The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
1116 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1116)

Canceling subscription

Sep 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nick A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I canceled my subscription over a month ago and you continue to charge me. Terrible customer service.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 12, 2021

Hi Nick, we are sorry you are unhappy about the way the subscription works and that you were charged again. Our Cratejoy listing clearly spells out the fact that renewals occur on the 11th of every month. We also detail in the emails we send out that you must cancel before the 11th in order to prevent additional charges. The checkout process details this fact. We also provide that information in the confirmation emails you receive upon signing up, in the email that contains your tracking information, in the Start Here sheet you receive with your box, and in the FAQs on our website. An email is sent out two days before the charge occurs to remind you in the...

Product never came for two months

Jun 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Evan D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Never got the product. Told there was a weather emergency in my area, there was no weather emergency. Then I was told that I hadn't included my whole address, but the address that they sent to confirm with me was my complete address. The product still never came. Then I was charged for a second month. That package has never come either.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 21, 2021

Hi Evan, we're sorry for the issue with your order. The UPS website is where it shows the weather delay. That pulls up whenever you use your tracking number. We have no way of knowing whether or not there are weather issues with delivery. The carrier website provides the information. Also, at this point you should have only received one monthly box. You subscribed on May 17th. Per our subscription and shipping policy, your first box would ship during the first week of June. Your box shipped on June 2nd. You subscription account renewed on June 11th and that renewal is for the box that ships during the first week of July. A reminder email about your...

Package hasn’t arrived

Jun 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Bought this as a gift for a neighbour and it has not arrived. The package tracking doesn’t work. Please advise.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 11, 2021

Hey Kim, your package is on its way. Your shipment is an international shipment. International shipments just take longer to arrive. You subscribed on May 9th and per our subscription policy we shipped the package during the first week of the following month on June 1st. When checking your tracking number, we see that your package has arrived in Canada and is being processed. Don't hesitate to contact us directly via email.

Cratejoy is no help

May 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paul T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days

This is the second review I have written for the same order. I ordered the deadbolt mystery box April 25/21 and still have not received it and it's May 18th. Supposedly delivered yesterday at 2:11 pm. We were home all day and no deliveries. This is the most frustrating site I have ever dealt with. My tracking number never worked. The website says I am supposed to deal with the third party vender. And I was told by crate joy that because I live in Canada they were not responsible for delays. My advice, do not use this site.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 11, 2021

Hey Paul, we are very sorry to hear about your frustration. Our shipping policy is as follows: "Subscriptions are taken from the first day of the month through the last day of the month at 6PM CST. Boxes ship to subscribers the first week of the following month. (Ex. Subscriptions from April 1 - April 30 ship the first week of May). Subscription renewals take place on the 11th of every month. Shipping rates applied when address is added." Your package was shipped on May 3rd and UPS tracking shows an update on May 7th showing the package in destination to your country. The package destination is in Canada and international orders take longer than domestic shipments. We are always more than willing to...

Totally online game

Jan 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maryjane E.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered this because they stated everything you need is in the box. It turns out that the box if filled with links that you have to use your phone and computer, and printer to do anything. Totally the opposite of what they sold.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 24, 2021

Hi Mary Jane, we're sorry that you didn't read our listing completely. We have this posted as one of the key points for our product: "Interactive, online components that bring each story to life (Requires a QR code reader on a smartphone, tablet, or laptop and Internet access)"
We very clearly tell you that there are online components so there should be no surprise when those things are part of the box. Also out of the 39 mysteries that we have released in 3 years, none of our mysteries require you to print anything.

Melinda

May 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melinda S.
9 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

No book included, maybe I misunderstood but thought a book was coming and you used the clues as you played along with the book. Not worth the money for a couple of pieces of paper and peieces of smaller papers with clues on the.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 19, 2019

Hi Melinda, as we informed you in our email reply approximately two weeks ago, there was never supposed to be a book included in the box. We asked for feedback about why you may have had that impression and tried to obtain additional information from you but we never heard a reply back. There is no mention of a book on our website, in our listing, or in any other place where details about our box is found. Additionally, our box is not listed in any book category. We have multiple pictures in our listing of what our boxes contain and none of them feature a book. We are sorry about the misunderstanding of what our product is but we...

Completely disappointed

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered this in the beginning of March as a gift and it's now April 12th and they are still putting together. I should have went with hunt a killer subscription. I do not recommend. So disappointed and so is the birthday girl.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 12, 2021

I'm sorry for the confusion. The message that shows your box is being prepared is for the 2nd shipment. The first shipment was sent out on time according to the schedule we have posted on our Cratejoy listing on April 1st. A tracking email was sent to you at the time the shipping label was generated. The box is currently in Canada. International shipments, unfortunately, take longer to arrive.

Very involved

Mar 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linda B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Too complicated

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 25, 2021

We are sorry you didn't enjoy the box and felt it was too difficult. Our boxes are designed to be intricate and challenging. We provide a variety of resources to help solve the boxes (if necessary). We have hint and solution files for each of our boxes openly available on our website, can provide any help that is necessary through our FB Hint Group, and are always available to provide assistance via messaging or email.

Never ending subscription

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
K W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

They only give you Two days notice that they are going to charge your card again for a new subscription, if you try and cancel after that you will not be refunded

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 14, 2021

Hi, we are sorry for any confusion on this. However, several points you've made are incorrect. When signing up for a subscription there are numerous places where you are told when the subscription will renew. The system tells you the exact date of renewal before checkout. The order confirmation lists the exact date your subscription will renew. You can log into your account at any point and manage your subscription. Each tracking email that goes out advises to check your account and manage your subscription so a renewal isn't processed unless you want it to. The Start Here sheet in every box advises the same thing. Then, of course, you receive a final email two days before...

Heritage

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sherri K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days

Totally not anything I would suggest to anyone else

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 14, 2021

Hi, we're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we don't have a product named "Heritage."

Subscription as gifts

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Genhaver M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I purchased these boxes for two different friends and family for Christmas and I have never received any confirmation that one family has received my the box and the second one received their first several weeks later. I was very disappointed with the purchase process and the delivery and follow through.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Genhaver, thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you feel disappointed in the process. You purchased a subscription for Maricel on Dec 12th. Per our subscription and shipping policy located under Shipping Details directly below the "Subscribe Now" button and "Give as a Gift" button, this box was not to ship until the first week of January. We shipped according to that policy and your package was delivered on January 11th, and the second month's package of that 3 month subscription was delivered to the recipient on Feb 6th. The second purchase that you made was for Lori and Joe and was a single one-time box (not a subscription). You made that purchase on Dec 13th and the...

Have not received items after a month!!

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristi H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

We have not received the shipment. Can someone please check into this issue?

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Kristi, we would have been happy to assist you if you would have contacted us directly. Our subscription and shipping details directly under the "Subscribe Now" button and "Give as a Gift" button on our listing states: "Subscriptions are taken from the first day of the month through the last day of the month at 6PM CST. Boxes ship to subscribers the first week of the following month. (Ex. Subscriptions from Jan 1-Jan 31 ship the first week of Feb). Subscription renewals take place on the 11th of every month. Shipping rates applied when address is added." You subscribed on January 9th and so your package was not supposed to ship until the first week of February. Your package shipped on Feb...

Disappointing

Jan 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Box did not go to the right address. Take a screenshot of any orders you have with Cratejoy/ Deadbolt so you can show customer service the information you typed for your order.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 20, 2021

Hey Marie, we are sorry that you are disappointed with your experience with us. We ship packages to the preferences that our customers choose when they place their orders. When we check our email, we don't see any correspondence from you about an incorrect address and needing to update it. Our team shipped to the address that you included with the order when you placed it. We are always happy to assist our customers when they contact us directly about their orders.

When is it coming???

Jan 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terri P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

It has not been received! Very disappointing

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 17, 2021

Hey Terri, we are sorry that you are very disappointed. We are always willing to assist our customers when they reach out to us. However, we don't see any correspondence from you in our emails. Your order is on the way. It shipped on January 7th per our subscription and shipping policy and is currently in transit to you. USPS is still experiencing some shipping delays, but processing and delivery times are improving.

Owner

Dec 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Amanda L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days

still waiting for it to arrive

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Dec 20, 2020

Hey Amanda, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We shipped your package on December 4th (per our shipping policy) with USPS and your package is in transit. We are sorry that the delivery is taking much longer than normal. The world is currently experiencing the holiday season mixed with a pandemic mixed with more online shipping due to the pandemic and we have an overloaded postal service at the moment. Our small business is seeing a lot of packages in the same situation as yours. Also, thousands of other businesses are seeing the same thing. We hope that your package arrives soon.

Stare at your screens: a box of QR codes

Feb 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

could not possibly be more disappointed.
i thought i was going to get a game--something that didn't involve looking at a screen, but talking to other people and you know, thinking, crazy of me.
instead i got a sad cardboard box with a bunch of print-outs and QR codes. QR codes? really? is it 2006 already?
i hid it from myself so i don't have to be reminded of how much i was duped by the crate-joy-deadbolt mystery society.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 13, 2020

We're sorry you didn't enjoy the box and found the technical requirements to be too challenging for you. Everything you've mentioned disliking about the box you received are things we openly advertise and things you would have noted up front with a minor amount of investigation about what you were purchasing. We mention the use of a smartphone/QR codes and Internet access in the description of our boxes. We have numerous pictures of the contents of our box featured on both our website and our Cratejoy listing so printed materials shouldn't come as a surprise (most games we've played actually have printed material). Based on your comments it sounds like you didn't even bother to work the box and discover that...

Disappointing waste of time and money.

Jul 20, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

There weren't nearly enough audio files to keep anything interesting. The very first puzzle I came across was poorly thought out high-school wordplay that requires several assumptions with no way to confirm them. The interviews really need to be either video files or audio files. The one audio file I did come across before losing interest was horribly distorted and triggered my migraine problems. The setup itself was insanely cheesy and just felt like a stretch. The box took way too long to ship and was beat up when it got here. QR codes need to state if they are pw protected on the card to stop wasting peoples time. Explanations/setups were too vague or poorly worded to the point that my partner didn't know how to proceed at several points.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 24, 2019

Hi Andy. I’m sorry the box wasn’t to your liking. Obviously, our boxes aren’t for everyone, and I hate that you fall into that category. However, I would like to address a couple of your points. You mention that we didn’t have nearly enough audio files and go on to comment that the interviews need to be either video or audio files. Then, you go on to mention that the audio file we do have in the box you received triggered a migraine (which we do apologize for). It would seem that no audio files would be better than additional files. So, we aren’t exactly sure what would have made you happy in this case. While we...