Luxe organization, planner stationery, and stylish pens for sophisticated paper and planner lovers!

Plans as low as $16.33 / month

CLOTH & PAPER reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Good, a few tweaks could greatly improve

Jul 28, 2020
Melissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Reviewing the pen box - I haven’t been happy with the pen box. A lot of the time they’re pens readily available on AliExpress for much cheaper and every month so far at least three of the pens skip heavily. A couple of times I’ve also received really crazy colors. I love pens so I won’t be unsubbing just yet, but I would love to see better quality pens in black or maybe blue. I don’t need teal and yellow.

As for the planner insert box - Overall I am a fan of this box. There are some things I don’t care for. Such as the laundry guide and conversions dashboard. These just seem like cheap after thoughts to fill the box and are nothing I would ever buy. I had a discussion about this in a group chat with other planners and they all agree. I would really love to see these items replaced with useful items. I’ve also noticed the paper quality of the sub box inserts always seem to be lesser quality than inserts bought directly from Cloth & Paper. I may be wrong in this - full disclosure, only some of my planner friends agreed with me. To me it feels much grainier and not nearly as smooth as the inserts from the site. I’m also not a fan of the recent wishlist / password tracker inserts with the thick black bar running down the side. The inserts are fine but that bar is just ugly....

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Jul 28, 2020

Melissa,

We are sorry that you have not been please with the box for the 4 months you have renewed it. Our customer service team has reached out to you to help you resolve this and help you with updating your account. We definitely don't want you to receive anything you aren't happy with.

Underwhelmed

Nov 29, 2018
Wendy Z.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

It’s not that the items weren’t nice looking but I was disappointed in the small amount of stuff that I got or $38 . I definitely thought I would get more product and possibly a full planner .

Verified Purchase

Confused

Dec 16, 2018
Debra A.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I was trying to order the planner and the pen and paper subscription. Was so confused I ordered the pen thinking that was both then realized it wasn’t. Then ordered the paper. Somehow the pen order got canceled and I’m still waiting for my shipment of paper. Disappointed that I can’t figure out how to order the planner (not in black). I’ll say signing up is confusing.

Verified Purchase

Nice quality but mostly useless

Apr 18, 2018
Allie J.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I received both boxes for several months. I gave two stars because I enjoy the products they make. I have a planner of theirs and many inserts. But I'd rather just buy directly from the website and choose what I want. This box is just stuff that they make and have on their website so it isn't really worth being surprised (like other boxes that introduce you to new companies), especially since the things they send are usually really impractical. Lots of different pads for instance, with various layouts, which might be great if you don't use a planner and want your lists to just sit on your desk. I rarely used any of the things they sent me. Some of the products are not very well thought through (like compliment cards, cute idea, but with no envelopes or way to store them in your purse without getting dirty). Also the iconic rollerball they make is pretty but doesn't write well at all. I ended my subscription because I rarely used the items they sent. Additionally, this company has the worst customer service of any box I receive. The box comes with no description or explanation of the items inside. I don't have any other boxes that don't send an explanation of the items. You get a bunch of random pens with no explanation even though there are other printed cards inside that are almost all self promotion. It feels lazy and inconsiderate. You obviously had time to print cards......

Verified Purchase

Dec 27, 2018
Amanda C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I liked how well the box was packaged and organized, but I was very disappointed with the selection. The value of the box was maybe $10, max, with only gel/ballpoint pens inside.

Verified Purchase

A bit disappointed

May 26, 2018
Jenn K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

For the price of this box, I was expecting significantly higher quality...or just better...items. At almost $50 for the May box I got a bunch of pens (all are fine, but nothing particularly special) a few greeting cards that don’t make a lot of sense (all three are plain with a punctuation mark on them); page marker post-it’s (the highlight- they’re pretty cool) a memo post it pad with a quote about gratitude, a pad of card stock weekly calendar pages and two random credit card size clear plastic cards with quotes on them. My biggest issue with this box is that although both inserts (the pens and the stationary) tells you where to get the specs on the products, the information isn’t posted where it says it is. Maybe my issue is that I had really high expectations, or maybe it was just disappointing....
Either way, I won’t be recording this box.

Verified Purchase

Lynda Schaffer

Dec 08, 2018
Lynda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Very disappointed in this box. In the months I received my boxes I only got pens so I canceled it. I wish I had received planning and paper items.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Dec 12, 2018

Hi Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear that there was some confusion on the product that you signed up for. We offer three subscription products: one for pens, one for stationery/ planner goods, and one that delivers both boxes at a discount. When you signed up, you selected only the Pen Box, which is why we only shipped pens to you. We would love to know what we could have done to make the sign up process more clear so we can avoid this issue in the future for other customers. We are looking forward to hearing from you and assisting you in any way possible.

Not worth the money at all

Jun 06, 2018
Natasha P.
5 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got 5 pens. They were not anything special for $18. I could have gotten a pack of pens from the dollar store and they would be comparable.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options