Peruse - Mystery/Suspense Club

Peruse - Mystery/Suspense Club

by Peruse Book Club
Relax, escape, and immerse yourself into the best new releases every month!

Plans as low as

$52.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (65)

  1. Reviews for this product (40)
  2. Reviews for this seller (25)

Ok box. Terrible at communicating.

Dec 20, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
April G.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This subscription is a gift, and have already tried a different book subscription. This one has new items... yet, doesn't seem like much thought was put into... it was ok though. hopefully boxes throughout the year are better, to feel like it's worth the money.
Low scores on shipping and such because I tried several times to reach out to the seller with no avail. I ordered the subscription mid Oct. Didn't recieve the first box until dec. Last week. And the seller never once responded to the multiple attempts to reach them. Even seemed that Cratejoy tried to make 2nd attempts to communicate with my original emails. I was just relieved that my recipient recieved the subscription box at all. I hope the shipments going forward are prompt.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful gift subscription!

Oct 06, 2022
Overall
Carla V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I gifted this to my MIL for mothers day. Wonderful company to work with! Every box came on time and was full of interesting goodies. The book selection was great and my MIL loved them all. Would definately order again.

Verified Purchase

DO not order October 2022

Nov 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stacey M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Please read if considering ordering! I ordered a 6 month subscription as a gift in July. It was a bit of a struggle in both August and September to get an appropriate timeline on delivery, but after staying persistent the first two boxes were delivered and pleased with product. As of October Cratejoy nor I can get any communication from the seller. So going to assume they are no longer shipping anything. So far Cratejoy service has been very helpful and going to get me a refund but this is extremely disappointing and certainly do not want anyone else to be stuck in a similar situation.

Verified Purchase

Best gift

Aug 29, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen H.
1 Review

Received as a birthday gift. It was beyond all my expectations. Looking forward to my next crate.

Disappointing customer service

Oct 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Steve J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Ordered over a month ago as a gift for someone special. Order status still says "order being prepared". Contacted the supplier for an update on when it will be shipped- no reply.

Verified Purchase

Good Box- bad crate joy service

Jul 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

I canceled because I asked to skip a box and it wasn't skipped and I was charged, this all occurred after I asked for it to cancel. It's a good box, my issue lies with cratejoy not Peruse.

Verified Purchase

3 month subscription

Jun 26, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jodi R.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

Nice box! The books are all recent best sellers and/or by best selling authors. Quality curation as well, bathbombs, gourmet chocolate, candles, etc. If you like mysteries this is the box for you!

Verified Purchase

The Night Shift

Jun 25, 2022
Overall
Silvia P.
1 Review

I received my box for The Night Shift and I'm so excited. I like that all of the items are actually useful and not just themed junk.
Spoiler - There was a really fun movie trivia game that we actually played at our last game night!
Can't wait to see what's next

Peruse package

Jul 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carol K.
1 Review

Good selection

The worst

Jun 25, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sean D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Horrible. Ordered on May 6th. Today is June 25th and I still haven’t received my order. They are slow or non existent on answering emails. One of the worst experiences I’ve ever had. Oh, and yes they took my money. Don’t do it.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Jun 25, 2022

I'm sorry you're dissatisfied with the service that you received. We are a very small company, so I apologize that sometimes responses can take a few days.
We did respond to your multiple requests for a shipping status.
This month we were unfortunately affected by supply chain delays, and items from one manufacturer were significantly delayed. I had emailed a link to our Shipping Updates page which explains delays and informs of our expected ship date. Customers can view this page at their convenience for up to date information on box status. I would also like to note that we did offer a refund in response to your initial inquiry which we were not taken up on. When a separate request was received at a...

One Italian summer

Apr 20, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexa P.
1 Review

I received the One Italian Summer box as a gift and omg!! I’m obsessed!
The items are so much fun, the soap smells incredible, the apron is so cute and ties in well, and I’ve been wearing the sunnies daily.
I can’t wait to see what’s in the next box!!

High-Quality Box!

Nov 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terry W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful

I'm so excited about this box! All of the items that I received in my first Literary Fiction box were so much fun! I got a good quality manicure set, a really cool bluetooth speaker, and the cutest little set of chocolates! Really cool that the book is signed by the author too :) Very happy with my purchase so far, I hope my next boxes are this cool too!

Top notch subscription, great for a gift

Sep 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michele D.
30 Reviews
47 Pictures
58 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This is a great book subscription that I am thoroughly enjoying. I've had the pleasure of receiving 6 of their boxes so far. And, am also reading the books featured in the other boxes I did not get each month. Their book selection is top notch in all categories, but I think the mystery genre has been my favorite overall. They always choose creative and meaningful gifts to coordinate with the story. They also have good customer service. I highly recommend this box.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We always try to include books that our customers can be excited about each month. We are so glad that you are a fan!

Latest installment

Mar 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristen M.
1 Review

Fun to receive!

Dishonest Seller

Mar 28, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paula B.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

I would say that the box was way overpriced for what I received, but there is another more important factor that makes it far below acceptable. Dishonesty. I can put up with a lot, especially for small business owners. But dishonesty is unacceptable.
- I placed a first-time order on 2/16/22
- a shipping label was reportedly created on 3/9/22
- on 3/14/22 I was notified of a renewal for this seller. I sent an email to the seller telling her I was confused because I hadn't received my first box yet. I received a reply back that "boxes were dropped off with our mail carrier (USPS) and is on the way".
- eight days after this was reportedly dropped off at the USPS, there were zero movements according to tracking info online. I canceled this crate immediately.
- After I contacted Customer Service (which was PHENOMENAL, btw - shout out to Chelsea), my box was actually accepted by the post office in LA on 3/18/22 and delivered to me in Illinois on 3/24/22.
Shame on you, Emma. Why lie about it? I would have been completely understanding if you had told me that you were running behind and provided an estimate of when I would actually receive the package.
I hate giving this kind of review. But I despise people who are dishonest even more.
-

Verified Purchase

Peruse book club

Jan 29, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Debbie I.
1 Review
1 Helpful

The candy, book and bath salts are great; however, the bracelet cheapened the box

Fun book club

Oct 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Head, S.
4 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 17 days

Wonderful and fun. I love the mystery book and treats. Will definitely be excited each month for new box

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying your subscription at Peruse!

Great Quality!

Oct 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tatiana M.
2 Reviews

Just got the Halloween Horror box in the mail! I'm a huge fan of The Shining, and this box is so cool! I loved the themed items, the bath bomb smelled amazing and loved that it had a crystal inside!! and the chocolates were cute and delicious. My favorite part was the super cool copy of the book, I have been searching for a hardcover and can never find one. Great box in terms of quality!

Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you for your review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Halloween box :)

Perfect box

Oct 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emma S.
1 Review

I keep buying this as gifts for everyone! Such a cool company, every item I’ve gotten has been high quality and the titles they include are great!
I like their direct site bc you can order single boxes and holiday ones too, but like the gift option here!

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy that you are a fan of our subscription box! We're happy to announce this holiday season we are offering gift wrapping for all of your gifting needs :)

Perfect Curation

Sep 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nancy K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

Every month I'm so thrilled to receive my Peruse box!
Each book has been so much fun, and they always announce the title prior to shipping so the one time I wanted to skip there was no issue doing that.
The items seem to be supplied by small businesses and you can tell that care went into the selection.
I also love their single purchase boxes at their site. Hope that they stick around.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy you look forward to Peruse each month! We always strive to include titles and curated goods that customers are excited about!

Bought as gift, and she’s gonna lovee it

Dec 10, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
June S.
1 Review
2 Pictures
5 Helpful

Seller is very responsive and was able to accommodate my request to get a gift to my sister in time! The packaging was so pretty and I know she’s going to love the items that came with the box. I’m going to order one for myself too so we can discuss together over cocktails 🍸 🍹

Peruse Book Club said...Dec 23, 2020

Yay! So glad we could offer you a way to connect with your sister! Cheers :)

Peruse Books

Jul 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah W.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful

I found Peruse through insta a few months ago, and I have been so happy with my subscription. They always pick the best books and started including signed book plates from some big authors lately too!!
I think they must be new because they recently got new packaging that's really cute. The items they include have been really fun and relevant. Definitely not the dollar store junk I've received in other boxes. Although I'm not a big dark chocolate person, and I've received that twice. Chocolates were gorgeous though.
I'm in the Mystery club for reference, but have switched one shipment to receive the fiction club too.

Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so glad that you're a fan of Peruse! We always strive to include titles and curated items that customers will be excited about.
We have made an effort to include more variety of chocolate - our recent shipments contained some beautiful milk chocolates that we hope you enjoyed!

Finlay Donovan Box

Apr 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hannah C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days

I ordered a copy of the Finlay Donovan Mystery box for my friend for her birthday and she was so excited! She sent me pictures of all of the fun stuff that was included, and I was a little jealous!! She was wearing the sunglasses and scarf when we went out to lunch the other day, so it seems like the items they include are definitely usable and fun :)

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

Thank you for your review! We're glad that she enjoyed the incredibly fun Finlay Donovan is Killing It!

Best Book Box!!

Apr 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Barbara M.
2 Reviews

I've tried a few book boxes before, and this one is by far my favorite. The boxes I've received have all had hard cover copies of books that I've been very excited about. The items in comparison with other clubs seem to be a better quality too, and they aren't just random junk that ties, it's actually stuff that I'd want to use. Customer service was also great when I contacted them regarding my tracking number (which ended up being an issue with the post office :( ) and they responded within an hour of my message being sent. Overall very happy :)

Multi-sensory treat

Apr 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dhara M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

High-quality book and accompanying surprise items (based on Paris, books and library in this books... all loves of mine). Very hip tote bag and great smelling candle; creative Paris-themed bookmarks. Everything arrived timely and in perfect condition. I can't wait to try the drink recipe, as well.

Verified Purchase
Peruse Book Club said...Nov 01, 2021

We're so happy that you enjoyed your fiction box! We always try to provide high-quality titles and curated goods that members will have use for!

Customers who bought this also bought...