CLOTH & PAPER

by CLOTH & PAPER
Luxe organization, planner stationery, and stylish pens for sophisticated paper and planner lovers!
273 reviews

Plans as low as

$16.33/ month

Buying Options

CLOTH & PAPER reviewsReviews

Write a Review
273

Meh, not worth it

Mar 28, 2021
Julie C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Curation left to be desired. No pens, just sticky notes and add ones for a planner I don't have because I thought I'd get one at that price.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Mar 31, 2021

Hi Julie, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; we greatly appreciate it as it provides insight to how we can improve our subscription box service. We apologize for any dissatisfaction in regard to your subscription box and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Cheap uninteresting pens

May 01, 2021
Jason R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've received two out of the three boxes I subscribed to of the Penspiration subscription, and so far I am pretty disappointed. The first month, I got a glue pen that barely works, a mechanical pencil that has .7mm lead (does anyone actually willingly choose .7?) and just had one short starter lead in the pencil, no extra. There were also three other pens, all of which felt incredibly cheap, were all the same color, and one of them barely wrote. Throwing them in a chintzy plastic pen case (literally just folded plastic that barely holds together) and adding a piece of card stock to test your pens does NOT elevate this to being worth over $15 per crate.
I was very disappointed, but decided to wait until the next crate to decide if I was going to keep the subscription after it ends. It could have been a fluke, after all. However, I got the next crate, and again, the pens feel cheap and plasticy. There WAS a different color ink finally, so that was at least nice. I got five pens that feel basically the same, and four of them are black ink, one of them is blue. Not terribly exciting. The second crate felt like it was marginally higher quality, but only barely so, and still didn't feel like $15 worth of pens. It felt like I could get the same quality by going to the dollar store,...

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...May 05, 2021

Jason, we are so sorry that you've had a negative experience with our subscription box, and we want to do everything we can to help. We are always looking for ways to improve our subscription box service and we value your feedback for that reason.
When we curate our monthly boxes, our team strives to include items that are both fun and functional and often revolve around a theme which results in some month carrying more black ink pens than other months. Again, we will be sure to let the team know that our subscribers that are interested in seeing a wider variety of ink colors. Thank you again for providing such valuable feedback and giving us such important insight.

Where do I put the inserts?

Jan 30, 2021
Shauwea H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The packaging is gorgeous. I really like the pens - the diversity of pen type but the consistency of the color palette. Where I get confused in the box is how to use the paper inserts - what do I insert it in to? When I signed up I said I didn't have a planner, but these inserts lead me to believe that maybe I need a planner to make use of this box? Also, even as a true paper lover - I don't know what to do with purchase tracker sheets or all of the appointment notes/pads. It felt a little bit like a box of leftovers.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Feb 08, 2021

Hi Shauwea, thank you for your questions and feedback -we'd love to help! Our boxes are curated to include accessories and planning inserts in a specific size, based on the size of the planner being used. We offer the option for subscribers to select "I don't own a ring or disc-bound planner" which means that you will be sent the same products as other subscribers, and any inserts will be unpunched. The idea here is that subscribers with this option can punch the inserts to their liking or use them in alternative ways if they do not have a binder or disc-bound system. Some subscribers like to use dashboards on bulletin boards or vision boards. We also recommend taking a look at our YouTube channel...

Underwhelmed

Nov 29, 2018
Wendy Z.
5 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

It’s not that the items weren’t nice looking but I was disappointed in the small amount of stuff that I got or $38 . I definitely thought I would get more product and possibly a full planner .

Verified Purchase

Confused

Dec 16, 2018
Debra A.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I was trying to order the planner and the pen and paper subscription. Was so confused I ordered the pen thinking that was both then realized it wasn’t. Then ordered the paper. Somehow the pen order got canceled and I’m still waiting for my shipment of paper. Disappointed that I can’t figure out how to order the planner (not in black). I’ll say signing up is confusing.

Verified Purchase

Nice quality but mostly useless

Apr 18, 2018
Allie J.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I received both boxes for several months. I gave two stars because I enjoy the products they make. I have a planner of theirs and many inserts. But I'd rather just buy directly from the website and choose what I want. This box is just stuff that they make and have on their website so it isn't really worth being surprised (like other boxes that introduce you to new companies), especially since the things they send are usually really impractical. Lots of different pads for instance, with various layouts, which might be great if you don't use a planner and want your lists to just sit on your desk. I rarely used any of the things they sent me. Some of the products are not very well thought through (like compliment cards, cute idea, but with no envelopes or way to store them in your purse without getting dirty). Also the iconic rollerball they make is pretty but doesn't write well at all. I ended my subscription because I rarely used the items they sent. Additionally, this company has the worst customer service of any box I receive. The box comes with no description or explanation of the items inside. I don't have any other boxes that don't send an explanation of the items. You get a bunch of random pens with no explanation even though there are other printed cards inside that are almost all self promotion. It feels lazy and inconsiderate. You obviously had time to print cards......

Verified Purchase

Dec 27, 2018
Amanda C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I liked how well the box was packaged and organized, but I was very disappointed with the selection. The value of the box was maybe $10, max, with only gel/ballpoint pens inside.

Verified Purchase

A bit disappointed

May 26, 2018
Jenn K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

For the price of this box, I was expecting significantly higher quality...or just better...items. At almost $50 for the May box I got a bunch of pens (all are fine, but nothing particularly special) a few greeting cards that don’t make a lot of sense (all three are plain with a punctuation mark on them); page marker post-it’s (the highlight- they’re pretty cool) a memo post it pad with a quote about gratitude, a pad of card stock weekly calendar pages and two random credit card size clear plastic cards with quotes on them. My biggest issue with this box is that although both inserts (the pens and the stationary) tells you where to get the specs on the products, the information isn’t posted where it says it is. Maybe my issue is that I had really high expectations, or maybe it was just disappointing....
Either way, I won’t be recording this box.

Verified Purchase

Good, a few tweaks could greatly improve

Jul 28, 2020
Melissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Reviewing the pen box - I haven’t been happy with the pen box. A lot of the time they’re pens readily available on AliExpress for much cheaper and every month so far at least three of the pens skip heavily. A couple of times I’ve also received really crazy colors. I love pens so I won’t be unsubbing just yet, but I would love to see better quality pens in black or maybe blue. I don’t need teal and yellow.
As for the planner insert box - Overall I am a fan of this box. There are some things I don’t care for. Such as the laundry guide and conversions dashboard. These just seem like cheap after thoughts to fill the box and are nothing I would ever buy. I had a discussion about this in a group chat with other planners and they all agree. I would really love to see these items replaced with useful items. I’ve also noticed the paper quality of the sub box inserts always seem to be lesser quality than inserts bought directly from Cloth & Paper. I may be wrong in this - full disclosure, only some of my planner friends agreed with me. To me it feels much grainier and not nearly as smooth as the inserts from the site. I’m also not a fan of the recent wishlist / password tracker inserts with the thick black bar running down the side. The inserts are fine but that bar is just ugly....

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Jul 28, 2020

Melissa,
We are sorry that you have not been please with the box for the 4 months you have renewed it. Our customer service team has reached out to you to help you resolve this and help you with updating your account. We definitely don't want you to receive anything you aren't happy with.

Lynda Schaffer

Dec 08, 2018
Lynda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Very disappointed in this box. In the months I received my boxes I only got pens so I canceled it. I wish I had received planning and paper items.

Verified Purchase
CLOTH & PAPER said...Dec 12, 2018

Hi Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear that there was some confusion on the product that you signed up for. We offer three subscription products: one for pens, one for stationery/ planner goods, and one that delivers both boxes at a discount. When you signed up, you selected only the Pen Box, which is why we only shipped pens to you. We would love to know what we could have done to make the sign up process more clear so we can avoid this issue in the future for other customers. We are looking forward to hearing from you and assisting you in any way possible.

Not worth the money at all

Jun 06, 2018
Natasha P.
5 Reviews
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got 5 pens. They were not anything special for $18. I could have gotten a pack of pens from the dollar store and they would be comparable.

Verified Purchase