Created for writers by bestselling authors!

Plans as low as $27.50 / month

Scribbler reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Finally a box for writers! Love it!

Feb 09, 2020
Write T.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been subscribed since the debut box and I've never once considered canceling it. First off, I love that this is a box for WRITERS. Yes, there is a book in each box, but there is related material like a Writing Passport with advice on a different topic each month, along with peeks behind the scenes (real examples of a line editor's notes, for example). There have been some AMAZING box contents, including several journals, tasty treats, pins, tote bags, decals for laptops, writing prompt books, even a Story of my Life that encourages you to really WRITE it, not just fill in blanks.

There have been a few hiccups...they made a change to the shipping process which proved to be EXTREMELY unpopular with the subscribers, V&L heard the feedback and changed it back (probably taking a financial hit to themselves by doing so). If something is missing from your box, which has happened to me a couple of times, customer service is VERY responsive and makes sure the item is in your next box. And yes, sometimes there were big misses with the content...one was a three-pack of plain highlighters I could have found at the dollar store. The monthly chats are great, but they can be a bit rushed (especially if there are tech problems), and they're at a time that's very difficult for those of us who still have to also work a day job. There is a replay,...

encouraging, intriguing, enlightening

Jun 25, 2019
Aimee C.
5 Reviews
4 Pictures
17 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great box. It has a really nice book and a little pamphlet from the author which is really insightful. There are some really cool bookmarks included as well as some yummy smelling coffee, acoaster with a great message on it (but it has a small chip in it & some stains), a really cool notpad designed to help you identify important elements of books you read to help you with your writing, and more. Delivery was super fast & packaging was very nice. I'd recommend it for writers looking for guidance & encouragement.

Verified Purchase

Writing a book? Sign up!

Nov 26, 2018
Christina P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I really love getting this box every month. The writing passports and behind-the-scenes look into the editing and publishing process are very useful and helpful. I highly recommend! Some of the other goodies they provide are cute too, and though I don't keep up with all the books they send, I can always use them as gifts for others. So if you are trying to write book, I say treat yourself!

Verified Purchase

Excellent

Nov 05, 2018
Emma R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

The items are of quality standard. Delivery to Australia takes between 10-16 days.
Excellent box and perfect for writers!

Verified Purchase

Worth it

Nov 02, 2018
Alexandra V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall

I’ve loved every box so far. It’s a little pricey but I think it’s worth considering the amount of goodies you get. I don’t think I’ve been disappointed by a box yet and I think it’s a better investment than other similar boxes I’ve tried.

Verified Purchase

Nov 02, 2018
Nagy V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I'm waiting for my 2nd box from them but before that I watched every single unboxing video. :D (I like to know what I get for my money.) I live in Europe, Hungary, and I found this box a little bit expensive though the items are really fun. My favorites are the Writing Passports and the inspirational gifts, but I'm really interested in the editor's notes too. My only problem with this box is that there is so much printed/paper based product which I can't use after I saw or read it and because of that I'm a bit sorry for my money. But on the other hand there is the opportunity to chat with an editor from bookish life or read about someone's editing process or check out writing tips and then read the author's book to see how those tips come to life on paper. I love this box after all and I think if any young writer can afford it it's worth this price.:)

Verified Purchase

Nov 02, 2018
Michael S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

My favorite parts of Scribbler are the writing passports, YouTube chats with agents and editors, extra publishing material. I occasionally feel like the extras are a tiny bit lackluster (uncomfortable headphones for example) but overall I really enjoy it and feel it's worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Something to look forward to

Nov 02, 2018
Tracey S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I love getting this box. The contents are useful and inspirational.

Verified Purchase

It's Great!

Nov 01, 2018
Sidnie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've been signed up since the very first box and I have thoroughly enjoyed my subscription! My favorite part is the special chats with people in the industry! I would love to see more writing related books be included! But the themes are always great! Hope to see something self published be included someday or even a self po published themed box!

Verified Purchase

First Impressions

Sep 24, 2018
Natalie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

Scribbler is a nice box for writers. I only gave 4 stars instead of 5 stars since I am new to writing and my very first writing prompt was to "plan a novel for the year" of which I was hoping for something that would give more direction... not ready for that novel quite yet. The booklet did give some writing ideas, so that helped. Good quality materials and very nice hardcover book that illustrated the other items and featured writer. I haven't tried the tea yet, since it is loose leaf and we have no tools to steep it, but it's a nice touch.

Verified Purchase

Full of nifty, writing goodness!

Aug 10, 2018
Logan L.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

A great box that I look forward to every single month. Even through financial cut-backs, I make sure I budget in enough for my Scribbler box. They always do a great job of supplying great goodies that help to make you WANT to write (which motivation is honestly 70% of it). I wish the chats with publishing professionals weren't mid-week/mid-day so those of us working could actually participate, and I think the pens are already overdone but they're getting better with making chats available for longer periods of time and including new and creative goodies that make writing and editing fun! Looking forward to many more boxes!!

Verified Purchase

From beginner to pro...

Jul 17, 2018
Shannon M.
16 Reviews
40 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

... this box is pretty cool. I’m a poet, but have been wanting to cross genres for years. I like that this box has a focal point with usually inspired direction from the author of the month. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is bc I’d like the option to not receive the book of the month- I think it’s unnecessary to get the focus of the month across, & I’m not excited about (nor have I read) any of the books I’ve received, as my personal taste in novels and reading material is unique, indescribable, and

Verified Purchase

Love it

Jul 03, 2018
Aisha A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Love ittt cant wait until the next box! With new theme

Verified Purchase

Finally, a Box for Writers

Jun 15, 2018
Dorothy D.
7 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Scribbler provides insider industry peeks at industry editing, etc. I love to read the info as well as the videos.

My reason for 4 stars vs 5 is that the items are a bit cheap and childish. I love a good wooden pencil, but erasers in silly shapes can go directly to the trash.

Better items would bump this directly to a 5!

Verified Purchase

Fun!

Jun 15, 2018
Stephanie P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This was a fun box to receive. The books and pin were delightful. The pens were not as awesome, but overall I was pleased and look forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

May 01, 2019
Sydney W.
1 Review
Overall

I really love this box and I always look forward to receiving my Scribbler box every month. I do think that some months are a little lacking in the items and there could be one or two more things because of the price. But nothing to make me unsubscribe! I would definitely recommend this box. It has helped me tremendously in my writing, especially in my essays. :)

Nov 02, 2018
Rachel B.
1 Review
Overall

Absolutely love it! I love how many items you get in the box and it's great motivation to start writing!

Nov 02, 2018
Amy R.
1 Review
Overall

I've received six boxes and have enjoyed all of them. I'm trying to write a novel while being very busy at work, and needed some new inspiration and encouragement without the time burden of taking a class. The books have been a little hit or miss for me, but they always work well with the month's theme and I find that I get something from them when I read with that in mind. I've liked almost all of the extras, and appreciate having these cute reminders to keep writing as a part of my life.

Buying Options