Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | Canadian Subscription Box Of The Year Winner

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

[UPDATE] Mistakes

Apr 15, 2020
Carl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

UPDATE:
So I worked with CC about getting the missing parts - and my son and I have done 2 projects - And they worked GREAT! My son enjoyed the experience and he was engaged.

Shipping can be a little slow - response can be a little slow -
But!
Working with them and viewing the content - you can tell they are working to make a great product to educate people. If you have the right expectations it's a great kit

I have decided to keep my subscription and I am happy about it

--- OLD REVIEW--
So I got the 1st crate in a reasonable time - Once I opened it the project was the Mood Light but the pamphlet was for the Project 2 with the wrong code for redeeming the Instructions.
I had to wait 2 days to get the "right" code.
Once I had some time to try it - when I had time with my son - the code didn't work - So now it's twice my son and I made time to do the crate and twice we couldn't
This makes it difficult to keep his attention - I finally after a year of asking if wanted to do some Arduino projects got him to agree - and this looked like a good way to foster that - and now it's 2 negative experiences.

Honestly, I think I am going to do it myself at this point so I don't damage his interest anymore.

The whole redeeming the course with a...

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service

Feb 16, 2020
Sapana K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We reached out to them with two very specific issues my son was facing regarding the Boombox build. They helped us with the first one, even though their response time was very slow. The second one had them stumped and after I sent multiple emails asking what the next step was and asking if they were going to help us, they finally responded and suggested a video call. I responded with days and times that would work. After two weeks of no response, I got sick of following up with them and asked them to either refund or replace the item. Not surprisingly, I did not hear back from anyone on that email either. Waste of my time and $50.

Verified Purchase

Do not purchase the 2.0 subscription

Feb 09, 2020
Viet V.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased the 2.0 version of the subscription. I have only received 6 out of the 12 boxes and it has been over 6 months since I received a box. Customer service is horrible. They keep telling me to be patient and they are working on the project. It's been over 6 months. How much more patient can i be?

Verified Purchase

Project package not received yet

Feb 04, 2020
Kai C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a project (semi-annual) on Jan.11, but I haven't received the package. Contacted (sent email) the customer support. No one replies so far :-(. Is there a customer hotline number?

Verified Purchase

Very cool projects

Jun 25, 2020
Valentina L.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I like this crate, but definitely for older kids. I made the two projects with my 6 yo son and we had fun. Instructions are a little confusing at times, but they provide videos that make it easier to follow. The results are super cool

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
James H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.

When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.

In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.

P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase

Great starting point for Arduino!

Aug 23, 2018
Nicholas M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

The kit provides step by step instructions and is very clear in not only how to build the project, but how to program it as well. Great for beginners who want to get into making and programming, but do not know where to start. This provides a solid foundation for them to build on, and will encourage them to build bigger and better things in the future. Brilliant product!

Verified Purchase

Aug 11, 2018
Bryan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Creation Crate did a great job of explaining how the mood lamp worked. I'm excited to see what comes next!

Verified Purchase

Love it Thank you so much

Jun 15, 2018
Richard H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This has been a great bonding tool with my son and I. But more importantly it has sparked his love of science and electronics and programming specifically. It has taken the controller out of his hands and put the control in his hands. The control of his future so thanks again

Verified Purchase

AWESOME

Jun 15, 2018
Jade C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I just finished my first project and I really loved this product. It was full of challenges and it taught me lots of cool new things. I think this is a great option for kids who are interested in tech. I can't wait for my project!

-Jade, 11 yrs old

Verified Purchase

Even great for adults

Jun 15, 2018
Kristen M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've tried for years to teach myself about electronics and coding, but without an end project to work on, it was difficult to retain what I learned or see the bigger picture behind what I was learning. The activities that creation crate provides gave me the perfect opportunity to tie everything I had learned together to create something that was functional, while also allowing me to see the process by which software directly influences hardware. Even though this product seems to be marketed primarily towards children and young adults, I think it's also a fun, valuable educational tool for curious adults who want to learn more about electronics and coding.

On a separate note - for those of you who are hesitant to sign up for a monthly subscription (like I was), just know that you can cancel at any time. And, due to a small mix-up in parts that arrived in my first Creation Crate box, I know firsthand that their customer service is really helpful and quick to respond to any problems or concerns you may have.

Verified Purchase

I'm Addicted!

Jun 15, 2018
Allen P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I've been wanting to learn about electronics and coding and I couldn't be happier with my first project with Creation Crate! I'm 48 years old and this is an absolute joy but in all seriousness it's also the future. Talk about having fun!

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!

Jun 15, 2018
Dominique G.
3 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I heard about this subscription last year on YouTube and decided to subscribe I am a women and absolutely love how clear the instructions are so anyone can learn about technology and programming at any age and the finished product makes me happy it shows what I have learned and accomplished!

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Review

Jun 15, 2018
Kris H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I subscribed to creation crate for my 6th grade Science class and it did not disappoint! Several of my students loved the fact that they were going to get more hands on experience with coding. It was an awesome sight seeing student's manipulate coding on the mood lamp to alter different settings. Can't wait for the 2nd box!!!

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate!

Jun 15, 2018
Anne D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

My first Creation Crate came earlier this month, the directions and application of the project were very clear and straightforward. I am also so happy about the custom service of Creation Crate, as they provided a lot of clarity about payments when I first subscribed.
I have always wanted to learn coding and building electronics. It is a great way to dive into that!!

Verified Purchase

Intelligent and well-done

Jun 15, 2018
Tina C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I am happy to have finally found a STEM kit for kids that doesn’t simplify the project for kids. Creation Crate gives clear directions that leave a little bit of room for the user to “figure it out” just enough. The programming isn’t pre typed or block based and you learn first-hand how to troubleshoot and problem solve. The review questions at the end are great for figuring out why the code works and how to change it.

Verified Purchase