The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (616)

  1. Reviews for this product (210)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

Box Great, Customer Svc Lacks

Dec 23, 2016
Overall
Amanjena G.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

I enjoyed the Yule themed box I received. I ordered the Supreme level. I was shocked to find an entire set of bloodstone runes in there. They were actually something I've been wanting. What is included every month is also great (i.e. candles, smudge stick, incense).
HOWEVER, the customer services was seriously lacking. I emailed them directly and thru cratejoy half a dozen times with questions and NEVER received a response.
One of my questions was on payment and shipping. I paid for in middle of Nov to receive the December box. It charged my account right away. But never got an email or anything saying welcome or when my box would ship. I had to do some serious digging online and finding others who receive the box in order to get some answers. Since my emails weren't answered. Due to that I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed in April Box!

Apr 09, 2018
Overall
Jamie O.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 17 days

I received my first box for April. I received what to me looks like only about $20 worth of items. For the $48 price tag I was very disappointed and canceled my subscription immediately.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Less than impressed

Jul 12, 2018
Overall
Kryslyn K.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

Unfortunately, this box is not meeting my expectations. I have received three boxes. None of them were amazing. The most recent was particularly disappointing. It contained tea lights (exact:$4.99 on Etsy), incense (exact:$.63 on Amazon), soap (exact:$3.08 on Amazon), and a keychain (similar:$6.00 on Etsy). At most, the contents of this box cost $15 not $25. Based on the three boxes I have received, I would not recommend this box to anyone.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Underwhelming

Jul 13, 2018
Overall
Shannon P.
9 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I don't really like to write negative reviews, but I appreciate when people are honest about things so others can take it into account, and also so that maybe the vendors can take it into account. That being said, I subscribed to the highest tier box and just didn't find a connection to anything that was in there. It didn't feel like a cohesive collection; I saw what they were going for, but, for the June box at least, I didn't feel that for the cost that it hit the mark at all as regards the products included.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Haley G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days

Was fairly disappointed with the items in the box considering how much I paid for it, I wouldn't say it was worth the money. I also tried to get a refund multiple times before my box was shipped and the seller wouldn't respond to me. Boo.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We provide tools for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Not worth the price

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Forest J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Just not worth the price :(

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 15, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you feel this way. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve our Circle Members' experience, please reach out to us directly. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!