Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (381)

Great selections!

Oct 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tasnuva E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

The selections were perfect in fantasy genre! I'm familiar with the titles and didn't read them before! I got the first series for Sanderson so hoping in my next box the second book will be there as a continuation! Excited for what's to come next. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

A Great Book Box!

Oct 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Reagan R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days

So far, Used Books Monthly has been great! I’ve received my first box, which came very fast, and had a great selection. Three out of four of my books were brand new, which was a nice little surprise. The books I received fit my genre choices well, and I just finished reading on of them, which I liked a lot! This is a great service that id environmentally conscious and affordable. It’s also nice not knowing what you’re getting each month.

Verified Purchase

Not exactly what I thought but good!

Oct 17, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

I was hoping for at least one author I'd heard of but that was not the case, with that being said, I have not had a chance to read them yet. However, they seem to be in the correct genre! They were in very good shape as well! I look forward to next month. I will wait to change my create selection, but I may end up going to a different selection after next month.

Verified Purchase

great service - great product

Jul 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Great service run by great people who are kind and easy to work with. I love that used books are getting new life.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 13, 2022

Thank you Jennifer! Your kind words mean so much :)

Emails

Aug 30, 2022
Overall
Elizabeth C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 days

Hi, I have emailed you guys two or three times and haven't gotten responses, I sent one email about my book preferences and I sent one asking what date my box will be shipped.

Verified Purchase

New subscriber

Jul 24, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lynn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days

Great choices and really quick service. Can't wait for next month's selections.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 27, 2022

Thank you, Lynn! We hope to keep making you happy. -Trista

Cataloochee

Jun 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dolly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

I can't wait to read it.Looks good.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 13, 2022

Hey Dolly! Let us know what you thought about it!

Multiple titles

May 06, 2022
Overall
Lara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Got this as a giftfor my mother who is a voracious reader and she is always pleasantly surprised at getting new authors to read.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 15, 2022

Thanks for the kind words! We're happy your mom is happy. -Trista

Love it!

May 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rhiannon H.
1 Review

It was just a package, not a box.. but the books they picked were exactly under the genres I picked! And they were in EXCELLENT condition!

Used Books Monthly said...May 29, 2022

Thanks for the kind words!

My box

Apr 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I love the books you pick for me!!! They are all in great condition too. I can't wait to read them!!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 14, 2022

Brenda, these words mean so much to us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you're happy with your books. -UsedBooksMonthly Team

Know what you want

Apr 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leilani D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

It is a good subscription. The book was in good condition, came at a timely manner... I just... Didn't like the book... I chose general fiction as my topic as you can't select more than one. I like sci-fi, fantasy, and the sort... I got a... Rather bland fiction... Yet, that is due to the limitations, not the maker. Just know... Be specific

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 17, 2022

Thanks, Leilani. We truly do want to send you books you'll enjoy, they just don't always hit the mark, ya know? Please feel free to contact Used Books Monthly support to fine-tune your preferences and make your subscription enjoyable! -Trista

Great value.

Feb 24, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dalena A.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Books look absolutely new. No bends and even the spines are unbroken.
Choices were awesome. Will purchase again.

Verified Purchase

Fully Recommend

Sep 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracey D.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 year

I love my #usedbookmonthly subscription! I am sent books I would not have selected and am finding wonderful stories. I fully recommend!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 24, 2021

Thank you Tracey!

Excellent books

Mar 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

Very happy so far !!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting

Jan 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katelyn L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Definitely never heard of either book I received. I'm not sure I'll read one of the two but my husband is interested in it so it pans out.
Those books seem to be in really good condition for used. They did fit my genra choices. I'll keep trying the box.

Verified Purchase

Great Book Subscription

Jan 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Really enjoying this subscription box! I love getting a surprise book every month and the books are always well picked for me.

Verified Purchase

Winds of Marque, A Breath After Drowning

Mar 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jane K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I have received 3 shipments, 6 books in total. Of those six, only one has fit either of the two categories I selected—Sara Douglass The Devil’s Diadem. This book, by a renowned fantasy author, fits perfectly into the Fantasy category. The latest book sent for the fantasy category is sci-fi, but not fantasy.
None of the books sent to me would ever be found on the mystery shelves of a library; they are mainstream fiction, perhaps suspense or thriller, but not mystery novels.
Having spent many hours in libraries over the last several decades, I expected the curation of books in the categories offered to match the standard understood definitions of book genres. This has not been the case and I am paying for and receiving books that clearly do not fit the genres requested. Unless this changes I will definitely be cancelling the subscription and recommending that the service be avoided by any one who asks for my feedback.

Verified Purchase

Love Used Books Monthly's First Book

Jan 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nancy E.
1 Review

I'm only 52 pages into my first book, Running the Rift, by Naomi Benaron, but I'm totally loving it thus far! A friend gifted me a general fiction-gently-used-book-a- month for Christmas and I'm so grateful. I've been in a "non-fiction only" rut for years and I'm also passionate about re-using/recycling, so this particular gift idea is perfect for me. Looking forward to next month's selection.

Outdated

Mar 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Grace H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days

Super outdated books and nothing like I would read will not be getting them again

Verified Purchase

All Winners So Far!

Jan 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gregory L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Both months have been great so far! Great mix, all have been wins!

Verified Purchase

not for me

Feb 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deborahrhodes@218yahoo.com ..
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

did not like them Liza was ok the other forget it i want to stop it

Verified Purchase

Didn’t pay attention after reading the s

Feb 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

Not a fan- not at all my reading preference

Verified Purchase

great expectations

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dolly D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days

..love the title and author book. Sounds great can't wait!

Verified Purchase

My review

Jan 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanna F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

Unfortunately I didn’t get any book that I would have wanted to read. I understand that I would be getting used books but one of them was a discarded library book, which didn’t seem like a good choice.

Verified Purchase

Love it

Dec 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I don’t know if it was intentional, but I did have a repeat book which I know isn’t normal; however, I’m 100% gifting it to a friend so I’m not mad about it! The books they select I have never heard of and they’re all good!!

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...