A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 18, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 04, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

The best date night in!

Feb 18, 2020
Brittany K.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun!!!! Can not wait for our next box and may even try to purchase some past boxes!!!

My Favorite Subscription Box

Nov 14, 2019
Caitlinjosey
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I should have done this review a long time ago, but sadly I am a very forgetful person (great for replaying games like this, not so much for remembering to do a review). I have subscribed to ETC from almost the beginning, and went back to buy the first two boxes I missed to ensure I had the whole collection. As of this posting, I have played every one, but the Mothman (its to my right, taunting me, but I have to wait until I am with my mom for Thanksgiving, or she'd never forgive me).

First, and most important, if you like puzzles, escape rooms, challenges, creativity etc, this is the box for you.

I have always had an obsession with all the above to the point where I have completed every Escape Room in my city (mid-size so about 20 at this point) and this box has all the fun, and challenge, without the running around and pressure of time (unless you put the pressure on yourself or run to get another drink). So I apologize for the lengthy review but its something I would be picky about, so here goes:

Storyline - Each box is a standalone mission, you can pick up in the middle and be fine. They do tie into each other in a lose way so you "feel" a timeline, but in no means do you need a previous or future box to complete the mission. All the storylines are from different periods in history,...

Verified Purchase

Escaped the crate

Oct 11, 2019
Sally P.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought this as a whim and thought I would give it a shot. It was very well done. Good story, unique puzzles, a nice hint system to help keep me in check, and the box itself was a part of the game. I like how you can reset the game afterwards and pass it off to friends.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Oct 10, 2019
Chad B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished playing a box at a friend's place and all I can say is WOW! It was just like an actual escape room. There were a lot of puzzles to do, which was a good thing and I liked how we could stop playing for a bit and come back in later. There also were buttons to push for the computer to read things aloud as we played, which was good because it was hard to hear some people reading too quickly. I just signed up myself for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Escape the Mothman

Oct 22, 2019
Jas M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this crate not because it was an escape room... I actually bought it for the subject matter. I live near the town where the Mothman is said to visit and I have studied this for years. When I saw that someone had created a box about the Mothman, I had to buy it. This little box is amazing! It covered a whole bunch of information but it made it feel like a cohesive game. All of the puzzles fit together and nothing felt out of place. I also love how this game actually had a section at the end the explains fact from fiction. Amazing product and I highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Mar 25, 2020
Francesca M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this box for my husband for Christmas because he loves solving puzzles and riddles like those featured in this box. We did Escape from Alcatraz and it was so much fun! The scenarios are very creative and the clues are not too hard, but challenging enough that it takes some time to go through. Really excellent box!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Game!

Mar 15, 2020
Heather L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It was awesome to see how things were connected. We used the hints and they were extremely helpful.

Verified Purchase

NOLA

Feb 29, 2020
Jessica E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What an awesome game evening. It was so nice being able to sit at our kitchen table with our 8 year old and use our brains and think outside the box. Clues were awesome and it was fun figuring it all out! Cannot wait for the next box!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Famiky

Feb 21, 2020
Deb B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this for my family (2 parents and 2 middle schoolers) for Christmas. We are two crates in and we love it. There is a learning curve to remember to reference the clues on the computer and just understanding how the games are run, but we have had some great nights and I came on to extend our subscription. Best Christmas gift ever!

Verified Purchase

An Amazing Game and Team

Feb 19, 2020
Banu M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping