Creation Crate

by Creation Crate
Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | 'Best in STEM 2021' by Newsweek
93 reviews

Plans as low as

$39.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (93)

Really neat projects that you can build

Dec 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alan M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I was really impressed in the quality of the materials in the kit and the course materials was really well laid out. I was able to take my first project and make it into a really attractive mood light that sits on my end table
UPDATE:
This is my second Creation Crate and I am still very pleased on the quality of materials that are provided including a Arduino which is work the price of the crate itself.
Instructions and training materials are top notch

Verified Purchase

Great product for parents and kids

Feb 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Charles Y.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Excellent fun!
I gave my 8-year-old a subscription and it has been great. I only did a tiny amount of electronics in high-school and both of us have learned a lot. The crates come with everything you need (and a few spares in some instances) and the instructions are clear.
The fact that it addresses both the electronics and how programing a UNO interacts with it is particularly useful.
We had some difficulty getting the UNO to work with our older iMac (which was frustrating) but that is nothing to do with Creation Crate. Works fine with our newer computer.
I would highly recommend it (and do) to anyone with an interest in electronics and or programming.

Verified Purchase

Fun Projects

Feb 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 25 days

I bought the 12 project box. I've made a few of the projects, and so far they've been fun! Glad I decided to check it out. My favorite so far has been the mood lamp--I'm currently working on a battery operated version that I can take to work once I'm back in the office.

Verified Purchase

Great crate!

Feb 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

I had a lot of fun making my first project and I definitely learned more about electronics than I ever have. The rest of the 12-month project kit looks just as good. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Excellent.

Dec 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paul H.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 4 months

Excellent and fun projects. Everyone uses electronics so we should know how they work.

Verified Purchase

I'm a 47 year-old woman and love them!

Dec 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Krysta C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months

I'm a 47 year-old woman and I'm loving these projects! They're very fun to build. I've learned quite a lot and even made a few projects of my own design based on what I've learned! I really enjoy the tactile sensation of working with the parts to create something. Extremely satisfying. I wish this existed when I was a child!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
Overall
James H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 days

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.
When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.
In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.
P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Perfect

Apr 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kenya W.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

My 13 year old son becomes super busy when he gets the box. And he has a VR and PS4, yet when the box arrives, he jumps off those games and starts working on the new project.

Verified Purchase

Great Product, even for older people

Dec 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

A great set with good instructions. I did some programming and electronics years ago and this helped me hone my skills.

Verified Purchase

Easy and Effective

Nov 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Willie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

So far my experience with Creation Crate has been fun and effective for learning how to code on the Arduino. The trick is to type the code and not just copy and paste it. That way you can read and learn the process of each line of code.

Verified Purchase

Customer service is a zero at best

Aug 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kellie S.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I ordered their 6 project subscription for a Christmas gift last year, plus an extra project. I only got the extra project but assumed the rest would ship later. With the pandemic and everything else, I completely forgot about it until recently (August). I emailed for help and they patronizingly responded that I got all 6 projects and didn’t understand what I’d gotten. I sent pictures and asked for money back; they finally realized they were wrong but only offered the item I should have gotten 8 months ago. Great customer service....merry Christmas.

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service

Feb 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sapana K.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

We reached out to them with two very specific issues my son was facing regarding the Boombox build. They helped us with the first one, even though their response time was very slow. The second one had them stumped and after I sent multiple emails asking what the next step was and asking if they were going to help us, they finally responded and suggested a video call. I responded with days and times that would work. After two weeks of no response, I got sick of following up with them and asked them to either refund or replace the item. Not surprisingly, I did not hear back from anyone on that email either. Waste of my time and $50.

Verified Purchase

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Overall
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Overall
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Overall
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Overall
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Overall
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Overall
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Overall
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase

Great starting point for Arduino!

Aug 23, 2018
Overall
Nicholas M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days

The kit provides step by step instructions and is very clear in not only how to build the project, but how to program it as well. Great for beginners who want to get into making and programming, but do not know where to start. This provides a solid foundation for them to build on, and will encourage them to build bigger and better things in the future. Brilliant product!

Verified Purchase

Aug 11, 2018
Overall
Bryan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Creation Crate did a great job of explaining how the mood lamp worked. I'm excited to see what comes next!

Verified Purchase

Fun, well designed, thoughtful product!

Mar 30, 2016
Overall
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

We heard of this from a friend and subscribed as a gift for our elementary aged son who loves electronics and DIY projects. He was very excited to receive a surprise electronics project in a box and equally enthused after opening it! He was able to set up/troubleshoot on his own (outside of software download) and has enjoyed experimenting with it. There are variables to play with and exercises provided if one would like to play with modifying the program and hardware.
This product is well designed, communicated, and a good value with helpful customer support. We're looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Cratejoy

Feb 12, 2018
Overall
Aida S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days

It was cool. But the package is super small for the price. But it has awesome things. Too bad I got to create a mood lamp, a small mood lamp. But my husband liked it. I think I would pay like $25 for the subscription because is small.

Verified Purchase

I'm Addicted!

Oct 06, 2017
Overall
Allen P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I've been wanting to learn about electronics and coding and I couldn't be happier with my first project with Creation Crate! I'm 48 years old and this is an absolute joy but in all seriousness it's also the future. Talk about having fun!

Verified Purchase

It’s pretty awesome

Oct 15, 2017
Overall
Erica M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days

I got it for my younger sister, who’s an engineering major at her university. She thought it was pretty awesome and had a lot of fun putting it together. I would recondmend it no matter the age.

Verified Purchase