Home > Geek & Gamer > Board Games > Escape the Crate > Escape the Crate reviews
An "escape the room" game in your own living room!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Shipped VERY late/Bad Cust Service

Jan 15, 2019
Wendy Q.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

- We ordered a box for a Christmas present on December 4.
- It was supposed to ship the second week of December and Escape the Crate said to expect the tracking number by December 11. They told me to expect 3 days for delivery, so I expected to receive around Dec. 14 give or take a day or two.
- I noticed it was running late and I I emailed Escape the Crate three separate times of the course of the wait period inquiring about my package, and asking to cancel my order if they couldn't ship it in time. No one ever responded to me.
- The box didn't ship until December 18 and was finally delivered to my home on Dec. 21, A FULL WEEK after I was told it would ship and be delivered. We had already left to go out of town at that point for Christmas- meaning I could no longer give it as the Christmas gift I intended. To make matters worse, because we were not home, the package sat out in the rain and was completely ruined and can not be used at all!!

Really disappointed with our experience with this company. I would not recommend and of course we will not use Crate Joy or Escape the Crate again.

Verified Purchase

Didn't work

Jun 09, 2019
Susan T.
1 Review
Overall

Just opened our first box to play with the family. Got to the second clue and the code wouldn't work. Even clicked on the solution link to make sure we had it right. Very disappointing and a waste of time and money.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...

Hello!
We are so sorry that there were website issues. Out website, and all squarespace websites, crashed around 9:15 PM tonight, making some parts of the game not work. We quickly got to work and fixed the issues and the site is back up. We totally understand how frustrating this is.... it was for us too! If you contact us using the contact info on the Cratejoy website, we want to talk to you about how to make this right. Thanks so much and happy escapes!

Jun 09, 2019

Incomplete

Jun 07, 2019
Margaret J.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box never came with the black light. We we're unable to play. Boxes were late.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...

We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience with Escape the Crate. Upon looking into your account it looks as if the address you provided could not have boxes delivered by the USPS. Remember, you can always change your address by logging into your Cratejoy account. We currently do not use blacklights in our boxes and have not for the past year, but when we did over a year ago, when you ordered, it is quite possible the blacklight needed was in one of the shipments the post office was unable to deliver. Letting us know of this issue shortly after the box was supposed to arrive instead of over a year later would have provided faster...

Jun 07, 2019

No customer service

Mar 15, 2019
Gail K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I ordered this for my son for a gift. He and his friends felt there was something missing from the box. I have sent emails to Escape the Crate with no response. I had planned on ordering additional boxes but since it seems impossible to get a response I have not done so.

Beware!

Feb 18, 2019
Steven P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Based on the way the "subscription terms" are laid out on their page, it may seem like you can purchase just one box for $29.99. What this actually means though is that you are signing up for a regular subscription process, where they bill you every month. If you are only trying to order one box to try it out (or as a present), MAKE SURE TO CANCEL YOUR SUBSCRIPTION IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS as they will otherwise bill you/send you a box for the next round.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Customer Service

Jan 14, 2019
Colleen M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

I recently signed up for a 1 year subscription and purchased 2 of their old crates. After over a month I have yet to receive the 2 old crates I purchased (which I had to pay in advance for) and every single email that I have sent has not be returned or addressed. I would not recommend this company in any way. Can't even contact anyone to speak with someone since everything is done through email.

Verified Purchase

Never received my order!

Dec 21, 2018
Jacqueline S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

Ordered crates for Christmas presents the first week of December--my credit card was billed and it is now December 21st and I have no crates and my e-mails are not being answered!!! Would love to give this company a 5 star but really can't because they have my money and I have no crates!!!!!!!!!

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...

Hello!
We know how frustrating the holiday season can be with shipping, however both orders appear to have been delivered on Friday, December 21st... on time and on schedule for our early-mid December orders, several days before the holidays . Remember, we send out a tracking email when every order ships so that you can follow the progress of the boxes through the United States Postal Service. Have a great holiday season.

Dec 25, 2018
Buying Options