The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new standalone mystery every month!

Plans as low as

$23.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1205)

Deadbolt

Aug 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Annemarie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I find it difficult to navigate create joy

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Aug 13, 2022

Hey AnnMarie,
Our customer support team at The Deadbolt Mystery Society is always available to assist you if you need it. Simply send us an email and we will happy to help. We see that you have placed 4 separate orders with us on different occasions. Please let us know if you need any assistance with those.

Too hands on

May 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amber G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We loved the box for the most part. We started doing mystery boxes over video chat with a friend across the country at the beginning of the pandemic. We wanted something a little darker than Hunt A killer and this box definitely delivered. The only issue is that almost all the puzzles required physical manipulation of the clues to figure out, completely leaving out the friend in another state.... I already paid for 3 months so hopefully the next box is better suited for our needs, but I don't know if it's a great fit for us.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...May 02, 2022

Hey Amber, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you giving us an opportunity. Our mysteries are meant to be hands on, and that's why you will see physical manipulation in some of our mysteries. While our mysteries can be solved via video chat with people in different locations, it's best if both parties have copies of the mystery for situations such as yours.

First Impression First Box

Apr 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Thuromin R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Some items had very poor guidance. Without "cheating" it would be nearly impossible to figure out that for example some lines have nothing to do with anything and you just "know" to omit them somehow. Now that I know how the creators are implementing these games, perhaps I will be able to do better on the next round. Took months to receive the first box.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Apr 13, 2022

Hi Thuromin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your first experience with us. We do appreciate knowing about your mystery solving. Our mysteries go through extensive testing before ever going to print or going to our customers. We test groups of all sizes, as well as groups of all experience levels. We would never release mysteries that would only be solved by looking at the hints. That is something that is a major part of our testing process. You also mention "took months to receive the first box." This subscription was purchased on Tuesday, March 8, 2022. Our subscription policy is that we take subscriptions from the first day of the month to the last day of the month. Then, the...

Not good for Android users

Feb 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Wendy G.
1 Review

The QR codes only work on iphones. Not on androids. I always need to have someone there with me that owns an iphone. Very disappointing.

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 16, 2022

Hey Wendy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. However, our boxes do work for Android users. Part of our testing process before releasing a mystery is to test the box with Iphone, Android, and Google users. Feel free to contact us directly via email for additional assistance in using your Android phone with our mysteries.

Canceled subscription

Mar 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandra L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

I canceled my subscription.please send me no more. Sandra Lovejoy

Verified Purchase

Fun detective work

Jan 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jolene O.
1 Review

This was my first box. It took a while to get the right clues to open more clues. A few things were not clear but we finally figured it out. It took us about 4.5 hours. It was fun though! Can't wait for the next one to arrive.

A fun night

Jan 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Siv S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

It wasn't what i expected but i gave to husband for Christmas. 3 of us took on the challenge to solve it and it was fun..had to get some hints. The puzzles were good...not that easy. We are waiting for our 2nd box of his 6 month subscription

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 17, 2022

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had fun solving your mystery! We hope you enjoy your 2nd box as well!

Keeping the girl happy

Jan 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jesse G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days

Asked about shipping three times with Zero reply. Not good. Customer service should rank higher on the list here.

Verified Purchase

One technically difficult puzzle

Jan 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Little B.
1 Review

Only reason it isn’t five stars is one of the puzzles.
Maybe Spoiler
You have to measure the circumference of circles and it is extremely difficult to maneuver and guess. And multiple circles were the same size so it was extra confusing.

The Terminal fun but beyond our skills

Jul 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cat F.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful

Are you ready for a challenge? The Terminal Mystery Box was very difficult. One seasoned adult, two escape room experienced adults and a 12 year old had to call on Crystal for clues and hints. In the end we still failed. But had some laughs while working on family communication skills! Looking forward to the next box!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 27, 2021

Many of your fellow detectives realize their puzzle-solving skills increase with each case closed. Hopefully, you will enjoy the next one more. We are glad to see you still made some fun memories, Cat!

suited to kill

Jan 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robin D.
1 Review

What an interesting idea. I received this as a gift and it is the coolest thing. I am very busy this time of year, so not sure I will be able to get thru this one by end of January, but the puzzles are interesting and all different, can't wait till I really have time to go thru it all.

nicelydone

Jan 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teller B.
1 Review

Nicely done .Compelling

Taylor Murder

Jan 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robert H.
1 Review

Overall it was good

This Is One of the Best Boxes!

Nov 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Tonya W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I enjoyed this mystery box. Some of the clues were a bit hard for no reason, so I had to rely on the hints. But this is still a good time, reading the information and working through the clues until you find the suspect. This is great fun for families or individuals.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 29, 2021

We are so happy to hear you are enjoying our mysteries, Tonya! Thank you for your feedback. We have found that the more mysteries you solve, the better your detective skills become. The hints are always available just in case you need a little nudge. We look forward to working with you again soon, Detective!

Great

Nov 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chad C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Fun for the whole family

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 12, 2021

We are glad to hear you were able to spend quality time with the family and our mysteries!

The Inheritance Box

Aug 29, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Jennifer L.
1 Review

Elizabeth Sword suggested the inheritance box for myself and my husband. We enjoyed playing and figuring out all the puzzles. Our 9 year old daughter even helped and loved it! The only negative I can say is it seems like things could be a bit more organized in the box, or just a more clear order of operations. Other than that, we can't wait to play our next box!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 06, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Jennifer! We love hearing about family time with our mysteries. Thanks for the feedback.

The Inheritance,

Aug 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Daniel L.
1 Review

We really had a good time with this box suggested by Elizabeth Sword. We played it with me, my wife and 9 year old daughter. I loved the puzzles! I feel like I could have played this by myself and had just as much fun as if I had played with multiple people. This was our first box so we may have done some things incorrectly, but I think a tad more instruction would bring my review to 5 stars. There was nothing to tell us that figuring out things like, who's fingerprints were on the door, meant that they were no longer a suspect. In my mind, finding someone's fingerprints made them more of a suspect. I'm also not sure if the cards/papers are in a certain order or not. Most of ours got mixed up as we passed them around. I think if things were numbered a little better, the game would have been more fluid. We had a Book 1 and Book 2, but we had to go back and forth between the books when I think it would have been better to complete book 1 then move on to book 2. Like I said, this was our first box so we may have not played it correctly, but a little more direction would have been a bonus.

These boxes are great. Very entertaining and interactive. They can be saved for get togethers, given as gifts, or...

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 06, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Daniel! Our mysteries are designed to be played solo or with others so they make the perfect gift or game night activity! We are glad to see you didn't give up on solving your first mystery. As a consultant with the Will Street Detective Agency, your first task is to read everything and examine the evidence. Once that is complete, begin solving the puzzles to unlock QR codes which will provide you with further details about the case. The more mysteries you solve, the more your skills will improve. Thank you for your feedback on The Inheritance, Detective.

Deadbolt Society Box Subscription

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryn H.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

As I mentioned when asked to review previously, I think that the Deadbolt Society does a GREAT job with the boxes themselves. They’re well put together. They’re interactive. They have great support.
The SOLE reason I subtracted 1 star for the overall rating is because Cratejoy gave it a 13+ for the recommended age range. When we subscribed we took this to understand that younger kids/teens (13-16) could easily enjoy it solo or with adults. Arguably, it’s NOT something that a couple of younger teens would be able to play without needing to use A LOT of hints/clues.
The boxes are challenging and fun. Don’t expect to breeze right through them. It’s a good time with the right group of people/friends.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 15, 2021

Thank you, Kathryn, for sharing your thoughts on the DMS mysteries. We are glad to hear you are enjoying them. We have a 13+ rating on our boxes due to the subject matter contained within the stories. Although there is no nudity or profanity, there are references to murder. The puzzles are designed to be challenging but not impossible. Hopefully, kids ages 13 to 16 will continue working with our boxes and develop an appreciation for the creativity. :-)

Not the best but not terrible

Jun 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryne A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The Blast from the Past box was fun and had a lot of great 80s pop culture references that made it extra enjoyable. That being said, I think a few of the puzzles seemed great on paper but where very confusing in terms of reality. Overall not bad and looking forward to next months mystery!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 14, 2021

Hi Kathryne! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Blast from the Past with us. We are sorry to hear that some of the puzzles were confusing to you but are so grateful that you pressed on, figured them out and closed the case, Detective! Well done!

it is decent

Dec 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brian G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 13 days

I bought this box on as when November was transitioning to December. I wouldve liked it if i couldve gotten this box before Christmas but hey, 1 day too late is better than like 1 week too late. This box looks interesting, however I was originally bought this box to get the Framed theme but The Spider def does look interesting to play. Tbh, i dont hate this subscription, Im only going to done one and done as i only got this as a gift for my uncle

Verified Purchase

Well contrived for four to six players

Mar 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johnny J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

This was our first Mystery Box. The solution was quite difficult and well contrived. Our group of 10 may have been too large for this as a few just wandered off mentally. However, the ones who liked this really liked it. I think a quarterly mystery would suit us best.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Hi Johnny! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on solving your first mystery. While ten players can certainly take part in the challenge, we recommend four players so each person has a complete idea of the storyline and objective for each puzzle. We are glad to welcome you to our team, Detective!

I have not received it!

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Daniella B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I can't answer any of the questions since my box has not arrived yet. PLease check my address info.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 15, 2021

Hey Danielle, we shipped your package to the address and preferences that you set while placing your order. When we check the tracking of your shipment, we see that your package had a delivery attempt two weeks ago on March 3rd. We are always happy to assist our customers when they contact us directly about their order.

Well conceived and designed... but hard.

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jr H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

We have had a lot of fun with these boxes. Our team has gotten the hang of it and found a teamwork approach that is fun and effective. With that said, this box seemed much more difficult to us and we ran up against some frustration. We had to resort to looking at hints a couple of times.
I understand there is a balance to find between being too challenging and too simple. If anything, this box seemed to err on the side if being too challenging for our enjoyment.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, JR. Some of our mysteries are seemingly more difficult than others so we added a 0 to 10 level of difficulty rating on each box. You can find this in the box description. Please do not feel bad for having to look at the Hint files. That is what they are there for....to give you a little nudge in the right direction. Thanks for hanging in there with us, Detective!

Great box, fun mystery

Mar 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
William Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The box was a lot of fun, the materials inside it were of better quality than the delivery box itself. The only detractor was the extreme shipping time to Canada, but that's probably due to Covid and the horrible state that the USPS is currently in.
In terms of the puzzles, nothing was too hard or weird so you feel nice and clever by the end, unlike some games that require a bit too large a leap of logic.

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun!

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julia R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Lots of fun!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Thank you, Julia!


Customers who bought this also bought...