Escape the Crate

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Not worth it. Automatic renewal

Mar 15, 2021
Krista L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box is not worth $60. Teenagers played 1/2 of the first one, and never went back. The second is untouched. I never received the renewal notice and wasn’t aware it was automatic. This seems scammy.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Mar 15, 2021

Hello! You signed up for a subscription product which automatically renews on a set day. We make this very clear at sign up. In additional, 2 days before a renewal, we send out a renewal reminder email (yours went out and was received on March 13th). We want to make sure everyone has time to remember there is a renewal coming up so you can change addresses, skip a month, or cancel the subscription. We don't have to send out a renewal reminder, but it is something that is nice to do.
After 2 days warning, though, we will renew the subscription, which was authorized at checkout. While I understand it is frustrating when you don't want a subscription...

Cool product, terrible shipping

Mar 02, 2021
Allison L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have had a very rough time with shipping. I ordered 2 subscriptions for myself and a friend to do together. Her first was never received and my second never received so we now each have different boxes which totally defeats the purpose.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Feb 16, 2021
Jillian G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A little disappointed with what we received. Very cheap game components and even worse Photoshopped designs on the boxes. Overall feels very quickly slapped together, which makes it just not very fun to play through. Will definitely be cancelling our subscription and saving our money for better quality games that have more thematic attention to detail.

Verified Purchase

Missing pieces

Feb 14, 2021
Alyssa
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box came with several pieces missing. You could technically download them off the internet, but a) we have no printer, and it's really inconvenient to have to toggle back and forth between tabs with multiple people and 2) for the price, you'd expect the box to come complete.
We didn't get that far in the puzzle because of this, but the overall idea seemed cute.

Verified Purchase

Too easy for adults

Jan 01, 2021
Tiia H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Overall rating 2.5/5 stars
I ordered the 6 month/3 boxes subscription on the Black Friday sale as a gift since because of COVID-19 my first choice doesn't ship to my country at the moment. The shipping took 3-4 weeks, which is to be expected when it comes from the other side of the world and with the virus slowing things down, so no complaints on that.
I chose this crate based on the reviews which seemed good. At first I thought the bi-monthly shipping is fine since the wait time would go towards making the box better, but I can't justify it at the moment. The quality of the prints etc. is good but I think the main thing i.e. the puzzles were too easy even for the expert time limit. The three players were just under and above 30 years old, ESLs, and like puzzle games but aren't experts by any means. I'd say this is suitable for teens. It didn't really offer the rush of solving everything before the time runs out (which other escape room boardgames such as the Exit-games have done).
However I like that there's some overarching story despite the boxes being standalone and that the materials that need to be tampered with can be reprinted. I hope the future boxes will have more difficult puzzles (there are the hints if it's too hard anyway) so that it would offer more challenge and play time.

Verified Purchase

Not Received

Dec 25, 2020
Kimberly F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I still haven't received my box. It was guaranteed Christmas delivery and was supposed to be here by December 21, its Christmas day and I still haven't used it. Have no need for it now as I wanted it for when family as here

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Dec 25, 2020

We are so sorry that your package did not arrive in time for the holidays. We shipped out packages on time and on schedule, but across the board all online sellers are seeing massive delays with the USPS not delivering on time... with many of their packages still stuck in shipping centers. Due to the virus, decreased staff at the post office, and increased holiday orders, the USPS is simply running behind. We create the boxes and we ship out the boxes, but we don’t hold the power to help move things along once it is In the hands of the USPS. Feel free to contact them using the tracking number we sent out to see if they can...

Poor shipping

Dec 18, 2020
Laura C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping

Product was shipped weeks ago and has not been delivered.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Dec 18, 2020

Hello! Your order was shipped at the beginning of December and tracking details were sent out to you. Once we ship, using the USPS, the package is out of our hands and under control of the United States Postal Service. As the USPS tracking page shows, their shipping speed has been affected very greatly by the Coronavirus pandemic and staffing shortages. As the tracking shows, the package is still in transit, just arriving late due to circumstances out of our control... with delays at sorting centers closer to you. I wish there was something we could do to make a package move faster once it is in transit, but with the current condition of the USPS, it takes a...

Fun but missing pieces

Feb 17, 2020
Carrie D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was our first time with an escape the crate. Overall very fun, but our box was missing an envelope, which contained cards and a mirror to help solve some of the puzzles.

Verified Purchase

Silver Screen

Oct 07, 2018
Denise M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

This was our least favorite one so far, we had a little trouble following the logic. Outlaw was AMAZING! This one was good.

Verified Purchase

The trials of Houdini

Apr 14, 2018
Shayla M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

This is our second one and this was a bit frustrating. One of the envelopes said it opened with 4 numbers and it opened with two words. Another opened with 5 numbers and only needed 4. Because of this, we needed several hints to figure out what we already knew.

Verified Purchase

Confusing website - inferno

Jun 09, 2018
David M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I found this to be confusing. I was never sure which puzzle I was supposed to be solving or if the envelope was already supposed to be opened. I had to use the 1st hint on each puzzle just to figure out which puzzle was next.
I didn't like how I had to click on a link to enter a code, then hit the back button to go back to the instructions. Why not just enter the code on the same page?

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jun 11, 2018

We are so sorry that you found the number of objects that need to be unlocked in the game confusing. We try to mimic a real escape room in our games where there are many objects in the room, all of which are locked. Part of the fun, and frustration, of any escape room is figuring out which code unlocks which object, some of which can’t be unlocked until much later in the game. This sometimes takes some trial and error or keen observation of matching an answer you find to the required lock on the object. Using a website, we make you try the code for each object as you would on each padlock in an escape room. This has been a signature part...