Escape the Crate

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
405 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review
405

Escape on the High Seas

Mar 15, 2021
Sheila R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We really enjoyed our first box. It was very challenging...we had to use a few of the hints but after getting through the first chapter, we kind of got the hang of it. The materials and instructions were well thought out and durable. We were thrilled when we "escaped the crate!" Looking forward to our next box!

Verified Purchase

Perfect for "escaping" together

Feb 26, 2021
Brandi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We are half way through the first box. It has been a great option for indoor family fun!! the puzzles are challenging and but we are trying to run it just like in an actual room, only taking a clue if we all agree. completed part one with 23 seconds left!! can't wait for part two this weekend.

Verified Purchase

Escape the Ice Age - FAMILY FUN!!!

Feb 18, 2021
Michael S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Game was fun and engaging. At first, we could not get the videos to work, so we stopped using Chrome and started using Firefox and no issues.
We played this game as a family with our 7 and 8 year old sons. They had a blast!

Verified Purchase

Ice Age Escape!

Feb 14, 2021
Carolyn T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The game was quite fun, although I was surprised by how much was on the website vs actually in the box. It was sent as a gift, so I was disappointed that the box came without any additional packaging, since it did ruin the surprise of the gift. Would definitely do another at home escape!

Verified Purchase

A one time event

Jan 16, 2021
Vicki N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We enjoyed this overall. It was a bit harder than anticipated. I thought the stuff included in the envelopes were less than I expected. The stories preceding each envelope became tedious. 4 adults began one night, we finished the following evening with 4 adults and 2 teenagers. I was impressed by how quickly it was shipped.

Verified Purchase

Overall pretty fun

Dec 30, 2020
Kirsteen W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We completed all 3 parts of the escape activities relatively quickly. It was really well put together. We enjoyed the video/audio options and felt like it was great value for what we paid.
All that being said, we weren't too crazy about the theme and would love to be able to choose different adventures as opposed to only being able to receive the current adventure available.

Verified Purchase

Satisfying High Sea Adventure

Dec 28, 2020
Geneva M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great fun for the parents and teen in the house. We spent about 3 hours and the use of the electronics was not such a part of it that it felt like "more time on the computer". Most of the puzzling is pen, paper, props, and brain. A great time was had by all and we are looking forward to our next box in February.

Verified Purchase

Don’t renew a gift early!

Dec 16, 2020
Phyllis B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I recently renewed a subscription from last year. The recipient got TWO of the December box (the last from the previous subscription) so one is wasted and they’ll get one less in 2021 than I paid for.
The product is fine, which is why I renewed.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Dec 16, 2020

Hello! We send out a renewal reminder for all renewals 2 days before the renewals go through to warn of any upcoming renewals... so we have time to fix any issues like this. If you email us at our support at escapethecrategame at gmail dot com, we are more than happy to hold an upcoming shipment back to the next new box. Have a good holiday!

Fun box

May 12, 2020
Renee C.
6 Reviews
2 Pictures
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun box. My nephew liked it. It just took a long time to ship.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...May 12, 2020

Hello! We are sorry that you are upset about the shipping time, but remember that we only ship out once a month and these dates are firmly written on the listing when you sign up so you know when the box will arrive.

Crates-good. Shipping-TERRIBLE!!

Mar 05, 2020
Kristi W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We did an annual subscription to Escape the Crate. We enjoyed doing it with our younger teen. Our older teen wasn't a big fan. The part we REALLY don't like is who they use for shipping! They use NEWGISTICS. If you look them up they get terrible reviews. Rightly so!!! Our first box took 2 and 1/2 weeks from the first tracking to delivery. We got a shipping notification today that our 2nd box had shipped. I checked the tracking. It said it shipped on February 25 and was delivered to a mailbox on February 28 in ALABAMA! We are in Missouri! I don't understand why a good company would use such a bad shipping company! Come on guys! Let's figure this out...

Verified Purchase

Titantic

Jan 02, 2019
Jeri S.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

This box was a lot of fun. The clues were fun and getting help was really easy when stuck. The only thing I didn’t like was the quality of the clues. Most items were just printed out on plain paper and it looked like the printer was almost out of ink. But the story made up for the lack of quality in the paperwork.

Verified Purchase

Definitely worth it

Nov 13, 2017
Stacey M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

Just finished my first crate with friends. We had a lot of fun and were impressed by the puzzles. The reason for 4 stars is that a bit of the ambiance was lost by having envelope after envelope to solve and not real locks or physical pieces required to solve anything. But for the price, this was well worth the money. Will recommend it to others (and maybe modify it for friends to do to lessen the room for critique outlined above.)

Verified Purchase

Fun Valentine's Day Gift

Feb 15, 2018
Anna W.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I bought Escape the Crate for my husband for Valentine's Day. We got the Bonnie and Clyde heist box. I thought it was really well done and worth the price of the box. There were many puzzles and "locations" (envelopes) to open and I liked how it was integrated with the website. We played for over two hours! The puzzles ranged in difficulty. Some we figured out quickly, for others we had to use the clues. My only complaint is that we found the last puzzle too difficult. Even when we replayed it and got the clues we still could not figure it all out, so that was pretty frustrating. Also we considered playing this with our kids, and I was very glad we did not try to play with them as it would have been much too difficult. I will definitely consider ordering another box for another occasion.

Verified Purchase

Mar 18, 2018
Beth M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

We just finished our first Escape the Crate box (the heist of Bonnie and Clyde) and it was a fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon with family. One star off for the final puzzle which WAS frustrating and didn't make complete sense even after reading all the clues on the replay. Still, we're looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

A good first escape puzzle box

Nov 11, 2020
Kim W.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The game was enjoyable, though there are some typos on the printed materials and some mismatch between what was in the audio and in the written descriptions. There is one puzzle that was difficult because the color on one of the clue sheets was difficult to match with the color on another related clue sheet.

Escape the Crate said...Nov 11, 2020

Hello! Thank you for your feedback. The audio links, as described on the first page of the game, are there as a way for people who are not in front of the computer to hear the story. To be more dramatic, or to make things more easily able to be heard by a larger group of people, occasionally there is a slight different between the text and audio... but nothing major. The audio difference is only noticeable for those reading the screen to begin with. The audio is not needed to play. It is only an add-on to the game.

Escape Room In A Box Type Game!

Jan 15, 2020
Owen E.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Escape the Crate is really fun! It's an escape room in a box game that comes every two months. I think the reason I didn't give this five stars is that a lot of it is digital and not as fun and a lot of reading. Make no mistake - this is loads of fun. Just be prepared for two to three hours of playing.

A night of fun

May 10, 2019
Steven A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very fun way to send an evening with a group of friends.

Very challenging but lots of fun

Mar 15, 2019
Hans H.
1 Review
Overall

Really fun for a group. Tough to do in time allotted unless everyone is really on their game. Clues aren’t easy but everything is there if you know where to look. Great for mystery buffs and puzzle enthusiasts

Lots of fun for the whole family!

Mar 15, 2019
Rory W.
1 Review
Overall

We received this crate as a gift and our whole family enjoyed it. Our kids are 10 and 12 and were able to contribute to the puzzle solving all along. We did wonder if we missed an aspect of instruction at a few points as there was reference made to clues and information we did not have. The puzzles were quite tricky but overall we really enjoyed the game and would recommend it.

Address change

Aug 16, 2018
Carmen P.
1 Review
Overall

How do I change my address?? I've needed to do it for a while now

Escape the Crate said...Sep 03, 2018

Hello! Thanks for letting us know about the address change. We have tried to contact you via your email on record, but haven't heard back. You can email us at escapethecrategame@gmail.com or login to your Cratejoy account at the top right corner of the Cratejoy website to change your address at any time.