The Appalachian Mercantile

by The Appalachian Mercantile
A great assortment of carefully curated Appalachian foods, crafts and home goods.
33 reviews

Plans as low as

$38.00/ quarter

Buying Options

The Appalachian Mercantile reviewsReviews

Write a Review
33

Made in USA? Yes please!

Sep 06, 2020
Alicia M.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love subsc boxes but stopped them because literally nothing was made in USA. Imagine my joy when I found this box AND I live in Charleston, WV so this is my Appalachian heritage. Why did I not know about this before?? Loved my first box and will support JQ Dickson as long as I can!

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 08, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Alicia
I'm so glad you love our products. We work hard to find the best Appalachian made food, crafts and home goods.

Thank you for responding so promptly.

5 days ago
Dan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I specifically opted out of an auto-renew of this box and was charged twice. Otherwise, the products are solid. (EDIT: Appalachian Mercantile addressed my concerns in the span of a day. Thank you so much -- I'll be happy to recommend this crate to anyone. No cheap plastic baubles to be found anywhere, and the included recipes are a hit.)

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...4 days ago

Hi Dan
I'm sorry you had trouble with our cancellation. I am happy to refund you. It looks like you cancelled after the box had shipped. Please let us make this right. You have been charged for two boxes and we shipped two boxes. If there is a problem please let us know. Email me directly nancy at jqdsalt dot com
I'm glad you enjoyed the products though
Nancy, owner

Delicious and fun

7 days ago
Allison G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have really enjoyed receiving this box every month. The combination of items has been wonderful and comes from various Appalachian communities. There are typically some food items as well as home goods. I really like the treats (i.e., drinking chocolate, candy) and the home good/ craft items (i.e., tea towel, small hanging plant, cutting board, soap, etc.), whereas my husband really loves the food items. The food products typically contribute to a meal or snacks like soup, hot wings, or deviled eggs. We especially like the recipe(s) that are including with the mailing. We've been really pleased with the diversity of items. Plus, who doesn't love getting a surprise box of treats in the mail every month??

Verified Purchase

Give this Crate a try!

7 days ago
Ann-marie C.
8 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A good Crate. Not what I thought it would be.
I love the Appalachian Mountains & the "culture" & the items that are made & sold there.
Try this Crate, I was pleasantly surprised!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...6 days ago

Hi Ann-Marie!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our subscription box. I'm really glad you are enjoying it.
Please reach out if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Nancy Bruns, owner

A good experience

Jun 11, 2021
Wedad A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had a smooth time ordering and enjoyed the products very much. The packaging was really attractive and professional. I will eagerly order again from you/

Verified Purchase

Try It~

Jun 10, 2021
Jl W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've 100% enjoyed the two boxes I've received so far. The product has been unique and I appreciate that! Having a recipe in the box has been a fun way to utilize the ingredients.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 04, 2021
Alma G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love all the boxes I’ve received from Appalachian Mercantile! Great quality and good price for what you get.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 05, 2021

Thank you, Alma, for taking the time to review our box! I'm so glad you are happy with our products. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to improve our service and your experience.
Nancy, owner

Very nice box

May 26, 2021
Therese C.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My new FAVORITE box. Love the themes of each, the recipe card. Well packaged

Verified Purchase

Great gift box!

May 17, 2021
Carissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We gave this gift as a Christmas and birthday gift to my in-laws. Being from WV, we had to try it. My in-laws loved it. They thought it was fun and enjoyed most of the choices. I hope to give it again in the future!

Verified Purchase

May box

May 13, 2021
Michele O.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Nicely boxed. I have used the
chicken spice and it's delicious. I liked the wooden book mark. Can't wait for the opportunity to try the other products. The box come in a timely manner, and undamaged.

Verified Purchase

Unique

May 07, 2021
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything was fabulous!

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 06, 2021
Sharon H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a gift for my Mom and she loved it. She's in FL now but from SE KY so she was pleased with the taste of home. We'll be keeping this subscription for sure.

Verified Purchase

Awesome box

Apr 22, 2021
Shirley N.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love this box, everything is full sized and quite a variety. Have already purchased more items from the various merchants. Great stuff!

Verified Purchase

Delightful selection of artisan products

Jan 31, 2021
Jocelyn T.
11 Reviews
3 Pictures
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Quite pleased with everything this box offers - we will use every item! Looking forward to the February box.

Verified Purchase

Makes my day

Jan 22, 2021
Susanne J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a 3 month subscription for myself. I have received Dec / Jan & I am in love with this Box! The customer service, shipping, presentation & products are100% !
I may just keep gifting myself this for a long time :)
thank you Appalachian Mercantile for a great product & giving me a little sunshine monthly during COVID!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 22, 2021

Thanks for your glowing review, Susanne! We love it when the right people connect to our subscription. I hope you keep enjoying it for many months to come.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Customer Service Brought Me Back

Jan 09, 2021
Jennifer
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

There was a little bit of a bumpy road when it came to the December box, but Nancy made sure that any issues were taken care of and that there were no worries with the box going forward. I had chosen to cancel my subscription with everything going on, but after the great customer service shown I'm giving Mercantile another go. Thank you so much for not leaving us customers in the dark. Can't wait for January's box to get to its destination.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 09, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to give us a good review. We know there are a lot of choices out there and we appreciate that you are giving us another chance. I wish shipping hadn't been so unpredictable during December. Things should be on a much smoother road this year!

Cool stuff

Jan 09, 2021
Sarah S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really cool stuff! It was a gift and greatly enjoyed.

Verified Purchase

I love it!

Jan 05, 2021
Lisa E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box was just perfect and exactly what I hoped it would be. It was safely and beautifully packaged and was, I felt, a good value for the cost. I am looking forward to receiving my next package.
In addition to the included items (I won't give them away in case you haven't gotten yours yet), there was a list of included items with a description about what they were and who made them as well as a recipe to go with one of the main food items that was included.
I bought this as a little Christmas for myself and opened it Christmas morning since I was unable to be with my family for the holiday. It was fun and lovely.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 05, 2021

Hi Lisa
Thanks for taking the time to review our box. I'm so glad you are happy with the products. I hope you keep enjoying it!
Nancy Bruns, owner

Good box, looking forward to the next on

Apr 18, 2021
Donna G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Would have preferred less food products.

Verified Purchase

Nice products, execution needs work

Mar 22, 2021
Jami W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I like the products, however in my last box one of the items listed was missing.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Mar 22, 2021

Hi Jami
Thanks for reaching out and letting us know. Please contact us so we can send you the product you are missing. We will get it shipped to you immediately. We don't want you to be without it.

Not really what I expected

May 17, 2021
Francine M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was excited to order but not really the mix that I'd seen while contemplating getting this box. The soap and wooden dish were the most useful things and looking forward to trying the banana pepper mustard. I received a hefty bags of beans, which I do not eat. I don't feel that I received worth the $ spent. The packaging was well done and items secure.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...May 17, 2021

Hello Fancy
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. I'm sorry you can't enjoy the organic pinto beans, and didn't think the other items were worth the money you spent. I hope you'll give us another try. We work hard to curate the best products from local producers. Sometimes boxes are a better fit than others for people.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Good one

Mar 11, 2021
Abhi A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Purchased this product from GrabOn with the best discount. I satisfied with that price and discount. Thank you

Not what I'd expected

May 17, 2021
Fancy M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was excited to order but not impressed with what I received. Not really the mix that I'd seen while contemplating getting this box. The soap and wooden dish were the most useful things. I received a hefty bags of beans, which I do not eat. I don't feel that I received worth the $50+ spent. The packaging was well done and items secure.

Outstanding Subscription

Nov 19, 2020
Chris T.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box 3 months ago; and I can say with all honesty, I absolutely love this box. The shipping is so quick. The items are not your normal "sample" sizes. These are full sized items and high quality stuff I may add. I do get excited every month when I know my box is being mailed to me. I have not been disappointed. I would recommend this company and this subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Nov 19, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a rave review into Cratejoy. We love to hear how our customers like their boxes. Cheer! Nancy, owner

Good variety

Nov 26, 2020
Carol S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

3 month order of Appalachian Mercantile as a gift. Recipient is thrilled. Excellent variety, good quality products, unique regional fare

Verified Purchase