Monthly Mercantile Box

Monthly Mercantile Box

by The Appalachian Mercantile
A great assortment of carefully curated Appalachian foods, crafts and home goods.

Plans as low as

$45.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (45)

  1. Reviews for this product (41)
  2. Reviews for this seller (4)

Cratejoy support doesn't respond

Sep 18, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dennis Y.
1 Review

Got a shipment notification, but the box didn't come.
Then tried to contact Cratejoy many times over the last few weeks-- crickets.

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 20, 2022

Hi Dennis- I am so sorry that you had trouble with your shipment. Cratejoy did not let us know there was a problem. Will you please email me, nancy (at) jqdsalt (dot) com, with your order details? I can't find your account at the moment. I'd really like to make this right for you.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Appalachian box

May 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joyce M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I received the Appalachian box as the first of a three month subscription gift from my son for Mother's Day. The products were awesome! It was fun to see what surprises were in the box. I'm really looking forward to receiving the next one.

???????????????????????????

May 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandy P.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Caused lots of smiles

This box was a success!

Apr 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandra C.
1 Review
1 Helpful

My daughter loved everything in the box from the strawberry preserves to the honey candle.

exceded expectations

Mar 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patsy G.
1 Review
1 Helpful

The products
were all great. Really liked the "Snake Oil"! The packing was great.

Perfect Gift!

Dec 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 days

Got this for my mom who is from rural Virginia and really missing home these days. This really brightened her day, and she’s so excited for the next box. Everything in the box was both lovely, useful, and tasty!

Verified Purchase

Gift from my daughter

Sep 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rochelle B.
1 Review

Only disappointment was the cornbread mix bag was not sealed on one side and there was mix all over the box and other items

Awesome!!!

Aug 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda N.
1 Review

Awesome products!!! Used the recipe for Grilled hamburgers with sweet pickle chips using products in this package and they were so good!!!

Thank you for responding so promptly.

Jun 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I specifically opted out of an auto-renew of this box and was charged twice. Otherwise, the products are solid. (EDIT: Appalachian Mercantile addressed my concerns in the span of a day. Thank you so much -- I'll be happy to recommend this crate to anyone. No cheap plastic baubles to be found anywhere, and the included recipes are a hit.)

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 19, 2021

Hi Dan
I'm sorry you had trouble with our cancellation. I am happy to refund you. It looks like you cancelled after the box had shipped. Please let us make this right. You have been charged for two boxes and we shipped two boxes. If there is a problem please let us know. Email me directly nancy at jqdsalt dot com
I'm glad you enjoyed the products though
Nancy, owner

Delicious and fun

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison G.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

We have really enjoyed receiving this box every month. The combination of items has been wonderful and comes from various Appalachian communities. There are typically some food items as well as home goods. I really like the treats (i.e., drinking chocolate, candy) and the home good/ craft items (i.e., tea towel, small hanging plant, cutting board, soap, etc.), whereas my husband really loves the food items. The food products typically contribute to a meal or snacks like soup, hot wings, or deviled eggs. We especially like the recipe(s) that are including with the mailing. We've been really pleased with the diversity of items. Plus, who doesn't love getting a surprise box of treats in the mail every month??

Verified Purchase

Give this Crate a try!

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ann-marie C.
8 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

A good Crate. Not what I thought it would be.
I love the Appalachian Mountains & the "culture" & the items that are made & sold there.
Try this Crate, I was pleasantly surprised!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 17, 2021

Hi Ann-Marie!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our subscription box. I'm really glad you are enjoying it.
Please reach out if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Nancy Bruns, owner

A good experience

Jun 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Wedad A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I had a smooth time ordering and enjoyed the products very much. The packaging was really attractive and professional. I will eagerly order again from you/

Verified Purchase

Try It~

Jun 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jl W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I've 100% enjoyed the two boxes I've received so far. The product has been unique and I appreciate that! Having a recipe in the box has been a fun way to utilize the ingredients.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alma G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I love all the boxes I’ve received from Appalachian Mercantile! Great quality and good price for what you get.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 05, 2021

Thank you, Alma, for taking the time to review our box! I'm so glad you are happy with our products. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to improve our service and your experience.
Nancy, owner

Great gift box!

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

We gave this gift as a Christmas and birthday gift to my in-laws. Being from WV, we had to try it. My in-laws loved it. They thought it was fun and enjoyed most of the choices. I hope to give it again in the future!

Verified Purchase

May box

May 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michele O.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days

Nicely boxed. I have used the
chicken spice and it's delicious. I liked the wooden book mark. Can't wait for the opportunity to try the other products. The box come in a timely manner, and undamaged.

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon H.
5 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

This was a gift for my Mom and she loved it. She's in FL now but from SE KY so she was pleased with the taste of home. We'll be keeping this subscription for sure.

Verified Purchase

Very nice box

May 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Therese C.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

My new FAVORITE box. Love the themes of each, the recipe card. Well packaged

Verified Purchase

Awesome box

Apr 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shirley N.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months

Love this box, everything is full sized and quite a variety. Have already purchased more items from the various merchants. Great stuff!

Verified Purchase

Unique

May 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Everything was fabulous!

Verified Purchase

Not really what I expected

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Fancy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days

I was excited to order but not really the mix that I'd seen while contemplating getting this box. The soap and wooden dish were the most useful things and looking forward to trying the banana pepper mustard. I received a hefty bags of beans, which I do not eat. I don't feel that I received worth the $ spent. The packaging was well done and items secure.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...May 17, 2021

Hello Fancy
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. I'm sorry you can't enjoy the organic pinto beans, and didn't think the other items were worth the money you spent. I hope you'll give us another try. We work hard to curate the best products from local producers. Sometimes boxes are a better fit than others for people.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Not what I'd expected

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Fancy M.
1 Review

I was excited to order but not impressed with what I received. Not really the mix that I'd seen while contemplating getting this box. The soap and wooden dish were the most useful things. I received a hefty bags of beans, which I do not eat. I don't feel that I received worth the $50+ spent. The packaging was well done and items secure.

Good box, looking forward to the next on

Apr 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Donna G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Would have preferred less food products.

Verified Purchase

Made in USA? Yes please!

Sep 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alicia M.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful

I love subsc boxes but stopped them because literally nothing was made in USA. Imagine my joy when I found this box AND I live in Charleston, WV so this is my Appalachian heritage. Why did I not know about this before?? Loved my first box and will support JQ Dickson as long as I can!

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 08, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Alicia
I'm so glad you love our products. We work hard to find the best Appalachian made food, crafts and home goods.

Good one

Mar 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Abhi A.
1 Review

Purchased this product from GrabOn with the best discount. I satisfied with that price and discount. Thank you


Customers who bought this also bought...