Creation Crate

by Creation Crate

Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | 'Best in STEM 2021' by Newsweek

93 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review
93

Really neat projects that you can build

Dec 08, 2020
Alan M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was really impressed in the quality of the materials in the kit and the course materials was really well laid out. I was able to take my first project and make it into a really attractive mood light that sits on my end table
UPDATE:
This is my second Creation Crate and I am still very pleased on the quality of materials that are provided including a Arduino which is work the price of the crate itself.
Instructions and training materials are top notch

Verified Purchase

Great product for parents and kids

Feb 07, 2021
Charles Y.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent fun!
I gave my 8-year-old a subscription and it has been great. I only did a tiny amount of electronics in high-school and both of us have learned a lot. The crates come with everything you need (and a few spares in some instances) and the instructions are clear.
The fact that it addresses both the electronics and how programing a UNO interacts with it is particularly useful.
We had some difficulty getting the UNO to work with our older iMac (which was frustrating) but that is nothing to do with Creation Crate. Works fine with our newer computer.
I would highly recommend it (and do) to anyone with an interest in electronics and or programming.

Verified Purchase

Fun Projects

Feb 05, 2021
Rachel C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought the 12 project box. I've made a few of the projects, and so far they've been fun! Glad I decided to check it out. My favorite so far has been the mood lamp--I'm currently working on a battery operated version that I can take to work once I'm back in the office.

Verified Purchase

Great crate!

Feb 05, 2021
Jennifer G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had a lot of fun making my first project and I definitely learned more about electronics than I ever have. The rest of the 12-month project kit looks just as good. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Amazing

May 22, 2021
Brit
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awesome box! My kids and i really enjoy this product!!

Verified Purchase

Perfect

Apr 06, 2021
Kenya W.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My 13 year old son becomes super busy when he gets the box. And he has a VR and PS4, yet when the box arrives, he jumps off those games and starts working on the new project.

Verified Purchase

Excellent.

Dec 09, 2020
Paul H.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent and fun projects. Everyone uses electronics so we should know how they work.

Verified Purchase

I'm a 47 year-old woman and love them!

Dec 09, 2020
Krysta C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm a 47 year-old woman and I'm loving these projects! They're very fun to build. I've learned quite a lot and even made a few projects of my own design based on what I've learned! I really enjoy the tactile sensation of working with the parts to create something. Extremely satisfying. I wish this existed when I was a child!

Verified Purchase

The crate exceeded my expectations...

May 30, 2021
Justin T.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The crate exceeded my expectations. The projects were very fun and fuelled my interest in electronics and coding. The guides were very informative and the support team was very helpful and friendly.

Lots of potential, but too many issues

Jan 11, 2021
Scout O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Bluetooth speaker crate had conflicting instructions and took over 3 hours. So frustrating.
Next one, the mood lamp, didn't work at all either.
The support takes several days to get a response, but they were nice and helpful.
Most boxes were just connecting wires for 2-3 hours. Then there are some very cumbersome coding options, where I had to install device drivers from non-official websites to get the coding stuff to work.
I'd really not recommend this product, at this point.

Verified Purchase

No word from cratejoy

Dec 23, 2020
Vickie O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

I have not received this order yet and no word about shipping. I made the order a few weeks ago hoping it would arrive on time for Christmas for me grandson. I got this email asking for a review when I haven t even been notified as to when the box will ship. I did send cratejoy an email 3 days ago and still no reply

Verified Purchase

Recommended

Jun 01, 2021
Robert K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Good course for beginners. Faulty breadboard in last order though.

Good intro to Arduino

Feb 07, 2021
Fred C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun project and a good introduction to working with Arduino. Keep 'em coming

Awesome Concept

Feb 20, 2019
James H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall

Back in the 80s, when I was in High School, I was very adept at programming in BASIC, and was able to work with a couple of other languages of that era as well. Needless to say I had a strong interest in engineering and programming. Life took me in a different direction though. Lately I've been interested in getting back into programming, but was kind of at a loss of where to start, not being familiar with the languages in use today. I've read a few books, and have worked a bit on simple coding but I really wanted something more hands on to get me launched.
When I came across Creation Crate I was ecstatic - it is just the thing I have been looking for - hands on projects and coding using C! I've just finished the first project - a Mood Lamp and I am overjoyed, The project is not overly complicated, but it is challenging enough to keep you on your toes! As I read, the crates become progressively more challenging, so I'm looking forward to the coming months! In the meantime I am very motivated to work with C and the Arduino independently until the next crate arrives! I've even ordered a second Arduino unit to use so that the one I received from CC is dedicated to Creation Crate.
In short, I am very pleased with both the crate and the company - their communication with clients and documentation included with the crate...

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Oct 29, 2019

Wow! Thanks for the glowing review. We are so glad that you are enjoying the projects and learning along the way.
P.S. - I remember the 80's and trying to learn BASIC on the computer at the library. That was fun, but I am ready to GOTO the future and not RETURN to the 80's.

Great Product, even for older people

Dec 11, 2020
Rebecca C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A great set with good instructions. I did some programming and electronics years ago and this helped me hone my skills.

Verified Purchase

Easy and Effective

Nov 14, 2020
Willie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So far my experience with Creation Crate has been fun and effective for learning how to code on the Arduino. The trick is to type the code and not just copy and paste it. That way you can read and learn the process of each line of code.

Verified Purchase

Customer service is a zero at best

Aug 12, 2020
Kellie S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered their 6 project subscription for a Christmas gift last year, plus an extra project. I only got the extra project but assumed the rest would ship later. With the pandemic and everything else, I completely forgot about it until recently (August). I emailed for help and they patronizingly responded that I got all 6 projects and didn’t understand what I’d gotten. I sent pictures and asked for money back; they finally realized they were wrong but only offered the item I should have gotten 8 months ago. Great customer service....merry Christmas.

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service

Feb 16, 2020
Sapana K.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We reached out to them with two very specific issues my son was facing regarding the Boombox build. They helped us with the first one, even though their response time was very slow. The second one had them stumped and after I sent multiple emails asking what the next step was and asking if they were going to help us, they finally responded and suggested a video call. I responded with days and times that would work. After two weeks of no response, I got sick of following up with them and asked them to either refund or replace the item. Not surprisingly, I did not hear back from anyone on that email either. Waste of my time and $50.

Verified Purchase

Loved the first project...can't wait for

Jan 02, 2019
Claudia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

I really enjoyed putting the Mood Lamp project together. I only had minor glitches with my programming, total learning curve things, and a few of the wires easily pulling out of their slots. Once I got those kinks worked out, the Mood Lamp worked perfectly every time it was used!!

Verified Purchase

Kept thinking of the Breakfast Club

Dec 26, 2018
Michael F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Fortunately, we got the lamp to work! Great father-son project with intuitive instructions and lots of support, excited for next month!

Verified Purchase

Great for a starter

Dec 18, 2018
Parth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall

I love how the kit comes with things like a breadboard to give kids a challenge that they will feel good about when surpassing.

Verified Purchase

Creation Crate Mood Lamp

Oct 31, 2018
Kathy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Purchased for my 9-year-old son. He was very excited to receive the first project and enjoyed building and programming the lamp. The only problem we had was that all three colors for the light would not stay on together, red and yellow worked and then blue separately of the other two. Our Son figured it was a glitch of some sort and didn't mind this at all. He is excited to see what will arrive next month.

Verified Purchase

LOVE it so far!

Oct 28, 2018
Sarah L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall

First project was a success, pretty sure I'm a wizard now. Instructions good for someone with NO experience. Looking forward to next crate!

Verified Purchase

Creation crate 9708

Sep 18, 2018
Jeffrey M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Je trouve cela formidable cars sa permet lapprentissage de bcp de chose en un mots sest malade

Verified Purchase

Something North America desperately need

Aug 23, 2018
Roman
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

I've first discovered this through sweatcoins app, made a purchase, and oh boy, you guys have a bright future. The idea of bringing computer engineering to children for only 29-ish bucks is an incredibly honorable goal. Just received my first package today. I myself am majoring in STEM (physics and computer science double-major), and I ordered this mainly for the purpose of tinkering and expanding my computer engineering knowledge thru independent projects, and even for me, this bundle ended up being incredibly handy and interesting. Thank you guys, and good luck in the future!

Verified Purchase