Receive hidden gem books from an independent bookstore at the beach!

Plans as low as $7.83 / month

The Book Drop reviewsReviews

Write a Review

The book drop young adult subscription

Jun 04, 2020
Angela A.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first book I got from the book drop and loved the mystery and friendship that brought Sydney and June together. I always like reading books from authors I haven't seen before .

Verified Purchase

Make Getting Mail Fun Again

Aug 03, 2020
Allison D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a small company in Bethany Beach, DE. I like to support small businesses and an author that I follow, Abby Maslin (Love You Hard), supports Bethany Beach Books (the shop that runs the Book Drop). I decided to give it a try and am so glad that I did. You receive a book of their choosing each month, so the surprise of what you are getting makes it fun to receive mail again. I also purchased a 3 month subscription as a Mother's Day gift for my mom, who is also an avid reader.

I'd say if you are looking to treat yourself or want to buy a gift that is different, please give this service a try. The only drawback is the mail delivery is sometimes slow, but that is on the USPS not the Book Drop. You may discover books and authors you have never heard of but are now excited to read.

Verified Purchase

Great gift idea!

Jun 30, 2020
Rachel R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave this suscription as a gift for my aunt who loves to read, but hates picking new books. The process was super easy and really well laid out, I don't feel like there was anything that was hard to follow.
Here's what I love:
-You can pick a genre or you can mix it up, which makes it easier to give as a gift!
-If you want to try another kind of book, you can, even in the middle of a subscription.
-I got an email with a tracking number when the book was shipped.
-The price, even with shipping, is cheaper than some of the big book stores.
-I get to support a small, local(ish) business, and a bookstore at that!

I am only in the first month and I plan to renew. I will update at that point with any additional thoughts.

Verified Purchase

I love it!

Jun 29, 2020
Kyla P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first box last month and I was a bit nervous spending money on something I didn't know if I'd like or not. But the shipping was pretty quick! Especially since I live in Canada. I don't know how they did it but they chose a book I related to so much, I really enjoyed it and will keep renewing my subscription! I'm so glad I am able to support independent bookstores and read books I would not have heard about.

Verified Purchase

Nice book, Bad package.

Apr 24, 2020
Claire K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have enjoyed the book I got through the Book Drop. It arrived earlier than expected, but there was a large tear in the package. Luckily, it did not damage the book itself, but when I opened the package a bunch of ripped up tiny bits of paper flew up into my face and got all over my room. I do not know where they came from. The bookmark and note from company were bent, but that is not that big of a deal.

Verified Purchase

Great idea! 😍

Mar 25, 2019
Samantha C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall

I liked the idea of the box. It's really great. The price is good too!! 😊
I just personally didn't like this book this time. It's not a bad book just not my style. Which I understand it's bound to happen and it's in no way the box's fault. I will say tho... The box made a big mess when I opened it 😅 it's made of recycled materials so when u open it and it rips the cardboard then all these tiny gray and white flakes of (I think) paper spills out. It's not that big of a deal and easy to clean up tho 😊

I highly recommend this box 😊 it's great!! And just keep in mind it's a blind book box.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing :(

Mar 03, 2020
Ash H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love books, independent bookstores, and getting mail, so this seemed like the perfect subscription for me! I signed up for 6 months of the "books for coffee" box and was disappointed with the books I received. They seemed like cast-offs: poorly rated and generally not very good reads. (One was even pretty racist and xenophobic.) The extras were a nice touch, but I haven't recommended the books I received to anyone else and won't be renewing my subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Book Drop said...Mar 12, 2020

Hi Ash, thank you for reviewing The Book Drop. We're very sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with our selections. We're also very concerned that you found one of our selections racist/xenophobic - we'd love to continue this conversation as we strive to send open-minded, diverse, and mindful selections to our readers. We'd love to hear your thoughts. We'll be in contact via the email on your account. Thank you again for the feedback and happy reading!

YA Subscription

Jun 29, 2019
Elisabeth O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have the Young Adult book subscription since I am a teacher. The books chosen are quality books, even if they aren't in my taste. There is a variety of genres included, which makes it fun. I appreciate the switch to more environmental friendly packaging. I enjoy this subscription and love getting it every month!

Verified Purchase
Buying Options