Beautiful Classic Books and Luxury Tea or Coffee

Plans as low as £12.00 GBP / month

CLASSIC OF THE MONTH CLUB reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Good choise if you love vintage books

Oct 31, 2017
Aleksandra S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I was very glad to receive this box. I got the book, the bookmark *which I adore*, the notepad and the tea *it`s very tasty*. I am not planning to continue my subscription because I totally missed that the books are not new. But it`s my fault, so I should be more attentive in future.

Verified Purchase

Feb 11, 2018
Brandy Y.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I love the different types of books that come from this subscription. They're all guaranteed vintage, and every one I've received has been great.

Verified Purchase

Oct 29, 2017
Dina M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

I was receiving this box for about half a year and was delighted. I received some not-so-famous books of well known authors, and it was a whole new world for me.
The stationery was cute, and I used it several times as a gift. It looks unique but not too strange.
And of course the tea. It is really great, they have so much different flavors. Personally, I loved the Christmas blend that I received last year, it was rooibos based (if I am not mistaken), but when drinking it was not so much about rooibos, just really Christmasish :)

Verified Purchase

Worth the wait

3 days ago
Kathryn G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My box took a while to arrive (with it shipping overseas it’s understandable) but it was well worth the wait! The packaging was very cute and neat. I could totally see myself getting this box again.

Verified Purchase

History at hand!

Jan 30, 2018
Kristina K.
9 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I love this subscription so much! The stationary was an afterthought for me- I was after the tea and the book, but I have come to cherish it as much as the others. They are beautiful, and I have made use of every piece I've received. I've had this subscription a year now, and never received the same piece of stationary twice! The tea has been excellent to be able to carry a high quality bag tea with for those work breaks or travel excursions, and has delicious, unique flavors. The book arrives beautifully wrapped, with a different bookmark each month. And they are vintage books, for sure! Some are in perfect condition, but some are very well loved. I've actually treasured my well loved ones even more than the perfect conditions- most often a penguin collection, but any type may show up, and often with intriguing looks into the lives of the times the book was published (canned dog food was discontinued during WWII- did you know?). This subscription has far surpassed any other book box I've tried!

Verified Purchase

Love this box!

Sep 21, 2017
Laura W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

My 2nd Bookishly Tea box arrived today & I'm delighted again. I'm intrigued by both months' books & am midway through #1. Neither are books I would have selected on my own & I'm thoroughly happy with each. Matching stationery & book mark (with literary quotes) are great. Tea is delicious. Thanks so much!

Verified Purchase

SO Happy

Feb 19, 2017
Alex S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I am so so impressed with this box. The price was completely fair and the items included were of good quality. Sometimes the pictures make the subscription seem like it will be fancier than it is, but in this case everything was just as adorable as I hoped it would be. Random, but wonderful, vintage book. Adorable stationary. Nice bookmark. Delicious bag of tea. And I appreciated that the book wasn't just covered in tissue, but actually individually wrapped in nice wrapping paper. Really felt like I was receiving a gift. Will definitely order again in the future.

Verified Purchase

Best present to myself

Feb 02, 2017
Jennifer S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I received my first box today and was beyond excited when I got home from work and saw it! I was nervous that it might not live up to my expectations, but I had absolutely nothing to worry about! I chose the tea option and received a nice type of black tea. There were also several postcards with some of my favorite books and a cute bookmark. The book itself was "Rebecca" by Daphne du Maurier (which I sadly have never read but am starting right now). It was a little worn but well loved and so beautifully wrapped I almost didn't want to open it. This box is perfect and I love it!

Verified Purchase

Delightful

Apr 03, 2017
Gaya A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Delightful boxes that make me smile each time I open one

Verified Purchase

Vintage Beauties

Feb 01, 2017
Ellie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

After receiving my first package I was absolutely overjoyed! The book that arrived was a beautiful vintage copy of Richard Keverne's novel "Carteret's Cure". It was a bit battered, with fragile yellowed pages and a taped together spine, but that's why I love it! All of the stationary was lovely from what the book was wrapped in to the set of postcards. A great monthly treat 5/5.

Verified Purchase

Love from first month.

Feb 01, 2017
Lauren K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I received my first month's box and I am absolutely in love. The coffee is lovely and I was surprised to see that the book was beautifully wrapped. It felt like the perfect gift from me to me!

Verified Purchase

So lovely!

Feb 04, 2017
Anna M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall

Recieved my first crate and I couldn't be happier! Delicious tea, lovely vintage edition, beautiful little postcards...absolutely wonderful little present to myself!

Verified Purchase

A Little Package of Literary Delight!

Jul 05, 2017
Jennifer W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I just received my first subscription and it's quite wonderful. I adore the stationary, I can't wait to try the tea and the book, while I am unfamiliar with it (The Angel in the Corner by Monica Dickens) I look forward to starting. The book is in excellent condition. The edition, printed in the 1950s, is yellowed in all the right places but there are no rips to be found. All in all, I highly recommended this subscription box to my friends and I know of at least one who quickly went and signed up. Thank you Bookishly and I look forward to receiving more goodies from you!!!

Verified Purchase

Great gift for a coffee and book lover

Nov 29, 2020
Tiffany O.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought a few months of this as a birthday gift for my mum and she's been very happy with it!

Verified Purchase

Really happy with my order

Aug 16, 2017
Stephanie G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I subscribe for just a month to try it (coffee & book club), I ordered it on July 7th and it arrived today (all the way to Lima, Peru). The package was on a good state, the book came wrapped on a really nice and resistant paper. I have never heard of the book I received, it would probably cost me a lot more if I were to buy it online.
I'll renew my subscription and I hope to have the same nice experience.... The coffee is really good too

Verified Purchase

Sep 18, 2018
Ani S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

I subscribed to the Classic of the Month Club. I loved both the book & tea and everything was packaged nicely. The package also arrived slightly more than a week after my order, which is pretty fast for an international order and the delivery charge was reasonably priced. However, I found the subscription a bit pricey overall for the two items that I received. I might subscribe from time to time to indulge myself but not every month.

Verified Purchase

Sep 06, 2017
Renate F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I received a badly damaged book that's practically falling apart. I'm incredibly disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Bookishly said...Oct 31, 2017

Sorry to hear you're disappointed with your book. Everyone's experience and expectation of a vintage book is different and we understand that. We send out over 2000 books a month and we try very hard to ensure what we send out is as good a quality as possibly can be. If you contact us at subs@bookishly.co.uk with your address we'll send you a replacement book.

Won't Be Renewing Subscription

Aug 25, 2017
Deena Z.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall

I received my package today and was so excited! I've ordered other book subscriptions and was happy to try another! Thoroughly disappointed with this one. Bookishly describes the books as "vintage," which I can really appreciate. However, the book I received smelled completely terrible and urine-like! Sad that I'll have to toss it away. On the other hand, I absolutely loved the packing, the tea and the other things that came with my box. Unlikely for me to renew my subscription.

Verified Purchase
Bookishly said...Oct 31, 2017

Sorry to hear you're disappointed with your book. Everyone's experience and expectation of a vintage book is different and we understand that. We send out over 2000 books a month and we try very hard to ensure what we send out is as good a quality as possibly can be. If you contact us at subs@bookishly.co.uk with your address we'll send you a replacement book.

Book choice is bad.

Mar 06, 2017
Kristen C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

Book selection was just bad. A dated history of the pharaohs that looks like a garage sale dump. Pages are brown and completely unappetizing to read. The cratejoy description and reviews seemed more like "classic, vintage" than throwaway books. Tea, packaging and stationary are good. Super disappointed in book choice, and will probably just throw it out because I don't even know a library that will take this. Having a preference of type of book could have saved it.

Verified Purchase
Bookishly said...Oct 31, 2017

Sorry to hear you're disappointed with your book. Everyone's experience and expectation of a vintage book is different and we understand that. We send out over 2000 books a month and we try very hard to ensure what we send out is as good a quality as possibly can be. If you contact us at subs@bookishly.co.uk with your address we'll send you a replacement book.

Smelly Books and Bad Coffee

Jul 05, 2017
Alanise B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

I have never been as disappointed in a subscription service as I was with this one. I hate flavoured coffee and that's was I got. The book would have been fine if it hadn't smelled so ghastly. I mean really bad I had to throw out the package it came in and wash my hands after holding it. To emphasize I like old book smell but this was rotten book smell.

Verified Purchase
Bookishly said...Oct 31, 2017

Sorry to hear you're disappointed with your book and coffee. Everyone's experience and expectation of a vintage book is different and we understand that. We send out over 2000 books a month and we try very hard to ensure what we send out is as good a quality as possibly can be. The coffee we use in our subscriptions isn't flavoured, the descriptions on the packet are tasting notes, as you'd see on a bottle of wine. Sorry if this is confusing. If you contact us at subs@bookishly.co.uk with your address we'll send you a replacement book.

Pretty Ugly Lies

Feb 05, 2018
Fritzi R.
1 Review
Overall

Review of Pretty Ugly Lies
by Pamela Crane
Pamela Crane has written another awesome book.
This one is a departure from the traditional mystery in that it begins typically enough with a murder and an unknown perpetrator; however, as you read further, the murder will be nearly forgotten.
You will instead be caught up in the frustration, hopefulness, despair and reconciliation, order and disorder of the characters as they struggle through their lives.
Then, POW! the mystery is back and we know who committed the murder and why.
To say that this story is multifaceted is an understatement. To say that it is a darn good tale is an understated truth.

Mar 15, 2018
Gaylene M.
1 Review
Overall

I received the three month subscription as a gift from my son. Was surprised when I received the first two parcels only two weeks apart. The books are not really to my taste, my son thought they were meant to be new books, but I really enjoyed the tea and stationery. The packaging was lovely. I won't continue with the subscription, though I would consider one more to my taste.

Buying Options