Explore a new US city’s culture through premium, locally made, artisan products, and food.

Plans as low as $39.00 / month

Explore Local Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Skip it

May 13, 2020
Jennifer P.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got the Oregon box and it was just so so for me.
I can tell a lot of thought went into the curation but I didn't find it was enough of a value for what I spent.
One thing that I didn't like at all is that they sent me in a separate regular mail envelope a granola bar that wasn't even in the package. It was just crumbling inside a standard white mail envelope

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...May 27, 2020

We are so disappointed you wrote this review without allowing us the opportunity to fix the problem. You emailed us at 9 pm your package was damaged and we immediately wrote back at 8 am that we were sorry it happened and we could send out a replacement bar asap in better packaging with a little something else to help make up for the inconvenience. You wrote back "no need but thank you."
We do not usually send out individual items, but we had a slight delay in receiving all of the granola bars. The folks at LivBars were just great and nextday shipped them, but given the delays in postal delivery during this COVID challenge, we made the decision to ship...

Explore local

Jun 08, 2020
Saundra P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first box. Beautiful! I will enjoy this subscription. Can hardly wait for next month.

Verified Purchase

Great customer service, great product

May 05, 2020
Michael K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had so many questions about giving this as a wedding present that I must have sent them 10 emails. The responded quickly and answered all my questions and my friends loved their gift.

Verified Purchase

Very Fun Monthly Escape!

Apr 25, 2020
Victoriascearcy
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box! I was bored at home and decided to try this box because I miss traveling! My first shipment was Boston which is a favorite city of mine. I loved all the sweet treats and the lobster towel. My favorite was reading the little bios about the local companies/artisans who created the items in the box. I will be a long term subscriber! I cannot wait to see what next month brings!

Verified Purchase

Great experience!

Apr 08, 2020
Carol P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just want to write to say how much I have been enjoying the boxes! I've subscribed for a couple years now and have always looked forward to checking out a new city, but even more so now with real travel on hold. I especially appreciate the info on the makers of the products. Their stories are inspiring. We're looking forward to visiting some of these cities for real in the future.
Thank you.
Carol P.

Verified Purchase

Unique products

May 22, 2020
Maryse A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had to write a review although I rarely do. This box is really unique! I have had several other subscription boxes over the years mostly beauty and health themes. This one is actually made up of products produced locally in the city. I love the info included which tells about the people who make the products. It really makes us feel like we know the city better and makes us want to go there!

Verified Purchase

Not overwhelming

May 20, 2020
Steven L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love checking out things from different parts of the country. Love the descriptions of each item too. Just enough items to not overwhelm you.

Verified Purchase

was expecting alot more

Jun 25, 2020
Lauraanna Q.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

got the salt lake city utah one and it missed the mark didnt give me a want to travel to the area and the items werent very useful to me. missed the mark and just seemed overpriced for what i got.

Verified Purchase

Too expensive

Apr 15, 2020
Tracy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Meh. It's a great idea but kind of expensive for what you get.

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Apr 15, 2020

We are sorry you found the gift box expensive. We really strive hard to find locally made products from the featured cities that are both of good value and great quality. All items in the boxes are handmade by local artisans or small businesses and their value if purchased individually is more than the cost of the box. Most of the suppliers are very small companies which are run out of homes or at sites with just a few employees. They do not operate with the volume that is needed to get large discounts in purchasing supplies or even shipping. Mass-produced products are definitely cheaper, but they would not be unique to the city and support the local artisans. We at Explore Local Box believe...

Bad customer service and not great gift

Apr 07, 2020
Anamaria P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Terrible I accidentally renewed this instead of box I wanted and they charged me any way even though it’s not a subscription and says cancelled. I order it twice as a subscription for a niece in college but she didn’t think worth it so chose something else. I thought I was rehearing a heart box but saw it was thus. I cancelled and write them 30 seconds after. Today my bank said they processed it beyond the hold!!!

Verified Purchase
Explore Local Box said...Apr 08, 2020

We are so sorry you are disappointed. We promptly responded and have tried twice to contact you by email to clarify your request, but have not heard back from you. We strive for excellent customer service and want to make you happy. The request was that you did not want the subscription to renew. This could mean that you would get the first box and then your subscription would not renew OR that you wanted to cancel the order. We are happy to issue you a refund if that is what you want.

Mark L

Apr 27, 2020
Mark K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the idea that this box supports local small businesses. I have given it to several people as gifts and they all comment on how cool it is.

Love!

Apr 20, 2020
Bailey B.
2 Reviews
Overall
Shipping
Quality