Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | Canadian Subscription Box Of The Year Winner

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Customer service is a zero at best

Aug 12, 2020
Kellie S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered their 6 project subscription for a Christmas gift last year, plus an extra project. I only got the extra project but assumed the rest would ship later. With the pandemic and everything else, I completely forgot about it until recently (August). I emailed for help and they patronizingly responded that I got all 6 projects and didn’t understand what I’d gotten. I sent pictures and asked for money back; they finally realized they were wrong but only offered the item I should have gotten 8 months ago. Great customer service....merry Christmas.

Verified Purchase

Poor customer service/incomplete box

Aug 02, 2020
Angie J.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

The box does not come with instructions but rather a code to download the online course. The course costs $19.99 without the code. Unfortunately, the code does not work. I’ve sent at least 4 emails asking for assistance. I received one response but it didn’t address my issue. And when I emailed the individual right back, there was no further response. I’ve sent screenshots of the error code but there has been no resolution. So, now we have a box of pieces but no idea how to put it together. We were excited about this box and I’m really disappointed that this has been our experience.

Verified Purchase

[UPDATE] Mistakes

Feb 23, 2020
Carl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

UPDATE:
So I worked with CC about getting the missing parts - and my son and I have done 2 projects - And they worked GREAT! My son enjoyed the experience and he was engaged.

Shipping can be a little slow - response can be a little slow -
But!
Working with them and viewing the content - you can tell they are working to make a great product to educate people. If you have the right expectations it's a great kit

I have decided to keep my subscription and I am happy about it

--- OLD REVIEW--
So I got the 1st crate in a reasonable time - Once I opened it the project was the Mood Light but the pamphlet was for the Project 2 with the wrong code for redeeming the Instructions.
I had to wait 2 days to get the "right" code.
Once I had some time to try it - when I had time with my son - the code didn't work - So now it's twice my son and I made time to do the crate and twice we couldn't
This makes it difficult to keep his attention - I finally after a year of asking if wanted to do some Arduino projects got him to agree - and this looked like a good way to foster that - and now it's 2 negative experiences.

Honestly, I think I am going to do it myself at this point so I don't damage his interest anymore.

The whole redeeming the course with a...

Verified Purchase

Very cool projects

Jun 25, 2020
Valentina L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I like this crate, but definitely for older kids. I made the two projects with my 6 yo son and we had fun. Instructions are a little confusing at times, but they provide videos that make it easier to follow. The results are super cool

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
James H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.

When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.

In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.

P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Terrible customer service

Feb 16, 2020
Sapana K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We reached out to them with two very specific issues my son was facing regarding the Boombox build. They helped us with the first one, even though their response time was very slow. The second one had them stumped and after I sent multiple emails asking what the next step was and asking if they were going to help us, they finally responded and suggested a video call. I responded with days and times that would work. After two weeks of no response, I got sick of following up with them and asked them to either refund or replace the item. Not surprisingly, I did not hear back from anyone on that email either. Waste of my time and $50.

Verified Purchase

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase

Great starting point for Arduino!

Aug 23, 2018
Nicholas M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

The kit provides step by step instructions and is very clear in not only how to build the project, but how to program it as well. Great for beginners who want to get into making and programming, but do not know where to start. This provides a solid foundation for them to build on, and will encourage them to build bigger and better things in the future. Brilliant product!

Verified Purchase

Aug 11, 2018
Bryan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Creation Crate did a great job of explaining how the mood lamp worked. I'm excited to see what comes next!

Verified Purchase

Fun, well designed, thoughtful product!

Mar 30, 2016
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We heard of this from a friend and subscribed as a gift for our elementary aged son who loves electronics and DIY projects. He was very excited to receive a surprise electronics project in a box and equally enthused after opening it! He was able to set up/troubleshoot on his own (outside of software download) and has enjoyed experimenting with it. There are variables to play with and exercises provided if one would like to play with modifying the program and hardware.

This product is well designed, communicated, and a good value with helpful customer support. We're looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

It’s pretty awesome

Oct 15, 2017
Erica M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I got it for my younger sister, who’s an engineering major at her university. She thought it was pretty awesome and had a lot of fun putting it together. I would recondmend it no matter the age.

Verified Purchase

Love it Thank you so much

Nov 09, 2017
Richard H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This has been a great bonding tool with my son and I. But more importantly it has sparked his love of science and electronics and programming specifically. It has taken the controller out of his hands and put the control in his hands. The control of his future so thanks again

Verified Purchase

Unique and fun!

Nov 20, 2017
Carmen Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I got a three month subscription for my boyfriend who studied computer science in University and has always been interested in hardware. He loved it and thought that this was a great idea and can't wait for the next creation!

Verified Purchase

Cratejoy

Feb 12, 2018
Aida S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

It was cool. But the package is super small for the price. But it has awesome things. Too bad I got to create a mood lamp, a small mood lamp. But my husband liked it. I think I would pay like $25 for the subscription because is small.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Review

Mar 08, 2018
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I subscribed to creation crate for my 6th grade Science class and it did not disappoint! Several of my students loved the fact that they were going to get more hands on experience with coding. It was an awesome sight seeing student's manipulate coding on the mood lamp to alter different settings. Can't wait for the 2nd box!!!

Verified Purchase

I'm Addicted!

Oct 06, 2017
Allen P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've been wanting to learn about electronics and coding and I couldn't be happier with my first project with Creation Crate! I'm 48 years old and this is an absolute joy but in all seriousness it's also the future. Talk about having fun!

Verified Purchase

Even great for adults

Nov 30, 2017
Kristen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've tried for years to teach myself about electronics and coding, but without an end project to work on, it was difficult to retain what I learned or see the bigger picture behind what I was learning. The activities that creation crate provides gave me the perfect opportunity to tie everything I had learned together to create something that was functional, while also allowing me to see the process by which software directly influences hardware. Even though this product seems to be marketed primarily towards children and young adults, I think it's also a fun, valuable educational tool for curious adults who want to learn more about electronics and coding.

On a separate note - for those of you who are hesitant to sign up for a monthly subscription (like I was), just know that you can cancel at any time. And, due to a small mix-up in parts that arrived in my first Creation Crate box, I know firsthand that their customer service is really helpful and quick to respond to any problems or concerns you may have.

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!

Mar 08, 2018
Dominique G.
3 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I heard about this subscription last year on YouTube and decided to subscribe I am a women and absolutely love how clear the instructions are so anyone can learn about technology and programming at any age and the finished product makes me happy it shows what I have learned and accomplished!

Verified Purchase

Mood lamp

Dec 30, 2017
Daniel D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Very interesting first month project. It was nice to start off with something complex and interesting yet the instructions guided us right through the whole project. This was a great father son project.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options