She was wearing the sunglasses and scarf when we went out to lunch the other day, so it seems like the items they include are definitely usable and fun :)

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you for your review! We're glad that she enjoyed the incredibly fun Finlay Donovan is Killing It!

Multi-sensory treat

Apr 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dhara M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

High-quality book and accompanying surprise items (based on Paris, books and library in this books... all loves of mine). Very hip tote bag and great smelling candle; creative Paris-themed bookmarks. Everything arrived timely and in perfect condition. I can't wait to try the drink recipe, as well.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy that you enjoyed your fiction box! We always try to provide high-quality titles and curated goods that members will have use for!

Great box!

Mar 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Britt G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Fun idea - reading books I wouldn't have necessarily picked.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you're enjoying your shipments :)

Love this box!

Mar 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Catharine W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Love this box! The books are great (I subscribed to the mystery version) and the accompanying trinkets are fun and relevant. Can't rave enough.

Verified Purchase

Helpful

Dec 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen P.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful

The owner has been so helpful and responsive in helping me pick out the best club for my sister, and in ensuring that the box can arrive by Christmas! I'm super appreciative and know that my sister will love it.

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 23, 2020

I'm glad we were able to help! Happy reading :)

Lots of fun

Dec 02, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carrie T.
1 Review
2 Helpful

This subscription box has been super fun! I love how everything in the box ties back to the book. I haven't finished the book yet but so far it's great. I look forward to having something new to read every month without having to go out and pick it out myself :)

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 10, 2020

Hi Carrie,
We're glad that you are enjoying your book club subscription! We hope you love the book as much as we did :)
- Peruse

Hoping it will improve

Jan 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Meredith D.
17 Reviews
21 Helpful
Subscribed for 18 days

I want to give this box another chance. So I’m gonna try it again for another month and I may or may not retract this.
This month my experience was that of disappointment. Unfortunately, I had already read the book. Usually book boxes have new releases so people are less likely to have read them. And then there were three additional little items. I did like the notebook that said evidence on it. That’s very practical and useful and very cute. But then there was this incredibly miniature pocket chess game that would’ve been frustrating for anyone to actually use. So I gave that to our local Goodwill along with a really thick compass pendant that I wasn’t into . So I just realized I paid 54+ dollars for a notebook that says evidence on it. Better luck next time for me. And hey a good chocolate bar is always a welcome addition if nothing else.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Jan 29, 2021

Hi Meredith,
We're sorry that you were disappointed by your first box. It sounds like you're an avid reader, so please feel free to reach out to us prior to shipment if you would like to make sure you haven't read the upcoming title!
Thank you,
-Peruse

Best Book Box!!

Apr 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Barbara M.
2 Reviews

I've tried a few book boxes before, and this one is by far my favorite. The boxes I've received have all had hard cover copies of books that I've been very excited about. The items in comparison with other clubs seem to be a better quality too, and they aren't just random junk that ties, it's actually stuff that I'd want to use. Customer service was also great when I contacted them regarding my tracking number (which ended up being an issue with the post office :( ) and they responded within an hour of my message being sent. Overall very happy :)

Peruse

Mar 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffany R.
1 Review

Very happy with my subscription! High quality and useful items, and so far love the book pics!

Book Box Lover

Feb 17, 2021
Overall
Sharine T.
1 Review

I got my first box in the mail recently and was pleasantly surprised! I am loving the unique book choice, and the items in my box were so much fun.
I've subscribed to multiple subscription book boxes, and I think this one has been my favorite due to the small touches.

Valentine's Box

Feb 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen O.
1 Review

I got the Valentine's box from their site for my sister for Valentine's day. It came and is so beautifully packaged, and all of the items were so much fun and such good quality. I actually ended up keeping it for myself :o
I couldn't help it, the Anecdote candle was just so fun and smelled amazing! And the copy of Pride and Prejudice is really beautiful.
Thinking about joining the YA club next :)

Peruse Book Club said...Feb 04, 2021

Hi Karen!
We're so happy that you loved the Valentine's box. Treating yourself is important! <3
We hope to see you again soon!
- Peruse.