A great assortment of carefully curated Appalachian foods, crafts and home goods.

Plans as low as $38.00 / month

The Appalachian Mercantile reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Made in USA? Yes please!

Sep 06, 2020
Alicia M.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love subsc boxes but stopped them because literally nothing was made in USA. Imagine my joy when I found this box AND I live in Charleston, WV so this is my Appalachian heritage. Why did I not know about this before?? Loved my first box and will support JQ Dickson as long as I can!

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 08, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Alicia
I'm so glad you love our products. We work hard to find the best Appalachian made food, crafts and home goods.

Good variety

6 days ago
Carol S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

3 month order of Appalachian Mercantile as a gift. Recipient is thrilled. Excellent variety, good quality products, unique regional fare

Verified Purchase

Outstanding Subscription

Nov 19, 2020
Chris T.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box 3 months ago; and I can say with all honesty, I absolutely love this box. The shipping is so quick. The items are not your normal "sample" sizes. These are full sized items and high quality stuff I may add. I do get excited every month when I know my box is being mailed to me. I have not been disappointed. I would recommend this company and this subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Nov 19, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a rave review into Cratejoy. We love to hear how our customers like their boxes. Cheer! Nancy, owner

Wonderful products and amazing box!

Sep 28, 2020
Lora N.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely loved this box! This as well was a gift for my boyfriend's birthday, and he loved how creative every box was! the recipes are wonderful as well. I will probably re-subscribe in the future. Thank you!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 28, 2020

Hi Lora
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our box. I'm really glad you and your boyfriend are enjoying the items and the recipes. I hope you'll resubscribe. We have more good things to come.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Excellent box!

Sep 22, 2020
Nicole M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've really enjoyed these boxes, especially during quarantine when pleasant surprises are welcome. There are unique and tasty finds in each box, and the customer service has been fantastic.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 22, 2020

Hi Nicole
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! I'm really glad you are enjoying our boxes. There are more great products to come!
Nancy

Appalachian mercantile box

Oct 23, 2020
Martha C.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved this box.

Verified Purchase

First box and looking forward to more!

Sep 24, 2020
Claire L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box and it is lovely! The packaging is great and well-insulated, especially for international shipping (which was pleasantly fast!). I haven't had a chance to try out the recipe or most of the other ingredients yet. I did, however, make sweetcorn fritters for dinner, and the sorghum syrup went REALLY well with a leftover one for dessert! :-D

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 25, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our box, Claire. I'm really glad you are enjoying it. Sorghum syrup is great on lots of things!
Nancy

Great to give as a gift

Nov 16, 2020
Tracy H.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this as a thank-you gift for a family member. The products were fun to receive and useful. After a few months I had to cancel, and when I contacted the company they were so kind. I look forward to subscribing again.

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Nov 17, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. I really appreciate it! I'm really glad your family member enjoyed the gift.
Nancy, owner

Beautiful

Jan 04, 2020
Kari J.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Beautiful handpicked items, loved it!! Very much looking forward to my next box. An absolutely lovely gift!!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 06, 2020

Kari- Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. I'm really glad you were pleased with your gift. We work hard to make sure we have unique items that can't be found other places. Enjoy! Nancy Bruns, owner

Loved my Appalachian Mercantile box!

Nov 30, 2019
Nancy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything was exceeded my expectations. It arrived quickly, was beautifully packaged, and had a wonderful assortment of items. I love the addition of the recipe card and learning about each maker. I can't wait for next month!

Verified Purchase

A really nice box!

Dec 31, 2019
Diane L.
28 Reviews
13 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really liked this box! I wasn;t too sure when I ordered it as I am not A country type of woman but this box really surprised me! I received a nice sized bag of very good coffee, a yummy goat;s milk chocolate bar, a jar of truly delicious SEEDLESS raspberry jam ( You Appalachians make really good jam! ) Also nice were the 4 shower fizzies in different colors and fragrances.
The only item I could not use was the machine carved tree. It was just too plain. I gave it to my sister who has a talent for crafts. She painted it green, and adorned it with a glitter paint that looks like glistening snow and painted little round balls on it as ornaments. The tree now graces here mantle above her fireplace. I will continue my subscription and see what comes next!

Buying Options