The Priestess

The Priestess

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired, subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as

$34.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (623)

  1. Reviews for this product (205)
  2. Reviews for this seller (418)

Box of Shadows

Aug 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Mahala S.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

I asked before signing up for The Supreme if I would be charged twice in the same Month and I was told I would not be. I signed up and in My first box there were items missing. I emailed Box of Shadows and they Never responded or replaced the missing items. Then, I received another charge in the same Month and that hasn't been refunded nor have they responded to Any emails. This company has numerous complaints against them.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 16, 2022

Hi Mahala! We have reached out to you directly regarding this issue and are shipping a replacement. Please review your renewal terms for more information. We are happy to answer any further questions you may have.

didnt like it

Oct 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

I really spect something better didnt like it. Hope next box its better

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 17, 2021

Hi Julie! We're sorry to hear that. Please feel free to reach out to us with some notes on how we can improve your experience.

Not worth it

Aug 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Annmarie R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 28 days

Paid $50 and shipping all for a christal, a pendulum, and tea . Thought I would try a different sub to adventure out a little . I thought they gave me the base box at first but, nope ! Definitely NOT the bang for your buck . Goddess provisions gives you way more . Highly disappointed

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 15, 2021

Hi AnnMarie, thanks for giving us a try, and we hope you've found a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs, even if it's not Box of Shadows. Blessed Be!

Missing item

Aug 11, 2021
Overall
Brittany C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I’m missing a packAge of fallen leaves wax melts by modern magix… this box was disappointing.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 15, 2021

Hi Brittany! Please check your email. A memo regarding the wax melts was sent out to our Circle Members before the August boxes shipped.

NOT worth it!

Aug 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brittany D.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

not worth your coin!!! Don't get this box....like why are you ripping people off?

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 17, 2021

Hi Brittany, thanks for giving us a try, and we hope you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!

Not happy!!

Jul 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heaven J.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

this was not worth the money!!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

We hope we can make it up to you next month, Heaven. Blessed Be!

Horrible

May 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie G.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

It's horrible they charged me twice and when I canceled they did not want to give me back my money. They never contact you to help u. N if u cancel n don't get refund box or anything, ur money's lost. It's a scam. I still need help n nothing. They take advantage of witches.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 06, 2021

Hi Julie! We are happy to see this matter has been settled. Going forward, we kindly ask for 24 hours to respond to your correspondences. Blessed Be.

Not worth it.

Apr 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dianne G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Not worth it!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 08, 2021

We're sorry to hear that. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Don't buy this box! Cheap contents!

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days

Cheap contents, very few contents, not worth the money. The "spell" book is a piece of paper printed out on a computer. They won't work with you on a refund or extra products to make a dissatisfied customer happy. They don't care, very poor customer service. Very Unhappy. Don't bother trying. Cheap $5 contents for $22 payment

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2021

Hi Kris! As stated in our correspondence with you, we do not offer refunds on shipped merchandise but, we are happy to replace any damaged or missing items. Our team works hard to provide an experience that is valuable to our Circle Members. Needless to say, we are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your first box. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your needs. Blessed Be!

The Priestess

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Doreya H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days

I was very disappointed when I opened this box. The items in this box were small and not packaged well at all, like some of the other boxes I have received were individually wrapped. Not this box. Not worth the price and definitely not worth the wait. I've cancelled my subscription, and will begin making my own items.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2021

Hi Doreya! If any of your items were damaged in transit, we are happy to replace them. We always encourage our subscribers to reach out to us directly when this happens to address the issue in a timely manner. Our team works hard to provide value to our Circle Members' individual practices and is very disappointed to hear that we missed your expectations. We will be following up with you directly.

Box of Shadows is Fake

Jul 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Destiny W.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Seller had falsely listed items in a box and only provided cheep remakes. In the picture provided that was supposed to be a raw rainbow moonstone but instead they sent me a resin egg. The only reason I found out is because my dogs got a hold of it and scratched it up which you cannot do with an actual real stone. Very dissatisfied with this subscription.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 29, 2020

Greetings Destiny! Back in May, we did indeed have some issues with the moonstone. The gemstones did not arrive in time to ship and were excluded from the boxes. We, instead, replaced the moonstone with items from the available backstock we had on hand. A memo regarding the issue was sent out to all of our Circle Members before the May boxes shipped. Our Circle Members are encouraged to reach out to us anytime they are unsure of an item in their box. I am always happy to clarify and provide additional information for the proper use of the item. We've also reached out to you directly to identify the item you received.

Not worth it...Unresponsive company.

May 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda L.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
20 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

This was my first box from Box of Shadows. I would not recommend this box to anyone. I purchased the Initiate Box. The price plus shipping is not worth the value of products. I received a votive holder, votive candle, mini 40 stick incense box, a small piece of selenite and a defective pendant. I emailed the company trying to remedy the defective pendant and my disapproval of the box and I have had no response. I was extremely disappointed and will steer clear of this company and future boxes.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

May 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paige R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The quality of these products was incredibly poor. I was so excited to give this box a try! But it couldn’t have been more disappointing.
The items definitely did not match the cost. And they seemed like cheap dollar store items. I wish I’d read more reviews before giving them a try, as I see many other have mentioned the cheap quality.
The box was also missing an item. A memo was sent saying the moonstone didn’t make it in time for packaging. But they never offered to send it later!!!
There are so many better boxes out there. Witches Moon and Tamed Wild are much more respectable companies.
Unless you like feeling like you got scammed, avoid purchasing this box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 21, 2020

Greetings Paige! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that we missed the mark with you. Regarding the missing moonstone, our email also explained that the gemstone was replaced with a piece of altar decor from our available backstock. Please reach out to us directly if you did not receive the substitute item. We look forward to offering the moonstone in a future box later in the year.

Missing Items, NO RESPONSE

Feb 17, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
Arin R.
2 Reviews
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

There were two things missing from this box - rose quartz gemstone, rose quartz necklace - that were the two most expensive items from what the list appears to be. I've tried to contact them through CrateJoy as well as their website, and I've had no response. I've tried contacting them several times, and no response. I was really excited about this subscription and signed up for multi-month. I really wish I could take it back and have it returned. It's been a very disappointing experience.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Arin! We're sorry to hear that your box arrived with missing items. In these cases, we are happy to ship replacement items to make up for the oversight. We have reached out to you directly with the next steps in resolving this matter.

November’s box

Nov 16, 2018
Overall
Jodi W.
2 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

I ordered the priestess box and have never felt more ripped off than I do right now. Almost $40 and I got a small 6” journal, cheap dragon’s blood incense, a tiny candle, a small bottle of oil, and a pocket cross? This is the worst subscription box I’ve ever received. ☹️

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box.
Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from
mindfully selected worship tools selected from other small, pagan owned
businesses to the carefully researched resources and materials shared in
our tailored Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this
time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Order was sent to wrong address

Nov 15, 2018
Overall
Justice S.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered this for my wife, original receipt has my address and they sent it to some random address in Vancouver WA. As I was trying to make contact with the seller about my problem and the next day I was charged for another subscription for next month!! I have not received any help from the seller and this review is so someone will hopefully make contact with me.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 16, 2018

Greetings Justin. We understand your frustration. Last week, we sent out an email to all our Circle Members regarding the shipping delay and advised that many subscriptions would renew before the November boxes arrived. We also provided instruction on how to put the renewal on hold until the current box arrives. As of yesterday, the November boxes have shipped. We will be reaching out to you personally to resolve the address issue.

No Box. Took My Money. No Response

Nov 14, 2018
Overall
Lyndsey L.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I ordered the Nov. Bix of Shadows which still hasn’t arrived. I emailed the seller several times and got no response. Very unhappy.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 14, 2018

Greetings Lyndsey! We completely understand your frustration and apologize for the slow response. Last week, a notice about the November shipping delay was sent to all November Circle Members. Since then, we've put answering emails (among other things) on hold to ensure all November boxes ship by the 15th. We will be following up with all Circle Members once the November boxes are in the hands of USPS. Please keep an eye on your email for shipping confirmation and tracking information.

Terrible customer service

Aug 21, 2018
Overall
Sonya S.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Won't accept returns and won't cancell account resulting in continuous charges to your account for boxes you can't even return unopened and refused in the mail. I'm still fighting with them keep refusing the packages and they keep sending.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 22, 2018

We apologize if there's been a miscommunication somewhere. We've emailed you privately regarding the matter.

What happened?

Jul 15, 2018
Overall
Bird G.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

I signed up for this subscription (mid-tier) almost a year go, and was thrilled with my first few boxes. They felt thought out and cohesive as a box. Then, a few months ago, there were changes, and since then, this has been robbery. I made the decision to cancel after the boxes dropped in quality over months... I had hoped that there would be a turn around. July’s box absolutely confirmed what a right choice it was. I honestly thought they had forgotten an item. The excuse that we have to factor their effort into the price? I’m sorry, that’s basic. We know the reason we pay $100 for a dress that’s made up of $15 worth of goods is the effort to make it along all steps of the way. Not a fair excuse.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jul 13, 2018
Overall
Brittany K.
7 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

Expected much more. Not worth what I paid, cancelling.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work really hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time.

Waste of money.

Jul 12, 2018
Overall
Tm K.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

A bar of soap, four tea lights, cinnamon incense, and a keychain? All this is maybe worth $15 and free shipping. This box is ridiculously over priced.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

Thanks for reaching out. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope that we have the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

So not what I thought it would be...

Jul 10, 2018
Overall
Tifane B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I never do reviews of anything but I had to here. I ordered another subscription box at the same time as this one that was cheaper but way better. I have been trying to cancel my subscription since the first box I received but box #4 arrived today and I am not happy. The contents are not worth the money spent at all. Very disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 11, 2018

Hi Tiffane! Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our team works really hard to provide a consistent experience for our Circle Members each month. Cleary, we've missed the mark this time. We will be reaching out to you to assist with managing your subscription.

Apr 10, 2018
Overall
Heaven L.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I was so excited to get my first boxes last year when i gor my taxs. the boxs were amazing and i always looked forward to it. I dont know whats going on but i just boiught three months worth of the Priestess box and there's less in it this year than last year for a bigger price two of my favorite things were the sage bundles & candles and there wasn't even those inside it. :/

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 10, 2018

Greetings Heaven, Due to overwhelming feedback, candles and sage are no longer included each month. Instead, they are now sent out on a scheduled basis. These items are replaced by higher value items during the months they are not included. Please contact us directly with any question you may have on the changes made.

Not Worth The $$$

Apr 09, 2018
Overall
Tamsen B.
1 Review
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Unfortunately I did a 6 month subscription to this service which I regretted by the 3rd or 4th box. I was unable to cancel due to Box of Shadows policy so I was stuck with getting two more boxes and April's was just a huge disappointment, the worst of them all and a total rip-off. These boxes really went downhill during the past six months I had the subscription. The Witches Moon Box is a much better value and also totally "out classes" Box of Shadows.

Verified Purchase

Over it

Dec 15, 2017
Overall
Allison M.
6 Reviews
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

So I unsubscribed to Box of Shadows today and am pretty pissed off as to where my money went. I'm subscribed to the most expensive tier and have noticed online today that the contents we've received is on the same level as the least expensive tier. Seeing as how subscribers to the Supreme are paying almost DOUBLE the amount as the Initiate we should be receiving the same products/amount of products as them plus the extras that we PAID for. I made a review similar to this last month but December's box was A LOT worse. Im so over this subscription. If anyone is looking for an amazing witchcraft based box that never disappoints I would tell you to sign up for the Moon Box Shop! (It will be renamed the Witch's Moon as of January) I've been subscribed since Mabon and I have never been more in love with a company. Also, I have taken the money used for Box of Shadows and newly subscribed to Goddess Provisions. There are so many amazing witchy boxes out there for you, please save your money and don't go with this one.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 20, 2017

We work really hard to provide a consistent experience for our Circle Members each month. Cleary, we've missed the mark this time. Providing the experience our Circle Members have become accustomed to is the top priority.

Customers who bought this also bought...