Comma Vintage: Quarterly

by Comma Vintage
43
The Vintage Menswear Subscription Service

Plans as low as

$55.00/ quarter

Buying Options

Reviews (43)

Best box I have ever subscribed to

Apr 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dan N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years

The Comma Vintage box has been the longest recurring box subscription I have ever had (over 3 years now). I have gotten everything from warm legit flannels to American made semi-formal footwear to (my personal favorite) a super warm sheep skin lined winter coat. People often ask me where I got my clothing items. Whenever there has been a slight issue (mainly sizing issues) the Comma team is more than happy to remedy the issue. After refilling the subscription, it takes a few weeks to receive my items, but this is a fact I am happy about because they always choose the ideal items for me. Plus they always provide a note describing the items they sent which, to me, shows their dedication to curating a wonderful experience for me.
As a 30+ year old man living a pretty busy life, I don't always have the time I need to scour through secondhand shops for unique items. Even more, the vintage shops in my city are incredibly expensive for the same/ less quality items. 100% recommend comma every time.

Verified Purchase

Absolutely in love with Comma Vintage!

Jun 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paul L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Just received my first box, and wow...I absolutely love it! Michael sends over a detailed questionnaire that covers everything from sizing to your interests and hobbies so that the contents of the box fits exactly to what you might be looking for. I'm not very familiar with the world of vintage, so I didn't know what to expect or even what I wanted, but happy to say that he has a happy customer based on this first box. Even if it's something you're remotely interested, I would encourage you to give it a go! Generally with subscription boxes, I've always felt a little bit of disappointment that I either didn't get what I want or overpaid for what I received, but can safely report that there's zero buyer's remorse :)

Verified Purchase

Great Subscription!

Aug 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I saw this subscription and had to try it, so glad I did. Even though I’m female, the items I’ve received have been absolutely perfect. There is always a great description of the items and I especially appreciate the hand written note. Today I got a bonus item and it was a long sleeve pearl snap!

Verified Purchase

Never received. No Customer Support

Nov 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tessa C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I never received the box and ordered over a month ago. I've been trying to contact the owner or anyone about the whereabouts of or any update and I've received radio silence. It's a great idea. But the customer service should be better. Waste of money. I'd love a refund please. Thanks.

Verified Purchase
Comma Vintage said...Nov 23, 2021

Hi Tessa,
Thank you for your review, and for alerting us to problems behind the scenes on our end. Clearly, we've got some operational difficulties resulting in missed communications. Looking over this with the team, everyone thought it was being handled by someone else. That's on us.
But that's ultimately irrelevant to the fact that you paid money and didn't receive a product in a timely manner. Per your review, I've sent the refund.
If you'd still like to receive the order, I'd be happy to make sure you get it, free of charge. If you ultimately want to continue, we'd be glad to have you.
My sincere apologies again,
Mike, CEO and Founder

Comma Vintage >> Barrel of Monkeys

Jun 10, 2018
Overall
Eric G.
1 Review
2 Helpful

I bought a subscription on impulse based on a Facebook ad and can say I have no regrets. My first box included a broken, 1960s era hand-winding watch -- that I love! I noted in my survey that I enjoy tinkering with watches. Mike obviously paid attention and delivered a fun box. I wear everything else he sent regularly. Really looking forward to my next shipment as I get the watch operational again.

My 2 cents.

Mar 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tzvi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

So far got 2 boxes. Love the stuff. Very unique. Everything fits well. Little too much flannel but loving everything else. Really nice finds. 👌 no more flannel please. Lol looking forward to my next box. Thanks again for the amazing customer support.

Verified Purchase

Never received

Oct 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Never got my box. Ordered for Father’s Day June 2021. Contacted customer service and no news….

Verified Purchase
Comma Vintage said...Oct 22, 2021

Hi Rebecca,
I apologize for this mixup. According to our records, we have not received a completed customer survey for the recipient, or one that we're able to coordinate with your customer profile. As a result, we have been unable to ship the order.
Ultimately, of course, we should have followed up about this after a reasonable amount of time, and not let the order sit unfulfilled.
Given the delay here, I have gone ahead and issued a full refund. Please reach out if you'd like to resubscribe. I'd be happy to have you back, and to offer a deep discount.
Thanks so much, and my apologies again,
Mike Pontacoloni, CEO and Founder.

Just being honest.

Jul 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Macky G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Very old and almost worn out. It does meet the vintage, however, low quality vintage clothing. Just go shop at goodwill you will find better clothing for less.

Verified Purchase
Comma Vintage said...Jul 29, 2019

Hi Macky,
Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry that the denim jacket and button-up shirt did not meet your expectations. We've reached out by email, and are committed to finding a resolution.
Thanks again for giving us a shot,
Mike@commavintage

I can't say enough good things

Feb 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Courtney
1 Review
1 Helpful

I gifted this to my boyfriend, and was amazed at how curated and thoughtful the collection of clothing was! It came with a nice letter about each piece. Miraculously, not only did everything fit him, it also looked great on him! The packaging was simple and thoughtful with cute little touches like a vintage cassette tape and button. I really was delighted by this box and very impressed by the quality. You do have to fill out a survey before receiving your box, but Mike clearly reads what customers enter and makes sure the clothing works for the recipient's measurements. Really looking forward to the next box and excited to see what comes next! Would recommend this to people looking to get out of their box in a sustainable way with a vintage twist.

Vintage value through the roof

Jun 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Grégoire K.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I‘ve been receiving my comma vintage box for a few years now and mike manages to surpass my expectations everytime, which is pretty insane considering i‘m running a vintage store myself and i am painfully picky and specific. Simply the best thing to get your money‘s worth, and the value is steadily rising 😊 Greg from Switzerland, owner of The New New Bern and FRENCH PART OF SWEDEN.

Disappointed

Dec 22, 2020
Overall
Maria C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Never received my order

Verified Purchase
Comma Vintage said...Dec 23, 2020

Hi Maria,
According to the tracking information we provided with your shipment, your order is currently in transit. We shipped it on December 12, within our stated shipping timeline of 2-4 weeks, but unfortunately much of the mail is backed up this time of year. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Neat, retro, but doesn’t fit

Apr 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patty D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I bought this as a gift for my husband. So far the items have been really cool and brought back neat memories from his childhood. The only thing I would change is the size of the items have not always been on par with my husband’s size. Actually, every box has been one size under the size my husband sent in with his profile, rendering those items unwearable to him. It’s sad, because as I mentioned, they are neat, but aside from 2 T-shirts, nothing has come in his size thus far.

Verified Purchase

Clothes

Mar 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I bought this for my husband. We were disappointed. The jacket that was in the box was very short ... so small in fact that it barely fits me and I’m 4’11”. My husband is 5’10” and there’s no way this would have fit. We also received a flannel shirt and although it was closer to fitting .. it was missing a button. Just not worth the money.

Verified Purchase
Comma Vintage said...Mar 13, 2021

Hi Heather,
We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with our product. Based on our records, we shipped a selvage denim jacket and a heavy cotton flannel shirt.
I apologize for the missing button and bad fit on the jacket. We do try to keep an eye out for missing buttons and to account for things like discrepancies in vintage sizing and fit, but we cannot always get it right.
Clearly, we did not get it right this time. I'm happy to issue a full refund on your order. Thanks for giving us a shot!

Keeps surprising every time! Thank you!!

Sep 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nick P.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful

Just had my 5th or 6th box delivered from the guys at Comma Vintage. They never disappoint. Got a cool heavy weight brass zippered Polo hoodie, a rad Hawaiian shirt (from Hawaii), and a pair of dead stock Converse gym shorts made in Massachusetts where I live.

Highly recommend!

Jan 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sara B.
1 Review

This subscription is amazing. I got it twice for my husband as a gift and even I loved everything in the box. We ended up getting a 1940's wool buffalo plaid shirt that will be great for the cold months in Nebraska. He found some really cool national park shirts, and a pin. And my husband got a cool jean jacket with pockets! He also sent us some NBA cards that we immediately opened (they were as old as me!) and had a lot of fun with each box. Michael is very cordial and prompt with his replies and he will listen to whatever you have to say. I truly believe he has fun with this subscription service business and I would recommend Comma Vintage to anyone looking to reduce their waste by thrifting, or if you want to get into vintage but have no idea what to look for or can't find anything in your area. Hartford has it. Thanks Michael!

I cant recommend Comma Vintage enough

Nov 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Peter G.
1 Review

I've been a customer of Comma Vintage for two years and I can't recommend it enough. The quality of clothes are always outstanding from handknit sweaters to authentic workwear to vintage tee shirts. One thing I particularly like is the personalized letter that Mike writes for each box with the history of each garment and a little bit about why he sent it.

Cannot recommend this box enough!

Apr 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kenny S.
1 Review

I love this box. They are extremely communicative with you to help make a box that is specific to your tastes and interests. It truly feels like someone is going into vintage stores and shopping just for me, which it turns out, is what is happening. Every box comes with a personal letter typed out just for you explaining what you have received and why it was chosen for you. You can also follow them on IG and comment on clothes they find, and they remember that you comment, and maybe even send you that piece of clothing. It is the best.

Best way to spend your money

May 17, 2018
Overall
Oliver S.
1 Review

Every 4 months I'll get an email saying that I have a box on the way from Comma Vintage, and I get super excited to see what they sent me this time. I haven't been let down once. So far my favorite item has been a vintage down vest that I wear multiple times a week. I have loved the service so much that I bought my brother a subscription for Christmas, and due to the survey everyone fills out, he gets very different items then me but also loves them. I look forward to continue to be a subscriber!