A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Creative, challenging, and fun

Oct 18, 2020
Linda M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first crate as a birthday gift, because I love "real" escape rooms. I put off playing it for a long time, looking for the perfect team to play with.

Finally, I just decided to do it with my teen daughter on a Saturday. We had a great time doing it, and promptly subscribed. We've now done four and love the creativity of the series. There is a running theme of "Emit", an organization that goes back in time (get it?) to solve things.

The puzzles are challenging. We've never done it in an hour, and still use clues -- but less frequently as we improve our skills.

Our October box had two Jack the Ripper themed puzzles, one more difficult and gory, and one more simple and family friendly. And you can do both, they don't overlap! I'm glad it's bi-monthly. It's a big event for us to do, and the wait makes it more fun.

Verified Purchase

Best Game on Cratejoy

Oct 18, 2020
Kim H.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have been subscribers since the 4th box came out. We love these adventures so much, we went back and did the first 3 and have been subscribers ever since. Let me tell you why.. we have played the other puzzle subscription boxes available on Cratejoy, and we believe this is the best one all around.

The Creator uses the entire box, audio is available for all of the text and sometimes very creative. If you get stuck - which we frequently do as we are not the greatest puzzlers, there are hints so you can continue. The content is very original and educational at the same time. You are time travelers and actually visiting real places and times.

Compared to the other Escape games out there, this one has a superior look and feel. The boxes only continue to get better with time, and are now including 2-3 games in one box sometimes.

We did have an occasion to contact the creator at one point, and I found him very responsive and he was able to answer my questions quickly with a positive resolution.

I did read a lot of the 1-star reviews and was very baffled by them. The paper used is colorful/glossy. The box has always been of the highest quality and superior graphics - truly something you are not ashamed to put on your bookshelf. Are the props cheesy? Sure... but they add a nice dimension and frankly, for the cost, I would not expect high-priced props. The...

Verified Purchase

Makes a great gift!

Oct 16, 2020
Madeline C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave this to my gf as a quarantine gift for her and her roommates and they loved it! It was challenging enough but escapable! Initially I had some shipping issues due to my own fault, but the customer service is so fantastic they helped me resolve it quickly, kindly, and without issue. I would 100% recommend!

Verified Purchase

Good time was had by all

Oct 14, 2020
Apryl S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Since we are a competitive family, sometimes we can get frustrated with each other and the game. The timing is difficult to manage because of having to take time to listen to the narrator and/or read the directions multiple times throughout each mission. After attempting to keep track of time on the first two boxes, we gave up the timer and had a much more relaxed experience.
Sometimes it is difficult to share the items with 4 people and that can cause a bit of a log jam in puzzle solving. We've all sort of found our strengths and end up taking turns manning the laptop while the others hunch over the puzzle. My husband is much better at the logic puzzles and word/letter puzzles are my thing. The teen has been a valuable asset across the board.
We gifted this to our teen last Christmas and it's been a gift to all of us. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Better than Escape Rooms

Oct 03, 2020
Mechell G.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We LOVE LOVE LOVE playing Escape the Crate games. We just finished our second game. It’s our new favorite date night activity. We subscribe to “regular” date boxes but, my husband prefers these Escape The Crates games. The puzzles are challenging and fun. If you get stuck don’t worry. There’s plenty of clues and if you still can’t get it they offer the solution. There’s no penalty for using hints. I highly recommend Escape the Crate if you love Escape Rooms, enjoy puzzles, work well with others, are patient, and ready to have fun!

Note: Anyone who’s ever participated in an escape room, knows how elaborate the stories and props can be. Your entry fee is $35 per person for one hour. But, with Escape the Crate, the materials are not high-budget, but the challenges that the puzzles offer are TOP-NOTCH. The games are WELL THOUGHT OUT and you get hours of play. It’s a GREAT deal.

Verified Purchase

Escape fan approved!

5 days ago
Ashley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished both puzzles in the Escape the Ripper box, our third Escape the Crate adventure. We really enjoy our escape date nights. The puzzles are well crafted, challenging, and a whole lot of fun. We enjoy the voiceover as it adds a fun dramatic/theatrical aspect to the game. Just upped out subscription to the full year, so excited to Escape the High Seas next! This is a great subscription for escape room/game fans like us as it is totally solvable with just two adults.

Verified Purchase

Highly recommend

Oct 13, 2020
Vincent S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have done three boxes now and have enjoyed each and every one. The puzzles are sometimes challenging, but that is what makes it enjoyable. The props that come with each box are unique and make the challenges even more fun. Would recommend this to anyone looking for something new to do during quarantine life.

Verified Purchase

Great Escape Crate!

Oct 12, 2020
Angela M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a wonderful escape crate! It is so much fun, as well as challenging. We've gotten 3 boxes so far and loved every one of them.

Verified Purchase

Love these crates!

Sep 27, 2020
Family D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality