Fantasy Monthly

by Fantasy Monthly
A monthly YA Fantasy bookclub that includes quote prints, bookmarks, and a monthly pin!
40 reviews

Plans as low as

$16.67/ month

Buying Options

Fantasy Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review
40

A good deal!

Mar 16, 2021
Christy L.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a really great subscription service for the price!

Verified Purchase

Fantasy box

Jan 17, 2021
Kristen D.
13 Reviews
14 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a fun 'box' that isn't too expensive. As I only received it today, I haven't read the book yet, but it looks good and has good reviews, and the bookmarks are nice. I'm not really a button person, but those who are will love them. I'm not interested in the next book so I canceled for now, but I'd definitely consider resubscribing in the future.

Verified Purchase

Very happy with my first box and service

May 20, 2021
Amber J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just got my first box. I love it. It's a nice-sized, hardcover book. I love bookmarks at all times and the extra's are just so nice. I wish the packaging could be better. My dust jacket is a little crinkled in the corners and an actual box for shipping might be better. I'm was a little confused about how subscription renewals work, but I've reached out in a message right before I started this review and I have already gotten a reply. Amazing!

Verified Purchase

Nice Box

Yesterday
Samantha D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The book I received for June 2021 was a great choice and I'm looking forward to reading it! The bookmarks were nice and the artwork as well. The only complaint I have with this box is the way it was packaged. The pin that was included made a lot of indentations on the dust jacket. I think the pin should have been wrapped in something to prevent this or not included at all in a paper package. I'd rather not get a pin than have a damaged book. But other than that, I think this is an excellent subscription!

Verified Purchase

Horrible communication

Jun 02, 2021
Erica M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall

I was excited when I found this because my daughter loves fantasy books and this subscription isn't bogged down by all the "extra's" with an extra price tag and things she will never use. I purchased this on May 6th. A day before the cut off date so I should be receiving June's book right? Well then I was charged AGAIN on May 22nd. I sent an email off asking why I was charged twice. The only thing I received was a refund notification. No return email addressing the problem (if there was one), no indication that I was going to receive June's book (I hope I am as I paid for it). Just horrible communication overall. I'm going to give the company a little while longer until I cancel, just to see if I do in fact get June's book, but if it's not received by the next billing cycle, I have to cancel. Lack of communication and sketchy business practices.

Verified Purchase

scam

May 11, 2021
Frederique D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm really disappointed that this company i did a 3-month prepaid subscription on April 27th and we are now on May 10 as of tomorrow it will be 3 weeks that I join and I have not heard a word on when I will be getting my first box, AVOID this company at all cost. I'm not happy that my message has stayed unanswered, will be contacting my bank for a full refund. thanks for nothing

Verified Purchase
Fantasy Monthly said...May 11, 2021

Hello,
As stated on our website and listing vis Cratejoy of you subscribe after the 7th of the month you will recieve the next months box. Due to that, your first box will be shipping this week. May boxes will be shipping out thid week as soon as the signed copies of Realm Breaker come in via UPS.

Disappointed

Feb 18, 2021
Katie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We just received our second book for this subscription and am really disappointed to see that this book, just like the first one we received, is packed full of swear words. This maybe a YA subscription, but I don’t want my teenagers reading books filled with words like that.

Verified Purchase
Fantasy Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

We apologize that you did not enjoy your shipment, however, what you are describing is out of our control. The young adult genre is generally geared toward ages 16 and up with mentions of romance and the occasional curse word. If the language in this genre is unsuitable to your family we would suggest subscribing to a children's book box.

Not happy

Feb 05, 2021
Sarah W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I ordered this on January 7th and it is now feb 5 and I still haven’t gotten it I am not to happy it

Verified Purchase
Fantasy Monthly said...Feb 05, 2021

Hello,
Our policy is that if you order after the 7th of the month--and you placed your order on the 9th--you recieve the next months box. February boxes go out on the 8th and you should recieve your package shortly after. Thank you.

Worst experience ever!!

Jan 02, 2021
Susan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was the absolute worst experience. We ordered this for our granddaughter that loves to read for her December birthday. It was ordered well before the cut off day for delivery in December. She never received her December box. We reached out to the company and cratejoy 3 times and either got the response that it was shipping that week (but never came) or received no response at all. When reaching out to the company there was no response at all, or they were unsure why it didn’t ship. The company was terrible and customer service was even worse. Would not recommend for anyone that actually wants to get the product.

Verified Purchase
Fantasy Monthly said...Jan 03, 2021

In late December we had been informed drastically late by the publisher that the books were on back order, causing us to refund all December shipments. We sincerely apologize for any inconvience this has caused and completely understand why you are upset. However, updates were sent to all subscribers about the shipping dates being moved and then the cancelled shipments with refunds. We take pride in keeping our customers informed. Again, our apologies for the December shipment mishap. We will strive to prevent such a thing from occuring again.

Great Service! Signed First Editions!

May 15, 2021
Kaylin P.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved this subscription! Great quality for the price, and I love how a lot of the books lately have come as signed first editions!

Excellent box!

Jun 06, 2019
Angelia R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Excellent box. I've tried several book subscriptions with *bonus* items and they usually feel like cheap promo castoffs that have been sitting around in the curator's basement for months. The items included in this box were all high quality and enjoyable. The candle included is especially lovely. The print and bookmarks are on heavy cardstock with high gloss finishes. There is a generous quantity of tea in each sample and the flavors seem diverse enough for anyone's tastes. The bath bomb is also a good size and smells great. The bonus items more than meet the extra cost.
Most importantly the book is in excellent condition and after a quick read of the first 20 pages it's going to be an excellent read.
Thanks, Fantasy Monthly!

Verified Purchase

love this!

Jul 02, 2020
Amy G.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This always comes so much faster than I think it will! I'm always pleasantly pleased by the quotes on the bookmarks and buttons, and I also have gotten 4 or 5boxes so far and loved all of the books so far, so i would highly recommend if you are into fantasy YA books!!

Verified Purchase

Such a Good Fit for Me

Jun 08, 2019
Jenifer B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box and feel special having two bookmarks!
The book is delightful and I can't wait until next month's release. I have the basic subscription and am tempted to upgrade for more goodies!

Verified Purchase

10/10: Would Buy Again

Oct 06, 2019
Leah T.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was EXTREMELY pleased with this box. The candle smelled great, the bookmarks were high quality, and I love the tea samples so I can snuggle up on a rainy day.
The box itself was a little dented when I received it, but I in no way blame the suppliers.

Verified Purchase

We Hunt the Flame box review!

May 18, 2019
Alison H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a great debut box! All of the items were thoughtfully curated and good quality! There wasn't anything included that I didn't enjoy. I was particularly enamored of the candle and the tea (obviously the book rates highest, but that feels like a given!)!

Verified Purchase

Love it

Dec 11, 2020
Sam F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the book! Exactly the type of books that are my favorite! Thanks!

Verified Purchase

Great!

Dec 04, 2020
Katrina S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved it!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome

Sep 25, 2020
Charlotte L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Needs more products in it

Verified Purchase

Great box and amazing deal!

Aug 23, 2020
Suzanne F.
4 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just got my first box and it was awesome. It's a book I never would have picked up myself but am enjoying. The bookmarks and other additionals in the box were nice and of high quality. And you can't beat the price!

Verified Purchase

Love

Jul 17, 2020
Miranda M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great box! Love the pins and the bookmarks are high quality. The books have been good so far, as well. Really great price, too!!

Verified Purchase

10 stars

Jun 12, 2020
Amber B.
6 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got the book the court of miracles its set in France 1829 I can't wait to read the book I got bookmarks for the hunger games it fits this book perfectly from what I read from the description

Verified Purchase

Pretty good

Dec 13, 2019
Julie M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Quick shipping and enjoyed the bookm

Verified Purchase

Birthday Gift

Sep 23, 2019
Lael B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My mom loved this box!

Verified Purchase

Great

Sep 19, 2019
Shelly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Everything is great quality and packaged nicely. I'm very pleased.

Verified Purchase

August's Box

Aug 23, 2019
Laura L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received the August box so I will write my review based off of that -- I adored this box. The print and bookmarks are just absolutely stunning and I can't wait to read this month's book!! The candle smells so good, as does the bath bomb!! (I can't use bath bombs so I'm giving it to my bestie, but it smells amazing!!) And I love the other items that were included!! Overall, I thought this was such a cute box and I look forward to recieving another!!

Verified Purchase