Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!

Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Amazing !

Jun 25, 2020
Leslie H.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have the DHL premium and it exceeded my expectations!!! I already can't wait for next month. It came really quickly to.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 14, 2020

Hi Leslie! Glad you to hear about your great experience. We're so happy that your happy with the service that we have provided. Let us know if we can ever help with anything! Cheers!

Great box

Apr 07, 2020
Iisa J.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I only have gotten one box which was recieved March 4th with payment in February. It is now April 7th, and have been charged for March and April for $80. Yet have recieved nothing, I understand that shipping is delayed but there has been no communication on their end.

UPDATE
I recieved all the boxes about a month after this review. The company was having difficulties shipping due to the pandemic. I subscribed again because it is a really good box and we have alot of fun testing & trying all the goodies picked out.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Apr 11, 2020

Hi Lisa! Thanks for the update! We appreciate the support. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

Perfect for snacky Japan enthusiasts!

Jul 22, 2020
Shanna S.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My team at work got a 3-month subscription to the premium box for a coworker's birthday. He loves snacks, trying new stuff and is interested in Japanese culture, so it was a perfect fit. He thought it was so cool! He unboxed it during a virtual team meeting so we could all enjoy it. Lots of little things, including a bag of wasabi flavored Doritos, which he got such a kick out of. Would definitely recommend this box!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 14, 2020

Hi Shanna! Thanks for the feedback. We're thrilled you're loving your snacks. Enjoy it! Have a great day! \(★ω★)/

Buyers Beware: Renews after Cancellation

May 22, 2020
Hayli W.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I booked a year long subscription of the Premium Crate. Some of it is good, but a lot of it is just not my taste. Like sweet potato or green tea candy. After about 6 months I decided to switch to the Umai Crate. Again, some of it was really good, but there's a lot of shrimp or seaweed flavored items which are not my thing.

I cancelled the subscription but here's the thing- You don't get a confirmation email saying it's cancelled. So you have nothing but your word that it was cancelled. And then boom, your stuck with a $330 charge on your credit card, and an additional $60 shipping charge due to corona. And support will just tell you that you didn't cancel and there are no refunds. So I would either stay away or remove your credit card information after you subscribe.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Today

Hi Hayli! Our deepest apologies for the overall experience. Thanks for reaching out! Although you didn't enjoy the experience with us, we do appreciate you. Thank you for leaving a feedback. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach out and we’re more than happy to help.

Highly recommended by this person here!!

Aug 07, 2020
Crystal A.
5 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Awesome product. Some reviews may be misleading like my previous one. The delivery is prompt and product is amazing. Sometimes people have bad days so they will post bad reviews like I did prior. My apologies guys. This is a great product. I’ll be subscribing and patiently waiting for my delivery like I should have in first place. Best wishes all!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 14, 2020

Hi Crystal! Thanks for your comments! Don't worry about your previous review. We get used to it already. YAy!! ヽ(o^▽^o)ノ We definitely love hearing feedback with our products each month. Glad you’re enjoying our crate! Have a wonderful day! ;)

Late really really late

Jul 29, 2020
Olga Y.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is terrible. I ordered my first box on April 20th it was shipped April 28th. Its now July 28th it has not arrived. I also was charged for May crate as well. I got a notification that it shipped on May 13th. Still didn’t get that one either. It has been 12 weeks since ordered my April crate and 10 weeks since the may one was supposedly shipped! These people are ridiculous I tried to get in touch with them they said it should be on its way. Please be careful people.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...2 days ago

Hi Olga! Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We're deeply sorry about your experience and for the delayed crates. We've checked and we see that we've replied in your inquiry about your missing crate last August 22nd and still awaiting for your response. Please do reached out and reply back to our support so that we can resolve the issue about your missing crate. Will wait for your response.

Love it

Jan 09, 2020
Yuval E.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love it !

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Sep 18, 2020

Hi Yuval! We love you too. Appreciate your feedback. Have a great day!

Happy Customer

Jul 30, 2019
Emily C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m happy that I decided to go with this box this is my first box August 2019 premium it is worth the money it’s super fun and it’s super delicious

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!!

Apr 19, 2019
Rosa M.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

This subscription is amazing! My daughter loves japanese snacks and candies and when i saw this was available i decided to surprise her and i have no regrets. She’s so happy:)

Verified Purchase

Hidden fees

Jul 12, 2020
Becky G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Over charge for shipping. They increase their shipping without telling you about it on renewal and refuse to refund your money when you ask to cancel because of the ridiculous postal fees.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Yesterday

Hi Becky! We're deeply sorry about your experience. Just to clarify, the shipping charges was announced ahead of time last April through our Social Media and to our website. We also believed that we sent the notifications to our subscribers worldwide. With regards to the renewal, based during sign-up, we require subscribers to acknowledge that the subscription being subscribed to is recurring and, if left active, will renew every 30 days from the original payment date. If your subscription renewed, we cannot cancel the crate but we can cancel the subscription. If you feel like subscribing back, feel free to use JCCARES code. This offers a discount to your next crate. If you have any questions, we’re available anytime through our support email. Please reach...

Worst experience possible - DO NOT BUY!

Jul 11, 2020
Jeffrey C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! THESE JERKS ARE LYING AND SAYING THEY SHIPPED STUFF, I GOT A BRITISH CRATE I ORDERED 3 MONTHS AFTER THIS ONE AND STILL NOTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE. HAD I NOT CANCELLED ID STILL BE PAYING AND NO CRATES!

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO ABILITY TO TRACK, THESE PEOPLE ARE RIPPING PEOPLE OFF

BUYER BEWARE!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Yesterday

Hi Jeffrey! Thanks for the feedback and we're deeply sorry for the inconvenience. We have reviewed your subscription and we can see that both of your May and June crate was delivered on July. We just wish you'd have reached out before so we could offer a resolution to the issue. Hoping that we can make it out you and might as well update your review to 5 Stars! Here's a code JCCARES that will offer a discount on your future crate. You can use the code whenever you feel like subscribing back. Looking forward to that day! :)

Invisible crate

Jul 08, 2020
Patrick A.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

I got billed for 2 crates. Didn't get any. And they've only refunded one crate and have told me my other crate was cancelled.
Japan crate ripped me off and aren't trying very hard to fix it.
Let me be clear, cratejoy is awesome. The other subscriptions have been good to great.
Japan crate is the thief and failure.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...Yesterday

Hi Patick! Thanks for the feedback. Based on your account, we can see that the refund for your May crate (ordered in April) was successfully sent back to your Paypal account. With regards to your June crate which was ordered in May, we tried reaching out to you through email on June but haven't heard back from you since then. We tried sending a replacement crate but we can't confirm if we will send to the address we have on file unless you confirm in our email. Due to this, we hold and keep your crate in safe keeping until you can confirm with us to where we can send the crate. We ask if you can please check your emails and reply back to...

Great! Except for one thing...

Jun 11, 2020
Loki T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall