The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (616)

  1. Reviews for this product (210)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

great box+craft level appropriate

Dec 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sera H.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

i think between ordering the initiate abd getting it, myy craft went up a level. gre3at box though.
ps. how do I move up a level

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback, Sera. Manage your subscriptions from the "My Subscriptions" page of your account. Hope this helps!

Need more items!

Jul 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deanna H.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Definitely could use more in the box. Not nearly enough for what you pay.

Verified Purchase

It’s not for me

Sep 13, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary S.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

The items are very nice. It is packaged carefully. However, for the price I paid I could have gotten the items myself and paid much less than what I paid for the box. I gave this box a try but will not be renewing.

Verified Purchase

Mediocre

Jul 15, 2018
Overall
Anna S.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I ordered the Initiate box (June/July 18), and received melty tea-lights, a bar of soap, incense, and a rock on a key chain. I was a bit under-whelmed for the price.

Verified Purchase

Giving another chance.

Dec 01, 2020
Overall
Lee M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I want to Lille this subscription. Had some issues with getting a response from the seller.. They have responded now. I know it’s a busy season and I can move past my initial negative experience. I really want this subscription to work, giving it a second chance. I’m sure all will be better. 🙏🏻

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 01, 2020

Thanks for reaching out. We apologize for the delayed response. Due to the busyness of the holiday season, we are responding to emails a bit slower than normal. We have since responded to your concerns directly. Please pay close attention to the shipping schedule included in that email. We appreciate your patience and thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Lots of room for improvement

Nov 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ej E.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Lots of room for improvement. First box I got was pretty good, save for a last minute substitution due to supply issues, but the second box was really disappointing. Overpriced for what was received, missing items, very cheap quality items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 18, 2020

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we'll have the chance to make it up to you next month. Blessed be!

Broken items and never got a reply 😢

Feb 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Raven R.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I was so excited to get this box as I already subscribe to the other 2 they curate. The curation of this box was ok - nowhere near the quality of the other 2. Unfortunately 2 of the items in my box arrived completely damaged- a rose quartz necklace and a Fluorite heart. I messaged several times to try to get a replacement perhaps and never heard back. Unfortunately I had to cancel my subscription 😢

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Raven! Sorry for our delay in responding. We had been away from the office during the holiday weekend but we will be reaching out to you directly regarding this matter.

Nice but nothing special

Jul 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Billie M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I feel like this box was a bit lack luster. I heard wonderful reviews of this box but in my first months subscription (July 2021) I think there could’ve been more or better quality items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Hi Billie! If you ever have specific notes about how we can make the Box of Shadows experience better for you, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Is it worth it?

Mar 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kari S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Honestly, I like what I got, but could've been better, I dont feel like it was worth the money paid. Items were small in size and dont feel like a complete spell.

Verified Purchase

Not bad

Jan 22, 2017
Overall
Sarah B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I don't believe I got the 10% discount for being a first time subscriber.
When I opened the box, my smudge stick completely fell apart and the pentacle on my bracelet broke.
Loved the date book tho

Verified Purchase

I loved the theme but...

May 10, 2018
Overall
Teagan H.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months

There was very little thought put into the box. Was not completely thrilled. I loved the the goddess bracelet but the book was not that great. More thought and care could be put into this.

Verified Purchase

overall about the box.

Oct 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Wendy P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 year

This box was not one my favorites I just wish it had like something else for Halloween theme. I wish we got mortal and pestle. I love the cinnamon broom and the sand. I not saying that the box is not nice I just wish I got a mortal and pestle . Thank Wendy p.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 17, 2021

Hi Wendy! Thanks for the feedback. We all love a good mortar and pestle, right! Unfortunately, the best ones tend to be heavy and sizable -- too big for our monthly subscription boxes. Items like this are more likely to be included in our Goddess series {BIG} boxes. We may also offer these types of items in the BoS Apothecary. As a long-time subscriber, please feel free to reach out anytime with content ideas. We love hearing from our Circle!

BOX<$

May 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenna B.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Nice products well but together but not enough product for the price. The items were well under what i invested. And on that note add your $8 shipping. TOO EXPENSIVE

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! As you may know, we provide tools for witches of varying paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. That being said, our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself.  If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Better in my dreams

Nov 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jacee C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

The box was nicely packaged. However, the items I received didn't really seem that useful for my altar or supplies. A bracelet of amethyst, an oil burner with oil, and insence. I was hoping with this subscription I would be able to add different items to my sacred spaces and altar. Instead I have a bracelet, an oil burner, and more inscences. Furthermore, my box was dream themed and said it contained a package of chamomile but I actually had a package of raspberry leaf. I actually liked this as I have plenty of chamomile but no raspberry leaf. I only wish I could have had a nice explanation of it like the chamomile. Nice outside of the 7 typos in the letter. I can understand that a dream theme box could be harder to curate, and there's only so many themes to choose from, so I'm waiting for my next box to decide to keep or go. I'm hoping this was a one off and will update either way so you can have an accurate opinion before buying and the seller can have accurate information to grow.

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Nov 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I just wish it had more rituals or candles. Things you can actually learn to use. I mainly got decorations and some incense. I’m grateful but I think it could be better.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 03, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Amanda! Multiple rituals and a candle of some type can be found in our offerings almost every month. We try not to overwhelm our Circle Members with items of the same kind so, if you did not receive a candle in November, you are almost certain to receive one in your December offering.

It was okay

Mar 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ivy M.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This box was honestly okay. I don’t know if I would spend $25 on it because when I put it head to head with a $15 witchy box I was subscribed to, the other box had more and higher quality products than this box.

Verified Purchase

Wish supreme box was better

Jul 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffani M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

I only really LOVED one box and it was the box that came with a singing bowl but for 53$ I am disappointed I could go to my local occult shop or even dollar store and find better and even cheaper items. I got a few great candles I loved but other than that I was not impressed. I got the supreme and I have been a witch for 26 years. Thank you; blessed be to all my sisters and brothers GYPSZY

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 15, 2021

Hi Tiffani! Our Circle consists of many pagans who do not have easy access to metaphysical shops. Our intention is always to be a sustainable resource for all of our members.

Some repeats...

Jan 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura C.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

It was lovely, however, there were some repeat items due to its proximity to the same curation in a similar box I subscribe to.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily T.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months

I waited almost 2 months for my box and when I finally got it today the candle was broken. Beyond disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings Emily! We will be reaching out to you directly regarding the broken item. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Disappointing

Jul 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maureen A.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 3 months

I signed up for the 3-month plan at the "Supreme" level. The first 2 boxes have been pretty disappointing, frankly. For $45/month I expect more. The citrine "bracelet" seems to be a DIY project (see photo). I'm not sure I can cancel the final month at this point, but I won't be renewing.

Verified Purchase