The Deadbolt Mystery Society Monthly Box

by Deadbolt Mystery Society
Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case! A new stand-alone mystery every month!
1116 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.67/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (1116)

The Terminal fun but beyond our skills

Jul 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cat F.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful

Are you ready for a challenge? The Terminal Mystery Box was very difficult. One seasoned adult, two escape room experienced adults and a 12 year old had to call on Crystal for clues and hints. In the end we still failed. But had some laughs while working on family communication skills! Looking forward to the next box!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jul 27, 2021

Many of your fellow detectives realize their puzzle-solving skills increase with each case closed. Hopefully, you will enjoy the next one more. We are glad to see you still made some fun memories, Cat!

Deadbolt Society Box Subscription

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryn H.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

As I mentioned when asked to review previously, I think that the Deadbolt Society does a GREAT job with the boxes themselves. They’re well put together. They’re interactive. They have great support.
The SOLE reason I subtracted 1 star for the overall rating is because Cratejoy gave it a 13+ for the recommended age range. When we subscribed we took this to understand that younger kids/teens (13-16) could easily enjoy it solo or with adults. Arguably, it’s NOT something that a couple of younger teens would be able to play without needing to use A LOT of hints/clues.
The boxes are challenging and fun. Don’t expect to breeze right through them. It’s a good time with the right group of people/friends.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 15, 2021

Thank you, Kathryn, for sharing your thoughts on the DMS mysteries. We are glad to hear you are enjoying them. We have a 13+ rating on our boxes due to the subject matter contained within the stories. Although there is no nudity or profanity, there are references to murder. The puzzles are designed to be challenging but not impossible. Hopefully, kids ages 13 to 16 will continue working with our boxes and develop an appreciation for the creativity. :-)

Not the best but not terrible

Jun 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryne A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

The Blast from the Past box was fun and had a lot of great 80s pop culture references that made it extra enjoyable. That being said, I think a few of the puzzles seemed great on paper but where very confusing in terms of reality. Overall not bad and looking forward to next months mystery!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jun 14, 2021

Hi Kathryne! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Blast from the Past with us. We are sorry to hear that some of the puzzles were confusing to you but are so grateful that you pressed on, figured them out and closed the case, Detective! Well done!

it is decent

Dec 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brian G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 13 days

I bought this box on as when November was transitioning to December. I wouldve liked it if i couldve gotten this box before Christmas but hey, 1 day too late is better than like 1 week too late. This box looks interesting, however I was originally bought this box to get the Framed theme but The Spider def does look interesting to play. Tbh, i dont hate this subscription, Im only going to done one and done as i only got this as a gift for my uncle

Verified Purchase

The Inheritance,

Aug 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Daniel L.
1 Review

We really had a good time with this box suggested by Elizabeth Sword. We played it with me, my wife and 9 year old daughter. I loved the puzzles! I feel like I could have played this by myself and had just as much fun as if I had played with multiple people. This was our first box so we may have done some things incorrectly, but I think a tad more instruction would bring my review to 5 stars. There was nothing to tell us that figuring out things like, who's fingerprints were on the door, meant that they were no longer a suspect. In my mind, finding someone's fingerprints made them more of a suspect. I'm also not sure if the cards/papers are in a certain order or not. Most of ours got mixed up as we passed them around. I think if things were numbered a little better, the game would have been more fluid. We had a Book 1 and Book 2, but we had to go back and forth between the books when I think it would have been better to complete book 1 then move on to book 2. Like I said, this was our first box so we may have not played it correctly, but a little more direction would have been a bonus.

These boxes are great. Very entertaining and interactive. They can be saved for get togethers, given as gifts, or...

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 06, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Daniel! Our mysteries are designed to be played solo or with others so they make the perfect gift or game night activity! We are glad to see you didn't give up on solving your first mystery. As a consultant with the Will Street Detective Agency, your first task is to read everything and examine the evidence. Once that is complete, begin solving the puzzles to unlock QR codes which will provide you with further details about the case. The more mysteries you solve, the more your skills will improve. Thank you for your feedback on The Inheritance, Detective.

The Inheritance Box

Aug 29, 2021
Overall
Quality
Curation
Jennifer L.
1 Review

Elizabeth Sword suggested the inheritance box for myself and my husband. We enjoyed playing and figuring out all the puzzles. Our 9 year old daughter even helped and loved it! The only negative I can say is it seems like things could be a bit more organized in the box, or just a more clear order of operations. Other than that, we can't wait to play our next box!

Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Sep 06, 2021

Welcome to The Deadbolt Mystery Society, Jennifer! We love hearing about family time with our mysteries. Thanks for the feedback.

Clever

Oct 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Estee E.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

The concept was clever the clues were hard but not too hard. I felt like a pro when I solved one. It's a nice 'Easter Egg' that the names in the box are actually subscribers. The absolute favorite part for my teenager was opening the box that had a note out of the 'trash,' and it was actually crumpled and balled up. That made the box personal and so very clever.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 23, 2020

We are so glad you and your teenager are enjoying our boxes. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Well contrived for four to six players

Mar 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johnny J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

This was our first Mystery Box. The solution was quite difficult and well contrived. Our group of 10 may have been too large for this as a few just wandered off mentally. However, the ones who liked this really liked it. I think a quarterly mystery would suit us best.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Hi Johnny! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on solving your first mystery. While ten players can certainly take part in the challenge, we recommend four players so each person has a complete idea of the storyline and objective for each puzzle. We are glad to welcome you to our team, Detective!

I have not received it!

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Daniella B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I can't answer any of the questions since my box has not arrived yet. PLease check my address info.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 15, 2021

Hey Danielle, we shipped your package to the address and preferences that you set while placing your order. When we check the tracking of your shipment, we see that your package had a delivery attempt two weeks ago on March 3rd. We are always happy to assist our customers when they contact us directly about their order.

Well conceived and designed... but hard.

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jr H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

We have had a lot of fun with these boxes. Our team has gotten the hang of it and found a teamwork approach that is fun and effective. With that said, this box seemed much more difficult to us and we ran up against some frustration. We had to resort to looking at hints a couple of times.
I understand there is a balance to find between being too challenging and too simple. If anything, this box seemed to err on the side if being too challenging for our enjoyment.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience, JR. Some of our mysteries are seemingly more difficult than others so we added a 0 to 10 level of difficulty rating on each box. You can find this in the box description. Please do not feel bad for having to look at the Hint files. That is what they are there for....to give you a little nudge in the right direction. Thanks for hanging in there with us, Detective!

Lots of fun!

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julia R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Lots of fun!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Mar 23, 2021

Thank you, Julia!

Great box, fun mystery

Mar 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
William Y.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The box was a lot of fun, the materials inside it were of better quality than the delivery box itself. The only detractor was the extreme shipping time to Canada, but that's probably due to Covid and the horrible state that the USPS is currently in.
In terms of the puzzles, nothing was too hard or weird so you feel nice and clever by the end, unlike some games that require a bit too large a leap of logic.

Verified Purchase

Deadbolt Mystery

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bonnie F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I bought the 3 month subscription for a gift, and my niece and nephew are really enjoying it!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 12, 2021

Thank you, Bonnie for choosing DMS for your gift! So glad to have Gabriella and Dave on our team of detectives!

These boxes are for older enthusiasts.

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Janet R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I wanted something for a family with young children. These boxes are for adults and older adolescents. Oh, well.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 11, 2021

Hey Janet, thanks for your feedback. We try to be as clear as possible on our listing about this with "Great gift for friends and family who love mysteries and puzzle-solving (recommended for age 13+). Crack the case alone or with a group of up to 4 people."

Fun stuff

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Meg M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This was fun. We worked on it as a family and it was a happy evening activity. There were moments where we got a little bogged down in tedious activity but mostly we were entertained and challenged.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 12, 2021

As always, we love hearing about families spending quality time together! Thanks so much for helping us restore the peace, Detectives!

The Old and Hidden Secret

Jan 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days

It should be noted that a smartphone will be necessary throughout the game to participate.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 19, 2021

Hey Katie, thank you for your feedback. We do have this information on our Cratejoy listing:
"Unbox a mystery! Solve a crime! Close the case!
Enjoy immersive scenarios, intriguing characters, and original compelling stories with your friends and family! Every month subscribers receive a new stand-alone case file with everything needed to close the case & SOLVE THE MYSTERY! Give the gift of quality time!
Stand-alone stories that don't require other boxes to complete. Start and stop each mystery at any point.
Interactive, online components that bring each story to life (Requires a QR code reader on a smartphone, tablet, or laptop and Internet access)
Great gift for friends and family who love mysteries and puzzle-solving (recommended for age 13+)
Crack the case alone or with a group of up...

Wife’s Christmas Gift

Jan 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeremy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I bought 6 month subscription for my wife for Christmas, and received it last week. She sat down and solved it in about 3 hours. She loves it she is very interested with crime related stuff. She is already looking forward to her next crate.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 25, 2021

Sounds like you chose the perfect Christmas gift, Jeremy! Thanks so much for introducing our mysteries to your wife! We are always happy to add another detective to our society!

Shipping is the problem

Jan 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristina J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

When I bought it, I was “guaranteed” that it would arrive by Christmas. Not only did it not, it wasn’t even shipped until after New Years and ended up being 3 weeks late. The person I bought it for enjoyed it, but the shipping was very frustrating.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Jan 17, 2021

Hey Kristina, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry if you were under the impression of a "guaranteed" delivery date. We don't guarantee delivery dates and we never have in the 3 years of our company, for exactly this reason. You are correct that your order shipped out after New Years because that is our subscription and shipping policy. You purchased your subscription on December 16th. Our subscription and shipping policy is clearly stated in "Shipping Details" located directly under the Subscribe Now button and the Give as a Gift button. Here is our policy: "Subscriptions are taken from the first day of the month through the last day of the month at 6PM CST. Boxes ship to subscribers the first week of...

Good but exploring others

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Eric A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Shipping has been poor, most liability on USPS. Decent amount of fun however I don’t think I’ll renew after my 3 mos package.

Verified Purchase

Box #1

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jackie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Was an awful lot of fun!

Verified Purchase

Loved the detective work!

Jan 11, 2019
Overall
Lakeida S.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This is my first box and I dug in straight away as i wanted to have enough time to cancel my next months subscription if it was not up to par. I am glad to say, I enjoyed this very much and I am looking forward to my next box.
The only reason it 4/5 is because of the logic puzzle aspects. Don't get me wrong, they worked them into the story very well, but I am more interested in true detective work and deduction based on motive, means, and opportunity.

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 15, 2020

Thank you for sharing with us!

Girls Night!

Nov 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teri A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

My girlfriends and I got together and worked this box last night and had a really great time. We were only able to solve 2 clues without use of the hint files, but we still had fun and are really looking forward to the next one!!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Nov 18, 2019

Great idea for girl's night! Thank You for taking the time to leave us a review.

Apr 23, 2018
Overall
Beth B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Amazing. Just a bit pricing for me personal but it may be perfect price for you. Apart from price very well written and made!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Oct 01, 2019

Thank you for the review, Beth!

Overall excellent time!

Feb 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teagon P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

We enjoyed the first box so much, we purchased a 6 pack of the individual boxes so we have enough to do 2/month for a while. Excellent date night activity! I also like that none of the items inside are one time use, so we can gift the box when we’ve finished it.
The storylines/depth of problem solving could go another layer deeper, but overall for the price especially, it’s such a good time! I like that I’m not absolutely stumped on any of the puzzles, but some of them are really easy. There was one card that we didn’t realize was double sided (definitely our bad, obviously). We spent a couple hours trying to solve the associated puzzle, coming up with so many different much deeper ways this puzzle could have been solved. It was disappointing to realize we just didn’t notice the double sided card and the puzzle was not nearly as complex as we had thought it might have been.
Again, for that price, it’s a great time for date night! Love the connected-ness it requires!

Verified Purchase
Deadbolt Mystery Society said...Feb 17, 2020

Welcome to the Deadbolt Mystery Society, Teagon! We always love hearing how our boxes help create quality time for family and date nights! In this digital age, connected-ness seems to be lacking. Thank you for the review and sharing your thoughts. Hopefully, the next box will be a little more challenging for you :-)

Game Night

Dec 31, 2020
Overall
Quality
Curation
Ray P.
1 Review

Completed "A Dark and Stormy Night" with some friends, and had a great time!