The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new standalone mystery every month!

Plans as low as

$23.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1186)

Awesome date night

Jun 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexandra M.
1 Review
1 Picture
14 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

WOW! Simply wow! We LOVED this. What an awesome date night game! Perfectly put together, lasted a couple of hours. We were NEVER bored and guessing until the very end. We ordered Sanitarium as a trial and we are for sure going to be monthly subscribers! Thanks for the fun!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 30, 2019

That's awesome! We love hearing about quality date night time. Thank you for the review and for being a subscriber! I am sure Nurse Edgarton would be appreciative of your efforts :-)

Fantastic Experience!

Jul 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Perry I.
1 Review
2 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

After completing my first box (the 2020 June box “Behind the Wall“) I became an instant fan of the Deadbolt Mystery Society. I went on to learn more about the company and their previous boxes and I just continued to fall in love. I began my quest to solve all of their boxes! Rich story and smart intuitive puzzles make for such a fun and unique experience. The quality of the box and its content is top notch. From the moment you start reading the brief you are woven into an experience, not just a game. It was easily one of the coolest things I have done this year. Definitely worth a try! They sell single boxes as well if you want to try it all out before subscribing.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 29, 2020

We are so happy you are enjoying our boxes... subscriptions and one time boxes! Thank you for sharing you experience with us!

Exactly what I was looking for

May 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Clark P.
1 Review
54 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

If you're here reading this then you, like I was, are probably trying to sort out which subscription mystery box to sign up for among the many ones out there. I did the research you are most likely doing now and I settled on Deadbolt Mystery and I am glad I did. Deadbolt was everything I was looking for. Hopefully, my comments here will help you with your decision.
I've done three of their boxes so far (WANTED, COPYCAT, and INFECTED), so I thought I have seen enough of their content to have an informed review. I am doing their monthly subscription box. I have not ordered any of the one-off specialty boxes.
It's not that helpful to just say I love the box. Because you need to know what I was looking for. Let me explain that a bit.
I wanted something cooperative, of moderate difficulty (not too hard, not too easy), self-contained, professionally done with quality components, good writing, not a lot of hand-holding, and I wanted a mystery more than an escape room vibe. DMS delivered on all of those. And on top of that they are really professional, have a great online community and their shipping is timely and like clockwork. No waiting for boxes, they run like a well-oiled machine.
My brother and I are older now and live in different states. We both love puzzles and we wanted a fun way to keep in touch each month. We had tried Mysterious Package Company and...

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thanks a million for your detailed review of The Deadbolt Mystery Society! We do our best to create intriguing stories and challenging puzzles with each of our subscription boxes. We are glad you are enjoying them and appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences!

We love it for date night!

Mar 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jordan R.
1 Review
3 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

So much fun. Perfect for date night! Took almost 4 hours to solve, so it’s well worth the money!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 14, 2022

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society! Thank you so much for your recommendation, Jordan. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. If you have not already, please join us in The Deadbolt Mystery Society Hint Group on Facebook. Our members are great at offering hints if you get stuck on a puzzle and may give you insight as to which box to choose next!

Love Deadbolt Mysteries!

Jan 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Candi C.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

I can’t say enough about how much I love the deadbolt mystery boxes! My sister bought me 3 of them for my birthday last year. I ended up buying myself three more boxes as well as a subscription. Fun for the family, with friends, or even to do on your own. No regrets with these at all!! Looking forward to more boxes in the future.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 31, 2020

Thank your sister for us for getting you hooked on our mystery boxes! So glad to hear you are enjoying them. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on The Deadbolt Mystery Society. We really appreciate it!

Drowning in fun

Aug 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bailey T.
1 Review
3 Pictures

I picked this box because it really caught my attention. It was very appealing to my eyes and the design and colors of this box really popped out to me. The black and white picture was one of my favorites to do. Thanks Kamryn for sharing this with me

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 11, 2021

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Baily. Our creative teams work closely together to bring each box to life so we are glad you like it.

We had a Blast

Aug 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karon S.
1 Review
3 Pictures

Our group of 5 loved playing Museum Nocturnus. Everyone could participate as much (or as little) as they wanted. Since it was our first venture, we had a little trouble getting started, but things picked up quickly from there.
Took us 3.5 to 4 hours. An enjoyable afternoon with friends. Thanks, Eddie Smith, for introducing us to Deadbolt.
We were encouraged to pass the box along, but the "consumable" paper clue cannot be re-used. Perhaps, it could be available to re-print from the internet site?

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 10, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Karon! We are so proud of you for pushing through and closing your first case! We recommend using scratch paper or making a copy of items that require tracing, etc. I will pass along your suggestion regarding consumables to the creative team. Thanks so much for the 5-star rating and for sharing your photos with us, Detective! Well done!

Had a great game day!

Aug 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mike S.
1 Review
3 Pictures

Got Museum Nocturnus as a gift from my brother, GO TEAM EDDIE!,
We have a group that does TTRPG and decided this was a great change from our usual games. Mystery was well written, box was well organized, and easy to follow. The story wasn't easy to follow, you had to pay attention to it, which made is a good mystery. Clues were there, but you had to find them, they just weren't handed to you. Had to use the hint files once, near the beginning, to kid of get us into to grove of puzzle solving. Puzzles were engaging without being impossible to solve. Would recommend this series highly to anyone who likes mysteries and puzzle solving!
Mike S and friends!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 09, 2021

Mike, welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society and thank you for sharing your experience and photos with us! Well done closing the Museum Nocturnus case, Detective. Thanks for the recommendation. We appreciate it!

From nurse to detective

Aug 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffany C.
1 Review
3 Pictures

I love the little pieces that are in the boxes. The stickers are adorable. I also like the little dog tag with the dogs name on it. Thanks Kamryn for showing us this. All the nurses loved it. It was something fun to do after our long shifts.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 06, 2021

We are glad to hear you enjoyed Beneath the Surface, Tiffany! Thank you for the recommendation! We appreciate you.

Deadbolt Society Box Subscription

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryn H.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

As I mentioned when asked to review previously, I think that the Deadbolt Society does a GREAT job with the boxes themselves. They’re well put together. They’re interactive. They have great support.
The SOLE reason I subtracted 1 star for the overall rating is because Cratejoy gave it a 13+ for the recommended age range. When we subscribed we took this to understand that younger kids/teens (13-16) could easily enjoy it solo or with adults. Arguably, it’s NOT something that a couple of younger teens would be able to play without needing to use A LOT of hints/clues.
The boxes are challenging and fun. Don’t expect to breeze right through them. It’s a good time with the right group of people/friends.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 15, 2021

Thank you, Kathryn, for sharing your thoughts on the DMS mysteries. We are glad to hear you are enjoying them. We have a 13+ rating on our boxes due to the subject matter contained within the stories. Although there is no nudity or profanity, there are references to murder. The puzzles are designed to be challenging but not impossible. Hopefully, kids ages 13 to 16 will continue working with our boxes and develop an appreciation for the creativity. :-)

One of the Best Escape Room Boxes!

Feb 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Fuse4gaming
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 10 months

Me and my girlfriend play these escape room boxes on a monthly basis. Even going so far to get the older ones we missed. These boxes are great for anyone that loves escape rooms but here, you can do them at home with friends and family. The picture I posted is only a small amount of the boxes we have from them. We just got the mini-box for Valentine's Day and The Last Resort, which was the box of the year for them. The puzzles are fun and will have you thinking the whole way through each box! I cannot recommend them enough!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 17, 2022

Thank you for the recommendation! We are thrilled to know that you and your girlfriend have been enjoying our boxes and we count ourselves lucky for our amazing customers like you!

Best Mystery Box Subscription!

Feb 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 year

I found the Deadbolt Mystery Society a little over a year ago and have all of their mysteries except for three that I’m hoping they will re-release. I love how varied their mysteries are, even though they all take place in the same “town”. I eagerly await each month’s new release and enjoy either solving the mysteries by myself or with family — we’ve even done it over Zoom! This is by far the best mystery box subscription out there — and I’ve subscribed to 4 others in the past.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 03, 2022

Thank you so much, Jennifer! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our boxes so much.
Make sure to check our website often in case we re-release the boxes you are looking for. They typically sell out very fast!

The Terminal fun but beyond our skills

Jul 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cat F.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful

Are you ready for a challenge? The Terminal Mystery Box was very difficult. One seasoned adult, two escape room experienced adults and a 12 year old had to call on Crystal for clues and hints. In the end we still failed. But had some laughs while working on family communication skills! Looking forward to the next box!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 27, 2021

Many of your fellow detectives realize their puzzle-solving skills increase with each case closed. Hopefully, you will enjoy the next one more. We are glad to see you still made some fun memories, Cat!

Beautiful getaway

Aug 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Talia B.
1 Review
2 Pictures

This box was not what I expected. A vacation from the bad place. Solving the mystery was a lot of fun though. The graphics were awesome. Thanks for sharing Crystal

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 07, 2021

Our creative team strives hard to create graphics that really bring the game to life! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed solving the Last Resort mystery, Talia! Thanks for helping us close the case!

Absolutely Incredible

Aug 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Derek H.
1 Review
2 Pictures

This was not our first time playing a mystery box/ escape room box but it was the first time we had a BLAST playing one!
We have 3 DMS boxes under our belt and can't wait to get our hands on the next.
These are perfect for solo or group play with a ton of story packed into the box. If you are on the fence about trying, trust me it is well worth your time and price! We are now customers for life. Thanks DMS!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 23, 2021

Way to go, Detective! Thank you for helping us restore the peace in Valley Falls! We appreciate the 5-star rating and recommendation!

Fun for all ages

Aug 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kiersten C.
1 Review
2 Pictures

My aunt Kamryn has all different kind of boxes and sat down to do one with me. Some puzzles were a little hard for me but there were some that I could solve easy. I like that I can play some of these games because now I can join my family when they do them.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 06, 2021

Kiersten, we are so proud of you for taking on this case and restoring the peace in Valley Falls! Thanks a million for the 5-star rating.

Loved the Dark & Stormy Night Mystery!!!

Aug 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Abby B.
1 Review
2 Pictures

Dark & Stormy is one of my favorites so far! I enjoyed figuring out which profession went with each character and loved the surprise ending. I'm so glad Michele Smith shared it with me! Great job Deadbolt! Keep those mysteries coming.....can't wait for my next case!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 02, 2021

We are glad to see you are as excited about the next mystery as we are! Thank you for the recommendation and for sharing your thoughts on The Dark and Stormy Night, Abby!

Sweet, Had fun.

Jul 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael H.
1 Review
2 Pictures

Had a blast, huge thanks to Chance Holland for showing me these boxes. Pretty challenging, for me, definitely recommend.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 30, 2021

Thanks so much for the recommendation and for sharing your awesome photos, Michael! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Last Laugh mystery and appreciate your help in closing this case!

We you wanna have a BLAST!!!

Jul 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
James H.
1 Review
2 Pictures

Most fun you can have without going to jail or getting drunk. One of the coolest ideas for a game in a long time. Great way to have tons of fun. Thank you to Chance Holland for showing me this game.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 30, 2021

We are pleased that the Lair mystery kept you entertained and out of jail, James! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and fabulous photos!

Amazing subscription box!

Jul 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda D.
1 Review
2 Pictures

These mystery boxes are immersive, excellently put together, and very well-thought out. I usually work them by myself, and it takes between 3 and 5 hours. I love working through them! A Deadbolt box is good for 1 person, a date night, or a larger group. I don't write on mine so when I am finished, I put it back together and share it with a friend. Thanks, Matt Dowdy, for getting me hooked on them.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 21, 2021

Amanda, thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us! Our creative team does a fantastic job writing stories and incorporating puzzles that bring everything together full-circle. We greatly appreciate the recommendation and the photos you shared!

Fun for the whole gang!

Jul 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tanya F.
1 Review
2 Pictures

I didn’t even know this type of thing existed until my friend Kim Williams started working at Deadbolt Mystery Society…and now I’m HOOKED! One game in and I’m ready to tackle the next one. So much fun and a great way for our whole group of friends to bring out our inner sleuths! Two thumbs way up!!!!!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 21, 2021

Thank you for the two thumbs up and for sharing your picture! We love seeing the faces of fellow detectives! So glad you enjoyed The Dark and Stormy Night and looking forward to your next case!

High Quality Boxes & Customer Service

Today
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jackie M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I have been a subscriber for almost two years and own every box they have ever released, which is coming up on 70 releases pretty soon...so this review is way overdue. I have enjoyed every box and am constantly amazed and impressed at the work that goes into each one. It's obvious that Deadbolt's Team constantly pushes to try new features and enhance the experience. While great for a group, I usually play these games alone and would still recommend them if you are a solo player.
As if the great quality of the boxes is not enough, their Customer Service is absolutely top notch. They are responsive and always go out of their way to solve issues...even if I created the problem. They are truly one of the best companies I have ever worked with.
High-quality product and fantastic customer service, you really can't ask for any more.

Verified Purchase

Deadbolt Mystery Society

5 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kaylene C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Fun, challenging, and always perfect!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Yesterday

Thank you so much for the great review, Kaylene!

Great family night!

Mar 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Soli B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Ordered this as a family night activity for my husband and I to do with our teens. What we thought would be a quick hour of eat some pizza and solve a puzzle, turned into a 3 hour adventure! Some spots were tricky and we had to use a hint (I love that it wasn’t so easy and boring) however; we all enjoyed it and are looking forward to the next box! This was a great way to reconnect with each other do something other than stare at a screen! If you are not into puzzles but know someone who is, this would be a great gift!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 14, 2022

Thank you for the awesome review, Soli! We are so glad your family had fun and it is great to know that people are using our boxes to connect with others and spend quality time together.

Awesome family fun!

Mar 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angela R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 19 days

Good family fun! Complicated enough- we had a work out. Good adult fun for all adult aged! Looking forward to the next 1

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 11, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Angela! If you have not already, we would love to have you join us on The Deadbolt Mystery Society Hint Group on Facebook. It's a great way to connect with other detectives.